Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wheal Rodney Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Penzance > Wheal Rodney Holiday Park Reviews

Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
Gwallon Lane
Marazion
Penzance
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR17 0HL
Tel: 01736 710605
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: Easter To October (all Year, From Winter)

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 64 Reviews
                9/10 from 64 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kim Stock 6 reviews from this member

 This is a gem of a site set back on the hills behind Marazion.

We started coming here about 6 years ago with our older kids and dog.

This last year we camped alone as kids grown up and dog passed sadly.

Originally when we first came, the camping field was just grass non EHU, but this year was first time all pitches had EHU, so very impressed and prices are great too for the facilities you get.

They do chalets/bungalows, tourers and tents including a couple of glamping teepee.

We use our own voyager 6 tent.

The site has a heated indoor pool, shop, washing up and laundry facilities freezers, games and books to use, telephone box and outdoor seat near shop. WiFi available.

The pitches are differing in sizes for different sized tents but they're very accommodating to try fit everyone in as best as possible. The pitches are marked and well spaced. It's quiet and peaceful and only 10-15 minute beautiful walk either side of campsite down to Marazion village and seafront.

There's a cycle hire nearby a bus route and train stations of Penzance and StErth.

Even dogs get a goodie bag. Looking forward to next visit, love this place. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jcd0 1 review from this member

 We booked fairly last minute and couldn't have been happier with the price when we saw the site.

Lovely camping meadow, with all facilities, hardest decision was which way to pitch our tent.

Some folk might struggle with timing for the showers as only 2 in each bathroom, we had no problem and they were good hot showers.

Donna & team were so welcoming, friendly and helpful about anything we asked.

Loved having access to a pool, was refreshing after a day out & about site-seeing and when weather a bit wet.

I was in 2 minds about posting a review because when you find somewhere this good you might want to keep it a secret, on the other hand they are lovely and you want to spread the word

This is a great centre for West Cornwall and we didn't get to see everything we wanted this time so quite likely we will be back.

Deducted one point for view (although it was sheltered) and the hairy corner to turn up into the lane the site is on. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Robnclaire 4 reviews from this member

 We were looking for a campsite near Penzance, and Wheal Rodney came up in the search. It looked lovely, but I was a little worried about the pitch sizes. We have quite a large tent. A quick phone call and meant a large pitch was reserved for us, although we had to park our car in the car park, and not next to the tent (who wants to sit outside their tent and stare at the car anyway!).

The pitch was flat and well kept, with beautiful views over the fields to the countryside beyond. EHU as standard.

The site was exceptionally quiet, with just the normal sounds of the country to wake up to. And an incredibly friendly black bird that popped into the tent porch in the morning while I was making tea for crumbs!

The site facilities are great - a good shop, really friendly staff and a great pool. The toilets and showers are great, although the shower cubicles are a little cramped.

Easy walking distance from Marazion town, and we got a cab back from Penzance one night (after one too many at the meadery - highly recommended!) which cost £13.

I would definitely stay again here. A really lovely little and friendly site, kept to amazing standards. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Smarksmith 27 reviews from this member

 From first booking, good communication was maintained throughout - they take a deposit and then the balance 6 weeks prior to arrival. We wanted to arrive earlier than 'standard' check-in time and so it was suggested that we book the night before so the pitch was guaranteed for arrival at 08:00 - good up selling and good customer service. (Although thanks to storm Hannah it was lunchtime before we arrived!)

Getting there is very simple - down the A30 to the bottom of Cornwall HOWEVER be warned, and they do tell you DO NOT follow sat nav for the last part of the journey, follow their instructions. Sat nav route is impossible for caravans, their route takes some very narrow roads but they are the only roads to take a caravan. On arrival, you need to stop just as you get into the site as turning points are VERY limited. Walk up to the reception where booking in was friendly, efficient and polite.

The pitches are all grass, they do have plastic grid embedded in the grass so it is easy to traverse in all weathers, they have 16amp electric, drinking water, grey and black water disposal are just a short walk away along with recycling and general waste disposal. The pitches are a decent size although you really need to plan how you are going to get a van onto your selected pitch as access to each pitch is challenging in some cases. WiFi is available across the site and is chargeable by download amount rather than duration (Premium is 7Gb for 4 devices over 7 days), They do give you an hour free on arrival. We got all TV channels with just a standard Caravan aerial, and a 4G signal on Three & EE as well.

Pitches are fairly sheltered in the middle of the site (pitch numbers 9-13) with the ones by the entrance less protected. Trees cover a fair amount of the pitches which on one hand are good weather protection and on the other they are the cause of our largest complaint about the pitches - Crows, they were VERY noisy during our visit (end of April) they did shut up from around 20:30-05:30 but during the day they did ruin the tranquility of the site.

The Facilities - The Toilet and facilities block is well fitted out, the showers are great - they trust you to select your own temperature and turn off the water rather than those stupid push buttons, they have also used large overhead shower heads that even if you were 6’6” tall you can easily have a shower (would have been beneficial to have a floor squeegee to hand). Although they have been there a few years, they are well ‘Daily’ cleaned, however, the cleaners do need to look up more, extractor filters, inside light fittings and the spider farms around florescent tube fittings do let it down.

The laundry room is excellent - information boards are outstanding. The reception and little shop have plenty of stock of suitable products from milk to wine. The icing on the cake is the indoor pool, it's no Olympic size but well looked after and has a regular flow of non-guests paying to use the pool all day long - it has changing rooms and personal effects are put in baskets and shelved poolside so you can see it all the time. The pool was a comfortable 32 degrees and not over chlorinated, as with the toilets, the ceiling is the only area that really shows the age of the building, unfortunately.

The Local area - From the site its a 15-minute walk down to the beach of Marazion which is also the beginning of the causeway to St. Michaels Mount. Penzance is a 10-minute drive down the road, with Tesco, Morrisons and Sainsburys all together as you approach the town and a new Lidl is 5 minutes further on. It is quite central if you want to visit Lands End, St. Ives, Falmouth or any of the smaller towns around the tip of Cornwall.

The big question, would we return??. Without a doubt Yes. There are little areas that could be improved upon by the site with minimal investment but that wouldn’t deter us from returning - a great base to explore all Cornwall has to offer! 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nughesboy 5 reviews from this member

 Site, excellent, clean, tidy, pretty, quiet, walking distances to pubs, restaurants, and Marazion town and beaches. Most pubs dog friendly also throughout the places visited.

Staff excellent, friendly, polite, very helpful and customer focussed, nothing too much trouble; would highly recommend this site.

Local neighbouring places of interest, only a few miles drive, Falmouth 25 miles away, worth a day out, St Ives, less than 10 miles and Penzance 4 miles. We went off in our camper to the places mentioned on various days, and we were surprised to find that if we got there early enough, we could park our 22 foot camper for free all day along the promenade in Penzance.

Would highly recommend and definitely visit again.

Terry (West Midlands) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loshughes 1 review from this member

 The fourth time I've been here and always perfect. Friendly staff. A reasonably priced although small store and a great indoor pool.

Power showers work well and the toilet facilities are kept very clean.

Not for party animals but perfect for a quiet and secure stay in the most beautiful part of the world. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nadia Willott 2 reviews from this member

 Loved Everything. Shower block was fabulous. 4 double hooks per cubicle, big rain showers, hairdryer, clean! Washing up facilities with tea towels & washing liquid provided.

Ice pack freezer with the offer to use the site's ice packs whilst yours are freezing! Shop well stocked and well priced. Pool warm, clean and calm! Staff absolute dream. So friendly and helpful. Cannot fault this site. Pitch 6 is brilliant. Quiet and level with plenty of space. We will definitely be back!

Great 15 minute walk to the beach of Marazion. 20 mins drive from anywhere! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevebee 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Wheal Rodney for 12 nights in June, the site is in a quiet location 10/15 minutes walk from Marazion and is a short drive to Penzance.

The site is spotlessly clean with well maintained gardens, well equipped laundry room and a small shop in the reception. The staff were pleasant and helpful, we have a large 6 man tent and the pitch was a good size with ETH.

The toilets / showers were clean and there was an indoor pool on site, while the Gents toilets/showers were spotlessly clean they were dated and could do with updating.

We would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scolb 2 reviews from this member

 This is our 11th year at this site and we have already booked for next year.

Facilities are great although there are only 2 showers in the ladies over 11 years I have only had to queue twice! The pool is fantastic and always warm with staff ensuring the rules are adhered to.

It is a sort walk into Marazion and Penzance is only a few miles away as are many great beaches, walks, pubs etc.

Wheal Rodney is a great base for the part of Cornwall, the site has a quiet before 8am and after 10pm so if you are looking for peace and quiet this is it.

Fantastic site and probably the best we ever visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markriley23 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site mid last year after turning up with no booking. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we pitched 3 tents and made full use of the excellent facilities.

It was a quiet site, with a noise curfew at 10pm, which was fine for us as we hiked for 20 miles and were ready for bed by 9:30.

I would recommend this site to hikers and campers and it is my first choice for camping west Cornwall in 2016. 


Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wheal Rodney Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Wheal Rodney Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wheal Rodney Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wheal Rodney Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penzance      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6534 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement