Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Upper Booth Farm Campsite National Trust

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Upper Booth Farm Campsite National Trust Reviews

Upper Booth Farm Campsite National Trust
Edale
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 7ZJ
Tel: 01433 670368
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
                9/10 from 57 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Nancys 1 review from this member

 Absolutely loved this campsite, it is tranquil and quiet. Everybody of all ages seemed very respectful of the noise curfew. Nobody camped on top of another.

The toilet and shower block is warm and clean. Dogs are welcomed. It's in a great location to kick back and chill and also to use as a base to walk.

The staff are a credit to the site too. One day we will return. 


Date of Visit: Fenruary 2020 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has changed hands and as of 2020 is now run by the National Trust. It has tent pitches and a small number of campervan pitches. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tubby2 34 reviews from this member

 We stayed one night. This is a small and basic campsite but with a modern toilet block.

Also recycling bins The lady booked is in friendly and helpful. Chicken and cockerels wonder around the camping field. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sleepyol 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for a couple of nights in June. As mentioned, it's a basic site with no frills. When we paid the owner at the main house, she pointed us in the general direction of a field and told us to 'pitch where you like'. The main camping field is fairly sloped across the middle, but relatively flat at the edges, so not too bad.

The location is excellent for 'doing' Kinder Scout, Jacob's Ladder etc. There is no shop nearby, so stock up en-route. You can buy some bits from the house, but I thought that it was a bit pricey (50p per rasher of bacon).

Unfortunately, we will not return to this site, the reason being midges! As soon as dusk fell, we had to retreat in to our tent where, despite having all doors shut, my son and I got eaten alive. It must be an issue as the owners have left a bottle of repellant near the sinks with a note attached saying that it 'might help with the mozzies'.

Also, the grass on site is left really long. I get that it's not a manicured site, but traipsing through long, damp grass in a morning is not fun.

Finally, whilst I see from earlier reviews that the shower block is relatively new, it is not being well maintained. In 3 days there, none of our party saw anybody cleaning the toilets or showers. This is OK if everybody tidies up after themselves, but this clearly isn't always the case. There was also no soap in the sinks for hand washing, although there was an empty container for soap.

So in summary:

Good - location.

Bad - site maintenance and cleanliness.

Will we return - No. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hippycamper 8 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for a short break with a friend in October 2014. The weather was not kind to us but the site was great. The owners didn't mind us arriving after dark and were very kind. We were very grateful when they let us sleep in the camping barn for our last night as the weather was severe and our tent was damaged. Apparently it was the tail end of a hurricane that had been causing havoc in America.

The site has a lot of sloping areas but there are plenty of flat bits too.

The facilities block is lovely. Obviously quite new with a nice 'green' roof. The lights are motion activated. The building is always warm and the hot water plentifully available at all times. There are some large washing up sinks outside, but still under cover. The whole thing is kept clean and well maintained.

The only time it wasn't was when a large DofE expedition arrived late at night in bad weather and used it to get themselves and all their kit dried and sorted. Some of them even ate their dinner in there. I saw the owner the next morning, cleaning up. She was very apologetic about it, despite it not being her fault! The facilities were soon spotless again.

The site is a pleasant walk from Edale, where there are several good pubs to choose from if you fancy some pub grub. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wimbledon1 1 review from this member

 Very ably managed campsite with a fantastic view and atmosphere surrounded by hills. Clean central wash/showerblock with instant hot showers which I never had to queue for. At weekends, bacon baps etc available from the farm door.

During the week, bacon, sausages, etc available to buy and cook yourself, in addition to picnic items like flapjacks. Very pleasant 30 min walk through fields to Edale village, for local cafe and pubs. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amanda Atkinson 10 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely break over August bank holiday. Was expecting the site to be very busy - but true to their website, the owners did not let it get over crowded which has happened to us before- not a very enjoyable experience! So it was quite refreshing that the site did not get too full - both my husband and I managed to use the showers each morning with out having to queue!

Good basic facilities - showers had plenty of hot water, free as well which I don't think was mentioned on previous reviews. Only downside in the wash area was that there were no hooks to hang your towel, wash bag etc near to the basins after you had had your shower and wanted to clean your teeth, for example. There was a power box on the wall which took 20p not sure how long it lasted, for using hair dryers etc, but as not near a mirror decided not to bother. Washing up facilities good.

The top main field was extremely sloping, and even though we were right at the top in a corner was still rolling down at night! The grass was left quite long, so wellies a must for early morning dew!

Lots of lovely walks from the campsite, jacob's Ladder about a mile walk away, lovely views all around. Enjoyed a great Sunday evening dinner at the bulls head hotel in Castleton.

Not much to do in the surrounding area - but if peace and quiet are all you are after, then this is the site for you. We found the owner helpful and pleasant - not at all rude as mentioned in previous reviews, we even pitched over an hour earlier than we were told we could - so were very grateful as nothing worse than being turned away to kill time!

Would probably not come back as we prefer to try different areas and sites each time we camp. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wickedwinter 4 reviews from this member

 Absolutely stunning location surrounded by hills and with a small stream running along the bottom of the campsite. Very isolated so not recommended if you like to be near pubs, shops etc. No playground but this didn't seem to be a problem for the kids that were there - happy running about, playing games, and exploring by the stream.

Facilities were very new and clean. I really liked the eco-looking toilet and shower block. The showers did tend to go hot/cold though and there was no hand-soap by the basins.

Site was sloping in some areas and the grass was quite long. It is also 'pitch where you like'. We didn't have any problem finding a decent spot though. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lulu13 1 review from this member

 We had to cancel our trip to this site due to the bad weather at easter, the owner was so helpful and rebooked us in for the half term holiday. The site is in the most wonderful location and the hampers for campers is a fantastic idea, the fruit cake is highly recommended. The shower block was clean with plenty of hot water and never very busy.

There is a footpath from the site to edale village which has 2 pubs and a nice cafe and visitor centre with toilets, the walk to edale is spectacular with amazing views. Please keep dogs on leads at all times though as you will meet plenty of sheep! Jacobs ladder is a mile walk' away, good footpaths and more wonderful scenery. Its a short drive to castle ton which has peveril castle to visit and plenty of gift shops, cafes, pubs and food supply shops.

We had a fabulous time at this site, it is great for families with young children or dog owners who enjoy a good walk. There was no regimental rules and everyone was left to just pitch where they wanted to, check in was organized and the owners are friendly. If you don't mind doing without electric this is a fantastic site. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AliBe 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay at Upper Booth. Very easy to find, well off the beaten track. 2 fields for camping, though the bottom field was designated for D of E groups during our stay. The top field is slightly sloping, but you pick your own pitch! A stream runs at the bottom of the hill, great for the children to play in. Great to have a campsite that is just for tents.

The shower and toilet block is situated in between both camping fields. There were 2 toilets, 2 showers and 3 basins in the ladies. Really not enough for the number of people who were camping over the Bank Holiday weekend and weren't the cleanest they could have been. Not helped by lots of muddy boots tramping through them, despite notices asking boots to be left outside. Plenty of hot water at all times, but queues no matter what time of the day for the loo/shower and basins.

Can recommend the Bulls Head in Castleton and the Penny Pot cafe in Edale.

All in all a good site with amazing views, walks straight from the campsite and plenty of space for the children to play/explore. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Upper Booth Farm Campsite National Trust child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Upper Booth Farm Campsite National Trust?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Upper Booth Farm Campsite National Trust dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3163 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement