Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Upper Booth Farm Campsite National Trust

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Upper Booth Farm Campsite National Trust > Reviews

Upper Booth Farm Campsite National Trust
Edale
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 7ZJ
Tel: 01433 670368
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 24/03/2024 to 28/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Alpsjo 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean and tidy site. The 2 wardens were very helpful.

I got my van stuck in the soft grass, the wardens rushed over with plastic tyre mats to go under my wheels for traction, and helped push me out,

I parked on a grassed area that has plastic netting under it, so no more problems.

This happened to another van later, so I didn't feel so bad.

For my 2nd night I moved my van to the gravel car park, heavy rain was due in over night, so I didn't want to get stuck.

The showers and toilet block were clean with plenty of hot water.

Plenty of good walking in the area, Edale village is a 30 to 40 minutes walk. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: BobOn 25 reviews from this member

 Spent a night here en route to South Derbyshire. I arrived after reception closed but had received e-mail instructions and found a spot to pitch my tent.

There is an upper and lower field. Most of the upper field is on a slope but not steeply so and the views all around the site are gorgeous.

It was mostly young families on site including Europeans whilst I stayed but it was quiet and peaceful.

The toilet block was clean and tidy, I didn't use the showers as I was only there overnight but as there are only two each in men's and women's I suspect there may be queues at busy periods.

Plenty of walks in the area, Jacob's Ladder is only about a mile away and well worth the effort.

Wish I'd had longer to explore the area and would go again. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Nancys 1 review from this member

 Absolutely loved this campsite, it is tranquil and quiet. Everybody of all ages seemed very respectful of the noise curfew. Nobody camped on top of another.

The toilet and shower block is warm and clean. Dogs are welcomed. It's in a great location to kick back and chill and also to use as a base to walk.

The staff are a credit to the site too. One day we will return. 


Date of Visit: Fenruary 2020 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has changed hands and as of 2020 is now run by the National Trust. It has tent pitches and a small number of campervan pitches. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tubby2 64 reviews from this member

 We stayed one night. This is a small and basic campsite but with a modern toilet block.

Also recycling bins The lady booked is in friendly and helpful. Chicken and cockerels wonder around the camping field. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sleepyol 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for a couple of nights in June. As mentioned, it's a basic site with no frills. When we paid the owner at the main house, she pointed us in the general direction of a field and told us to 'pitch where you like'. The main camping field is fairly sloped across the middle, but relatively flat at the edges, so not too bad.

The location is excellent for 'doing' Kinder Scout, Jacob's Ladder etc. There is no shop nearby, so stock up en-route. You can buy some bits from the house, but I thought that it was a bit pricey (50p per rasher of bacon).

Unfortunately, we will not return to this site, the reason being midges! As soon as dusk fell, we had to retreat in to our tent where, despite having all doors shut, my son and I got eaten alive. It must be an issue as the owners have left a bottle of repellant near the sinks with a note attached saying that it 'might help with the mozzies'.

Also, the grass on site is left really long. I get that it's not a manicured site, but traipsing through long, damp grass in a morning is not fun.

Finally, whilst I see from earlier reviews that the shower block is relatively new, it is not being well maintained. In 3 days there, none of our party saw anybody cleaning the toilets or showers. This is OK if everybody tidies up after themselves, but this clearly isn't always the case. There was also no soap in the sinks for hand washing, although there was an empty container for soap.

So in summary:

Good - location.

Bad - site maintenance and cleanliness.

Will we return - No. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hippycamper 10 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for a short break with a friend in October 2014. The weather was not kind to us but the site was great. The owners didn't mind us arriving after dark and were very kind. We were very grateful when they let us sleep in the camping barn for our last night as the weather was severe and our tent was damaged. Apparently it was the tail end of a hurricane that had been causing havoc in America.

The site has a lot of sloping areas but there are plenty of flat bits too.

The facilities block is lovely. Obviously quite new with a nice 'green' roof. The lights are motion activated. The building is always warm and the hot water plentifully available at all times. There are some large washing up sinks outside, but still under cover. The whole thing is kept clean and well maintained.

The only time it wasn't was when a large DofE expedition arrived late at night in bad weather and used it to get themselves and all their kit dried and sorted. Some of them even ate their dinner in there. I saw the owner the next morning, cleaning up. She was very apologetic about it, despite it not being her fault! The facilities were soon spotless again.

The site is a pleasant walk from Edale, where there are several good pubs to choose from if you fancy some pub grub. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wimbledon1 1 review from this member

 Very ably managed campsite with a fantastic view and atmosphere surrounded by hills. Clean central wash/showerblock with instant hot showers which I never had to queue for. At weekends, bacon baps etc available from the farm door.

During the week, bacon, sausages, etc available to buy and cook yourself, in addition to picnic items like flapjacks. Very pleasant 30 min walk through fields to Edale village, for local cafe and pubs. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amanda Atkinson 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely break over August bank holiday. Was expecting the site to be very busy - but true to their website, the owners did not let it get over crowded which has happened to us before- not a very enjoyable experience! So it was quite refreshing that the site did not get too full - both my husband and I managed to use the showers each morning with out having to queue!

Good basic facilities - showers had plenty of hot water, free as well which I don't think was mentioned on previous reviews. Only downside in the wash area was that there were no hooks to hang your towel, wash bag etc near to the basins after you had had your shower and wanted to clean your teeth, for example. There was a power box on the wall which took 20p not sure how long it lasted, for using hair dryers etc, but as not near a mirror decided not to bother. Washing up facilities good.

The top main field was extremely sloping, and even though we were right at the top in a corner was still rolling down at night! The grass was left quite long, so wellies a must for early morning dew!

Lots of lovely walks from the campsite, jacob's Ladder about a mile walk away, lovely views all around. Enjoyed a great Sunday evening dinner at the bulls head hotel in Castleton.

Not much to do in the surrounding area - but if peace and quiet are all you are after, then this is the site for you. We found the owner helpful and pleasant - not at all rude as mentioned in previous reviews, we even pitched over an hour earlier than we were told we could - so were very grateful as nothing worse than being turned away to kill time!

Would probably not come back as we prefer to try different areas and sites each time we camp. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wickedwinter 4 reviews from this member

 Absolutely stunning location surrounded by hills and with a small stream running along the bottom of the campsite. Very isolated so not recommended if you like to be near pubs, shops etc. No playground but this didn't seem to be a problem for the kids that were there - happy running about, playing games, and exploring by the stream.

Facilities were very new and clean. I really liked the eco-looking toilet and shower block. The showers did tend to go hot/cold though and there was no hand-soap by the basins.

Site was sloping in some areas and the grass was quite long. It is also 'pitch where you like'. We didn't have any problem finding a decent spot though. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Upper Booth Farm Campsite National Trust child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Upper Booth Farm Campsite National Trust?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Upper Booth Farm Campsite National Trust dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46587 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement