Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hillhead Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie > Hillhead Caravan Park Reviews

Hillhead Caravan Park
Hillhead
Kintore
Inverurie
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB51 0YX
Tel: 01467 632809
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 17
Open: 01/02/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 14 Reviews
                6/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ridgebacksontour 14 reviews from this member

 Upon arrival, I went to reception. It was open. Open as in unlocked, no-one there just a note on the door to ring the number thereon. The lady I spoke to thought an information pack for me was on the reception desk. It wasn't so she briefed me over the phone, including giving me the code for the barrier. Fair enough.

The site itself was tidy and the pitch spacious and level. The EHU was only 6A but we managed to not trip it despite it being a cold night and needing the electric heating on.

Later that afternoon my wife used the toilet block, gaining access by using the barrier code on the lock. The block was unheated, dark, unlit with no visible light switch. The flush on the loo was so feeble it failed to flush two tissues away and the speed at which the cistern refilled was ridiculously slow. My wife had to resort to using the mop bucket of grubby water from outside the block door to complete the flush. The hand dryer was at best asthmatic. I cannot describe the Gents loos. I didn't attempt to visit them until the following morning. I tried the barrier code on the door lock several times all to no avail.

We shall not be returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Wilmot 1 review from this member

 Perfectly situated on the outskirts of Aberdeen, perfect for visiting friends and family close by.

Great clean toilet block and showers.

Great value for money, would definitely stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alock1258103wwt 1 review from this member

 Small site, seemed quiet during our trip which we enjoyed.

The toilet block needs a serious overhaul as they let the whole place down. I know we have a pandemic but surely during lockdown the toilets could have been revamped ? For me to shower and get wet I had to run around and catch the droplets from the shower head as the pressure was zero.

For £20 a night it needs to be better Iím afraid 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jollyjosh 1 review from this member

 Pleasant small site with green in centre with bbq area, also children's play area with swngs and slide and a coffee shop. Easy walk in to Kintore where Bus (and soon a train) can be got for Aberdeen or Inverurie. Staff friendly.

Let down by dated toilet block and awkward (for Motorhome) grey water emptying.

On a slight slope. Only 6A electric hook up. Would go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Liddell 3 reviews from this member

 It's a small touring site and quiet, if you don't count the helicopters going to and from the north sea. It's OK for an over nighter but nothing else on site. My only complaints would be that the toilet and shower block need serious updating and a look at the lighting around the site, needs some repairs urgently as the light outside the toilets was not working, so could not see key pad at all. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Speaker12 17 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two days. On arrival there was nobody in the reception building but someone appeared from the house opposite eventually. I was directed to the area where the caravans were - there was a cone at the entrance of what is presumably the usual tent area. I wasn't given any other information eg location of toilets/water but found these easy enough anyway.

There was a bit of noise from the road next to the site and some distant hammering sounds (I assume from the nearby quarry) but I couldn't hear anything from the A96. Plenty of room to pitch on the grass. The caravans in the same area were all on gravel separated by grass strips.

The site is near to Kintore village where there is a Coop and chippie (very nice). There is also a pizza place/Indian an various other shops. If you want more shops there are a few in Inverurie a couple of miles away. There is a cafe on site but I didn't try it.

Toilet facilities were ok. Not perfectly clean but acceptable. Showers hot. The site had a nice overall look, well presented etc.

Plenty to see nearby and some gorgeous countryside.

I thought the site fee was a little expensive for what is on offer but I suppose the Aberdeenshire oil tax applies to camping just like it does to hotels and B&Bs! 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gbcamper 1 review from this member

 The staff / owners were cheerful and friendly and booking in to the campsite was fine. The pitches are of a reasonable size though they are on a noticeable slope. The electric hookups look modern and safe and are conveniently located for your pitch. Overall, the pitches and the immediate surrounding area looked to be of a modern standard. The site is located conveniently for access to Aberdeen.

The toilet / shower block was in a poor state. Every toilet was soiled and I understand fully that is ultimately down to other campers not being trained properly. That said, it wasn't me who did it and the owners should ensure the place is clean. The block functioned (although some repairs were needed) but it desperately needs modernising, tidying and cleaning. There was a large gap in the floor of one of the showers and the curtains had mould on them. The floors, walls and ceiling were dirty. There was mould in lots of places. Adjusting the shower temperature was difficult. The washing up room had no functioning light, no sink plugs and had discarded items of crockery and cutlery on the draining boards. The laundry room was dirty with discarded wrappers and washing strewn about and lots of washing powder on the floor. The bin area was overflowing and there were several items of rubbish and camping artefacts around the campsite.

It seems that whilst considerable effort has been out in to some aspects such as a nice wall, driveway and barrier at the entrance to the camping area, other aspects have been overlooked such as ongoing tidying and the general standard of the amenities block. I would suggest focus has not been where it's required and certainly not by way of attention to detail in keeping the site tidy and clean.

For a £20 per night campsite, it was far short of the expected standard. It's the most disappointed I've been in a campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Val0712 33 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in june for 2nights to go to the steam fair at castle fraser which was an excellent location close by for this. Toilet/shower block was nice and clean the whole time we were there.

Never really explored anymore of this area as we only stayed here for the close proximity for the fair. Will be back for a return visit 


Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ravelin 13 reviews from this member

 I stayed at Hillhead for the first half of 2009 before moving to the area permanently. My caravan is now stored at the site so I'm there regularly.

Since I stayed there in 2009 new owners have taken over the site and seem to have put a vast amount of effort into certain aspects of the site. The main caravan area has been revamped and improved, the access roads re-graveled, the accessories shop de-cluttered, a cafe added, the caravan storage area more than doubled in size (not visible from most of the site), the tent field moved and the old tent field is currently being turned into an area for chalet type buildings/statics. The only thing they don't seem to have done is replace the toilet block, which was always too small and rather dated. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

The site has always appeared to be popular with workers, probably as temporary accommodation in the area is scarce and expensive. That's why I ended up there in 2009, but it was a quiet enough site despite the small permanent population (no more than about 12 semi-permanent caravans when I was there).

It's a good base for seeing the local area, especially since there aren't really any alternatives close-by. There's a Co-Op, Chip Shop, Indian Takeaway, Pizza Takeaway and pubs nearby in Kintore. Head a little further (5 mins in car) in the other direction and there's two more Co-Ops, an Indian Takeaway, a Chinese Takeaway, a chip shop and more pubs in Kemnay.

Oh, and as someone said, if you want to walk into Kintore then head towards the caravan storage area then turn left along the track at the gates. It's a little longer that way but misses out all but a very short section of walking along the road. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trev63 1 review from this member

 Well what a lovely time we had. Helen and her staff are great, since they took over 3 years ago vast improvements. Now a Four Star Visit Scotland and a four pennant with the AA.

Toilets revamped and some new statics for sale, and the tent field relocated to the side.

Hoping to come back soon 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hillhead Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hillhead Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hillhead Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Inverurie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Aberdeenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2521 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement