Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Hillhead Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie > Hillhead Caravan Park Reviews

Hillhead Caravan Park
Hillhead
Kintore
Inverurie
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB51 0YX
Tel: 01467 632809
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 17
Open: 01/02 To 31/12

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 10 Reviews
                7/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Liddell 3 reviews from this member

 It's a small touring site and quiet, if you don't count the helicopters going to and from the north sea. It's OK for an over nighter but nothing else on site. My only complaints would be that the toilet and shower block need serious updating and a look at the lighting around the site, needs some repairs urgently as the light outside the toilets was not working, so could not see key pad at all. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Speaker12 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two days. On arrival there was nobody in the reception building but someone appeared from the house opposite eventually. I was directed to the area where the caravans were - there was a cone at the entrance of what is presumably the usual tent area. I wasn't given any other information eg location of toilets/water but found these easy enough anyway.

There was a bit of noise from the road next to the site and some distant hammering sounds (I assume from the nearby quarry) but I couldn't hear anything from the A96. Plenty of room to pitch on the grass. The caravans in the same area were all on gravel separated by grass strips.

The site is near to Kintore village where there is a Coop and chippie (very nice). There is also a pizza place/Indian an various other shops. If you want more shops there are a few in Inverurie a couple of miles away. There is a cafe on site but I didn't try it.

Toilet facilities were ok. Not perfectly clean but acceptable. Showers hot. The site had a nice overall look, well presented etc.

Plenty to see nearby and some gorgeous countryside.

I thought the site fee was a little expensive for what is on offer but I suppose the Aberdeenshire oil tax applies to camping just like it does to hotels and B&Bs! 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gbcamper 1 review from this member

 The staff / owners were cheerful and friendly and booking in to the campsite was fine. The pitches are of a reasonable size though they are on a noticeable slope. The electric hookups look modern and safe and are conveniently located for your pitch. Overall, the pitches and the immediate surrounding area looked to be of a modern standard. The site is located conveniently for access to Aberdeen.

The toilet / shower block was in a poor state. Every toilet was soiled and I understand fully that is ultimately down to other campers not being trained properly. That said, it wasn't me who did it and the owners should ensure the place is clean. The block functioned (although some repairs were needed) but it desperately needs modernising, tidying and cleaning. There was a large gap in the floor of one of the showers and the curtains had mould on them. The floors, walls and ceiling were dirty. There was mould in lots of places. Adjusting the shower temperature was difficult. The washing up room had no functioning light, no sink plugs and had discarded items of crockery and cutlery on the draining boards. The laundry room was dirty with discarded wrappers and washing strewn about and lots of washing powder on the floor. The bin area was overflowing and there were several items of rubbish and camping artefacts around the campsite.

It seems that whilst considerable effort has been out in to some aspects such as a nice wall, driveway and barrier at the entrance to the camping area, other aspects have been overlooked such as ongoing tidying and the general standard of the amenities block. I would suggest focus has not been where it's required and certainly not by way of attention to detail in keeping the site tidy and clean.

For a £20 per night campsite, it was far short of the expected standard. It's the most disappointed I've been in a campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Val0712 33 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in june for 2nights to go to the steam fair at castle fraser which was an excellent location close by for this. Toilet/shower block was nice and clean the whole time we were there.

Never really explored anymore of this area as we only stayed here for the close proximity for the fair. Will be back for a return visit 


Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ravelin 13 reviews from this member

 I stayed at Hillhead for the first half of 2009 before moving to the area permanently. My caravan is now stored at the site so I'm there regularly.

Since I stayed there in 2009 new owners have taken over the site and seem to have put a vast amount of effort into certain aspects of the site. The main caravan area has been revamped and improved, the access roads re-graveled, the accessories shop de-cluttered, a cafe added, the caravan storage area more than doubled in size (not visible from most of the site), the tent field moved and the old tent field is currently being turned into an area for chalet type buildings/statics. The only thing they don't seem to have done is replace the toilet block, which was always too small and rather dated. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

The site has always appeared to be popular with workers, probably as temporary accommodation in the area is scarce and expensive. That's why I ended up there in 2009, but it was a quiet enough site despite the small permanent population (no more than about 12 semi-permanent caravans when I was there).

It's a good base for seeing the local area, especially since there aren't really any alternatives close-by. There's a Co-Op, Chip Shop, Indian Takeaway, Pizza Takeaway and pubs nearby in Kintore. Head a little further (5 mins in car) in the other direction and there's two more Co-Ops, an Indian Takeaway, a Chinese Takeaway, a chip shop and more pubs in Kemnay.

Oh, and as someone said, if you want to walk into Kintore then head towards the caravan storage area then turn left along the track at the gates. It's a little longer that way but misses out all but a very short section of walking along the road. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trev63 1 review from this member

 Well what a lovely time we had. Helen and her staff are great, since they took over 3 years ago vast improvements. Now a Four Star Visit Scotland and a four pennant with the AA.

Toilets revamped and some new statics for sale, and the tent field relocated to the side.

Hoping to come back soon 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulzie 10 reviews from this member

 Arrived about 3pm and was given very short instructions on where to camp. The entrance to the camping field is rather narrow and I saw a few caravans struggling to get in.

The field was a couple of acres on a slight hill. There were quite a few caravans at the top with one or two tents elsewhere. The grass was very long and rather bumpy – basically a field.

After wandering round the campsite managed to find the toilet block. For such a large campsite it only had 2 male showers and 2 toilets. Showers were warm and free. Toilet block was rather dirty and had run out of toilet paper. Toilet block is also a fair walk away from the main field.

During my stay there appeared to be about 20 caravans housing various workies. At night (Saturday night) they were noisy till midnight.

Site is located about a 20 min walk away from Kintore along a busy country road. There’s supposed to be a path but I never found it. Kintore has a couple of friendly pubs, Chippy, Indian and a Co-Op.

Site is noisy in general as it's about half a mile away from the main Aberdeen to Inverness dual carriageway, and also on the flight path for Aberdeen Airport.

At £15 per night for a 2 man tent this site seemed overpriced. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: C + K 2 reviews from this member

 Great location for those of us who play golf.

Numerous courses between 5 and 30 mins. Golf heaven!

Great welcome from owners who were exceptionally helpful throughout stay.

Toilet facilities which we have, on previous visits found somewhat lacking, have now been upgraded and although the Gents is still 'work in progress' the Ladies is complete and fine.

During our visit there were a number of caravans occupied by men who were working a nearby pipeline but caused no inconvenience and appeared only to work and sleep!

Lovely quiet site. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AD90 4 reviews from this member

 After viewing the website we decided it would be a good choice for a one night trial of our new tent. Staff were friendly and helpful but we were a bit disappointed; the ablutions were old, a bit tatty and (on my visits) not too clean. The tent field is long way from the ablutions - not so good for little kids. Play area was adequate; although, again, a good distance from the tent field. A bit of shame really, as it's in a great wee spot, but it's not expensive. It appears the site is popular with permanent caravan dwellers. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 182 reviews from this member

 This site changed hands in July 2010, and the new enthusiastic owners were very busy topdressing the hard-stands and demolishing some old statics. I expect they'll work equally hard at upgrading other elements of the site. They were keen to stress that the site is dog friendly (the CCC handbook has no dog symbols which suggests it's not). The field next door is great for dogs to run around in, though it needs a poo bin at the gate.

We were given a generous EHU grass pitch in a central area that suited our request for a sunny site. The hard stands around the edge looked to be more closely spaced, shady and by the main road. It's quite a big site, but sub-divided by trees so it seems smaller.

The keypad on the toilet block seemed to annoy everyone - when it was locked I saw little girls kicking the door in frustration, and I couldn't read it without my glasses on! but the owner was equally irritated as it was usually left on the snib. The toilets and showers were adequate - there were never any queues, the showers were free and hot, but it was cramped around the sinks.

You can walk into Kintore by taking the track downhill past the tent field, turn left at the huge caravan storage field by the woods, then follow the track to the edge of town. National Trust castles and gardens nearby.

I'd probably not come back here next time only because it's not as convenient for Aberdeen as the site at Maryculter, which is near a bus link into town. But we wish the new owners every success. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hillhead Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hillhead Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hillhead Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Inverurie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Aberdeenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3319 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements