Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Noongallas Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (West) > Penzance > Noongallas Campsite > Reviews

Noongallas Campsite
Gulval
Penzance
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR208YR
Tel: 07971 426258


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 44 Reviews
                9/10 from 44 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sararo 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet campsite,

Proper back to nature campsite, allowing camp fires and dog friendly,

Good toilet and shower facilities,

Would stay again,

Lovely woods and stream. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sally7 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite, very natural, has all you need for a comfortable stay - clean loos, fridge, somewhere to charge the phone, loads of space, privacy, beautiful views, log fires, dogs, chickens,

Lovely places to walk in and near the site,

Easy drive to Penzance for shops. Very friendly and easy-going. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We`re delighted to advise this site is reopening for 2022 onwards after being closed throughout the 2021 season due to the Coronavirus restrictions and issues. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davenrea 2 reviews from this member

 We phoned first as we were looking for a remote peaceful site with private pitches on farmland. The site gives most of what we wanted. The toilet blocks are basic and privacy isn't guaranteed! However the quite and tranquil part for the site isn't at all as advertised, both nights we had to put up with noise until 1-2 in the morning, mentioned it the first morning but nothing was done about it. 2nd night there was a group playing music till about 11. 30, not our cup of tea but it's a shame it encouraged people to carry on afterwards, listening to the same few chords badly played on a banjo really doesn't help you sleep. We won't return again but if you are a party animal who likes late nights, booze and music then it's a lovely place to go. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smem 1 review from this member

 Myself and my partner have just returned from 6 nights in Cornwall staying at Noongallas. The site is located at the end of a long twisty country lane overlooking Penzance and the surrounding valleys and hill side. The sites owners and staff are very laid back and friendly. Once we had chosen our pitch we realised that the tent poles were not in the bag. At this point we had travelled 5 hrs from South Wales and it was 5 pm. We asked the owner if she knew of a local camping shop we explained what has happened. At that point she said that they had a spare tent that we could borrow for the week. This was a life saver as it was similar size to ours and seeing what time it was we had vision of a very long drive home or a night in the car or the barn. We had a lovely 6 nights at the site the facilities are clean but I can imagine the get busy in high season ( one male and one female shower). There is plenty to do in the surrounding areas. Campfires are a must here. It rained on the day that we were leaving so Ivan told us to leave the tent up to dry off. Saved us a job. We will definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Enuj 2 reviews from this member

 Can't wait to return. After our recent stay we have a head full of wonderful memories and I miss the cries of the cockerel and chickens. Very laid back and away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, but close enough to reach. We were greeted by Kay and John the owners and allowed to choose our own pitch. The site situated at the top of a hill with wonderful views has ample room to cater for any size tent. There are 3 loos and 1 shower for women, same next door for men. One shower worked well with choosing quiet times and not taking too long, there is also a plug for hair dryers etc. The facilities where cleaned regularly and had plenty of loo paper (I always take some with me as many places run out!I also take a porta loo and shower but never needed to use them)There is only one wash up sink which was no problem, we did some of our washing up outside the tent and only used the sink for large and messy items. We chose our pitch at the top field and close to the toilets and washrooms, our pitch was slightly sloped and drained well after some very heavy down pours. Excellent soil for pegging out easily especially when we had to batten down in what felt like force 10 winds! which just added to our experience! John, Kay and Paul 'the site man' were great and very helpful, they were able to give us suggestions on various trips, shopping, eating out and even able to suggest a fantastic Citroen mechanic when my car wasn't well. Our party varying in age form 5 to 56 were all well catered for. There is a play area with mats and swings for the very young and peace and tranquility for the older end! The Barn has a fridge, freezer and plugs, which came in useful for charging mobiles. The barn also offered a dry haven for some campers who had been washed out by the great British weather. There was music there also on some nights an excellent place for get together's and chance to mingle with other campers if you can drag yourself away from an open fire! At the bottom of the site you can visit the woods and stream, oh what a magical place, it was quite wet and muddy in places where it had rained hard but so picturesque, well worth the steep treck back to our tents.

Rolls, hot drinks Etc. Are also available at set times.

Penzance town is approximately 10 mins down the hill. There are plenty of shops, Beaches and places to eat if needed and supermarkets Etc. To get provisions. Loads to do and see in the area without a long drive or you can walk to your hearts content. No down sides to this site as we are campers not glampers! We also had the opportunity to hold a chicken and a slow worm thanks to Paul who is on the go all the time making sure all is OK even building a water slide down the hill and yes at 56 I did participate as did John the owner while Kay watched over us all and took photo's. Thank You John, Kay, Paul and of course the other members of our party. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scazer 2 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from 2 weeks camping at Noongallas campsite in Penzance. John and Kay the site owners and Paul who is there all the time, go out of their way to give this campsite a real homely camping feel, even Logan the site dog made us feel at home!

We were greeted with a warm welcome and shown around, allowed to choose where we wanted to pitch. We settled for the top corner and was advised the nearby cockerel was very vocal in the mornings and he was! loved this only added to the country feel.

There was a lot of us 6 tents and a kitchen tent and they were quite happy for us to set up gazebos etc. We were able to set up in peace and was not at all rushed to pay site fees. There was a nearby swings and crash mats for the children to play with which was great.

The campsite also had a barn with freezer, fridge and plug facilities. This was also a great place to listen to the music that was sometimes on there and a great place to meet and mix with the other campers.

We experienced all sorts of weather during our stay from really hot to what I can only describe as a tropical storm! The wind that day was horrendous and we came back on site to find that they had been working really hard to try and keep all the tents safe, ours survived the great British weather others not so lucky but those people were helped to get sorted, just goes to show the good caring nature you feel here.

We visited all the beautiful sights and places in the area and Paul was very helpful giving us tips on places to visit based on his local knowledge, we went somewhere different every day and it was great that this campsite was so central.

So there you have it busy days campfire in the evening, communal barn if wanted and a safe place for the kids to play and make friends what more could you ask for it is exactly what we look for when we are camping.

I looked long and hard at all the campsites and read all the reviews before we went as there is a lot of us from all over the country, Gloucester London and Scotland, and it was our main annual holiday sometimes its hard to choose somewhere that can accommodate all of us but this campsite suited all our ages.

Paul was fantastic for a chat or a bit of fun banter, entertaining the kids randomly turning up with a chicken for us to hold or a slow worm, my 5 year son old loved it! also putting ground sheets on the hill to make a fun slide, kept everyone entertained when fed up with the rain and gloomy days.

OK so there was only one shower and 3 toilets in each toilet block, the best thing to do is shower off peak! we didn't find this a problem, to be fair we have been to sites with brand new shower blocks and no atmosphere and quite frankly we go to get together and have a fun relaxing time in the great outdoors which is what you get here.

The facilities that they have were always clean and the 1 washing up sink wasn't an issue either we used it for the big wash-up other than that washed by the tent and there's always paper plates and baby wipes!

so to sum things up we have just had fantastic, relaxing two week family camping holiday, met some really friendly people and most of all created some really great memories. Would we go back there?. Yes we would, Would we recommend this site to others?. Absolutely! go camp enjoy! Happy Holidays! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Faymorley 3 reviews from this member

 Picked this site as it's reviewed and advertised as relaxed, friendly, back-to-basics and quiet, as well as being campfire and dog friendly. Which is what we like.

We stayed here in a tent over the jubilee weekend in 2012. Admittedly, we were expecting to find Cornwall busy that weekend, and enquired quite last minute as to availability so when we were told just to turn up I thought, either they expected to be quiet or had plenty of space/facilities to accommodate us.

When we were arrived we were shown around, they have two separate camping areas. One for families/groups and one with small terraced alcoves for adults/couples.

All sites with fire pitches. Lovely views over the valley opposite, on a slope but with levelled areas. On first impressions it was great, the alcoves could have been slightly larger as once the tent and fire set up not a lot of room to leave the car where its not obscuring yours or someone elses views. Also, they were a bit close together for our liking, but when we arrived we were sharing the field with about 8 other couples/small groups so it was fine.

Unfortunately on the second day the whole place totally changed into a commune! The site is only small, The owners kept accepting more and more people including a group of about 20 climbers (in our supposed quiet field) and the place became jam-packed, with everyone on top of each other, which is fine, but not what the place is advertised as nor set up to facilitate.

The shower blocks included only one shower each for men and women, and there was only one sink to do dishes in. Both of which caused massive ques. We enjoy back-to-basics, and don't want fancy facilities, which is all fine but not when you're sharing it with over 150 people. Admittedly there was always loo roll and soap for sinks etc, but the loos weren't especially clean.

I'm not sure where it all went wrong, we got the impression that they just didn't have any idea how busy it would get, or were just too pre-occupied getting money in on that busy weekend to think about how it would effect the campers experience

One other niggle, there are two large fridge-freezers in a barn in the communal area which are for perishables etc. They were both completely empty, and we used them to put a six-pack of beer in when we arrived. It said alcohol only allowed for a quick cool, and given that both fridges were empty we saw no harm in that. However, we found soon after they'd been removed by the owner. And the fridges were both still empty otherwise. We found this really petty! and what with the mini Glastonbury going on on site we really needed a cold beer to relax! Perhaps more time effectively managing the site and less time patrolling the fridges would be an idea!

The actual campsite is very scenic, great views, a nice distance from loads of lovely areas/walks/beaches. We visit this part of cornwall often and love it. Just below the campsite, a stroll away is a river and valley walk amongst some of the most lovely woods we've seen, very nice for exploring, and plenty of wildlife and bluebells.

Such a shame it was spoiled by such a volume of campers. It wasn't what we signed up for and cut our stay two nights short without asking for a refund. Far too busy for us, we couldn't relax. It could be improved by managing bookings, or just learning to say no once at a certain capacity. Or if you go during less peak times it may be a different experience. Unfortunately, we definitely wouldn't go back as a lovely area and campsite was spoiled by over-filling and poor management. Laid back it wasn't! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Donkeyshed 3 reviews from this member

 Had a fantastic time at Noongallas. We clsoe it because they allow camp fires. We had a great pitch, there were friendly people, the facilities were basic but entirely adequate.

Fab barn area for socialising in the evening with impromptu music sessions. Fridge freezers in the barn for all to use. Plug points in barn for charging phones etc. Very mellow.

Met some lovely people and will be returning next year and very reasonable at £15 per night for the three of us and car, bargain!

There are some fab beaches. Try Pedenbounder at Treen, Praa sands and Porthmeor at St Ives. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: C_wolsey 3 reviews from this member

 Just stayed here a few weeks ago. We spent a week and really enjoyed our time. It has a really nice atmosphere to the site. Everybody you meet was very friendly and the owners and staff were brilliant.

The pitches were nice and sheltered and the terracing of the tears made it feel like you had your own space (it was quite quiet when we were there). There is a rain shed with some chairs, fridges in and a power point which is very handy. There was firewood for sale on site and plenty of fire pits near your tent. I never go camping unless you can have fires now.

One day the surfer who looks after the sites day to day stuff came and showed our little girl their new chicken chicks and took her into the adult birds coup. He was a really genuine nice fella and I canít say a bad word about him. Friendly and helpful throughout

As for constructive criticism. Well the menís shower was a bit ropey, It seemed like a pressure issue, if no one else was using the other shower or washing up etc it was brilliant, if they were stone cold. Same with the washing up if you went up when nobody had been for a bit no problem, if you are at the end of a queue the tank would be empty and it would be luke warm at best. But you are camping at the end of the day. And ruffing it is sort of the point sometimes. The nice bits of the site far outweigh the occasional cold water.

Overall we loved it. We will be back 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Noongallas Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Noongallas Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Noongallas Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penzance      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3747 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement