Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Newquay Bay Resort

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Newquay Bay Resort Reviews

Newquay Bay Resort
Trevelgue Road
Porth
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 4AS
Tel: 01637 851851
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 06/02/2021 to 02/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 21 Reviews
                7/10 from 21 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daz h 1 review from this member

 Newquay view resort is fantastic place for a holiday for all ages, nice and friendly staff, free indoor and outdoor heated pools, nice bar for all the family and even your dog, a shop for the small things eg milk, bread, clean toilets and hot clean showers and a five minute drive from evrything else you could want 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Thehoogs 7 reviews from this member

 I've got to admit after reading other reviews on this campsite on this site, and trip adviser I was very worried. I was pleasantly surprised by the on site facilities and the caravan.

The caravan itself was a little shabby, but we had paid for a value unit and it was the end of the season. The carpet was frayed in places and the table covering peeling away, but nothing too horrendous. The caravan was clean and the beds made up for our arrival.

The on site shop had very limited opening hours but it was October, the stock was being run down and sold off, but to be honest we rarely buy more than bread milk and the odd ice cream and all of these were available. The club has recently been refurbished and was very nice, the entertainment a bit dated with the usual break for bingo but we only popped in for the kids hour ( why do holiday camp entertainers encourage the kids to ' make some noise' ? most parents want happy kids and a cheeky beer not the screaming!)

The pool was warmish and clean and enormous by most sites standards, and my only worry was how cold the changing rooms were.

My family had a great holiday at Newquay view, its very close to the town centre and all the beaches, we will be back! 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bude camper 5 reviews from this member

 Well, where do I begin.

This is the most awful site we have ever been on ! We were on the touring field with our caravan. No Tv signal. No phone signal. No Wifi. Pitches not at all level. Extra high blocks under corner steadies at one end, otherwise they would have been off the ground. We asked in reception where we could empty the toilet waste from our caravan. Nobody knew ! The girl had to make a phone call and ask someone. Then we had to ask them to clear out the sticks and leaves and crisp packets before we could use it ! Quite a long walk, up steps, to empty toilet container!

Showers. Powerful and hot, but dated and not very clean. Toilets ok, apart from dried poo on the walls in places, and lots of rude graffiti on the doors. Washbasins. Nice hot water, but no soap in dispensers. Outside washing up facilities dated and dirty.

The shop had a few basic essentials. With lots of empty shelves.

The bar staff seemed to charge different prices each time you asked for something ! They didn't even know how to make a bitter shandy !

Our daughter and husband and 6 children had booked into a static van. They arrived at 12. 30 and were told it wasn't ready and to come back at 3pm. Fair enough. But when they went back at 3pm they were told that their caravan had been given to someone else who had complained about theirs ! How could they do that ! After waiting for another 3 hours they were finally given a different van. Not the cleanest of vans, it had a funny smell, the oven was dirty, grill dirty, toaster didn't work properly unless you held the lever down. Carpets wet in places. Due to having been sprayed with bleach just before they were given the key ! Nasty smell of bleach everywhere.

Not at all like the luxury top of the range van that they had booked and paid for. After lots of 'words' they were given half their money back. But it shouldn't have happened in the first place !

Being half term week there was supposed to be fancy dress every night. The first night all of us were the only ones dressed up, and the staff didn't seem to know much about it ! As the week progressed a few more people dressed up. After spotting us in fancy dress ! Very disappointing for the children ! The entertainment did get better as the week went on.

I would not recommend this site to anyone. And certainly would not return.

Even the entertainers were making jokes about the dirty, cold, damp caravans. On the stage as part of the entertainment ! What does that tell you !

Be warned. All the bad reviews that you read are completely true.

Don't think that it can't be that bad. ( like we did ). It is !

Only good thing is the nice beach a couple of miles away. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Sjcamping87 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here on a 'sun deal' and had a fab few days!

Staff were really friendly on arrival at reception and there was even a guinea fowl doing meet an greets!we arrived early but were fortunate that our caravan was ready for us so went straight in!

Caravan was just opposite the shop which was really handy and as we were staying with my sister he partner and children made it really convenient for the cafe and arcade!

The caravan itself was lovely inside pretty clean and everything working although there were a few stray hairs in the shower :-/ bit nothing too major and showers were lovely and hot with good pressure!

BBQs were allowed outside your caravan which was lovely and the strip of grass in front was pretty private which was a bonus!

The shop was quite Bare but it was coming to the end of season and saying that I found everything in there that we wanted and not at rip off prices give can be the case at on site shops!

The cafe had good food although only one gent serving and cooking so was slightly slow but he was managing it well!

There was a small park for the kids but was being repaired so couldn't use but would be good for future!

A small arcade also on site which didn't have all the modern games in but the two p machines were a hit with the kids and we were regulars in there most days the lady who ran it was lovely and gave the kids lollipops which was a nice touch!

We didn't use the large indoor swimming pool or clubhouse which was across the road so can't comment I'm afraid.

The beach is just down the hill from here great walk in bit of a killer coming back, took the car after the first day!And there's a pub next to the beach which serves some lovely food and great Cornish cider! It's a short drive to both pads tow and Newquay with some great beaches along the way!

Overall the site could do with some updating and tlc in places but the staff are friendly and we had a great time! Would visit again 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Team A 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Trevelgue (or Travelgoo as some would say)

A very memorable and funny holiday for a number of reasons.

We had 2 Adults, one 9 year old and an 11 week old.

We had an amazing holiday and are glad we stayed at the Trevelgue complex.

The Entertainment team are briliant and catered for children and adults. Very humorous, smart, funny, engaging, welcoming and interactive. Not enough space to say how they well they did, for children the games start the evening followed by a children's disco then bingo then a show followed by a quiz and another disco.

Kids club is full of activities and a nice place for children to meet each other.

The on site diner is welcoming and serve lovely food. The Owner is someone you must meet and I highly recommend the pizza and steak.

Lovely big indoor pool, friendly lifeguard, however opening hours a bit restrictive leaving only the outdoor pool open longer.

The caravan. Served its purpose very distinctive and memorable.

Close to lovely sandy beach with rockpools etc not far from town which has bit of everything for all ages.

Holidays and time spent together are what you make of them. Great fun had by all.

PS. Don't forget your Quacks and Wobbles! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Alicatz 7 reviews from this member

 Got a bit worried reading reviews about these caravans, and rightly so! Whilst queueing to check in, 3 families in front of us were asking to be moved as they were not happy with the caravan they had been given!

We were given our key and went to have a look at our caravan, it was like something out of the arc! The fire looked unsafe, the controls on it were practically hanging off!

We went to reception and were given another caravan. This one was a bit better. Although it was old, it was clean. We got unpacked and went out for the evening.

When we returned I went to the bathroom to get washed and ready for bed and found that the toilet was leaking and also the sink! We reported these problems the following morning on our way to the beach, and was told someone would repair the leaks whilst we were out. They didn't! We went back to reception, and half hour later 2 men turned up to do the repairs.

I feel so sorry for the staff at this park. They are so polite and helpful.  


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Kwilkins2 2 reviews from this member

 Three words - value for money.

We booked last minute for the first week in August in one of the Caravans on this site. We were pleased at the price we booked at considering as its the summer holidays and other sites were charging ridiculous money. I was apprehensive prior to our arrival worrying that there may be a reason for such a low price but on arrival I was pleasantly surprised. Apart from some of the facilities looking quite dated the actual location of the site was lovely. The caravan was nothing spectacular - standard and clean, everything we needed anyway.

We were a bit worried after discovering that the site has an 18/30's campsite area (which is not mentioned on the web site might I add) however this area is well away from the main caravan park and we were not disturbed by the 18/30's occupants at all. As we had done our research before going to Newquay we new that the Boardmasters festival was due to be held towards the end of our stay so expected the number of youth's/party goers to increase and be staying close by. Although there were lots of them walking around with drink etc we did not witness any trouble, there was a fair bit of noise but nothing major.

I wouldn't choose to camp on this site as the shower facilities looked pretty poor - we felt sorry for the queues of people waiting to shower every evening and morning. Washing/drier facilities were pretty poor. On a positive the Shop was pretty good and so was the club house - lots of good kiddies entertainment. No problems with booking in. Newquay only 5mins drive away - regular bus service available. Beach 10min walk up a steep hill but well worth the treck.

I've read a few really bad reviews on here about this site some of which are a little un-fair. If your looking for a cheap place to stay and your not looking to spend too much time on site then this site is ideal. One other comment to make - do you research about events in the area before you go and if you think an event like Boardmasters will effect your stay then choose diff dates or diff area.

We had a great experience and our 7 year old son loved it. We will be returning next year! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Kirstygarratt 5 reviews from this member

 We were lucky enough to be in a brand new static caravan which was lovely. However, the fact that it shares it's space with the Smugglers site somewhat spoils it. The residents from Smugglers are not allowed through the family site after a certain time in the evening but during the day they can use the facilities (apart from the indoor swimming pool). The indoor swimming pool is very large and our children very much enjoyed using it however it is rather restricted on it's opening times.

All in all the site is ok but we won't be going back 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Blondie40 1 review from this member

 I just spent a week here with my partner and two girls, aged 3 and 5. Caravan was lovely, site was nice, huge indoor pool, entertainment in the evening was really good. I actually did not hear any noise at night and had a very pleasant stay, albeit I was very anxious before I went as I read the reviews which do not do the site justice, so please ignore most of them.
You are going to get a bit of noise at night, you are on holiday, Smugglers haven did not really bother us much, you saw a few youngsters around but they were quite pleasant.
I would definitely go back to this site. Make sure you go to watergate bay beach as much better for kids than porth beach. A very steep 10 minute walk to porth beach along small country road. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Brookekim 5 reviews from this member

 What a great site, Outside pool was closed as it's still early, but the inside pool was open and it's huge! Kids loved the club at night, Caravan was clean and tidy. First night there it was freezing, reception staff was fantastic went and asked for extra duvets and were given them with no problems. Only down side is the smuggler's Haven site! o.K yes it's separated by a wooden fence, but that don't stop the noise! Very noisy until about 5am , loads of rugby players were there at the same time why oh why put them on a family site? Surely they should of been put on the other site! We didn't use the camping facilities but had a look round and they didn't seem that nice! very small and not very tidy.  


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Newquay Bay Resort child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Newquay Bay Resort have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Newquay Bay Resort?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Newquay Bay Resort dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3336 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement