Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pilbach Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Llandysul > Pilbach Holiday Park Reviews

Pilbach Holiday Park
Betws Ifan
Rhydlewis
Llandysul
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SA44 5RT
Tel: 0845 050 8176
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 65
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 20 Reviews
                6/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SwiftNick 5 reviews from this member

 When I book a holiday, I know that there are some things provided on site that I will not use. Fair enough, it's my choice as to what I use. These holidays come as a package & I can accept that. BUT, one thing that REALLY gets me angry is when something is charged for but does not exist! I booked a pitch & because I had two dogs was charged £122 for them for the two weeks that we booked for.

However, there is absolutely NOTHING on site to warrant this charge at all. Not a dog run, not an exercise area, nothing at all! Of course, any 'mess' that they should make would be expected to be picked up as with any other site. Following our holiday, I wrote to the head office, politely, asking why the charge & that I felt it should be refunded. I did not even get a single reply in any form.

The holiday itself was a washout. The rain was horrendous but that was not the fault of the company in any way except for the lack of drainage on the tent field.

The site, in general, I feel can only be described as 'run down adequate'. The toilet blocks are rather dated & flooring is lifting in some of the showers. There are only 4 showers in each of the menís & women's units & 4 toilets in each so should the site be busy then it would cause problems. The 'shop' is just about non-existent & not even really selling the basics, although there are quite a few very good stores/supermarkets not far away, about 10 to 20 minutes depending on what store you want to use.

During the time of our stay, there was no hot water at all in the very basic washing up facilities.

While there, only two staff were on site & although they were very helpful & pleasant more would be needed to keep up with maintenance, in my opinion. The charge for electric was very expensive, too & it was difficult to get the card readers to work.

There certainly is some stunning scenery around the area & travelling 'north to south' is easy & pleasant but going 'east to west' is a lot more challenging!

If the weather had been a lot better it would have been an enjoyable holiday, not because of the site, but of the places to go & see.

I cannot recommend this site although it may suit some who like a very countryfied & quiet area. Getting to it with a large unit could also be a problem once off the main roads. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coopeyfamily 1 review from this member

 The staff at this site were so helpful. We arrived here due to unforseen circumstances but are very glad we did.

The site has a shop, heated swimming pool, clubhouse and clean and tidy shower and toilet facilities and would highly recommended it to other families. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flea2005 2 reviews from this member

 We decided to stay here as it was our first time camping and was close enough it home if we didn't like it. The site appeared clean enough. The other campers on the field were very friendly.

The only major issue we had was that they had a terrible problem with wasps and there were no wasp traps anywhere. The swimming pool was great.

We did spend most of our days off site and going to the many beautiful beaches in the surrounding area.

It is ok to stay if you are happy to drive everyday to other places as compared to other sites there is very little to do. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Tracy Podmore 1 review from this member

 This site is excellent, outdoor pool, restaurant/bar with entertainment. Ideal location for visiting Tresaith or Aberporth.

The only thing that needs attention is the showers in the ladies block need updating.

Staff were very friendly. Bar and restaurant recently modernised very nicely. Toilets clean. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beckypratt 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week's stay. Site was overbooked when we arrived so we were put in the playing field/dog walking field which you couldn't get your car in to unload and there was no electric but this was solved by connecting through to the next field and once we were settled and unpacked we had plenty of room. The site itself is quite small but could use an extra toilet block near the tents and caravans and could do with a bit more selection in the shop. Toilets and showers were lovely and clean, pool was a nice temperature although my daughter was thrown in by the entertainment staff during a game and injured her knee and my son slipped and fractured his foot and there were no qualified firs aiders available to help out but we were given some ice and advised of the nearest hospital. Club house was nice with good entertainment but they did run out of lager and chips on more than one occasion this could of been due to the bank holiday weekend but there is a Tesco in Cardigan where they could of purchased more. The staff were very friendly and overall we had a great week I would return again in the future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kerri r stanway 1 review from this member

 We booked a 4 night break as we were unsure of site after reading prevous rewiews. I can definitely recommend Pilbach. Heated swimming pool was lovely had trouble keeping my 3 kids out if it. Site was spotless. Shower block / toilet block spotlessly clean at all times of the day. We ended up booking for an extra 3 nights we were that pleased with site. Kids playground was basic for my 10 yrs old but was brill for my 6 yr old. Staff were always polite. Big thumbs up for nigel ( site manager I think) and multi tasker Carol. They both were really friendly. We visited nearby new quay beach were we saw dolphins. Recommended by staff we also visited cardigan island farm where we saw seals in sea. Brilliant holiday definitely booking for next yr x 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clareb5 3 reviews from this member

 Agree with others - don't use SAT NAV or AA route finder. Make way to Cardigan and then take Aberystwyth Road and turn right at Aberport junction where site is clearly signposted - don't go through Newcastle Emlyn route nightmare.

Messed up my original booking so had to pay extra to take caravan or would have missed out meeting up with group of friends as arranged. Caravan very clean.

Pool was welcome addition for the kids. Small shop on site for basics and games room to keep the kids entertained. Karaoke night and bingo at the clubhouse but some of the staff need to go on a customer services course as they were rude at times.

Drainage on camping field is poor so was glad had 'upgraded' to caravan. The electricity tripped and they were left without power for hours. Awful smell of sewage at end of site.

Perfect spot for a range of lovely beaches - Llangrannog, Aerporth etc. Beautiful day on Poppit Sands and again on Newquay. Lovely pub just before Poppit sands. Cottage on site is lovely too.  
Management response: All our staff our fully trained and experienced in their field, customer service is a priority of ours, the camping field is fine now as we have upgraded the whole area with underground chippings, we have also since had all new electrics fitted to each pitch with card meters (pay as you go) at 10amp.


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ajj401 3 reviews from this member

 We booked a long weekend camping at Pilbach the first week of the school holidays. I must admit after reading previous reviews was a bit hesitant to say the least as we are new to camping and wasn't sure what to expect when we arrived. We put our trust in family members who have stayed in a caravan on the site before and must admit all my reservations were put aside!

I found the site to be clean and very friendly, the showers and toilets are nice and clean, there's are 2 launderettes and the Reception has the usual leaflets etc, they also do sell the basics: bread, milk etc. And have a freezer if you want to re-freeze icepacks and a bookcase where you can lend or swap books (novel idea!).

The tent field has electric hook ups on one side and non-elec on the other.Must admit the non-elec is more flat but only the bottom two piches on the elec side suffer if the weather is particularly bad. The club has bar meals available and was just starting to offer a breakfast service while we were there.

We had a nice Sunday lunch and for £ 6.95 for 2 courses for adults not badly priced either. The pool was very welcome as the sun was shining and our 3 would have been happy to spend all day in there if they were allowed. We spent a day at Aberporth beach which is about 20 mins away.Lovely! and the one beach is dog friendly so ticked all the boxes for us too.

The club offers evening entertainment by way of the usual: kids dances, bingo, horse racing, karaoke etc. They also had 2 visiting cabarets on the Sat and Sun nights (one being much better than the other!)

All-in-all we enjoyed it so much we've just come back from another 10 days so needless to say we had a great time.Pity it's not 2 hours closer for us as it is a good 4 hour journey and with that and pitching the tent and inflating airbeds etc it is a bit far for a weekend. Definitely recommend if you want a quiet, family friendly site. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gary smith 5 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 10 night stay at Pilbach. We booked the site in march, no directions were sent with the confirmation so we used the sat nav, which was a big mistake. The grass pitch we had booked turned out to be hard standing, the toilet blocks were of a poor standard (no plugs in sinks, 2 out of 4 showers working, some days they were not cleaned and no loo roll present, no soap in dispensers). Some days there were no lights working. The club house was fine but lack of entertainment. No food available. Some equipment in the children's play area was broken. When the site got busy the electric hook ups kept tripping. The on site shop had a basic choice and the nearest shop was a garage about a 15 minute drive away.

The good thing I can say about Pilbach is that the swimming pool was nice and warm and the kids had a great time in it.  
Management response: Our toilet block has been refurbished with 4 fully working showers in each Gents and Ladies, they are also cleaned on an hourly basis, plus we have a new swipe card system (new card system for 2012), we also have an on site handyman that maintains the whole of the park. We have entertainment 4 nights a week in the main season and all holidays, we have also added a new snack bar for 2012 and we now also offer a takeaway service


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jayt892 1 review from this member

 We found that the pitch was on an incline, the site was looked after and tidy. The elsan & shower facilities could do with being updated. Its a long long walk to the beach so easier to drive and 1. 15 hours away from Tenby. We found that the site was limited for things to do for children. Lovely pint of beer and nice clean club, but no entertainment. 
Management response: Our elsan point has been fully refurbished and moved from inside to an outside elsan point, our guests tell us it has made the job much easier and cleaner than before.


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pilbach Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Pilbach Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pilbach Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pilbach Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llandysul      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4277 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement