Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crossburn Caravan Park Peebles

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Site Reviews

Crossburn Caravan Park Peebles
Edinburgh Road
Peebles
Borders   (Browse area)
EH45 8ED
Tel: 01721 720501
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 62
Open: Easter To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 60 Reviews
                9/10 from 60 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davie Kelly1 2 reviews from this member

This is a follow up to last year's post, myself and my family just spent two weeks at Crossburn campsite for the 7th year running, you will not find any other holiday campsite that can beat this place, the staff are friendly and with an approachable attitude and nothings too much and they always have a welcoming smile

I mentioned that the town close by, lookout for a chip shop in John Street called Jim Jack's, the chips are the best I have had in many years, well worth a visit or two

Can't wait til next year

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Navigator43 6 reviews from this member

We chose this site as it was in Peebles which we wanted to visit and also to see friends. It was a stopover en route from the Lake District before heading for Aberdeenshire.

There is a Spar shop at the petrol station near the entrance and there are several good eateries on the main street.

The caravan site was clean and very well maintained as were the toilet blocks. Cannot comment on laundry as we did not use it. Good space between units on gravel standing with water taps nearby.

The owner and his family were really helpful. The maintenance/repair staff from their on-site dealership came at short notice when we discovered a water leak from under our kitchen sink tap. They ensured it was properly replaced and checked again before we left.

There is a large open grassy space in the centre of the site and a good children's play/adventure area there too.

We enjoyed our two nights there and will certainly be very happy to return again next year.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Texx 1 review from this member

Whilst this is an excellent site, clean and well run with fine facilities I would point out that should you wish to use the laundry facilities tokens are required to use the two machines. We were charged 6 for a 40 minute wash and 3 for the dryer for 30 min. A full load will require more than one token. Most C&C and Caravan Club sites we have used charge 3 - 3. 50 for a wash and 1 for 15 min drying.

Also, the wifi signal is very intermittent as you get further from the shop/reception area and should you get connected the broadband has been slugged.

Enjoy your stay.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stewie2015 1 review from this member

On arrival the site gives the impression that it is well maintained but toilet blocks could do with some thorough cleaning as I'm sure they are not done daily having been here 3 days and still seeing the same mess as when we got here. While toilet block A is small and cramped, giving you no room to put your belongings. Inside the shower cubicle is just as cramped making it somewhat difficult to even wash yourself. I also find the picking up shower mats after use and hanging then over the shower rail quite disgusting. These mats should be removed and cleaned on a daily basis (by a paid cleaner) but getting the customers to do this is just another indication that there is no cleaner. The toilet roll dispensers are also a problem, it might not seem like a big issue for some but when you cant get the toilet roll out quicker than 1 sheet a minute, it soon becomes one. Toilet block B is bigger and has wash basins inside shower cubicles but still in need of a thorough clean. While I appreciate that shared shower blocks will never be perfect, more attention to detail by the site operators is much needed as well as a cleaning rota. Otherwise, nice campsite with children's play area 5 mins from Peebles town centre making this a good stop when traveling north or south.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vonix 3 reviews from this member

Enjoy camping on this quiet site and have done for 3 years. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and well maintained toilets/showers. The field and camping areas are well maintained also. Short pleasant walk into Peebles where plenty take aways and public bars. Small play area for children. 2 friendly donkeys (sanctuary) close by who enjoy sharing fruit and carrots.

I enjoy coming here for a quiet break.

Dog friendly. Although we do not have a dog.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rasputin1 4 reviews from this member

Booked what I thought would have been a fully service pitch for 25. 00 a night but turned out it was hook up only which was a pain when we had to move the van to a water point midway through the weekend. Booked for the May bank holiday weekend from Friday to Monday, the site was jammed but never really seemed too crowded. There is a barrier entrance and exit that you have to pay a deposit for the key which is 10 which you get back when you leave. There are 2 toilets which have been modernised and have a push button key pad, they were never busy anytime I was in. We had a pitch that faced onto a central camping field which had around 4 tents pitched half off which gave up on the Sunday due to rain which was relentless until Sunday afternoon. When the rain did stop the central play area for the kids was always busy with all ages.

The whole weekend was spoiled by the constant tripping of the electricity which at one point was happening every couple of hours or so. The hook up points were not fused individually but in a line off about 4 or 5 vans which meant that the electric heating was going off constantly. I felt sorry for the guy that was trying to track down the problem as the water was running out his waterproofs at eleven o clock on the Saturday night when he knocked on our door.

They never did get to bottom of the problem as it was back to normal on Sunday.

All in all a nice friendly site and staff which had some unfortunate problems when we were there.

It has not put us off the site and will return as Peebles is a lovely place with some great wee shops and restaurants galore.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davie Kelly1 2 reviews from this member

You won't get anywhere better than cross burn, I have been here 6 years running, the staff are brilliant, the shops fully stocked, the whole site is kept tidy no matter how many people there are in the place, cross burn is situated 15 minutes walk from the town, everyone is friendly, there's plenty of things to see and do either in the town what with pubs, shops and chipshops, there's also the tourist information centre in the town

To stay in the campsite using a tent was very cheap, not sure about camper vans and caravans, but take it from me, Crossburn campsite is the best place me and my family has stayed at, I recommend you have a week or two here, I guarantee you will love it

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Thal 3 reviews from this member

The side was within walking distance of Peebles which is a lovely County Town. The site has very good hardstanding for caravans and motorhomes with a flat field for tents. We chose a site with hardstanding and electric hookup. The toilets and showers were in good condition and very clean. The shop on site had all sorts of camping accessories and the petrol station next door had a small supermarket. There was also a caravan repair shop on site and the staff were very helpful if you had a problem. I would return again.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pads 13 reviews from this member

I would say that this is not really our type of site. All the pitches seemed to be very close to the next door pitch. Lots of rules and regs. Owners friendly. Shower block clean and well maintained. Thought it was expensive for out of season, but for us we most likely would not return. Noted convenient to walk into the town and was fine for a stop as we headed north.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DianneDFoy 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for one night, from Saturday until Sunday on the 31 May. The person answering the phone was friendly and helpful and that was also the case when we arrived at reception. The electric pitches for caravans and motorhomes were well laid out and flat, our only minor problem was getting pegs in for our wee tent we were using for storage as the surface was stones. There is a mix of statics, tent and caravan pitches and people were pleasant and friendly. The play area was good and there were lots of other kids for my son to play with. Toilet block was modern and clean, wash up area likewise. The site was quiet at night, a blessed change from other sites I've stayed in. Price very reasonable for a very nice site.

Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Borders

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2848 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!