Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Challoner Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Challoner Caravan Park > Reviews

Challoner Caravan Park
Erw Hywel Farm
Llanberris Rd
Llanrug
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 2AJ
Tel: 01286 672985  or  07760652035
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/03/2022 to 10/01/2023
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Suttmap 4 reviews from this member

 This site is in a great location beside the main road to Llanberis, with a bus stop just outside the entrance.

The owner is very friendly and has let little flowers grow up through the hardstanding.

There are quirky little features around the site where there are rabbits and ducks.

The showers are clean and quite large but the hot water was off when we arrived and you needed a pound coin so we didn't use them. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Peterd 1 review from this member

 Rural and easy going and clean facilities.

Enjoyed our short stay and would return.

Entrance could be advertised better and access road would benefit from some tic but really no problems. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Dsmart 1 review from this member

 I liked this site, it's not trying to be anything more than a place to stay.

Pitches were nice, fairly quiet, well spaced.

Facilities block, was generally clean. 1 for showers.

It's well placed between llanberis and Caernarfon. Bus stop is outside entrance. So you can get to the beach or Snowdon on a bus ride. Chip shop, shop and pub 8min walk up the road. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Philme 1 review from this member

 Great caravan site, felt well accommodated at the site given the current restrictions at the time in wales. Welsh resident so we where able to get out caravanning early over the Easter bank holiday weekend.

Site was clean tidy and easy to manoeuvre with a twin axle caravan.

Touring pitches are flat and levelling the caravan was easy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scouse Mouse 2 reviews from this member

 This site is right up my street, lights out at 10pm, very chilled and quiet, (music not aloud) the views are stunning, We stayed on a field with both tents and caravans, part of the field is slopped but it looks to be seasonals on that part, we did have to have the front legs up high but wasn't a problem.

I did not see the shower/toilet block as I use my own but my hubby said they are spotless along with the washing up area.

There is no play park for the kids but there are fairies dotted about and the kids can leave letters for the fairies at the wishing well and they will have a reply left the next morning, there was a few kids on site but seemed happy enough running around the big area they had and playing ball. Kids being kids.

Sue and Andy are very helpful and make sure you are enjoying your stay, lovely people.

Right by Snowdon (which my hubby and daughter walked up while I sunbathed at the van) and it is 3 miles to Caernarfon for shopping or takeaway food.

I will be returning to this site for sure as we would like to see Caernarfon Castle.

Thank you Sue and Andy for a pleasant stay :) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andy2705 3 reviews from this member

 Would not return here.

Location was good although there are another 3 sites within walking distance.

I know that this is a working farm but as soon as we drove up I thought we had hit Steptoe's yard/The hills have eyes!

Facilities were basic but clean, 1 for a shower(of variable time duration).

Camping field was OK but surroundings were very tired.

Llanrug itself is a grey, soulless, desolate place. But not in a good way.

Llanberis, about 4 miles away boasts some shops & a really good slate mine site which is free & well worth a visit (Llyn Padarn) right by the mountain railway entrance.

The location of this site is excellent for all of the Snowdonia attractions, we summited Snowdon via Crib Goch & Tryfan while here, Both only about 20 mins away.

If all you want is a no frills base to travel from, this site is ideal, If you want a site with good facilities etc. Not so good.

Where other people have put that the owners interactions were friendly etc, I just found it annoying but, horses for courses! 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brim 1 review from this member

 Highly Recommended.

Stayed here Easter hols. Very enthusiastic owner who tries to encourage parents and kids to enjoy nature instead of playing computer games and the like. Good level site with views.

The toilets and showers were immaculate everyday we were were there.

Situated close to all the amenities Snowdonia National Park has to offer, and only 5 minutes drive into Caernarfon for main shops etc.

Will definitely be returning in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kim Hussey 2 reviews from this member

 What a fabulous site! not for the people that like 'kiss me quick hats' and the 'clubhouse'.

A truly beautiful, unspoiled part of the world. Right on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. We spent two weeks listening to birdsong and looking at the wonderful views of Snowdon and the surrounding mountains right from our caravan from morning until night!

Sue the site owner is by far the warmest, friendliest owner we have ever had the good fortune to meet, and we have had a lot of experience. She is welcoming and nothing is too much trouble, but she doesn't interfere, she just lets you get on with enjoying a peaceful quiet break. The site is on a working farm and you can often observe just how hard Sue and her staff work, but Sue will always find time for a chat and she can tell you so much about local history and the surrounding area.

Sue has put aside a meadow which is steeped in history and last year she personally planted over 1400 trees, which we are looking forward to seeing grow as we intend to revisit. The meadow is dedicated to attracting wildlife and the site guests are invited to enjoy walking and enjoying the flora and forna there in. There are seats placed around for you to just sit and enjoy the whole tranquil experience.

The toilet and shower block is kept very clean.

There are hard standings around the field for caravans with hookups. It is a child friendly site and an ideal base to visit all the wonderful castles and splendours that Snowdonia has to offer.

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Claire1805 4 reviews from this member

 We spent four nights at this site over the Whitsun break and can certainly say its a fantastic little site.

Sue is really friendly and kept our son and our friends two boys entertained with stories of the fairies who reside in the on site fairy garden. Our son loved receiving replies to the letters he left for the fairies! He's certain he saw at least one or two while he was exploring!

The site is ideally located to visit many places in the Snowdonia region. We managed to see a few and can recommend a visit to Caernarfon Castle.

We will definitely be returning for another visit to this little gem. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bigbird1968 26 reviews from this member

 Have just spent 4 nights at this little gem of a site! I agree with all comments written so far. It really is a lovely spot! Sue is very friendly. My kids loved her & she made us feel very welcome!

Kids enjoyed the fairy garden & Sue's many stories of trolls & goblins.Which are all true! and the baby ducks!

Ideally situated for Snowdon & local beaches. We will go back very soon.It's a bargain! Highly recommended! 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Challoner Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Challoner Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Challoner Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Caernarfon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4293 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement