Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Watermouth Cove Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Ilfracombe > Watermouth Cove Holiday Park Reviews

Watermouth Cove Holiday Park
Berrynarbor
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 9SJ
Tel: 01271 862504
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 04/07/2020 to 28/09/2020
           28/04/2021 to 28/09/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 112 Reviews
                8/10 from 112 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Bobeee 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site in a stunning location. Facilities, everything you need and kept very clean. Walks on your doorstep.

Pub with lovely food a short stroll away and quaint little tea room nearby on a boathouse with glorious views over harbour.

Recommend the full English breakfast. Very friendly staff 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: JoJo19 7 reviews from this member

 On paper this looks like a great site and Iím sure many people will love it. Sadly we didnít. If youíd like a quite camping holiday with the family then I would not recommend this site. Weíre seasoned campers and just felt the promise of this site did not deliver.

We always try and camp at a site with a pool. On this occasion my young daughter wanted to be near the sea which limited our UK options somewhat especially as we also only camp on family owned sites as we donít like the big chains. This site seemed to meet our criteria despite being on the main road which I saw as a trade off I was willing to make.

I should add that my family used to own a caravan and camping site so I do know how challenging it can be to manage this kind of leisure business.

Pros

Right next to the sea

Has a lovely pool

Clean and modern loo block

Some lovely views from some pitches

Easy to find and get to

Dog friendly which will appeal to many people

Nicely maintained facilities

On site shop for basics

On site cafe

Sea based activities from their own cove

Range of pitch types

Allow BBQs as long as they are off of the ground

Cons

Right next to a main road - you can hear it over most of site even up in the camping area where we were

Noise policy is not anywhere near as stringent as they imply - we had to listen to neighbours music day and night despite complaining

The pool, cafe and bar area has constant piped music - would have been nice to have a quite hour!

The pitches on the main site looked pretty high density with some tents so close they definitely did not meet fire regs

Dog friendly which does not bother us but lots of barking could be an issue for some

Behaviour in the pool wasnít really policed in any major way despite CCTV supposedly monitoring the pool. It was quite dangerous at times despite yet again complaining

Could do with a covered area for washing up on the camping field as itís open to the weather

All in all well maintained site rather blighted by the lack of reinforcement of their own stringent noise rules. One evening there was a full on karaoke going on at ear splitting levels! Sadly Iíd chosen it because they sounded like they had a really good noise policy and thought the location and pool outweighed the road noise.

All in all disappointing for our main summer break. We definitely wonít be recommending it to others or returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Baldy74 1 review from this member

 A warm welcome from the reception staff on arrival. Escorted to our pitch by a member of staff which was great. We had an all weather pitch which was fully serviced. The toilet block was clean and tidy.

There is a bar and cafe on site and outdoor pursuits centre including paddle boarding from the siteís private beach. There is a great pub called the sawmills which is a five minute walk away and a fantastic cafe called the boat cafe which is even closer.

A fantastic site and we will definitely be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Compgirl 6 reviews from this member

 This is a great site in a brilliant location, right on the sea edge. Pitch sizes are very generous and are well connected. A bonus is the free Wi-Fi.

The check in staff are very helpful and friendly and the siting was well handled. Its a great site if you have children as there is pleanty for them to do in a safe atmosphere and there is also patrolling security to keep watch. Although we didn't use it, the swimming pool area was clean, tidy and well laid out and best of all free!.

Lots of nice walks in the local area and close to many local attractions like Watermouth Castle and the Dinosaur Park, which is well worth a visit.

The shower and toilet blocks are well fitted out, with pleanty of room.

The only slight negative point I could find was the hot water at the washing up points was only luke warm.

Overall this is a great site and well worth the pitch fees charged. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neilap 4 reviews from this member

 We booked this site due to the multitude of reports saying how dog friendly it is, and they were right. The number of tents/caravans on-site with pets is testament to how welcome our canine friends are, so be aware of this if you have an aversion to them. They are allowed everywhere, even in the bar and within the pool complex although obviously not in the pools. There is a huge exercise field and you could tell that owners repay the welcome given to their pets by being diligent with clearing up after them.

There is a little cove which is used mainly for launching of water-borne craft of various types and although I've seen this described as a beach, that's probably pushing it. There's a couple of interesting little caves which are worth looking at and lots of places to explore, some with seating/BBQ areas, all with the most amazing views out to sea.

It's a pleasant site with a main flat area with large pitches for caravans/motorhomes/tents, the excellent (new in 2016) toilet/shower block is down on this part of the site, they are state of the art and a credit to the site owners. We stayed on a dedicated tent field which is the other side of the main area from the loos, making it a bit of a trek to get to them, especially in the middle of the night.

The pitches up in the tent field are superbly serviced, with not only electric hookup (16A) but every pitch had it's own water tap and grey water waste. It was a fair bit quieter up there than on the main area where lots of children seemed to be having the time of their lives playing loudly. Good on them, I'm not complaining they're kids on holiday, but if you want it a bit quieter go on the tent field.

The site is located very close to Ilfracombe and also Coombe Martin, both are worth a visit and on a couple of days we ventured a little further to Lynmouth where we did an amazing circular walk along the East Lyn river then up to Countisbury where the worlds best Ploughmans Lunch can be had in the (dog friendly) Blue Ball Inn. Another day we explored the Valley of Rocks which was spectacular with a lovely lunch in Mother Meldrums Tea garden.

Everyone who worked on site is customer focused and eager to make sure you're a happy camper. Seriously, they are such lovely people I can't say enough about them.

I loved it here, so did my wife who normally hates camping. We'll be going back again and again that's for sure. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hobbitrsa 4 reviews from this member

 Wow what a clean, and well maintained campsite. The staff are friendly and incredibly helpful. Great amenities! we were there for Opskop 2017, and the venue made the festival. Great selection of water sports, and a lot for the kids to do. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Shortyloz 3 reviews from this member

 Arrival was good, checking in easy, direction to the pitch simple. Follow the golf-cart.

Pitch was just large enough for the VW T5 and awning.

The new shower block has plenty of hot water and good water pressure.

Food on site was not ideal, lots of 'stuff with chips' and not much else. If that could be improved then site would be much better.

The swimming pool was 'hot' eat 35 degrees on the dat we nipped in. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andrex 2 reviews from this member

 Ones again we went to this campsite. Love it every time and the new shower block is ace. We did bring our own new kayaks with us this time and had great fun on them. The pitches are very big and we had enough room for two tents, a large car and the kayaks. We always book the main pitch for the electrics and also for the flat ground. We now feel like part of the family as this was now the fifth time we been there. Love the food and staff always having a good laugh with us. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andrex 2 reviews from this member

 Love the campsite. Been there now for the fourth time and yes we be back next year. Everyone is so friendly and make you feel like one of the family. The facilities are ace and very clean. We chose this campsite because of the water sport and this year we brought a blow up kayak with us only to find out that we could not get out too far in it. Well next year we will bring proper ones with us so we will have a lot more fun. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: RBSB 7 reviews from this member

 We chose this site because of the (mainly) great reviews, the facilities and also the private beach. What private beach! This is not much more than a concrete launch ramp for the jet skis and other activities the site has on offer.

When we arrived we were shown to our pitch by a lovely, well mannered member of the 'crew'. I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw where they expected us to pitch up.

The whole area was shaded by a large tree and the space at the side of the level hard standing for the camper van was totally void of grass, being a bare patch of muddy earth. I think the look on my face said it all.

We couldn't even relocate the van and awning because of a wooden edging around the gravel hard standing and the sloped area which was the rest of our pitch.

The sun eventually arrived on our pitch around 4pm but a tree further down the field meant we had to constantly move around to stay with the warm spot.

We never sampled the food in the bar as it didn't look particularly appetising and instead walked down to The Sawmill which served lovely home cooked food which was reasonably priced and came in pretty big portions.

After resigning ourselves to the fact that we would only have sun in the evening a huge caravan pitched at the side of us, erected a wind break around the whole perimeter of his pitch and completely shaded our spot. He connected his water supply to our tap which I had to constantly disconnect to get any water.

The toilets were a couple of portacabins as were the separate tiny showers, not ideal for trying to shower a younger child as it was a very tight squeeze for 2 slim bodies. Personally I thought the pitch layouts seemed very cramped and the whole site looked overcrowded

On the plus side the crew were very friendly, children's play area was big, there was a small arcade, the pool area was good but the water very cold and the facilities and activities excellent if that's what you are into.

If you want a traditional camping field with unmarked plots that cost half the price go next door to Watermouth valley. We wished we had! 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Watermouth Cove Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Watermouth Cove Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Watermouth Cove Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Watermouth Cove Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ilfracombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1603 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December