Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Watermouth Cove Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Ilfracombe > Watermouth Cove Holiday Park > Reviews

CLOSED: Watermouth Cove Holiday Park
Berrynarbor
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 115 Reviews
                8/10 from 115 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has transitioned from a Holiday Park to a Wedding and Corporate Events Venue, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Naoruth 1 review from this member

 Great site lots of good facilities and very warm pool, dog and child friendly.

Only issue was with the amount of toilet cleaning around an hour for the toilet to close 3 times a day! There was another toilet near the entrance but not very handy when you have IBS and don't get much warning, but this wasn't a massive issue just a bit frustrating and our only negative.

Unfortunately the site is closing this month and is now going to be a wedding only venue - really not pleased with this as we would love to return as campers in the future! 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ironned 38 reviews from this member

 Great site in lovely location - we had a pitch right next to the marina so the view was idyllic. Very good welcome, check in at reception and then shown to your pitch.

We were on hardstanding in the main field which was useful as the weather had been atrocious and it was a spacious pitch with easy access to the shower and loo block which was open.

Reception building also has a nice bar and restaurant; the terrace overlooks their private launch for jet skis etc.

The site is right on the SW coast path so ideal for walking, they even have their own private stretch of coast (the public footpath runs along outside the site for this bit) and the views are stunning. Pool looked nice - was still on a bookings system for due to covid when we visited.

The are some pitches with amazing views up towards the coast path which are only for tents - would imagine these are fabulous in good weather but a bit exposed in less favourable conditions.

The site also has the most scenic dog walking field I've seen.

Lots to do round and about and a nice pub in walking distance. Sadly the weather deteriorated again and due to my husband's health issues (we'd had enough soakings earlier in the week!) we decided to head home otherwise we'd have stayed a second night.

My only criticism is that in the very nice modern washroom facilities the floor is a modern grippy material which once it is wet, stays wet so it's hard to keep your feet dry. Take a pair of flip flops and you'll be fine! 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Bobeee 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site in a stunning location. Facilities, everything you need and kept very clean. Walks on your doorstep.

Pub with lovely food a short stroll away and quaint little tea room nearby on a boathouse with glorious views over harbour.

Recommend the full English breakfast. Very friendly staff 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: JoJo19 7 reviews from this member

 On paper this looks like a great site and Iím sure many people will love it. Sadly we didnít. If youíd like a quite camping holiday with the family then I would not recommend this site. Weíre seasoned campers and just felt the promise of this site did not deliver.

We always try and camp at a site with a pool. On this occasion my young daughter wanted to be near the sea which limited our UK options somewhat especially as we also only camp on family owned sites as we donít like the big chains. This site seemed to meet our criteria despite being on the main road which I saw as a trade off I was willing to make.

I should add that my family used to own a caravan and camping site so I do know how challenging it can be to manage this kind of leisure business.

Pros

Right next to the sea

Has a lovely pool

Clean and modern loo block

Some lovely views from some pitches

Easy to find and get to

Dog friendly which will appeal to many people

Nicely maintained facilities

On site shop for basics

On site cafe

Sea based activities from their own cove

Range of pitch types

Allow BBQs as long as they are off of the ground

Cons

Right next to a main road - you can hear it over most of site even up in the camping area where we were

Noise policy is not anywhere near as stringent as they imply - we had to listen to neighbours music day and night despite complaining

The pool, cafe and bar area has constant piped music - would have been nice to have a quite hour!

The pitches on the main site looked pretty high density with some tents so close they definitely did not meet fire regs

Dog friendly which does not bother us but lots of barking could be an issue for some

Behaviour in the pool wasnít really policed in any major way despite CCTV supposedly monitoring the pool. It was quite dangerous at times despite yet again complaining

Could do with a covered area for washing up on the camping field as itís open to the weather

All in all well maintained site rather blighted by the lack of reinforcement of their own stringent noise rules. One evening there was a full on karaoke going on at ear splitting levels! Sadly Iíd chosen it because they sounded like they had a really good noise policy and thought the location and pool outweighed the road noise.

All in all disappointing for our main summer break. We definitely wonít be recommending it to others or returning. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Baldy74 1 review from this member

 A warm welcome from the reception staff on arrival. Escorted to our pitch by a member of staff which was great. We had an all weather pitch which was fully serviced. The toilet block was clean and tidy.

There is a bar and cafe on site and outdoor pursuits centre including paddle boarding from the siteís private beach. There is a great pub called the sawmills which is a five minute walk away and a fantastic cafe called the boat cafe which is even closer.

A fantastic site and we will definitely be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Compgirl 7 reviews from this member

 This is a great site in a brilliant location, right on the sea edge. Pitch sizes are very generous and are well connected. A bonus is the free Wi-Fi.

The check in staff are very helpful and friendly and the siting was well handled. Its a great site if you have children as there is pleanty for them to do in a safe atmosphere and there is also patrolling security to keep watch. Although we didn't use it, the swimming pool area was clean, tidy and well laid out and best of all free!.

Lots of nice walks in the local area and close to many local attractions like Watermouth Castle and the Dinosaur Park, which is well worth a visit.

The shower and toilet blocks are well fitted out, with pleanty of room.

The only slight negative point I could find was the hot water at the washing up points was only luke warm.

Overall this is a great site and well worth the pitch fees charged. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neilap 4 reviews from this member

 We booked this site due to the multitude of reports saying how dog friendly it is, and they were right. The number of tents/caravans on-site with pets is testament to how welcome our canine friends are, so be aware of this if you have an aversion to them. They are allowed everywhere, even in the bar and within the pool complex although obviously not in the pools. There is a huge exercise field and you could tell that owners repay the welcome given to their pets by being diligent with clearing up after them.

There is a little cove which is used mainly for launching of water-borne craft of various types and although I've seen this described as a beach, that's probably pushing it. There's a couple of interesting little caves which are worth looking at and lots of places to explore, some with seating/BBQ areas, all with the most amazing views out to sea.

It's a pleasant site with a main flat area with large pitches for caravans/motorhomes/tents, the excellent (new in 2016) toilet/shower block is down on this part of the site, they are state of the art and a credit to the site owners. We stayed on a dedicated tent field which is the other side of the main area from the loos, making it a bit of a trek to get to them, especially in the middle of the night.

The pitches up in the tent field are superbly serviced, with not only electric hookup (16A) but every pitch had it's own water tap and grey water waste. It was a fair bit quieter up there than on the main area where lots of children seemed to be having the time of their lives playing loudly. Good on them, I'm not complaining they're kids on holiday, but if you want it a bit quieter go on the tent field.

The site is located very close to Ilfracombe and also Coombe Martin, both are worth a visit and on a couple of days we ventured a little further to Lynmouth where we did an amazing circular walk along the East Lyn river then up to Countisbury where the worlds best Ploughmans Lunch can be had in the (dog friendly) Blue Ball Inn. Another day we explored the Valley of Rocks which was spectacular with a lovely lunch in Mother Meldrums Tea garden.

Everyone who worked on site is customer focused and eager to make sure you're a happy camper. Seriously, they are such lovely people I can't say enough about them.

I loved it here, so did my wife who normally hates camping. We'll be going back again and again that's for sure. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hobbitrsa 4 reviews from this member

 Wow what a clean, and well maintained campsite. The staff are friendly and incredibly helpful. Great amenities! we were there for Opskop 2017, and the venue made the festival. Great selection of water sports, and a lot for the kids to do. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Shortyloz 3 reviews from this member

 Arrival was good, checking in easy, direction to the pitch simple. Follow the golf-cart.

Pitch was just large enough for the VW T5 and awning.

The new shower block has plenty of hot water and good water pressure.

Food on site was not ideal, lots of 'stuff with chips' and not much else. If that could be improved then site would be much better.

The swimming pool was 'hot' eat 35 degrees on the dat we nipped in. 


Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2606 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement