Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pelerine Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Gloucestershire > Newent > Pelerine Caravan & Camping Site > Reviews

Pelerine Caravan & Camping Site
Ford House Rd
Newent
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL18 1LQ
Tel: 01531 822761  or  07909914262
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 81 Reviews
                8/10 from 81 Reviews

Photos (26)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sjbmeb 1 review from this member

 Very enjoyable stay at this quiet and welcoming site.

Excellent facilities, spotlessly clean and tidy.

Very flexible on leaving time, we were only charged for 5 nights despite not leaving until 7 in the evening. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Rosaly 1 review from this member

 I emailed this campsite from your Web page after my original booking elsewhere was cancelled as it was showing possible late availability, top marks to your site for alerting this.

I had a call and email from site owner, who had a space.

The grounds were immaculate, the owner very friendly, helpful and easy to book with,

The showers were always clean, slight problem with one of the toilets on arrival which I pointed out and was rectified immediately, very impressive,

Lovely safe family campsite, very pleased with stay 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Delboy7777 1 review from this member

 We originally booked a seasonal pitch on the adult field for 1 year and loved our time with Gail and her family so much we stayed for 8, eventually leaving through necessity rather than choice.

The site is family run and had everything we needed but more importantly nothing was too much trouble.

We have enjoyed using the site as a base to relax and take in the views or to travel sightseeing around the Forest of Dean, Cotswolds, Wye Valley and South Wales.

Set in a fruit growing area, there are pleasant walks straight out of the campsite into apple orchards, and a self pick fruit farm or stroll a mile downhill into Newent which has a range of independent shops and co-op.

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Barnsleyspud 7 reviews from this member

 Campsite was 2 fields up a narrow lane. One side adults only, the other side families. The facilities included a toilet and shower block for males and females. One shower in each and 2 toilets in each.

Which caused some queing for showers at times. Washing facilities but no dryer. Accommodates caravans and tents mostly and we were unable to loose our waste water. Nice couple in charge of the site.

Easy booking process. It was a fair walk to the nearest facilities. But a nice area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mario snr 12 reviews from this member

 A very nice site with lots of nice touches, mainly seasonal pitches BUT beware the entrance is very tight and narrow. if you have a large caravan then give this one a miss. the owner has placed bollards on road way into the site and I caught the last bollard with rear of caravan on the swing into the site. also the conifers at the entrance to the site need cutting back as have got several surface scratches on the offside of caravan as trying to negotiate bend at top of driveway.

On leaving the site had to unhook my caravan at main entrance into the site to manoeuvre it into a position to get me level onto the drive to avoid the bollards on the way back out and my wife had to guide me along length of drive

I had booked to return overnight a week later but have cancelled as too much hassle to try and get back in

The owner very nice and helpful and refunded my monies for my return trip.

I have advised the owner that she does need to put a length and width limit on her website, to save damage to people's caravans. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lesleykate 1 review from this member

 What a lovely friendly and quiet site. Beautiful views and great facilities not to mention clean. We will be returning very soon as we really thought this site was a great hidden treasure.

Grounds are kept well and nothing is too much trouble from the owners. Also led the way. There is no check in or check out time. A lovely site highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynda Carson 3 reviews from this member

 Disappointing. One shower and two toilets for the ladies and similar for the gents is unacceptable. Considering the site was only half full queueing at 8 am. If it were at capacity it could be a nightmare. The towels were of the terry towelling type.

Wet most of the time even though they were folded regularly to give a tidy appearance. Very unhygienic. No hair dryer in the toilet block. This was found in the kitchen. Completely unacceptable in a food preparation area.

Sanitary products were laid out in the ladies but unpackaged. Open to handling and dust. Nice thought but not hygienic. The grass and hedges were well cut but all in all the website is misleading and the site is tired, overpriced and in need of an upgrade. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gpjw 12 reviews from this member

 Nice, quiet site. Well laid out and rural. Toilet block very clean with some nice touches. Showers excellent. Gail the owner pleasant and helpful.

First of three nights very peaceful, however tents pitched far too close to us on second day which was a pity, but all in all liked this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elsiekay 49 reviews from this member

 We stayed for one night at this pleasantly situated site just outside Newent. In the adults only area, the field was well set out and the grass well mowed. The view from some pitches is lovely.

The owner was very pleasant and the facilities all seemed fine although one shower for each gender isn't enough. More are needed or even some privacy cubicles.

We were a bit surprised at the amount of road noise, given that the adjacent lane seemed very rural. Possibly the sound carried from the main road nearby or it was louder as our pitch was next to the lane.

This site is well situated for either a quick stop off or as a base for touring, if you have a car. It was a little far out for us with no shops or pubs in easy walking distance and we thought a tad expensive for the facilities so I doubt we will return. It was a nice site though and I would recommend if you are in the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Judysplaytime 3 reviews from this member

 Like other reviews I can see why this site is the perfect stop over on a long journey. Don't misunderstand that statement because this site is fantastic but perhaps just a little caught between the Cotswolds and the forest of dean.

So many footpaths nearby but many overgrown and underused, people obviously stick to the more obvious walking attractions west and east. Newest itself is easy walking distance and has everything you need if a little tired looking, great butcher/deli though.

Site itself is lovely and really homely. Would definitely recommend and value for money too. 


Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pelerine Caravan & Camping Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pelerine Caravan & Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pelerine Caravan & Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newent      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


701 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement