Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pelerine

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Pelerine
Ford House Rd
Newent
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL18 1LQ
Tel: 01531 822761  or  07909914262
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 1st March To November 30th

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 77 Reviews
                8/10 from 77 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mario snr 5 reviews from this member

A very nice site with lots of nice touches, mainly seasonal pitches BUT beware the entrance is very tight and narrow if you have a large caravan then give this one a miss the owner has placed bollards on road way into the site and I caught the last bollard with rear of caravan on the swing into the site also the conifers at the entrance to the site need cutting back as have got several surface scratches on the offside of caravan as trying to negotiate bend at top of driveway

On leaving the site had to unhook my caravan at main entrance into the site to manoeuvre it into a position to get me level onto the drive to avoid the bollards on the way back out and my wife had to guide me along length of drive

I had booked to return overnight a week later but have cancelled as to much hassle to try and get back in

The owner very nice and helpful and refunded my monies for my return trip.

I have advised the owner that she does need to put a length and width limit on her website, to save damage to people's caravans.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lesleykate 1 review from this member

What a lovely friendly and quiet site. Beautiful views and great facilities not to mention clean. We will be returning very soon as we really thought this site was a great hidden treasure. Grounds are kept well and nothing is too much trouble from the owners. Also led the way. There is no check in or check out time. A lovely site highly recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynda Carson 3 reviews from this member

Disappointing. One shower and two toilets for the ladies and similar for the gents is unacceptable. Considering the site was only half full queueing at 8 am. If it were at capacity it could be a nightmare. The towels were of the terry towelling type. Wet most of the time even though they were folded regularly to give a tidy appearance. Very unhygienic. No hair dryer in the toilet block. This was found in the kitchen. Completely unacceptable in a food preparation area. Sanitary products were laid out in the ladies but unpackaged. Open to handling and dust. Nice thought but not hygienic. The grass and hedges were well cut but all in all the website is misleading and the site is tired, overpriced and in need of an upgrade.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gpjw 11 reviews from this member

Nice, quiet site. Well laid out and rural. Toilet block very clean with some nice touches. Showers excellent. Gail the owner pleasant and helpful. First of three nights very peaceful, however tents pitched far too close to us on second day which was a pity, but all in all liked this site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elsiekay 49 reviews from this member

We stayed for one night at this pleasantly situated site just outside Newent. In the adults only area, the field was well set out and the grass well mowed. The view from some pitches is lovely.

The owner was very pleasant and the facilities all seemed fine although one shower for each gender isn't enough. More are needed or even some privacy cubicles.

We were a bit surprised at the amount of road noise, given that the adjacent lane seemed very rural. Possibly the sound carried from the main road nearby or it was louder as our pitch was next to the lane.

This site is well situated for either a quick stop off or as a base for touring, if you have a car. It was a little far out for us with no shops or pubs in easy walking distance and we thought a tad expensive for the facilities so I doubt we will return. It was a nice site though and I would recommend if you are in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Judysplaytime 2 reviews from this member

Like other reviews I can see why this site is the perfect stop over on a long journey. Don't misunderstand that statement because this site is fantastic but perhaps just a little caught between the Cotswolds and the forest of dean. So many footpaths nearby but many overgrown and underused, people obviously stick to the more obvious walking attractions west and east. Newest itself is easy walking distance and has everything you need if a little tired looking, great butcher/deli though. Site itself is lovely and really homely. Would definitely recommend and value for money too.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Codylulu 1 review from this member

We visited the site for a long weekend, on arrival we were greeted by the owner who was very helpful and pointed us in the direction of our pitch.

The pitch was level and well maintained and hedgerows give welcome protection should the wind pick up.

The toilet and shower block were lovely and clean with plentiful hot water, and the large shower tray was great, nice touches with hand towels and soap at the sinks.

Great location and great site to explore the Forest of Dean and further into the Brecon Beacons.

This site is on our list that we will visit again

Also we had two of our dogs with us and we're made to feel really welcome.

Thanks for a great weekend

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dragon04 19 reviews from this member

Booked here last minute after leaving an unsatisfactory site, a really nice welcome everything was explained we were given our pitch number in the adult only field.

Facilities:

Shower and toilet block clean and some lovely little touches proper towels and good quality hand wash and hand lotions. Problem being only 2 toilets and 1 shower in both ladies and gents this became a problem for my husband, there were 4 people in front of him to shower and remember this is June and a weekday in August it must be a nightmare he used the family bathroom with 1 toilet and 1 shower. He said the water was hot and there was plenty of it.

Rubbish areas: there are 2 with crude recycling bins.

We walked into Newent along the country lane, no footpaths and it's was about a 30 min walk each way.

No shops are pubs etc nearer.

Would we go back I don't think we would.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Absinthe_boy 16 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful, small, quiet site. Beginning with the few negatives, pitches aren't as big as some other sites and there is only one shower per gender. However the shower is lovely with great pressure, a push-button that lasts a good 20 seconds each press, nice temperature etc. The amenities block is laid out rather like a house, in that the bathrooms are not dissimilar to what you might have at home and there's also a kitchen with microwave, mini oven, kettle, coffee maker, washing machine, sink, iron etc.

A lovely feature of this site is that there's no set check in or check out time. So you can arrive or leave at your leisure. We were even encouraged to stay around on our day of departure. We stayed with a group of friends using four pitches in total on the family field. This is mostly flat, the grass is kept immaculately and nobody will be far from the toilets because it's not a large field. The field is lined by high hedges which keep the worst of the wind out. Fire baskets are available with wood also for sale for those nice camping evenings.

There's a little 'honesty box' with locally grown eggs which are superb. And also a charity box in the bathroom with a few snacks. The co-op at Newent isn't far away with Gloucester and Tewkesbury reasonably drives away for supplies or a day out.

Site staff are very friendly, the site is very child-friendly though without any specific facilities for play. However there's lots of grassy space to run around, play games etc.

It is worth noting that the site has recycling facilities for glass, card, plastic bottles & tin cans.

So this isn't a huge site with leisure facilities but it is a lovely place to spend a night or two if you're in the area or to spend longer if you're camping with friends or want to explore the area. Thoroughly recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hybbewdley 3 reviews from this member

Just to confirm everything that is said below - beautifully maintained site with immaculate toilets and shower - although there was only one of each we never had to wait but the site was not particularly busy so this may be a problem when full.

Newent is a nice little town with a nice selection of pubs, restaurants and shops - good ales in the George but average food and very good ales in Cobblers micropub but watch out for the limited opening hours - walking in town is fine along the public footpath.

We will go again.

Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2849 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019