Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grafham Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon > Grafham Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Grafham Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Church Road
Grafham
Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE28 0BB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 62
Open: 16/03/2022 to 05/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 60 Reviews
                8/10 from 60 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lms0110 50 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet site located amongst farmland and a small village, and the access road is shared with some residential cabins. Amenities block is the usual CMC standard of clean but dated facilities, with the fixed shower heads and nylon shower curtains.

Very small on lead dog walk, walk through this and you go off site to a long access lane to the private woods that is rarely used, ideal for an offlead pootle about. The swimming pool has been closed now for the last 2 years and is due to be filled in, shame as we had 2 very warm days, a dip would have been lovely.

There is a small duck pond on site so quite common to see them waddling about the site. There are about 4 routes to walk to Grafham Water, the shortest being about 10 minutes. The water itself is about 10 miles all the way around, just be careful with dogs off lead as its very popular with cyclists and some are going at quite a speed, and there are blind spots on the route.

The small village has a community shop in a portacabin, and the 'village pub' is in a wooden building next to the shop. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan79 17 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely weekend its a nice site good showers lots of hot water, and hairdryers really good. Site staff were really nice and helpful. Will be going back again. Went to the Mermaid pub in Ellington which is lovely and Days butchers in Bacton is well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lguiness 3 reviews from this member

 This site is in a great location for walking, cycling fishing, sailing, etc. As it's right next to Grafham Water.

There's a cycle hire shop nearby where we rented a bike for my niece before taking her along the 10 mile cycle path around the lake. It's a very scenic route, if a bit bumpy, with a café about half way around.

The camp site is well maintained with faultless facilities and spacious pitches.

We were with my young children so we pitched next to the playground, which was well used by the girls and other children all weekend. There's a large swing, wooden climbing frame with monkey bars and tyres, and 2 wooden springy ride-ons, all appeared to be in good condition and fenced off for safety.

The loo & shower facilities were spotless and of a high standard, with modern hand and hair dryers, cubicles with basins only, as well as the loos and showers. There was plenty of room to change in the shower cubicle, with a bench and several hooks to keep things dry, so were well designed. You need a key to get in the block, which you'll get from reception after you've chosen your pitch. The key also comes with the barrier card to drive back into the site.

The site feels very secure with automatic barriers at all entry and exit points.

The swimming pool, open in the summer, is excellent. It was lovely and warm and maintained to a high standard. They had 2 lifeguards on duty every day. My kids had a fabulous time, it was hard to get them out again.

There's some local wildlife, the family of ducks regularly make an appearance and are quite friendly, always coming to inspect new arrivals. There's an owl that was spotted very close to our caravan early one morning, which my daughter thought was amazing.

The wardens are friendly, helpful and run a tight ship so that everything runs smoothly and is well maintained.

We were hoping to be able to stay on an extra couple of hours on our last day but they were fully booked, which was a shame.

My family really love this site and will come back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robert Johnston 5 reviews from this member

 We took our two grandchildren (8 and 9 years old)here last week in July and had an fabulous time. Good play area and the heated pool was probably what they enjoyed the most. Lovely 11 mile cycle trail right round Grafham reservoir with great views. The site is just what we expect from the Caravan Club, pristine toilets, well maintained grounds, and friendly and helpful wardens. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scrufts 27 reviews from this member

 This is our fourth year of visiting Grafham Water so you could say we know the site quite well!

First of all the site is quite small compared to other caravan club sites and some of the pitches (especially the grass ones) are quite close together. There is one shower block which you are given a key for. The play area is quite small and more suited for the younger ones. At the time of writing there are NO Tent pitches and the paddock (just off the main site) has been converted back to an open field for dog walking and a place to kick a ball around. Having spoken to the wardens they are not sure if and when the site will be accepting tents.

The site has a small swimming pool which has a lifeguard in attendance when it is open. In peak times there is a band system in use so the pool doesn't get too full. The pool temperature is fine and the pool is well maintained.

The site itself is located 'out in the stix' and the nearest main town and superstore is Huntingdon about six miles away. This year Grafham village has opened a small community shop in the village so you can buy basics (and booze) at reasonable prices. The wardens also have a limited range of essentials on site.

If you have a dog there is an excellent and long dog walk at the rear of the site which adjoins footpaths and bridleways (lots of them)

This site is great for cycling as the nearby reservoir (Grafham Water) has a 9 mile and virtually traffic free route around it and is great for a family ride. You can hire bikes at Marlow Park just down tne road for all sizes including trailers for very little ones.

The reservoir itself is great for cycling, walking and fishing (fly fishing - stocked with trout)

Nearby attractions include:

Grafham Water reservoir (as above)

Shuttleworth Collection at Biggleswade (excellent collection of working aircraft and cars)

Oliver Cromwell museum at Huntingdon (small but good)

Cambridge city

Ely

Nene Valley Railway

Twinwood Airfield ( where musician Glenn Miller was last seen alive)

American Memorial Cemetery at Maddingley (well worth a visit)

For beer lovers there is no pub within walking distance but there is an indian restaurant in the village which has good reviews (although pricey for a takeway).

If you are after a site with themeparks, supermarkets, shopping and takeaways on your doorstep then this site is NOT for you. (Likewise if you want a large site with big and well spaced pitches)

If you want a site to relax with wide open spaces to explore on foot or bicycle with the added bonus of a swimming pool to cool off in then this is the place to come to. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gillianraker 2 reviews from this member

 An excellant well kept lovely site. The wardens were helpful and always busy. Some of the best toilet facilities, large cubicles and spotlessly clean. Nice area for touring. The best fish and chip van, absolutely delicious, fresh and crispy. We did not use the pool but it was a lovely and popular addition. Would visit again. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynm 86 reviews from this member

 First time ever on a Caravan Club site and so good we joined the club! Lovely site with nice views and walks. A little windy but that was because it was a windy weekend and site is on higher ground. The wardens were superb and so helpful. Facilities were spotless and always so. I can imagine in the summer when pool is open it will be full. We usually camp Adults Only but went with friends with children. They liked the play park but not much space for them to play ball games away from outfits as the grass set aside for it had outfits on 3 sides so they felt limited. The only issue I had was that a very small child (3?) was riding around the site roads on an equally small trike unsupervised and we nearly run her over as not seen. Not sites fault but perhaps need to warn parents? The site is in the middle of nowhere and the nearest supermarket was a short couple of miles down the road in Huntingdon. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nosha 34 reviews from this member

 We used to stay here when it was a small private site called Manor Farm. Then we stayed when the national was cancelled a couple of years ago - We were put in the overflow 'paddock' and suffered FOURTEEN power cuts, plus the main site septic tank pumps failed and we gave up and went home a day early. This time it was PERFECT, the wardens if the same seemed a lot more friendly (possibly not under the same stress as before!) No power cuts, no problems and some great photos of the 'resident' owl! We'll be back more often now! 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Poppy77 4 reviews from this member

 Have just spent 3 nights here, very very disappointed that we were unable to have a grass pitch due to them being reseeded for next year, had we been aware of this we would have gone elsewhere as we have been on club sites this time of year before on grass! The hardstandings are so close together we felt we were in a goldfish bowl, plus the lack of space to hitch up, we would have prevented other users getting by if they needed! The wardens were friendly and helpful.

We visited huntingdon and hoped to be able to walk round more of the lake but were unable to. The very best day out was a visit to the Raptor Foundation with so many birds and displays and a lovely cafe, worth every penny of the £5. 50! We felt the site has tried to cram too many pitches in for its size and although we took advantage of a part mid week discount we were disappointed and probably won't return. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaqugra 35 reviews from this member

 It only took 3 caravans arriving at the same time to block the entrance as the approach is quite narrow, but as the booking in was efficient by the friendly wardens, this wasn't a problem. There was a choice of hard-standing and grass pitches well sheltered by trees.

I found the people staying on site very friendly and chatty (could be just chance or a reflection that the pitches are quite close compared to some other sites.

We didn't use the swimming pool but it seemed very popular, as was the small children's play area and although you could hear children whooping and screaming on the swings, it was all quiet by dusk.

I agree with the previous comment about being given one key for the toilets which didn't particularly cause a problem for us.

We used the site as a base to visit Watford and Cambridge so didn't see much of the immediate area but a lot of people had their bikes to cycle around the water.

The nearest pubs were The Mermaid in Ellington ( 2 miles away) and The Wheatsheath in East Perry ( about 4 1/2 miles away).

All in all a nice site and would recommend. 


Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Grafham Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Grafham Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Grafham Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Grafham Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Huntingdon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3615 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement