Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Moat Farm Touring Caravan Park & Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Attleborough > Moat Farm Touring Caravan Park & Campsite Reviews

CLOSED: Moat Farm Touring Caravan Park & Campsite
Low Road
Breckles
Attleborough
Norfolk   (Browse area)



Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Due to a change in their personal circumstances the site owners have decided to temporarily close the caravan park & campsite for at least 2016 and maybe 2017, this website will be kept up to date should there be a change in this information.

They would like to thank all their past customers for their valued visits.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freddiegreg 8 reviews from this member

What a lovely campsite. We don't really want to praise it too much in case everyone else finds it! We will definitely go back again and have recommended it to friends already.

We only booked about 2 weeks before we went, suddenly finding we had an unexpected child-free few days so were a bit dubious as to what we would find - a site with spaces over the bank holiday weekend did not bode well, we thought. How wrong we were, its a beautiful, rural site; no frills, no fuss, just fields and peace and quiet.

The price is extremely reasonable, only 7. 50/night and Peter, the owner, was very helpful, checking information on the internet for us.

There are only 15 pitches so is never busy or noisy; there were 3 families on site when we arrived, all with small children, but they were all beautifully behaved and were a pleasure to have running around.

As previous reviews have said the entrance is quite tight but I'm guessing would be negotiable by all but the biggest units. The toilet/shower block is basic but has all you need - big shower stall (only 1 shower), spacious toilets, covered dish-washing area, re-cycling and an information board for local attractions, services etc. Everywhere was very clean and well-cared for.

We spent a lovely morning at the Thetford Forest Centre; slightly spoiled by the very high parking charges. Why do the British always want to fleece the public with their parking fees?

We also went into Norwich; I had specifically wanted to go to Norwich market which, according to its website is open Mon-Sat. No mention that it is closed on Bank holiday Monday however, as are most of the little, boutique-y shops in Norwich. So it would be advisable to maybe check with the Tourist Information Centre first. We did, however, find a lovely pub in Norwich city centre, The Lamb.

Other than that we were happy to just stay on site and listen to. Well, listen to nothing! It was so peaceful and quiet it was a wonderful change from the usual hustle and bustle of day-to-day life.

Our only slight gripe - there are a lot of signs/notices around the site telling you to do this/do that, don't do this/don't do that. I think we all know not to let children in our care run around the wash area and if we don't we are hardly going to obey a sign telling us not to. Maybe just reduce these a bit and it would be a perfect site.

We have given 7/10 for Child Friendliness only because there is no play area, which might put some people off. For the families there at the same time as us it was obviously not an issue and I would assume that for some families this would be a bonus - don't be put off by this!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DEANO3528 11 reviews from this member

Just back from this excellent site, and had to put some words here asap.

Great owners, very friendly and no rush to get our money. In fact it took two days to give them some! 15 quid a night is perfect with awning and electric on this small 15 pitch site, of which 12 are EHU. We stayed on a few hours after the midday deadline which cost just 2. 50 extra, which is no big deal. They have Wi-fi too at 3 quid for 24hrs, but it's cheaper the longer you have it.

Toilets and showers were clean and in good order with mop and bucket to 'leave it as you found it'.

If you are taking a long trailer make sure to tell them when you book, as some pitches are not suitable due to the meandering access road. We were also advised to use the exit for access as the 'In' gate has a tight-ish right turn once you turn in which can leave you in an awkward spot apparently. I should also mention that on the way out, it's tight for a long van as well, because the gates are quite narrow.

We went off laning on one day and the site is ideally situated to drive the forest tracks around Thetford or north towards Peddars Way or the fords around Castle Acre, etc.

What really impressed me was the tranquillity of this site. There is virtually no passing traffic and so the Skylark we were listening to, had our full attention most of the day. While there is no shop on-site, Watton is 10 mins away and has a Tesco along with various other town centre shops and take-aways, while Thetford is a similar distance with a greater choice obviously.

We were so impressed with our stay at Moat Farm that we booked up again when we paid for this stay. I think that says a lot about the place.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nomad66 15 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site when visiting Snetterton race circuit, which is just a few miles down the road. Most of the others staying on site at the time were doing the same thing. For 2 adults and a child, it costs about the same as staying at the circuit itself when a major event is in, but without the all night partying and with electric hook up, water and clean toilets.

It's located about a half a mile from the nearest main road so there is very little noise day or night.

The nearest towns are a few miles away and there is no local pub - it is pretty secluded. But if you're out all day and just want to sit outside with a glass of beer or wine and a BBQ enjoying the countryside, it's ideal.

Facilities on site are pretty basic but very clean and well maintained, just a small toilet block, single shower and dish washing area.

You probably wouldn't want to stay here for more than a night or two if you had children as there is very little for them to do but it was ideal for what we wanted and will happily stay again next time we visit Snetterton.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Shanesnell 15 reviews from this member

Moat Farm is a 10-15 pitch site, all grass pitches with stone access road looping around the site. The site road is one way with an entry and exit gate. It has a sink for washing up and a small toilet block divided into three; a ladies, gents and shower room. It is level and drainage from the overnight rain we had was good. Access into the site is a little tight for larger motorhome or caravan rigs. It is surrounded by trees and surrounded on three sides by farm land and one side by the single track road you use to access the site. TV signal with status 550 was perfect, mobile signal with Vodafone was good with GPRS, O2 was poor. There is a CDP and hosepipe, but no grey water dump point (the owners literature tells you to dump grey water in the bushes). There was also a local information leaflet stand and local map. Fire points are clearly marked around the site. Most pitches have EHU. Bins were emptied regularly, the owners ask their patrons to recycle where possible.

We were met by the female owner, after we rang the large bell outside their house. She showed us where to pitch and gave us a copy of the rules. Once set up, she came over for payment and brought us another leaflet with the site rules on. I couldn't help feeling, even though she was fine with us, that the two issues of rules were a little oppressive. Maybe we looked like the kind of client that would cause trouble lol.

It cost us 16 pn for two adults and our hound. They charge by the person, dog, awning etc. So large groups or those with children, pets and awnings etc can end up running up quite a bill.

There is no playground and the rules stated no ball games or frisbee. So as far as things for kids to do goes, there wasn't much.

The site was immaculate, the toilets clean and well stocked. I can't comment on the shower as we didn't use it as we have on board facilities. Cost of a shower at the time of our visit was 1 for 12 minutes. Now I'm not tight, but 12 minutes of hot water for a quid seems a bit expensive to me.

It was nice to see a site with plenty of tents, besides a couple of caravans, it was mainly tents during our stay.

There were cows in the field immediately next to us and we did at time suffer with flies.

Now the big question, would we go again? Yes I'm sure we would. The positives definitely outweigh the few niggly negatives.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bieni 3 reviews from this member

We have been second time now to this beautiful camp and caravan site. Its lovely and we cant wait to go again. The site is surrounded from fields and remote and tranquil. Very clean and well looked after. Close to beautiful walks in thetford forest. The site has a shower and toilets and washing up facilities. The owners are friendly and helpful. Dogs allowed. Its a 5 caravan site so its not crowded. Electric hook ups. We can recommend this site highly.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davidandjunemuir 24 reviews from this member

A kind of 'bonsai' campsite -- small but perfectly formed. Only around 12 pitches, all with electric hook-up (included in the price whether you use it or not). A good 1/4 mile off the main road, so no intrusive traffic noise. Farming next door, some bullocks, a bit of tractor activity.

Nice washrooms, and more than adequate for 12 pitches. Entirely separate single shower room, with curious 12-13 minutes of hot shower (electric, so never runs out) at the cost of 1 a go; room is large enough to accommodate two people, so my wife and I both showered for the same money!

We did a bit of cycling, but mostly trips out to local towns because the weather was doubtful; from Thetford you can get the train to Norwich, which is convenient. Very pleasant owners. They freeze your iceblocks for 20p a time.

There is no shop on site at all, so you need to buy all you need before you arrive. No pub within any reasonable walking distance, so eating out is a drive. We went to the Waggon and Horses in Griston, which was good. We would certainly camp here again. Also very affordable at around 15 a night for two people, car and tent.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gemlea 5 reviews from this member

A lovely little site, with easy access from the A11. We had two nights here and was blessed with great weather (unusual for this year!) and a very pleasant stay. The grass pitches are reached from a gravel track that loops around the site.

It was fairly quiet when we arrived, with just a couple of caravans, two single backpackers and two other motorhomes, so there was plenty of space to choose from. Due to the heat, we went for a spot (with hook-up) in the shade of one of the trees!

The washroom was kept clean at all times, and we felt that the facilities provided were just about right for the size of the site. As a personal preference, we like showers to be included in the price, though we understand owners wanting to give the choice.

If you love the peace and quiet of the countryside, you will love Moat Farm! Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bieni 3 reviews from this member

We are first time on this site and love it. Very clean toilet and shower. Nice cut grass. Quiet remote site in beautiful countryside. Friendly welcome.

Very nice little touches like leaflets and noticeboard selling gas or toothbrushes for 40 pence

really lovely and we camt wait coming again. You can also buy fresh eggs here. Thank you for this lovely caravansite. Not far from thetford and dereham.

We went to a cosy pub dog and partridge for a drink in wretham. They also have nice meals. Bressingham steam music is not far.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CoopersBed 3 reviews from this member

We stayed 2 nights at this site.

First impressions were excellent. Nobody else was there so we had the pick of the site. Only 1 other couple turned up during the weekend. The grass was immaculate and the whole site clean and very tidy. Our pitch was level and not at all stoney.

The owners were very friendly and made my husband and I, and our dog very welcome.

Facilities were clean and functional. I'm not sure how it would be peak season though as there is only 1 shower. The owner did reassure us that they kept the occupied pitches to a manageable level during busy times.

Recycle bins are provided which is good, but again, I'm not convinced they could cope with a full site as they were quite small.

The surrounding area was lovely. We managed a 10 mile circular walk from the site, into the forest and back. We stopped for lunch at the Dog and Partridge pub in East Wretham. We were given a very warm welcome. Good honest pub food, reasonably priced and lovely local ale.

All in all, this site is a wonderful base from which to explore Thetford Forest and the surrounding area. It has everything you need and is a pleasant and tranquil place to camp.

We would use it again if we are back in the area.

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8228 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019