Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Bath > Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park > Reviews

Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park
Ham Lane
Bishop Sutton
Bath
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS39 5TZ
Tel: 01275 332 127
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 78 Reviews
                8/10 from 78 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  78 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 80 reviews from this member

 This was our second stay at Bath Chew Valley whilst visiting family in the area. As per previous reviews, the sites bathroom facilities are very good and always clean.

The site is quiet, flat and has well manicured lawns, shrubs and trees.

You do pay a premium for this setting and facilities, so it would be great if all pitches had access to the aerial booster, not just the services pitches as the TV and 4g signals are very poor ( thank goodness for the upgrade). You can buy wifi which works well.

Tried a few different places for lunch, The White Row near Frome, and The castle of Comfort pub in East Harptree, both excellent.

The wardens were welcoming and very helpful, from pitches to WiFi setup. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: StarboldB93 1 review from this member

 Very well maintained with very helpful staff. Disappointed by the frequent loud aircraft noise from nearby Bristol Airport.

Very tight pitch size.

Disappointed at having to park in the communal car park rather than by our unit, especially as it rained for most of our stay.

Narrow lanes all around the location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 80 reviews from this member

 The site is a suitably impressive adult only site. Very quiet whilst we were there, very good and clean toilet and shower facilities, and well manicured lawns and level pitches.

Some novel points being, no cars next to caravans, caravans towed to on pitch by wardens, and a car for hire.

Within walking distance of some great cafes and restaurants on the Chew Valley lakeside (Salt and Malt, Woodford Lodge) and also pubs incl the Red Bull. The TV & phone signal are both poor, whilst the wifi is good at a daily charge.

What I did find surprising is that only the fully serviced elec points had the option to connect to an external aerial point, whilst hardstanding only pitches didn't.

Knowing the TV signal to be poor and bearing in mind the cost per night, I found it surprising that site owners have not put external aerial points on every elec point at every pitch. 


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gazza1309 50 reviews from this member

 We visited here for a short weekend break. The good points are the site is very clean and tidy, all the facilities are well looked after.

If you are in a caravan they park it for you, probably because the site is fairly compact. Cars are parked at the front of the site but still near the caravans and motorhomes themselves.

The upside of this is that there is little on site traffic only for arrival and departure.

The showers and toilets are all unisex and kept very clean, they are a little dated though. No mop is provided to mop/squeegee up after a shower, so we did find some wet floors. There is a good dog walk for a dog comfort break on site.

Nearby is a pub called the Red Lion, which we only drank in, so cannot comment on the food.

There are other options of food and drink at Chew Stoke and Chew Magna. The lake nearby has a restaurant called Salt & Malt, which serves takeaway fish and chips, the restaurant serves food but isn't dog friendly. Walking form the site to the lake is fairly easy. If you have a motorhome there is little else as the bus service is very limited.

Overall we found this a marmite type site, where we couldn't find anything wrong, but it didn't wow us either. Some people probably love it. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hilge 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 7 nights in Sept '22. It's a very pretty, verdant and well trimmed site, with 45 gravel pitches of varying sizes, of which the vast majority (40?) are fully serviced with fresh water, grey waste, EHU and TV points. Our pitch actually sloped off by about 9" towards the back, however our E&P made short work of that.

From the limited interaction we had with them, the staff whom we encountered appeared very helpful/pleasant, and the environment certainly felt healthy & secure. As other reviews have mentioned, there is occasional overflight noise from the nearby Bristol Airport, although by no means frequent or unduly prominent.

The provided bank of shared washing facilities are numerous (10 individually accessed mini-suites containing shower, sink & WC), and given the generous ratio to pitches (many of whom will doubtless elect to use their onboard facilities) there was never any need to wait for availability. Whilst clean, we felt the rooms a little dated (lots of chocolate brown/navy decor going on, maybe just personal taste?) plus we prefer solid shower doors to shower curtain type. Overall we've likely seen en-suites implemented somewhat slicker elsewhere.

We experienced a few intermittent challenges with our grey waste on-pitch drain (puddled at the corner of the pitch on several occasions), which we put down to the frequent rain during our stay - and guessed that the site's proximity to the large Chew Valley Lake likely makes for a relatively high water table. On the plus side, this also makes for well-watered lawns throughout.

The practice of the Site's mini-tractor siting your unhitched unit upon arrival across the park, while you follow dutifully behind upon arrival/departure is admittedly a little quirky, although not unwelcome, and the mandatory parking of all cars in the central Carpark away from vans, once unpacked - actually works well to minimise traffic across the site (barring Mohos, naturally).

Summary: a pretty, tranquil and well run site, in a largely rural small village location. Would we return? Probably not - but simply as it was rather too rural for our tastes, and we rarely return to the same place twice in any case. It's definitely worth a visit for any seeking proximity to Bristol, Bath & Wells for a few days and Year Round opening is also a plus. 8/10.

Connectivity footnote: Between us, we run Giffgaff (O2), Lebara (Vodafone) and Smarty (3) SIMs, and of these, only the 3 Network was able to provide a stable data signal for our Router here. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dollchickgb 22 reviews from this member

 A peaceful, immaculately kept site in a lovely area.

The Lake is nearby and a great visit, particularly if you have a dog. The dog walk on site is quite small, but the surrounding area has plenty of picturesque walks to make up for it.

Not far from Bath, which is lovely and also visited the East Somerset Railway which was a nice couple of hours out. The cafe there is excellent.

Facilities are good - each cubicle has own shower, sink and toilet, so really private and they're clean and well maintained, just a little dated.

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the area. When you arrive, the staff hook-up your tourer to a little tractor and pitch it for you - we were a little apprehensive about someone else doing it for us, but they obviously are experienced and was a great service - when you leave, they take the caravan to the exit for you to hook up to the car as well.

Overall, a great site and we will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kevina 1 review from this member

 Perfect site if you want to chill and listen to the birds.

Shower block was spotless clean would definitely stay there again.

Highly recommended and worth 5 star's 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Chris3 4 reviews from this member

 Good quiet site,

Plenty of space and the best toilets/showers I have ever found at a campsite - lovely and warm even when freezing (literally) outside. Very clean too.

Nice pub only 5 minutes walk away.

Only negative was that the local walk around the lake was closed, but that wasn't the site's fault. 


Date of Visit: November 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kevin2 16 reviews from this member

 Quirky but lovely small site with very well appointed pitches, neat grass edged with wooden shuttering, and amazing facilities with 10 individual bathrooms (toilet, basin, shower, radiator) and good covid/cleaning protocols.

Nice village of Bishops Sutton nearby (with pub, didn't go); great walks, we did one to pretty Chew Magna via paths and track, then alongside river back to Che Valley Lake country park - here we had superb lunch at Salt & Malt F&C café. 


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: T6er 2 reviews from this member

 Just had a one nighter at the site in sub zero temperatures, nice to get out in the camper van for a short break and being less than 45 minutes drive from home had time for lunch before we set off to the site.

Pitches are very generous with plenty of space between each so lots of space between us and neighbours on either side. Very peaceful site for a break, probably helped by being an adult only site. Don't see it would be an issue for those with cars needing to leave them a short distance away in the spacious car park by reception, makes the camping area seem less cluttered and keeps vehicle movements to a minimum, this allows for larger pitches and more space in between them rather than being used for car parking next to your pitch, that has to be a positive IMO.

Toilets & showers are in combined cubicles which is a nice touch, 10 of them so no need for queueing during our stay, were nicely heated too which was welcome on a freezing night/morning.

Chew Valley Lake was a nice stroll mostly off road apart from the short stretch from the site entrance to the tee junction at the end of the lane which happens to be one way.

Salt & Malt is a nice stop off for a coffee & cake or more if desired but was very busy on the Sunday lunch time.

Visited the local pub The Red Lion but only had a couple of beers so not able to comment on the food quality, had heard positive comments from one of our neighbours on site though.

Staff were very accommodating and we were told we could stay on past the usual check out time if our pitch was not booked out on the day of departure, we took advantage of that which gave us time for a long walk around some of the lake and also gave the van the chance to air/defrost in the sun before setting off for home.

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay and this site is definitely on our list of sites for a return visit in the future. 


Previous     78 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bath      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4864 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement