Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Bath > Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park Reviews

Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park
Ham Lane
Bishop Sutton
Bath
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS39 5TZ
Tel: 01275 332 127
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 65 Reviews
                8/10 from 65 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tom Thumb 34 reviews from this member

Pretty, well kept site in lovely countryside, staff were always pleasant and very helpful. I particularly liked the valet parking of caravans, they were taken to your pitch and levelled side to side, the drivers were spot on with positioning and took greats care to make sure the ball on the tractor was grease free.

The individual bathrooms were Ok but the showers soon wet the floor and it was impossible to get the water up using the mops provided, so if you went to the toilet the floor was often awash with water.

The bathrooms were cleaned daily but always looked dirty, the bins etc were grubby and the mops filthy. ( The site were told this before we left).

If approaching the site from the south when you get to the Red Lion Pub you need to be on the wrong side of the road to get round the corner into Ham Lane with a caravan or a long motor home.

Overall a pleasant stay with some great sunsets.

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bonzoboy1 3 reviews from this member

Overall we thought the site was attractive. Good shop in the village with a pub which we didn't visit but a trip to chew valley lake is worth a visit. We started our trip for our long weekend away with the news that our friends were unable to join us due to the night before we travelled a member of their family being rushed in to hospital for a emergency operation. When we arrive we informed the girl on reception about our friends circumstances and asked if there was any chance of a refund, we got informed that due to our friend not contacting them directly that all they would offer to do was transfer their booking to another time within a year. We live on the other side of the country( not so easy, not a five minute trip). Reception customer service left a lot to be desired. Other members of staff on site were lovely well done to them. The whole site was very regimented in what they do. We did not feel very comfortable with this. We did not like having the car on the pitch even though there was plenty of room. Sorry this site was just not for us. We have been to sites that should be 5 star and weren't and this site is 5 star that should not be.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Custard15 16 reviews from this member

This adult-only caravan park is a bit special, and probably quite different from other's you've been to. The lane leading to the site is very narrow, but as it is effectively one-way, itís not a great problem, and the locals seem accepting of the camp traffic.

Firstly, for caravanners, there's valet parking of caravans - which is great for anyone of advanced years, or just feeling a bit frayed after a long journey. This prevents inadvertent damage around the tight turns. They have packed a lot of pitches into a small space, but there was still a feeling a space once pitched. This also reduces car movement as it is requested that car are left in the carpark except when necessary to drop off passengers or shopping Ė though of course there are some guests who abuse this, parking in front of their vans, narrowing driveways for significant periods of time. Generally though, site traffic is low, slow and unobtrusive Ö so itís best if campervans/ motorhomes are not given pitches alongside the woodland walk as they have to drive in a loop to get out as the gates/turns are too narrow for even small campervans to tackle safely.

The site also has a series of individual shower rooms, all with basin and loo. Which gave a great sense of privacy and allows staff to clean as-and-when, and not close all shows for an hour mid-morning as it so common. The only small drawback is that showers have curtains rather than screens with fixed shower heads, and itís almost inevitable that youíll get wet hair (whether you want it or not) and the floor outside will get wet and need mopping before you leave Ė but as long as you keep your clothes out of the way this isnít a real problem, and probably ensures that most people do give the floor (and shower base) a quick mop ready for the next user.

As we drove to Bath Chew Valley site straight from four nights at a music festival the washing machines and driers in the utility room were very welcome, and unusually the site also has a specialist hand-wash sink from those who want to rinse a few things without using a machine. There's also an iron and ironing board freely available - no need to request at reception. There also a couple of standard pot-wash sinks for those not wanting to create extra grey waste in their own vans. Having said that, there's the option of booking super pitches with water supply, grey water drainage and TV point on the hook-up post. There's also a well thought out chemical disposal room.

Staff are very friendly and happy to explain where things are on and off site. They have a good range of leaflets of things to do locally and walks to go on, also a helpful leaflet detailing 10 places to eat within 10 minutes of the site, including a Michelin starred pub and a fish and chip restaurant beside Chew Valley Lake. The Salt and Malt fish & chip restaurant is a comfortable walk (largely off-road) from the site, and while a little pricey is very good quality. Even the malt vinegar they use is special, brewed in Cornwall with a distinctive taste of yesteryear (you could almost imagine the takeaway wrapped in newspaper).

Itís a lovely area to explore, and also a handy base for Bristol, Bath, Cheddar, Wells etc. You can even hire a car from the site if you don't want to move a motorhome once nicely sited. I can understand that those who want to remain on site a lot might find that thereís not too much walking space with/without dogs, but it is nice that they have both a dog-walk and a dog-free woodland walk. Youíve also got a network of paths around Chew Valley lake just outside!

Whether this is the site for you depends on what youíre looking for. I can see all of its merits and fully understand why it books up well ahead for busy periods. For now, Iím young, fit and able enough to enjoy places that are a little cheaper and more rough and ready. While itís nice not to be over-run with children if you have to camp during the summer holidays, without kids playing, you probably just start to notice the small number of inconsiderate people and noisy dogs more if youíre trying to achieve peace and quiet. Chew Valley is a well laid out park with great facilities, in a popular location, but it isnít going to give you silent, picturesque pitches if thatís your desire.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Anntschernitz 1 review from this member

This is a small site. The wardens pitch your caravan and your car is parked at the car park. They say this is to keep noise to a minimum but in fact the pitches are quite small and would look overcrowded should everyone park their car there. Be aware, if you love the sun, a lot of the pitches, as ours was are in the shade in the afternoon due to the high trees. The site idea of having all en suite bathrooms sounds good but. They are fairly small and it's not pleasant. The ventilation is quite poor, so imagine following after someone! There are no extra toilets. Staff were pleasant. The village is very near with a shop and a pub. The mendip hills are great for walkers. Wells, Cheddar, Bath are well worth a visit. Probably would not return to this site

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eian 1 review from this member

Great site, good for adults, but a 20 minute drive to park and ride and then 10 minute + journey into Bath. Lovely individual fully serviced bathrooms, 10 in all. Clean and modern with shower, vanity unit, hooks toilet rolls etc. , etc. , spotless. Only comment which didn't happen for us but could in the busy season was what if all bathroom units were full and you just needed a toilet? and if all the bathroom pods were fully occupied there was nowhere to go! Nice to see that all dogs were on leads a great plus for us as not everyone likes dogs! Very informative library/information centre on site. Yes would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LR2007 19 reviews from this member

Booked into this site based on the reviews. On arrival we were shown to a pebble covered pitch, however, even with the largest chocs (which moved as the pebbles rolled with the weight of the vehicle so not at all safe) it made no difference to the level at all. Shown to another pitch which was flat (not in the best of condition though) but lacked any light/sunshine because of the surrounding hedges and trees which are in abundance on this site so the tv signal not too good! Very little grassed open areas and where there are they are very soft and boggy due to the location of the lake we believe? The toilet block is a little dated with shower curtains which allows water to cascade all over the floor outside of the showers. I personally found the facilities very dark and claustrophobic with just a tiny window to allow air in/out and didn't use them for this reason. On a positive note there are a few nice light and open pitches near the fishpond ( if you can get them) and a small enclosed area for walking dogs. We decided to change our plans and stay for one night only as this site just wasn't for us, too enclosed with greenery, however, the older generation seemed to like it.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: VillaMan 6 reviews from this member

Absolutely agree with the description of this site. It is a great site and it is in a lovely location. I would like to expand on one crucial detail though and this is of particular importance to motor homers. When the facilities mention public transport 1M away they forget to add that buses to Bath are limited. To one day per week. When one bus goes through the village (Bishop Sutton). The day in question is Tuesday and the time of the bus is round about 9. 00 AM. Personally I think this is very poor for a site that says it is located in Bath and Bath being 13 miles away. Something else to consider is that Chew Valley lake is only accessible from the site down a narrow windy road with no footpath and very few places to dive into when one of the locals comes haring round a corner. As I say a lovely site but we won't be going back. Shame really because I was really looking forward to visiting this site given all the build up and praise it gets. However there's no substitute for going to have a look yourself and I'm glad I can tick this one off my list.

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Radioray 1 review from this member

Was apprehensive about visiting after reading some of the negative reviews, however it is one of the best sites we have stayed on. Staff very friendly and helpful, really clean well maintained site. The washroom/toilets were lovely and warm, better than a lot of hotels we have stayed in. They are all self contained with hairdryer, hand drier, they are unisex but as they are all private it's not important, The people that complained about this should try the campsite toilets in France ! where we spend a lot of time.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NicciMac 46 reviews from this member

I have to give a low rating for this site purely because of the cost. It was £29 for 2 adults and a dog, EHU. For one night. Gobsmacked. We had intended to wild camp down at the Chew Valley Lake picnic area, but found out they were going to lock the gates at sunset and would probably kick us out, so didn't want to risk opening the wine. This site was the closest one, and with a whinging dog in the van we really couldn't face the prospect of driving around a bit longer to find a nice layby. So we paid :(.

The dog walking area is tiny, basically a narrow fenced strip around a little woodland area (no dogs allowed in that bit :(). Dogs on lead on site, rubbish. I guess there are decent walks close by.

Free wi fi for 30 minutes then you have to pay. On top of the 29 quid they've just had off us, no chance. Free internet access in the library, this is a nice touch but why not just give us free wi fi so we can surf from the comfort of our van?!

Showers and loos clean and roomy. Dish washing room nice and spacious.

You can't choose your own pitch. They ask you to put awnings up on gravel, not on the grass. Pretty weird, I'm glad we weren't staying long enough to put the awning up, would've been ouchy on the feet. Check-out time 11am.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steve Batch 5 reviews from this member

Well this was a first for us staff tow your van in and level it. Toilets are all individual but the showers kept dropping pressure, well kept site grass cut and flowers watered only problem with this site is the adults that have to empty there grey water at 7-00am going over the stoney road and waking us up, we don't all go to bed at 9-00pm I do not think it warrants £40 per night

Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3074 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019