Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Bath > Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park Reviews

Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park
Ham Lane
Bishop Sutton
Bath
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS39 5TZ
Tel: 01275 332 127
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 69 Reviews
                8/10 from 69 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: T6er 2 reviews from this member

 Just had a one nighter at the site in sub zero temperatures, nice to get out in the camper van for a short break and being less than 45 minutes drive from home had time for lunch before we set off to the site.

Pitches are very generous with plenty of space between each so lots of space between us and neighbours on either side. Very peaceful site for a break, probably helped by being an adult only site. Don't see it would be an issue for those with cars needing to leave them a short distance away in the spacious car park by reception, makes the camping area seem less cluttered and keeps vehicle movements to a minimum, this allows for larger pitches and more space in between them rather than being used for car parking next to your pitch, that has to be a positive IMO.

Toilets & showers are in combined cubicles which is a nice touch, 10 of them so no need for queueing during our stay, were nicely heated too which was welcome on a freezing night/morning.

Chew Valley Lake was a nice stroll mostly off road apart from the short stretch from the site entrance to the tee junction at the end of the lane which happens to be one way.

Salt & Malt is a nice stop off for a coffee & cake or more if desired but was very busy on the Sunday lunch time.

Visited the local pub The Red Lion but only had a couple of beers so not able to comment on the food quality, had heard positive comments from one of our neighbours on site though.

Staff were very accommodating and we were told we could stay on past the usual check out time if our pitch was not booked out on the day of departure, we took advantage of that which gave us time for a long walk around some of the lake and also gave the van the chance to air/defrost in the sun before setting off for home.

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay and this site is definitely on our list of sites for a return visit in the future. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Harryajh 13 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site this is. Great care is taken over it's upkeep and appearance.

All pitches are on level gravel with areas of grass around. The pub just down the road serves good food and the locals are friendly.

The facilities are excellent and plenty of them. Each has a loo, shower and wash basin. There is good walking nearby. Very quiet at night.

Definitely will be returning to this site.

It is on the upper end of the scale of what we pay to camp but worth it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrishood 6 reviews from this member

 After all the hype and expectation and trying to book for more than three years, what a let down. The first thing we were pointed at was the voting for the 2020 awards scheme.

The recommended route from the M5 to the site is scary, worse than getting to Ravenglass and that’s saying something. Once there, not enough room for the awning on the serviced site we booked.

No mops in the showers, you have to wade through what others have left. You might expect the response, of “why didn’t you contact us. ” My response would be, “if, as you suggest, the facilities are cleaned three times a day, why wasn’t this and the missing hooks, the incomplete caulking, the build up of grime and the lack of drainage being noticed?” The cobwebs are another issue, only wiping the floor is just not up to the standard we’d expect of a 5 star site.

We’ve stayed at a lot of sites and this one is such a disappointment, given the hype and the awards they receive every year. The individual shower/toilet facilities are a bonus, but they are tired and need looking at.

The fact that we are so close to the next pitch and can hear all conversations is rather odd. All squeezed in, but very pretty and the gardeners do a great job keeping it nice.

The requirements are rather overbearing too: “you must not” instead of “please do no not” or: “you must” instead of “please do”. It all left a rather sour taste on what could have been such a nice relaxing experience.

We won’t be going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tom Thumb 34 reviews from this member

 Pretty, well kept site in lovely countryside, staff were always pleasant and very helpful. I particularly liked the valet parking of caravans, they were taken to your pitch and levelled side to side, the drivers were spot on with positioning and took greats care to make sure the ball on the tractor was grease free.

The individual bathrooms were Ok but the showers soon wet the floor and it was impossible to get the water up using the mops provided, so if you went to the toilet the floor was often awash with water.

The bathrooms were cleaned daily but always looked dirty, the bins etc were grubby and the mops filthy. ( The site were told this before we left).

If approaching the site from the south when you get to the Red Lion Pub you need to be on the wrong side of the road to get round the corner into Ham Lane with a caravan or a long motor home.

Overall a pleasant stay with some great sunsets. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bonzoboy1 3 reviews from this member

 Overall we thought the site was attractive. Good shop in the village with a pub which we didn't visit but a trip to chew valley lake is worth a visit.

We started our trip for our long weekend away with the news that our friends were unable to join us due to the night before we travelled a member of their family being rushed in to hospital for a emergency operation.

When we arrive we informed the girl on reception about our friends circumstances and asked if there was any chance of a refund, we got informed that due to our friend not contacting them directly that all they would offer to do was transfer their booking to another time within a year.

We live on the other side of the country( not so easy, not a five minute trip). Reception customer service left a lot to be desired. Other members of staff on site were lovely well done to them.

The whole site was very regimented in what they do. We did not feel very comfortable with this. We did not like having the car on the pitch even though there was plenty of room. Sorry this site was just not for us.

We have been to sites that should be 5 star and weren't and this site is 5 star that should not be. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Custard15 18 reviews from this member

 This adult-only caravan park is a bit special, and probably quite different from other's you've been to. The lane leading to the site is very narrow, but as it is effectively one-way, it’s not a great problem, and the locals seem accepting of the camp traffic.

Firstly, for caravanners, there's valet parking of caravans - which is great for anyone of advanced years, or just feeling a bit frayed after a long journey. This prevents inadvertent damage around the tight turns. They have packed a lot of pitches into a small space, but there was still a feeling a space once pitched. This also reduces car movement as it is requested that car are left in the carpark except when necessary to drop off passengers or shopping – though of course there are some guests who abuse this, parking in front of their vans, narrowing driveways for significant periods of time. Generally though, site traffic is low, slow and unobtrusive … so it’s best if campervans/ motorhomes are not given pitches alongside the woodland walk as they have to drive in a loop to get out as the gates/turns are too narrow for even small campervans to tackle safely.

The site also has a series of individual shower rooms, all with basin and loo. Which gave a great sense of privacy and allows staff to clean as-and-when, and not close all shows for an hour mid-morning as it so common. The only small drawback is that showers have curtains rather than screens with fixed shower heads, and it’s almost inevitable that you’ll get wet hair (whether you want it or not) and the floor outside will get wet and need mopping before you leave – but as long as you keep your clothes out of the way this isn’t a real problem, and probably ensures that most people do give the floor (and shower base) a quick mop ready for the next user.

As we drove to Bath Chew Valley site straight from four nights at a music festival the washing machines and driers in the utility room were very welcome, and unusually the site also has a specialist hand-wash sink from those who want to rinse a few things without using a machine. There's also an iron and ironing board freely available - no need to request at reception. There also a couple of standard pot-wash sinks for those not wanting to create extra grey waste in their own vans. Having said that, there's the option of booking super pitches with water supply, grey water drainage and TV point on the hook-up post. There's also a well thought out chemical disposal room.

Staff are very friendly and happy to explain where things are on and off site. They have a good range of leaflets of things to do locally and walks to go on, also a helpful leaflet detailing 10 places to eat within 10 minutes of the site, including a Michelin starred pub and a fish and chip restaurant beside Chew Valley Lake. The Salt and Malt fish & chip restaurant is a comfortable walk (largely off-road) from the site, and while a little pricey is very good quality. Even the malt vinegar they use is special, brewed in Cornwall with a distinctive taste of yesteryear (you could almost imagine the takeaway wrapped in newspaper).

It’s a lovely area to explore, and also a handy base for Bristol, Bath, Cheddar, Wells etc. You can even hire a car from the site if you don't want to move a motorhome once nicely sited. I can understand that those who want to remain on site a lot might find that there’s not too much walking space with/without dogs, but it is nice that they have both a dog-walk and a dog-free woodland walk. You’ve also got a network of paths around Chew Valley lake just outside!

Whether this is the site for you depends on what you’re looking for. I can see all of its merits and fully understand why it books up well ahead for busy periods. For now, I’m young, fit and able enough to enjoy places that are a little cheaper and more rough and ready. While it’s nice not to be over-run with children if you have to camp during the summer holidays, without kids playing, you probably just start to notice the small number of inconsiderate people and noisy dogs more if you’re trying to achieve peace and quiet. Chew Valley is a well laid out park with great facilities, in a popular location, but it isn’t going to give you silent, picturesque pitches if that’s your desire. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Patrick Whitey 3 reviews from this member

 Very well organised site, although some re-organisation regarding parking would be welcome.

Beautifully landscaped and blissfully peaceful. Very popular so book early. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Anntschernitz 1 review from this member

 This is a small site. The wardens pitch your caravan and your car is parked at the car park. They say this is to keep noise to a minimum but in fact the pitches are quite small and would look overcrowded should everyone park their car there. Be aware, if you love the sun, a lot of the pitches, as ours was are in the shade in the afternoon due to the high trees. The site idea of having all en suite bathrooms sounds good but. They are fairly small and it's not pleasant. The ventilation is quite poor, so imagine following after someone! There are no extra toilets. Staff were pleasant. The village is very near with a shop and a pub. The mendip hills are great for walkers. Wells, Cheddar, Bath are well worth a visit. Probably would not return to this site 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Eian 1 review from this member

 Great site, good for adults, but a 20 minute drive to park and ride and then 10 minute + journey into Bath. Lovely individual fully serviced bathrooms, 10 in all. Clean and modern with shower, vanity unit, hooks toilet rolls etc. , etc. , spotless. Only comment which didn't happen for us but could in the busy season was what if all bathroom units were full and you just needed a toilet? and if all the bathroom pods were fully occupied there was nowhere to go! Nice to see that all dogs were on leads a great plus for us as not everyone likes dogs! Very informative library/information centre on site. Yes would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LR2007 23 reviews from this member

 Booked into this site based on the reviews. On arrival we were shown to a pebble covered pitch, however, even with the largest chocs (which moved as the pebbles rolled with the weight of the vehicle so not at all safe) it made no difference to the level at all. Shown to another pitch which was flat (not in the best of condition though) but lacked any light/sunshine because of the surrounding hedges and trees which are in abundance on this site so the tv signal not too good! Very little grassed open areas and where there are they are very soft and boggy due to the location of the lake we believe? The toilet block is a little dated with shower curtains which allows water to cascade all over the floor outside of the showers. I personally found the facilities very dark and claustrophobic with just a tiny window to allow air in/out and didn't use them for this reason. On a positive note there are a few nice light and open pitches near the fishpond ( if you can get them) and a small enclosed area for walking dogs. We decided to change our plans and stay for one night only as this site just wasn't for us, too enclosed with greenery, however, the older generation seemed to like it. 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bath      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5831 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement