Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Runswick Bay Camping And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Runswick Bay Camping And Caravan Park > Reviews

Runswick Bay Camping And Caravan Park
Hinderwell Lane
Runswick Bay
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
TS13 5HR
Tel: 01947 840997
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 107 Reviews
                8/10 from 107 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Clappersgirl 11 reviews from this member

 The drone shots on their website look fabulous, but alas there are no such views from the campsite which is surrounded by high hedges and fences with upmarket statics on one side, and more run-of-the-mill statics on another.

The path through the site was used by the owners of these statics for access. We were welcomed with a request for money and the information where our pitch was.

Nothing more. I did ask about access to the village, but there was no word of where anything was or any useful information at all. Not unfriendly, just unforthcoming.

It is a largish, fairly unkempt field with the pitches around the edges. All grass and many showing signs of wear at this stage of the season.

The toilet block is down a 50 yard long passage between fences, totally unlit so don't forget your torch. In fact only the reception is lit at night so it is generally very dark. There are 4 of everything in the ladies. Pretty similar in the mens.

They seemed rather dingy, not dirty but not pristine. The showers were quite small, the push-button showerheads aiming across the width so at least your clothes didn't get wet, but they were set so high that unless I wanted to wash my hair I couldn't stand under them without getting my hair wet. Each push of the button lasted a maximum of 10 seconds so it was hard going.

Adequate hooks and a tray for soap etc, but no stool to sit on anywhere. A mop bucket but no mop so unable to clean up after myself. But the worst thing was the daddy-longlegs. Not the campsite's fault, I know, but the toilet block was alive with them (and they are a pet hate) day and night. You had to clear them out of the shower before you started.

There seemed a perfectly adequate number of showers and the site wasn't full so that wasn't a problem. However, on walking on from the block to access the road there was a large field, empty but marked out with pegs 1 - 30 with no visible facilities. Presumably a further camping field. Was it for rallies? If that had been being used the facilities would be totally inadequate.

We enjoyed our stay. Walked to Staithes and caught the bus back. Bussed to Whitby for fish and chips. And caught the bus to Saltburn which was a delightful place.

The weather was sunny and we had a good time. But we wouldn't come back to this campsite. We also thought it rather expensive for what it offered. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JF60 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely small quiet campsite with very clean facilities. Pitches numbered but no boundaries marked out, pitches a bit on the small side but adequate. Bus stop outside campsite, buses every half hour to Whitby/Middlesbrough.

On the Cleveland way with lovely walk to Staithes (about 3 miles) and to Whitby (9 miles and quite tough).

No shops nearby. A fish restaurant near campsite which was quite nice. Two Hotels within a 10 min walk to get a drink. Tea garden 5 min walk away. Small hotel/pub in Runswick Bay on the way to beach through the small but very pretty hamlet.

Worth a visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sandie Murray 1 review from this member

 Lovely small quiet site, 11 pitches. Showers hot and toilets clean. Staff really friendly.

Bit of a track to the gorgeous beach, quite steep walk down, but well worth it.

A bit pricey 32 for 2 adults and 1 dog but hey ho that's what it is, also cash only which was no problem.

Would definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Linda t 2 reviews from this member

 Great site, will be returning. Fabulous location for walking. We didn't have children or a dog with us, but it would be perfect for them too.

I would of given them a 10, but I couldn't find any recycling facilities. This isn't a problem for us because we just take it home. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mal+jud 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit and definitely not the last. Lovely site, shower and toilet block very clean and well maintained. There is a pub/restaurant at the back of the site with more in the village. There are also several places to have tea/ coffee/ snacks/ ice-cream and such. There is a field next to the site to walk the dog as well as plenty of walks nearby, many being part of the Cleveland Way. The beach is within walking distance. The only thing lacking in the village is a shop. There's also a bus stop not far from the site with regular buses to Whitby and towns north. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chris560 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet location and very friendly staff. Woken up very early by builders, constructing holiday homes in the next field. Pitches were not very level, pity there was no hard standing. Showers were free and hot but the hooks for clothes are to near the shower, my wife would not use the shower due to slippery duckboards and no bench to sit on to change. The block appears new and toilets and wash basins were clean, great hand dryers. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mark12322 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite for 9 days over Easter. The campsite was busy but never felt crowded.

The site location is excellent, just a 10 minute walk into Runswick bay and 50 minute walk along the coastal path to Staithes.

Facilities were good and there was plenty of room for the children to run around and the location felt very safe.

Very good, will visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nige49 1 review from this member

 Arrived there on the off chance of trying to find a pitch at 530pm, and thought my chances of getting one would be very slim. The lady in the office was very nice and found me a pitch to put a small tent up. The place is very nice with a good atmosphere. The local pubs are very friendly too, I met quite a few lovely people there who were all out for a enjoyable evening, the views over the bay are fantastic, I will definitely return this year with my caravan for a longer stay, there is nothing to complain at regarding this site, just enjoy it 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: P7hut 22 reviews from this member

 Second year we've visited this site after visiting the area for over twenty years and it's as good as ever, increasing our stay to ten days this time. Six of is total in a van, motorhome and b&b.

Runswick Bay has to be one of my two favourite places in this country (the other being Perranporth in Cornwall). A dog friendly beach, 3 dog friendly pubs and a dog friendly b&b all within walking distance. The walks to Whitby and Staithes are great, across beaches and cliff tops.

It's pretty pricey in my opinion, this will be the most per night cost of any stay we have this year, but you just have to look at where you are and cost goes out of the window.

Coastal destinations such as Scarborough, Filey, Staithes, Robin Hood's Bay and Sandsend are all within visiting distance, or you can head inland to Rosedale Abbey, Goathland, Egton Bridge, Grosmont etc

The toilet block still doesn't drain properly, wooden boards have been placed on the floor so you are now raised up from the water but it's not perfect. Always seems cold in there too.

Went out for the day, returned to find someone pitched too close, awning was 2 metres tops from our van, and car parked almost overlapping our van. Owner said he would have a word but I don't think he did.

Last two nights we had 4 or 5 blokes tip up in 3 tents with their dozen or so kids next to us, seemed like a really cool idea, fathers with their kids on a camping trip. Apart from the fact that not one adult or kid could have a conversation without shouting, the football games round the caravan and the game of cricket facing our van where I winced every time someone took a shot. The bbq and noise went on til around half twelve. Had a word with the warden and this time I think the owner did have a word as there was no noise the following night.

Would this or the toilet block but me off going back? Not a chance, we'll be back next year with bells on. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Yachty 19 reviews from this member

 Quite a nice site that seemed to be well looked after, all the staff we met were extremely nice. My one gripe was that we were mixed in with the tents, I'm sure it would be better to keep the caravans together if possible. The showers were new but the shower cubicles were quite small and didn't appear to drain to well and all had duck boards in them. The toilet block floor always appeared to be wet and not to clean, the hand dryers were brilliant, very powerful. It was pretty busy and the weather wasn't that grand which probably accounted for the wet and dirty floor. But it is a site that we will visit again, it's a couple of miles walk along the cliff top to Staithes and about half a mile to Runswick Bay, both very picturesque walks. 


Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Runswick Bay Camping And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Runswick Bay Camping And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Runswick Bay Camping And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3450 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement