Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Helmsley > Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park
Oswaldkirk
Helmsley
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO62 5YQ
Tel: 01439 788269
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 129
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 219 Reviews
                9/10 from 219 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  219 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Susanc 1 review from this member

 We had the perfect pitch at no 20. The site felt very safe and secure.

The facilities were very clean and tidy.

We would book again and recommend this site to families and couples. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kent4711 27 reviews from this member

 A peaceful site at the time of our visit during term time June with very few tourers there. A lot of seasonal caravans away from the touring pitches. Also statics in another area.

The facilities were clean and the site was pleasant and well cared for with an info room and reception had a small shop. TV & phone reception was good.

Visited Helmsley & the castle ruins there using the pay & display car park. Also walked on tracks to Ampleforth village, Ampleforth Abbey/College with visitor centre and café for tea and scones. Enjoyed the peace and quiet of our stay.

No children with us so can't comment about suitability but did see 2 play areas. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Haribo79 1 review from this member

 Excellent family site, 2 parks plus a football pitch which went down a treat with my eldest! Very clean site with exceptionally clean showers/toilet block.

Small on site shop if you need anything & a fish & chip van on a weekend!

We didn't have the best of weather however still had a great time & got chatting with a lot of lovely people! We will be back  
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kaylmac 1 review from this member

 We stayed here over the Easter weekend and it was busy but did not feel overcrowded as its so spaced out well.

It's a lovely site, lovely location, quiet at night, brilliant kids play parks, football pitch, huge fields for the dog walks with bins too, clean toilets and shower blocks, always available, laundry, washing up facilities, on site shop with great selection, friendly staff.

Some lovely places to visit short drive away from site. Would defo recommend and will return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Clairewuk21 1 review from this member

 Gorgeous and clean campsite, excellent facilities, lovely and attentive staff, already planning our next visit back in a month or so.

Would definitely recommend it to anyone 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rogermooreseyebrow 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a long weekend at Golden Square. Large, spacious, neat and tidy campsite and a great location/base from which to explore North Yorkshire.

On site, there's a shop, two children's play areas, dish washing/laundry room and it has to be said, some of the damn finest toilets and showers I've ever seen on a campsite.

We went with an electric hook up, which in hindsight, we probably didn't need, but the spot we were in was fantastic; right on the edge of a top terrace, overlooking the site.

My only complaint is the number of people who don't keep their dogs on a lead as per the rule. There were near fisticuffs on one occasion, after a camper had his tent area invaded by the same dogs, not once but twice while he was cooking food. His children were upset by it and the dog owners couldn't have cared less. The same dogs then terrorised another kid while he was playing with his ball, which led to the owners being told off by the lad's dad. I encountered a Doberman that had slipped it's lead and I grabbed it and found it's owner, who said: 'Thank God you found it; if there'd been a shitzu knocking about, it would've killed it!'.

Although it didn't spoil our stay, I do think that the site owners need to adopt a zero tolerance to this before someone gets hurt.

Other than that, I wouldn't hesitate to come back here. It's great. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunncamp owner 13 reviews from this member

 Cant fault this site at all! Lots of park facilities for the kids, toilet facilities clean and tidy and generally a high standard of camp site.

Follow the route in and you shouldn't have any problems although the small village a couple of miles before site can be tight with parked cars and we did hit a spot of congestion on the way out with caravans coming the other way.

Most of the pitches seemed a decent size although I have to admit the one we were on was quite unlevelled but looking around the site this was a minority. Staff helpful and efficient so all in all a good stay.

It should be noted that on certain days with notice the white swan inn at ampleforth will collect you and drop you off if you plan on eating with them, there was no charge for this which meant that 4 adults and 4 kids were transported to the pub foc at a time of our needs. Food was very good too!

The village of Helmsley was close enough and seemed very quaint. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hrambler 1 review from this member

 We have used this site for many years now and we are never disappointed. Always really clean. Always plenty of piping hot water. Safe place for kids to play.

2 playgrounds - one for younger kids and the other for older ones.

Owners very friendly and helpful and they don't put up with any nonsense or bad behaviour. So if you're looking for a family friendly place this is the site for you.

Along with stunning views across the North York moors. Lovely towns and villages her by. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BRanger5104 12 reviews from this member

 First trip out of the season to shake the cobwebs out of the van and didn't want to travel too far. I had heard about this site from friends and also read the positive reviews on this site.

The site is well situated and there are lots of local attractions. The site is well maintained and the pitches are a good size but you will need to bring a leveller.

The toilet blocks are clean and the free showers are hot. The dog lovers will love the dog shower near the toilet blocks and there is a designated dog walking area. There are a couple of kiddies play areas and a small shop with a few essentials. The staff are friendly and the ANPR system on the barrier ensures security.

The site itself didn't feel too cramped and our pitch was perfect being at the end of the road and when I come again I would definitely try and get the same pitch.

My only gripe, and it isn't all the fault of the site, is that nearly all of the water/grey waste areas are 10/12 foot from the path and you have to cross the grassed areas to get to them.

Unfortunately during our first night it rained for about 8 hours and the grassed areas became a bit like a quagmire and getting fresh water became a very muddy affair.

In fact this is the only reason for my score of 9/10. If the site put some gravel in these areas or hard rubber matting I would score it a 10.

Would recommend it and would come again, albeit when weather is a bit drier 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Punisher 2 reviews from this member

 We returned recently from a long weekend site was supper clean wc a little out dated now but staff were great managed to get upgrade to electric hook up at last min

The only problem we had was the ground or hard-core drainage was so close to the surface I bent nearly every tent pegs

Off to get rock pegs next time and big mallet 


Previous     219 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Helmsley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2368 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December