Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Helmsley > Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park
Oswaldkirk
Helmsley
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO62 5YQ
Tel: 01439 788269
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 129
Open: 12/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 222 Reviews
                9/10 from 222 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: N66dcb 1 review from this member

 Fantastic clean facilities. Brilliant staff.

Everything you need for a pleasurable stay.

Would not hesitate to recommend and will definitely be returning.

Book with confidence. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LuckyR 1 review from this member

 Stayed bank hol weekend (fab weather). Lovely site, very clean & quiet (where we were near the entrance/shop).

First time staying here, wanted to be near Helmsley & managed to get last pitch!

Walked into Ampleforth, Sunday lunch at White Swan always nice. Visited Abbey tea rooms and also Byland Abbey (free admission), tea rooms across the road.

Will definitely book again, loved it. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tarnlad23 1 review from this member

 We booked to stay 4 nights but had to pack up half way through setting up due to a phone call from work as someone tested positive for covid. I phoned the next day and explained and was told to ring back with my results and told I could return anytime and I wouldn't lose my money.

We returned and the site was excellent grandkids had a great time to playgrounds excellent walks the amenities are excellent and clean.

It's now our go to place for short breaks. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Susanc 1 review from this member

 We had the perfect pitch at no 20. The site felt very safe and secure.

The facilities were very clean and tidy.

We would book again and recommend this site to families and couples. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kent4711 27 reviews from this member

 A peaceful site at the time of our visit during term time June with very few tourers there. A lot of seasonal caravans away from the touring pitches. Also statics in another area.

The facilities were clean and the site was pleasant and well cared for with an info room and reception had a small shop. TV & phone reception was good.

Visited Helmsley & the castle ruins there using the pay & display car park. Also walked on tracks to Ampleforth village, Ampleforth Abbey/College with visitor centre and café for tea and scones. Enjoyed the peace and quiet of our stay.

No children with us so can't comment about suitability but did see 2 play areas. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Haribo79 1 review from this member

 Excellent family site, 2 parks plus a football pitch which went down a treat with my eldest! Very clean site with exceptionally clean showers/toilet block.

Small on site shop if you need anything & a fish & chip van on a weekend!

We didn't have the best of weather however still had a great time & got chatting with a lot of lovely people! We will be back  
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kaylmac 1 review from this member

 We stayed here over the Easter weekend and it was busy but did not feel overcrowded as its so spaced out well.

It's a lovely site, lovely location, quiet at night, brilliant kids play parks, football pitch, huge fields for the dog walks with bins too, clean toilets and shower blocks, always available, laundry, washing up facilities, on site shop with great selection, friendly staff.

Some lovely places to visit short drive away from site. Would defo recommend and will return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Clairewuk21 1 review from this member

 Gorgeous and clean campsite, excellent facilities, lovely and attentive staff, already planning our next visit back in a month or so.

Would definitely recommend it to anyone 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rogermooreseyebrow 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a long weekend at Golden Square. Large, spacious, neat and tidy campsite and a great location/base from which to explore North Yorkshire.

On site, there's a shop, two children's play areas, dish washing/laundry room and it has to be said, some of the damn finest toilets and showers I've ever seen on a campsite.

We went with an electric hook up, which in hindsight, we probably didn't need, but the spot we were in was fantastic; right on the edge of a top terrace, overlooking the site.

My only complaint is the number of people who don't keep their dogs on a lead as per the rule. There were near fisticuffs on one occasion, after a camper had his tent area invaded by the same dogs, not once but twice while he was cooking food. His children were upset by it and the dog owners couldn't have cared less. The same dogs then terrorised another kid while he was playing with his ball, which led to the owners being told off by the lad's dad. I encountered a Doberman that had slipped it's lead and I grabbed it and found it's owner, who said: 'Thank God you found it; if there'd been a shitzu knocking about, it would've killed it!'.

Although it didn't spoil our stay, I do think that the site owners need to adopt a zero tolerance to this before someone gets hurt.

Other than that, I wouldn't hesitate to come back here. It's great. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunncamp owner 13 reviews from this member

 Cant fault this site at all! Lots of park facilities for the kids, toilet facilities clean and tidy and generally a high standard of camp site.

Follow the route in and you shouldn't have any problems although the small village a couple of miles before site can be tight with parked cars and we did hit a spot of congestion on the way out with caravans coming the other way.

Most of the pitches seemed a decent size although I have to admit the one we were on was quite unlevelled but looking around the site this was a minority. Staff helpful and efficient so all in all a good stay.

It should be noted that on certain days with notice the white swan inn at ampleforth will collect you and drop you off if you plan on eating with them, there was no charge for this which meant that 4 adults and 4 kids were transported to the pub foc at a time of our needs. Food was very good too!

The village of Helmsley was close enough and seemed very quaint. 


Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Helmsley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


553 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement