Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Helmsley > Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park
Oswaldkirk
Helmsley
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO62 5YQ
Tel: 01439 788269
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 129
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 217 Reviews
                9/10 from 217 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  217 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Haribo79 1 review from this member

Excellent family site, 2 parks plus a football pitch which went down a treat with my eldest! Very clean site with exceptionally clean showers/toilet block.

Small on site shop if you need anything & a fish & chip van on a weekend!

We didn't have the best of weather however still had a great time & got chatting with a lot of lovely people! We will be back
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kaylmac 1 review from this member

We stayed here over the Easter weekend and it was busy but did not feel overcrowded as its so spaced out well.

It's a lovely site, lovely location, quiet at night, brilliant kids play parks, football pitch, huge fields for the dog walks with bins too, clean toilets and shower blocks, always available, laundry, washing up facilities, on site shop with great selection, friendly staff.

Some lovely places to visit short drive away from site. Would defo recommend and will return.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Clairewuk21 1 review from this member

Gorgeous and clean campsite, excellent facilities, lovely and attentive staff, already planning our next visit back in a month or so.

Would definitely recommend it to anyone
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rogermooreseyebrow 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a long weekend at Golden Square. Large, spacious, neat and tidy campsite and a great location/base from which to explore North Yorkshire.

On site, there's a shop, two children's play areas, dish washing/laundry room and it has to be said, some of the damn finest toilets and showers I've ever seen on a campsite.

We went with an electric hook up, which in hindsight, we probably didn't need, but the spot we were in was fantastic; right on the edge of a top terrace, overlooking the site.

My only complaint is the number of people who don't keep their dogs on a lead as per the rule. There were near fisticuffs on one occasion, after a camper had his tent area invaded by the same dogs, not once but twice while he was cooking food. His children were upset by it and the dog owners couldn't have cared less. The same dogs then terrorised another kid while he was playing with his ball, which led to the owners being told off by the lad's dad. I encountered a Doberman that had slipped it's lead and I grabbed it and found it's owner, who said: 'Thank God you found it; if there'd been a shitzu knocking about, it would've killed it!'.

Although it didn't spoil our stay, I do think that the site owners need to adopt a zero tolerance to this before someone gets hurt.

Other than that, I wouldn't hesitate to come back here. It's great.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunncamp owner 13 reviews from this member

Cant fault this site at all! Lots of park facilities for the kids, toilet facilities clean and tidy and generally a high standard of camp site.

Follow the route in and you shouldn't have any problems although the small village a couple of miles before site can be tight with parked cars and we did hit a spot of congestion on the way out with caravans coming the other way.

Most of the pitches seemed a decent size although I have to admit the one we were on was quite unlevelled but looking around the site this was a minority. Staff helpful and efficient so all in all a good stay.

It should be noted that on certain days with notice the white swan inn at ampleforth will collect you and drop you off if you plan on eating with them, there was no charge for this which meant that 4 adults and 4 kids were transported to the pub foc at a time of our needs. Food was very good too!

The village of Helmsley was close enough and seemed very quaint.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hrambler 1 review from this member

We have used this site for many years now and we are never disappointed. Always really clean. Always plenty of piping hot water. Safe place for kids to play.

2 playgrounds - one for younger kids and the other for older ones.

Owners very friendly and helpful and they don't put up with any nonsense or bad behaviour. So if you're looking for a family friendly place this is the site for you.

Along with stunning views across the North York moors. Lovely towns and villages her by.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BRanger5104 12 reviews from this member

First trip out of the season to shake the cobwebs out of the van and didn't want to travel too far. I had heard about this site from friends and also read the positive reviews on this site.

The site is well situated and there are lots of local attractions. The site is well maintained and the pitches are a good size but you will need to bring a leveller.

The toilet blocks are clean and the free showers are hot. The dog lovers will love the dog shower near the toilet blocks and there is a designated dog walking area. There are a couple of kiddies play areas and a small shop with a few essentials. The staff are friendly and the ANPR system on the barrier ensures security.

The site itself didn't feel too cramped and our pitch was perfect being at the end of the road and when I come again I would definitely try and get the same pitch.

My only gripe, and it isn't all the fault of the site, is that nearly all of the water/grey waste areas are 10/12 foot from the path and you have to cross the grassed areas to get to them.

Unfortunately during our first night it rained for about 8 hours and the grassed areas became a bit like a quagmire and getting fresh water became a very muddy affair.

In fact this is the only reason for my score of 9/10. If the site put some gravel in these areas or hard rubber matting I would score it a 10.

Would recommend it and would come again, albeit when weather is a bit drier

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Punisher 2 reviews from this member

We returned recently from a long weekend site was supper clean wc a little out dated now but staff were great managed to get upgrade to electric hook up at last min

The only problem we had was the ground or hard-core drainage was so close to the surface I bent nearly every tent pegs

Off to get rock pegs next time and big mallet

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tobyleeds 16 reviews from this member

We stayed for 3 nights to visit the area. The site is excellent for children as there is a very good playground and games field.

Our dog enjoyed the dog field and the walks along the local footpaths.

The site was quiet and well maintained. The only disappointments were the pre set push button showers - we are more accustomed to finding these on municipal sites in France where one pays a pittance, not on a site costing nearly 30 a night!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sammymac 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here over end of May bank holiday. On the plus side the staff were friendly, especially at reception/shop and the views across the vale are stunning with good TV reception.

On the negative side, pitches weren't level and were cramped, roads around the site very tight for caravan and not enough Loo/showers for size of site.

Previous     217 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2969 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019