Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Helmsley > Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park
Oswaldkirk
Helmsley
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO62 5YQ
Tel: 01439 788269
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 129
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 229 Reviews
                9/10 from 229 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  229 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Victor 1 review from this member

 Absolute gem of a site. Lovely clean toilets, two great parks for the kids to enjoy.

Pitches all nice and flat, we were on the top terrace so the only downside was the kids being a bit further away from the park (too young to be unattended) but we were blessed that it wasn’t too busy so there was some open space at the top for them to play on.

The shop was well stocked and had everything we needed/ forgotten. Everyone on site was respectful of quiet times and seemed a very family oriented site.

Its position is very useful as a home base to visit an array of area’s in the north east.

Would definitely recommend and we are looking forward to going again this season. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mat74 3 reviews from this member

 On arrival we pitched in our designated area between two randomly placed posts. Probably could have been better marked out as neighbours and randoms didn't seem too fussed walking through.

Not really within walking distance of anywhere.

Great dog walks

Nice clean washrooms

Good kids outdoor facilities - indoor left a bit to be desired.

Well stocked shop although min spend on card still a fiver (hello the 90's)

Staff very friendly and willing to help at every opportunity.

Will use again. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lee 60 24 reviews from this member

 A very pleasant campsite that I'm sure families with children will love. Unfortunately for us, we don't have kids, so it does mean you have to accept noise from the two play areas and all day long.

The facilities are really good and well maintained in pleasant surroundings with a variety of pitches.

The thing that made this a difficult stay for us was the lack of public transport and the distance to the nearest places of interest.

OK we walked to Helmsley and back, also into Ampleforth, but there are not many footpaths directly from the campsite, so we did quite a few miles on tarmac.

This site is much better suited to campers with cars and caravanners. I would recommend this site, but not necessarily for motorhomes, unless you are willing to pack up and drive out for the day, or stay on site the whole time. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cathm 1 review from this member

 Just come back from our second weekend here and have rebooked for august the place is fantastic good shop on site,

Toilets and showers are excellent, no problems with electrics,

Two playgrounds, great dog walking area wardens patrolling site regularly

Couldn't find anything to complain about great site 


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Brian7 1 review from this member

 We stayed on a super pitch which was best pitch we have had loads of space and great location

The views were fabulous as you are quite high up

The showers and toilets were always kept clean

Wardens were always around

Very busy dog walks the best we have seen

Only stayed for 2 nights but could easily stayed longer

Definitely will go back again

Lovely site 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cazone 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 7 nights at this lovely campsite. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the facilities were excellent.

On arrival we were given a choice of 4 pitches and we chose one opposite the toilet block.

All the pitches were spacious and we had plenty of room for our tent and car. The only downside for us was the weather, it was torrential rain every night, but glorious during the day.

We were pitched at the bottom of a slope which allowed the water to run down the slope and under the footprint of the tent, this left the kitchen area flooded every morning.

The campsite was in no way to blame for this, rather our own inexperience of camping, lesson learned! Don't camp at the bottom of a slope if heavy rain is expected!

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the area is beautiful, plenty to see and do, Thirsk and Rydale folk museum are highly recommended, as is Sutton Bank.

We will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Alexan 1 review from this member

 Love this place, been a few times over the years with our kids as they get older, not too much to do but enough, that's what camping is about, the quality time.

All our kids need is a park and there happy.

Facilities are all very clean, always tidy and well looked after. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: N66dcb 1 review from this member

 Fantastic clean facilities. Brilliant staff.

Everything you need for a pleasurable stay.

Would not hesitate to recommend and will definitely be returning.

Book with confidence. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LuckyR 1 review from this member

 Stayed bank hol weekend (fab weather). Lovely site, very clean & quiet (where we were near the entrance/shop).

First time staying here, wanted to be near Helmsley & managed to get last pitch!

Walked into Ampleforth, Sunday lunch at White Swan always nice. Visited Abbey tea rooms and also Byland Abbey (free admission), tea rooms across the road.

Will definitely book again, loved it. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tarnlad23 1 review from this member

 We booked to stay 4 nights but had to pack up half way through setting up due to a phone call from work as someone tested positive for covid. I phoned the next day and explained and was told to ring back with my results and told I could return anytime and I wouldn't lose my money.

We returned and the site was excellent grandkids had a great time to playgrounds excellent walks the amenities are excellent and clean.

It's now our go to place for short breaks. 
via mobile


Previous     229 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Helmsley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4593 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement