Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whittlebury Park Silverstone Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Northamptonshire > Towcester > Whittlebury Park Silverstone Camping Reviews

Whittlebury Park Silverstone Camping
Whittlebury
Silverstone
Towcester
Northamptonshire   (Browse area)
NN12 8WP
Tel: 01327 850490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5000
Open: 01/07/2022 to 31/08/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 18 Reviews
                7/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ipurki 1 review from this member

 Everything is done for the campers ease the place was well set up and access even with covid protocols in place was as simple, and straightforward well done the welcome crew.

The place has all you need you can have a quiet stay or a fun and lively stay. The fact I was a camping virgin for Silverstone meant that the set up was even better as they help you as much as is possible

I will definitely stay again good access to track helps but most of all the staff and all the entertainment made for a fantastic time

Cheers long may you continue. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TeckL 1 review from this member

 We camped by Lakeside for the British Grand Prix, this is a 30 minute walk from Becketts over very hilly terrain during a heatwave. When we saw coaches taking people from the Hotel to the Becketts gate we asked if buses or transport was available for campers, a very grumpy man in sunglasses at Lakeside shouted 'No' and walked away. If transport is provided to Hotel Guests why isn't it provided to campers?

We saw that street food was available in the Beer Tent, sadly this was just one small stall with burgers, bacon and noodles, all of which looked very greasy and overcooked.

Hotel restaurants are available but, very expensive. 14.50 for a burger!

The toilets were plentiful and well placed while showers were quite limited.

Would we stay here again NO! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Innitnthat 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from the WEC opening round weekend at Silverstone circuit, first time at Whittlebury Park camping area, I doubt we'd use it again.

We were lucky enough to book well in advance so that we got one of the very few electric hook-ups so that was handy, as was the fact that if you have the hook-up, it's on a level area which cannot be said for the rest of the site.

It's a 15 to 20 minute walk to the circuit, the campsite shuttle runs for a couple of hours in the am and then again pm, which is handy but It could really do to be all day.

The reason I don't think we'll bother again is the woefully inadequate facilities provided, toilets blocked and full to the top on the second day, not enough showers for the numbers of campers, then when you got one, it was freezing cold.

The 'Paddock Suite' pub is simply not big enough and is obviously meant for hotel guest use, not the hundreds of folk who turn up for Silverstone events. The campsite staff were extremely helpful and worked hard with what they have so no complaints there. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aj_shaw26 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a long weekend at Renault World Series; second year staying at Whittlebury Park. Last year was my first time ever camping (at the ripe old age of 42!) and didn't have anything to compare against. This year I'm a little more experienced!

Comments as follows: -

- Very few EHU's (unfortunately already got used to having a kettle!);

- Unless you want portaloos or are happy with a long walk, you have to stay in the Kennel area of the park where there are both portacabin showers / toilets and a brick shower / toilet block a short distance away. Whilst these were clean when we arrived on Friday morning, they went down hill as the weekend progressed. The brick shower area was under construction when we visited 11 months ago but still didn't appear finished. The drains could definitely do with more work, the showers still hadn't drained when I was dressed and ready to leave (and I'm a typical female and take a while to get ready!);

- Although the majority of Kennel area is on a slope, pitches are a good size and relatively bump free. It is after all a field, so I can accept the odd mole hill!

- The Kennel area appeared to have been designated a 'family' area this year, which I wasn't aware of when I booked. Unfortunatly it didn't mean an early night for quite a number of campers around us nor did we see any staff reminding them of the 'curfew'. It did however mean quite a number of footballs hitting our tent & car while we were there and god knows what happening when we weren't! Lesson learnt, I'll be checking the status of the area in future!

- The Paddock Suite bar is dingy with staff who were more interested in talking to their mates than actually serving customers;

- Whittlebury Park Hotel restaurant is over priced with extremely poor service - having waited nearly an hour for drinks to arrive! I dread to think what it's like on a F1 weekend.

- Whilst the access to the Circuit from the camp site is handy, it is, as other reviews have stated, more than a 10 minute walk.

- No dedicated washing up area, just the sink in the ladies toilets!

Having had my second year here, I will be trying another site next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 Having just returned from a fantastic weekend at the Grand Prix, I can do nothing but praise this site and the whole event which Whittlebury Park really is very much part of.

The site was obviously very, very busy, however, you were still allocated a sizeable pitch and ours in the Pavilion area was dead flat and immaculately well kept, we did pay a bit extra for this spot though.

The facilities for our area were in the Pavilion, there was a bar serving food, happy hour at only 2 a pint 6-7 and toilets and showers that were obviously busy first thing but that is simply something you'd expect, they were kept pretty clean but declined as the weekend progressed.

Elsewhere on site there was a shop selling essentials, a beer tent with live music and appearances by F1 personalities and a more respectable golf club house.

It was less than 10 minutes from our pitch to being inside the circuit and it was great to wake up to the sound of very powerful engines pushing their cars around the track.

If I was writing a review of a normal site I'd probably complain about loud music late into the night and annoying children running around at first light, but hey that all added to the occasion and the staff were on the whole very friendly and helpful, so 10/10 for Whittlebury as a place to stay for the Grand Prix. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Flavia 1 review from this member

 Very useful for Silverstone events, but rather more than 10 minutes walk to track - not all track gates open for all events. Would be nice if the litter from the GP weekend had been removed from the path before the Silverstone Classic weekend 2 weeks later.

Reception area and adjacent toilets and showers looked like a disaster area.

Portable showers and toilets at the top of the field were much better, but not cleaned or paper replenished all weekend. Showers cold or very hot. Sloping site, very few electric hook-ups.

Didn't see any staff so can't comment, but very helpful during email contact.

Posh hotel next door, has bar food, expensive restaurant. Golf Clubhouse (Atrium) has pub type food open 7.00 to 21.00. Pub in village, a short walk. Didn't try any. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pokeystick 5 reviews from this member

 Went for the Silverstone Formula 1 Grand Prix and had the most fantastic time.

Booking was easy, check in was smooth and finding a site was straight forward.

I stayed in one of the Farm fields and they put a rope along the line they want you to camp in then let you find a spot of your own from that. Most of the field was sloped but if going early you can drive around and find a suitable spot.

The portaloos were in every field and I never queued. They were always clean and sometimes even smelt nice!

Location is absolutely faultless for Silverstone as it's a short walk through woodland sand you're there.

There were not enough showers really but were functional and cleaned regularly.

The site is huge and can be difficult to get around if not able, but when walking around I found there are some lovely places to stay near the lake.

There is a pub on site and food available from here as well as the club house but I didn't use them.

I couldn't fault it really except, considering the site was full with Formula 1 enthusiasts of all shapes and sizes, there didn't seem to be much security so be aware to check your valuables. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Coops56 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here at the last minute for the Silverstone Classics Meeting in July and being close to the circuit was the over riding reason for booking.

Easy booking-in procedure, well organised 'lanes' for camping on slightly undulating but well mown ground and plenty of room per pitch.

The showers were a little 'tired' and needed better cleaning but were usable and warm.

The portable toilets were as clean (or dirty) as could be expected. It was not overly busy on this weekend so the toilets coped reasonably well (I do wonder what it would like on Grand Prix weekend?!).

There is a lake on site (but I don't know if you can fish?) and there is a bar and club room (which I did not go to).

It is ideally situated for the racing circuit and would be a quiet site (except for the noise of distant racing engines) when there was no race meeting.

A few minutes off the A43, mainly regarded as a quality golf course.

Enjoyable place to stay if attending Silverstone or golfing. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hurricaneharold 1 review from this member

 I have been staying at Whittlebury campsite for various race meeting at Silverstone for ten years.

Set in a beautiful location with stunning views across the lake and watching the sunset in the evening is amazing.

I agree some more basic maintenance wouldn`t go a miss. A severe lack of showers on site. Plus the toilets could be kept a lot cleaner.

It would be nice if the music stopped a little earlier.

I will try another site this year for the Silverstone Classic. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stumpjumper 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the Renault World Series event. The site is huge and set in very pleasant countryside only a short walk from Silverstone Circuit.

The weekend we stayed it was extremely busy and very noisy, which may be down to that particular event. The staff were really friendly and helpful upon arrival despite having to deal with large numbers in the heat. I have to say the rowdy atmosphere on the site wasn't to our taste. The toilet facilities were really smelly portaloos which were best avoided if possible. The showers were actually quite nice even though they were of a portable variety.

A lot of the site is quite sloping which caused some issues for caravanner's. I wouldn't advise camping next to the gravel tracks as the dust thrown up by passing cars was quite bad. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Whittlebury Park Silverstone Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whittlebury Park Silverstone Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Whittlebury Park Silverstone Camping dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Towcester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northamptonshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4249 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement