Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park Reviews

Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park
Mawgan Porth
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 4BQ
Tel: 01637 860373
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 67 Reviews
                8/10 from 67 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: SamFrey 3 reviews from this member

 Given the lock-down, I am remembering a wonderful week on this peaceful site last Summer. I went with my family and had a lovely time.

The park is in a Northern town called Mawgan Porth and it is far removed from the commercial parks that you usually find in Cornwall.

If you are looking for a park with character within 15/20 minutes walk from the beach, this should definitely be an option.

We went in our motor-home but you can also rent statics which seemed high quality.

We enjoyed using the cafe near the park and will definitely re-visit when the lock-down is over. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hamandjam 5 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed our visit to Sun Valley pitch sizes are good facilities are also good only draw back was no phone signal and no wi fi but we knewn this before booking so cannot mark them down though this.

Road to site is for the most part single track but as they run a double decker bus on this route it is easy to get to and from if you are sensible.

All in all a very nice site, and benefits from being within 20 mins walk or 5 mins by car from Mawgan Porth.

Would we go back - Yes no problem. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chicgal 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, loads of room. We went leading up to the Whitsun holiday, it was lovely and quiet. Great walks, loved the woodland walk to the villages of Mawgan Porth and St Mawgan. Staff friendly and helpful and the site was well maintained and clean. There was wifi, but this was intermittent, as there is no phone signal on the campsite and not too good in the village either, I would recommend the Wifi is improved. TV signal poor, okay with a satellite dish however. Would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richard19000 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 weeks at the beginning of August with our two children aged 7 & 9. We were joined by other family members during our stay and had 4 pitches with 5 tents within our group.

We enjoy the quieter camp sites without the noisy entertainment and this is certainly what you get. They have a rule of no noise after 10. 30pm and while it seemed a bit strange when we first heard of it we ended up being in bed before then anyway so it never bothered us. You will need to have a large note book for all of the rules though, sometimes less rules make for a more pleasurable stay.

The walk to Mawgan Porth beach is more like 20 minutes but it is a very level walk through the woods and with a fabulous sandy beach at the end it is worth it.

Good points:-

The facilities were always kept clean,

Only queued once for a shower in two weeks,

Kids play area was great for our children

Walk to the beach,

Bad Points:-

The only playing field is on a slope (the pitches are not)

Our pitch was small but we were warned of this when we booked. There were larger pitches on the site but none available for us when we booked.

We would definitely return to this site as the location to the beach was very convenient. We tried to visit other beaches but couldn't get parked and ended up coming back to the site and walking to the beach. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Plankymonkey 5 reviews from this member

 My husband and I stayed here as a last minute getaway and were really pleased at how accommodating the staff were to fit us in and on a lovely pitch space! Standard camping with no electric hook up. We forgot our mallet and they were more than happy to lend us one.

The grass was very well maintained and each pitch was well marked and a good size. We had a lovely spot with the stream running behind us.

The site itself was well maintained and no complaints. The price reflects the site and no hidden charges for the showers, I think the family bathrooms were free up until the end of July (summer holiday peak!) but then a fee is charged.

There is a small fee of 20p for use of the hairdryers and electric points in the ladies bathrooms.

The bathrooms are clean and well maintained - they are a funky green colour but nothing wrong with the facilities. I always got straight into a toilet or shower, no waiting but this might be different in peak summer as there were only a few showers.

Lots of water points and bins/recycling points

Location is tucked away and feels secure. We love Mawgan Porth for the shops and facilities near by, the walk is not difficult but I wouldn't want to do it with lots of beach stuff/body boards etc. My sister in law who also went found it a bit tricky with two small children/pushchairs etc.

Quiet at night time which is nice

We will definitely visit Sun Haven Valley again! 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Themgs 10 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 8 nights at this site and have enjoyed every minute. Yes it was the end of season, and very quiet, so much so that they closed the main toilet block and we used the private bathrooms. The site is flat and very sheltered. It is very central for this area Newquay/Padstow. There is a short, pretty walk to the beach and in the other direction, to a Cream tea in St Mawgan. Beware the Double decker on the bus service - it does not call at the campsite - and you are never sure which service it will run on. Newquay airport is close by but does not disturb the peace too much. All in all a good site and we will return. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Flybo 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from two weeks at this site, in my opinion site is better suited to tents and smaller motor homes due to the very narrow approach road, that said we found everything else A1. Staff were very friendly and helpful, toilets and shower blocks spotlessly clean. The local dog friendly beach is only ten minutes walk away as are the facilities in Mawgan Porth. We would certainly return to this part of Cornwall, but maybe not to this site, purely down to the access road. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phil16 2 reviews from this member

 Went to this campsite for one week, pitch was large and flat with ehu. Excellent clean quiet site in a good location approx a one mile walk to the lovely dog friendly beach and local shops and 2 pubs. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Good shower block and is very clean. Also has a small shop on site. I look forward to returning to this lovely little site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 31 reviews from this member

 Sun Haven benefits from its position on the beach holiday and surf coast of Cornwall and you can never take that away from the site. It is a completely adequate site with all the facilities you require and is well maintained. Unfortunately this is the fourth site we have visited this year so far, two were really good and the third was excellent. I think Sun Haven should consider up grading showers, toilets, washing up area and site lighting fairly soon. Sites elsewhere in the UK are moving on.

When we visited the the site was at full capacity and the weather was rotten. The staff worked hard to keep up with the mess the campers were creating.

All the staff I met were friendly and helpful.

The ground in the touring area was sodden after continuous rain, but I saw no sign of flooding or unusable pitches.

The walk to the beach is definitely at least 20 mins unless you march.

Despite the numbers we had no problem with hot water or queuing for showers.

There was virtually no noise after 10:30pm.

The information boards and information room were very good. Weather forecasts were supplied, which is good if you normally rely on the ipad or mobile, no signal.

Waste water disposal had hand wash facilities alongside, a good idea.

Campsite had no info on Lanhydrock House, it is well worth a visit, particularly in rain as much of the interest is inside the house. Get the kids interested in the quiz's to distract them. Us oldies spent nearly two hours inside! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Glenafletch 1 review from this member

 Firstly can we just say a big massive thank you to the management and all the staff. Our holiday hadn't started too well after the car broke down on the way to Cornwall, and, after our caravan was towed to Sun Haven Valley we came up against it again when the recovery vehicle could not get down the hill and round the hairpin into Mawgan Porth. With no hesitation, the owner came to help and hooked up our van and towed it to SHV even though it was late afternoon on probably the busiest Saturday of the year!

We have been returning to SHV for five years now and can only rave about the park, it's facilities, friendliness, silence policy and the surrounding area.

SHV is everything it says on the tin and more.

Shower and washing facilities are excellent and always hot water even at peak times.

Wetsuit cleaning area is a very good idea and helps keep the other facilities clean and tidy.

Good dishwashing area.

Excellent play area, games room, TV room. (Certainly more than enough for a 5 and 15 year old).

Fabulous information hut.

There is NO NOISE after 10. 30pm with wardens checking and politely asking anyone not adhering to quieten down.

Toilets are probably due an update but this, by no means, intimates that they are not clean.

The grey waste disposal area can be difficult to empty a full Wastemaster due to a bar across the front.  


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1837 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020