Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Trethiggey Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Trethiggey Touring Park Reviews

Trethiggey Touring Park
Quintrell Downs
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 4QR
Tel: 01637 877 672
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 157
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mercia 1 review from this member

A very rural and tranquil site that has just been taken over by new management. The site has acres of outstandingly beautiful countryside with nature walks and several boards depicting pictures of birds and wildlife to look out for.

Dog friendly, lots of rabbits and very helpful staff who encourage wildlife with bird feeders and nesting areas.

The site had been neglected and some areas need work, for example two large fishing lakes need attention but it is early days and the staff are working hard to improve the areas that have overgrown. This is a park to go for a quiet rest.

Three pubs in walking distance but unfortunately the Bistro on site was closed. There is a small Spar shop nearby and a small shop on the site, also a snack van. Toilets and shower blocks were very clean. Wi fi available for a small charge.

We stayed in our Motorhome and would return as this place has great potential.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BurnsDavid 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site, plenty of space, good location to visit anywhere in Cornwall, short 10 minute drive to all Newquay beeches. Excellant showers, nice on site bar. Really friendly owners and staff, will definitely return

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hodgie99 2 reviews from this member

On the good side

this was a good friendly run camp, the customer service was good and willing to solve any issues and in the most part very relaxing and good value for money and the small bar/cafe was pleasant and the food was very good.

On the bad, The pitches were not flat which presented a problem for the trailer tent and required some manoeuvring to get the unit level and as I am disabled camper it was nice to see disabled facilities but they were also marked as 'family' so getting to use them was a problem as it seemed everyone was and I had to wait mast of the time for someone to finish, I tried to use the stranded facilities but the cubicles were to small,

Also the camp rules say that there should be no excessive noise after 10 pm but this was not enforced and some groups were shouting and making noise to the early hours on several occasions

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Denise 01 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fantastic holiday in Newquay. Stayed for two weeks at this campsite and only got two negative things to say ; the pitches are not flat and the drainage not good. We had to put 4 ground sheets down to keep dry but it was raining a lot and there's not enough lighting. The staff are really friendly. All round great place.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cherub 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely amazing will be returning next year. Choice of pitch which was great being disabled so was near all amenaties. All staff are so polite and helpful. Use of freezer for ice packs, washing facilities on site which brilliant. Disabled shower and toilet which is great unlike other sites. Night time food they have on menu is brilliant for the prices all fresh and cooked to order. Alternatives offered if you don't like or allergic to something. Breakfast is unbelievable and couldn't finish and certainly value for money again alternatives are offered if don't like or allergic. Shop sells lots of things you need and there is a supermarket about 10mins up the road. Toilets and showers are all lit up at night so no problem in the dark. Washing facilities are open 24 hours a day so washing at a night time was great.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ian6 1 review from this member

Just came back from a 5 night stay. I had the best time on site. V clean showers always hot at any time day or night. Staff are so good even helped me with my flat tyre. Will be back in November and will be booking all of my holidays in cornwall next year at this site. Try it you will love it! Forgot the rabbits, and the Lake full of fish and so cheap to fish also enjoy folks

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kirsty1680 9 reviews from this member

Lovely little site, beautiful surroundings, warm welcome when we arrived, showers very clean and never had to wait. The games room didn't appear to be open most of the time and I couldn't get into the family bathroom next to the ladies toilets which meant my son had to come into the ladies with me. He wasn't impressed and at the age of 7 I'm sure some women weren't impressed either.

Only downside was the fact we were almost thrown off the pitch as someone was waiting to come on it. The man from the park didn't say thank you, have a safe trip home, nothing. This left us feeling a bit upset as we had really enjoyed the week.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Neilr72 1 review from this member

Booked just before the busy summer break for 2 weeks

Nice welcome and has the added bonus of food and drinks being served

Had food on the 1st night and was ok but better going the pubs just up the road

Ok for a cold pint though

Faculties were ok, toilets were a bit rustic but showers were hot and had good availability

Park was well kept and had a decent playground for the kids

Good access to Newquay and beaches which were around 10 min drive and a morrisons only 5 mins away

Only negative and it's a big one

We had a hard standing pitch on the left of the site and the road noise was awful, we travelled 500+ miles to get there and at times if you shut your eyes you could have imagined that you had pitched up in a lay-by

There is trees and bushes but the cars roar up and down the road and many times we thought that one day a car is going to leave the road and go through the hedges and you wouldn't stand a chance

Back to the positive

The park has lots of room and lots of pitches away from the road and only because the site was fully booked that we couldn't move

We did have a great holiday but our pitch location did take the shine of it

But please don't be put off if you can avoid the pitches that adjoin the road

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ambops 3 reviews from this member

Staff all friendly, on check in we were walked to our pitch which are all very spacious. The site is kept very well, bins always empty, lots of rabbits and squirrels running around.

Bar very friendly and food looked very nice.

Site shop had the basics and not silly prices, kids had a small playground but lots of fun there.

The only down side to this site is the toilets and showers the older block is the cleaner of the two but the newer block was really dirty, even when they were closed for cleaning the same muck was there and stayed there for the 2 weeks we were on holiday.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chezycamper 5 reviews from this member

This was our first stay at Trethiggey Touring Park. The owner was very friendly and showed us around the site and available pitches, lot's as the site was mostly empty so had a good choice.

Very nice site, kept in a very tidy state, grass was mowed on a regular basis.

We pitched our folding camper in the centre field, not to close to the hedges but we still got a lot of road noise, but you get used to it after a while.

The site is close to Morrisons supermarket by car, and about 10 minutes from Newquay itself.

The only gripe I have is about the larger toilet/shower block. The block did not, in my eyes get cleaned properly. Ok you get leaves blowing in, spiders and other things get in due to the doors being left open but items of clothing were left over shower doors and stayed there most of the week, toilets not cleaned properly and the whole block could have done with a lick of paint.

Overall had a good stay, weather was great and apart from the

Small issue with toilets I would not have any problem booking and staying here again.

Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4003 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019