Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Treloy Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Treloy Touring Park Reviews

Treloy Touring Park
Newquay
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 4JN
Tel: 01637 872 063
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 197
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 95 Reviews
                9/10 from 95 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joanne0905 4 reviews from this member

Excellent place to stay

Toilets/showers always clean and showers lovely and hot never had to queue even though site was busy as was school holidays

Play area was great for the kids they made loads of friends and it made their holiday

Shop had all the basics needed including warm croissants in a morning

Cafe we went in a few times decent prices and nice food always busy with nice staff

Swimming pool was busy but as you would expect at this time of year only went to it once as was out and about

Located ideally for Newquay and watergate bay great beaches

Pitches were great and spacious we will definitely be back

All staff were friendly and helpful

Could do with a few more washing machines but again peak season and you can always get one in the end

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beemerboy 3 reviews from this member

This was our first camping trip in the West Country, we finally decided on Treloy as fairly close to beaches.

Also site has its own pool and play park for our little lad.

The camp site itself has generous size pitches enough room for tent plus extension ( ours, a sunncamp spectre 800 plus extension ) and your car along side. Good scaped pitches with electric hook up points

Shower blocks, well I think we have been spoilt with camp sites like west fleet in Dorset, where the shower blocks have nice new shower rooms which have toilet / shower plus basin in single rooms plus shower cubicles !

Treloy's are single shower cubicles, communal washing basin areas. All clean and functional. Wasn't trouble getting a shower in the mornings.

Swimming pool is heated outdoor, but a little cold ! Ok once your in !

We felt that there should be somebody watching and monitoring what goes on in the pool as did get very busy at times and some older children doing as they pleased despite signs saying otherwise.

Good play park facilities for children, again though, some older children, as on holiday suddenly learn to swear, spit etc ! But guess your going to get this wherever you go !

The site also had a shop which sold essentials newspapers etc.

Sites clubhouse, only visited a couple of times, live music most nights, games room for olde kids, pool table etc.

The site is dog friendly, we had an empty pitch next to us, unfortunately some undesirable dog owner at night was letting the dog do its business on there and didn't pick it up !

I did report this and it was cleared up. Disgusting really as children do play on empty pitches !

The site is very close by RAF St mawgan and is an Air heritage museum next to it. Good for a rainy day

Treloy golf club is next door plus a golf range opposite, further down towards Newquay, a pub called the farmers arms. Great food, be sure to book, gets busy, also has live music.

Nearest beach we found was lusty glaze, great beach, but steep steps to get down to and worse going up !. Wouldn't recommend if you have elderly with you or a disability.

Great beach for body boarding, shop and bar and restaurant also.

The other way from the camp site to Newquay towards fistral beach is a morrisons supermarket, very big store plus fuel, probably a ten Min drive from site,

We found Newquay town, very busy, plenty of shops, bars, restaurants as you would expect, overall everything is within reach plus plenty other beaches within a 10 / 15 min drive from site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Dezjac 1 review from this member

We have just spent 11 nights at this site with our 11 year old grandaughter

On arrival we found that traffic was very heavy this was due to a music festival on the airfield

We were greeted by a lady on reception who checked with a gentleman as to whether our pitch was vacant

We where on chaffinch a lovely large pitch with full services we were opposite the pool and shop which was good for us with an 11 year old on board

Our only grumbles was due to the size of the site the pool was always very busy as was the clubhouse which did provide entertainment for kids and adults if you didn't get into the clubhouse early you couldn't get a seat

The shop was great for emergency supplies

We found plenty of supermarkets within a 3 mile radius including morrisons and lidl

Larger clubhouse would be an asset to the site maybe even a larger pool or add an indoor pool

The shower blocks and toilets were always clean and tidy even though the site was busy we never had to queue for them

The location of the site is great as most of the landmarks etc are max 1 hours travelling by car

We would use this site again if we travelled to Cornwall again

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bondy1980 12 reviews from this member

Stayed for a week in August with 2 children. Decent size pitch with good grass coverage. Water point close enough and electric point within easy reach. We asked for a pitch close to the toilet block and it was. Toilet block and shower blocks are separate which is a bit odd. Both are clean, hot water was a bit of a dribble at times due to overuse and lack of pressure I guess.

Reception area was ok, Only went in once to check in. Pl area is very good and clear of kids by 9:30pm every night.

The pool is excellent and well used, open daily til 6:30pm.

Decent well stocked shop with usual items.

Bar is nice, could benefit from food service. Good priced drinks and quality entertainment. Dont miss the Belfast Busker!

The cafe. Went 3 times. First time we went, my daughter had spaghetti bolognaise and I found a hard piece of plastic in it which when given to staff was told it was from the plastic box they reheat the meal in. Kids were given free ice creams but was put off a bit. The second time we went, we waited 40 minutes because they were busy. Kids milkshakes didn't come until after this and only when asked for. Third time we all got bad bellies, so didn't go back. Food quality is poor as is efficiency of service. Definitely an area that can be improved upon.

I recommend avoiding the weekend in August when the boardmasters festival is on. Traffic is really bad and the music concert is very close and loud until gone 2am.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wolf camper 17 reviews from this member

Have just got back from a fabulous two weeks here, first visit here and was very impressed, a clean site with huge pitches, plenty of free showers with button that lasts longer than usual 2 seconds!, smallish bar on site with outdoor covered seating, some entertainment on and bingo most nights, I would say caters for the under tens more, very hit and miss with WiFi, and phone signal(ee) was poor, Newquay only short drive although traffic is very busy into it, found a morrisons within 3mile avoiding the Newquay route in, in all very good site and will be returning next year

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Josh2014 8 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weeks stay at Treloy with mixed feelings. The site itself is immaculate, very clean and the floral displays are a credit to the groundsman as they are beautiful. The on site shop has every essential you could need, but if need to do a bigger shop, Newquay is only 3 miles away with a Morrisons and Asda there. The site itself is a bit remote but we enjoyed wandering around the country lanes but the lane outside the camp can be very busy due to traffic going to the airbase. The surrounding areas are beautiful be sure to visit the village of St Mawgan and Porth Mawgan beach. We did'nt have any problems with the airbase, while we were there they were testing NATO planes an awesome sight. The staff were very helpful, the toilet block was very clean even with all the rain we had, the on site cafe served very tasty food, we sat in the beer garden which was nice but we cannot comment on the entertainment in the clubhouse as we never stayed for it. The only issue we had with this site is that it is overrun with unruly unsupervised children who took great pleasure in bullying and making fun of my disabled son which we found extremely upsetting when we confronted them we were met with a torrent of abuse and bad language. We would return to Treloy again but hopefully there will be nicer clientele there next time.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LIZ20557 11 reviews from this member

I am going to leave a review as there hasn't been one on this site for a year. When we arrived we were in a queue to get checked in and through the gate. Check in was efficient, but there was no smiling face or anyone asking if we had a good journey. After the journey from hell it would have been nice.

We were told where to find our pitch but not told which way to face, you had to read a notice for that, and if you got it wrong you would be told to re-pitch!

We were on a good sized pitch with lots of room around us. We had our own hook up and tap. We were in Dove are, where most of the pitches were a really good size. Having walked around the site, some other areas seemed much closed together.

One of the toilet blocks was dated and not very clean when I went in there, so I didn't go back. The main block near the play area was really quite good. Plenty of hot water and I never queued for a shower. The only criticism is that sometimes the water was a bit fierce and towels and clothes could get quite wet. There were no mops to clean up after yourselves. So at times they seemed dirty, but I use flip flops and a bath mat!

The playground was well equipped and our son enjoyed himself, I didn't like the language used by some kids. There was a sign up saying kids should be supervised, the majority were not. We chose the site for the playground and the pool. We ended up only using the pool once but this was because of the weather. It got quite busy and there seemed to be no rules, if there were no one was following any. Newquay zoo visit once a week with some small animals which was good.

We did use the bar on our last night. They didn't have any red wine and the white was awful! Far better to buy from the local supermarkets.

This is a commercial site and seemed quite big. It was a completely different site to ones we have been on before. For us it was too commercial and far too busy. It was noisy at night, finally quietened down around 11.

I am sure that for some this is the perfect site but it was not for us.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 20th Century Boy 4 reviews from this member

Over the years we have stayed at numerous campsites in Cornwall and to be fair most are of a high standard and do their best. However we stayed for 9 nights at Treloy and have never stayed at a site which was so clean, tidy and very friendly. The toilet and shower blocks where excellent, from the minute we booked in we were met by friendly welcoming staff and shown straight to our pitch and instantly met by other campers who following a little friendly banter made us feel welcome. The cafe owners worked hard but nothing was too much trouble and the food which was excellent offering a wide variety of choice was cooked fresh, you may have to wait a little longer than McDonalds or Pizza Hut but who wants food rushed anyway. Personally prefer my food cooked fresh and the mussels were excellent. Although I did not personally brave the outside pool I was informed by my Brother in law who along with his wife and Granddaughter accompanied myself and my wife on our trip that the pool was clean but a little cool but he soon warmed up once in the pool. The evening entertainment was very good with something for everyone including bingo Even though I am not a regular bingo player only playing when on holiday which I won three houses in succession was very enjoyable as was the Belfast Busker who entertained everyone on Friday nights. Being about 4 mile from Newquay the site is accessible by car or taxi to the beaches in Newquay. If you want fast food quick access to a beach and a bustling campsite donít go to Treloy However if you want Friendly staff, clean showers and toilets good food a relaxed atmosphere try Treloy you will not be disappointed.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor and Karen 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a magnificent 12 night stay at Treloy. We were met on arrival by the owner and given a choice of pitches, we chose a pitch near to the toilet block, a good sized pitch and with a good sized hedge for privacy.

The toilets and showers were immaculate at all times and we never had to wait even though the site was busy.

We ate in the on site cafe and thought the food was of good quality, maybe they could invest in a coffe machine as instant wasn't to our liking.

Our grandson really enjoyed the play park and the swimming pool, the new shop is conveniently positioned next to the pool, so getting a feshly made coffee or an ice cream was easy to get whilst watching him in the pool.

He was gone from the caravan from early in the morning and had to be found at meal times, we hardly left the site.

The entertainment in the bar was good and had something for everyone during our stay, I particularly liked the Belfast Busker and the illusionist, whilst the grandson enjoyed the Punch and Judy show, all free. The bar prices we found were similar to pub prices and not overpriced.

All in all another great holiday at Trelow, we will be back again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lucy17669 2 reviews from this member

Just returned after our 10 night stay and didn't want to leave.

When driving up to the park I was a little nervous when seeing how close it is to newquay airport and raf mawgan as I choose the site for friends and my family. However I can honestly say it was not an issue at all. I read a review on another site about gun shots upsetting their dogs etc but I we didn't hear any throughout our stay. In fact we loved the fact we were only a few minutes drive away from mawgan porth beach which is our favourite!

We arrived at 8:30 after driving all night from Norfolk and were greeted, paid the remainder of our holiday as only deposit was taken on booking and shown to our bit of the park (partridge)and offered a few options, we chose to be right away from everything as the pitches were larger and we were set up by 10 and in the pool by 11. Kids were very happy as were we. Pool was lovely not too cold but refreshing as it was really hot during our stay.

We paid for the internet but didn't use it for much and to be honest the signal wasn't great so would say don't bother if you can live without. , but not a big deal for us. The toilets and showers were all nice and clean, showers hot (a little too hot for my 4 yr old really) baby bath (big sink) for my 9 month old with baby change and sterile wipes provided which I thought was a nice touch. We used the washing machines (£5) and dryer (£1 for 10 mins) both great. We bought gas whilst we were there, no more pricey than home. Shop was nice maybe a little small but fine for what we needed (shopped at morrisons and aldi would say aldi is easier to get to as traffic is always bad near morrisons). Selling local produce and if you get there around 8 they have freshly baked croissants and pain au chocolate yummy! Kids enjoyed the playgrounds and playing fields.

We stayed at hendra last yr but were put off due to the noisy road into Newquay and the price (loved the pool but don't use the other facilities like clubhouse and entertainment etc) so chose this cheaper family run option and very glad we did. Would definitely recommend and stay again if returning to newquay.

Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3116 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019