Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crantock Plains Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Crantock Plains Touring Park Reviews

Crantock Plains Touring Park
Crantock
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 5PH
Tel: 01637 830955
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 12 Reviews
                7/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Stokey123 1 review from this member

 Great pitch size & nice & quiet site. Really friendly warden. Anything we needed to know he helped us out.

The toilets are clean & showers nice & hot. We have used this site many times before & it's a handy place to stay if you want to go into newquay or off to perranporth or truro. Or anywhere else really.

No shop here but supermarkets only in newquay so not far to go.

Give this site a go it's a hidden gem! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Slamdunk67 1 review from this member

 This site is picturesque, small enough to be personal and located well for access to Crantock and Newquay as well as being a great jumping off point to visit the wider Cornwall area.

The site is reasonably well appointed with good shower and toilet block, elsan, laundrette, wetsuit wash and potwash facilities. All cleaned daily.

Ideal for couples and families we find this to be a lovely and very reasonably priced site.

However there are a number of issues that need addressing to make this a wonderful site.

1) The shower block has lighting which is only active during the hours of darkness, but since it does not have a lot of natural light it is quite dark even during the middle of the day. If the owners were to switch to LED lights with PIR sensors I'm sure their savings on electricity costs would recoup the investment very quickly.

2) For 20 pence you get a whole 4 minutes of shower, which starts on a timer (placed outside the cubicle) the instant you put your money in. This is crap. If the owners insist on a coin operated timer, then this should be placed inside each shower cubicle so that if additional shower time is necessary then you don't have to expose your naked soapy body to everyone else in the block.

3)The toilet block is locked at night with a keypad, on arrival you are given the code on a piece of paper about the size of a postage stamp. Ridiculous! Amongst all the other things you are doing when pitching up the least concern is where you have put this microscopic document. They should print the site rules on a single A4 page along with this information. This would avoid ambiguity and would keep everyone fully informed.

4) The site chooses to operate a zero recycling policy. In this currently enlightened civilisation we enjoy I suggest they need to move with the times and not live in the dark ages where the earth's resources will never run out.

5) The shop is awful, no stock and almost never open, period.

6) There is no dog walking area and the roads have no footpaths to safely walk dogs upon. Though free poop bags are provided I feel that this in no way compensates for the lack of a dedicated exercise area. Especially as a charge of £1. 50 per night is levied for dog ownership.

On balance we have enjoyed our stay at Crantock Plains and may well stay here in future. However I have reservations that this site will be able to compete with other more progressive sites in the area.

Fingers crossed they will make the effort to keep up as it would be a shame to lose this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jackjojo 3 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were shown to our pitch on the main field, the pitches were flat and spacious, the site was quiet which we were pleased about because we were very close to the playground which was actually scaffolding poles and two swings.

The showers and toilet block were ok but did get dirty very quickly and there was no mops etc to clean your own shower after use.

The road between the main bins and our field was very busy and not suitable for children to cross alone.

Whilst enjoying an evening at 8:30 pm we were told we were too loud however a couple across from us were very vocal from 11pm to 2 am but no comments were made to them, very disappointing.

The last comments from the people running the campsite were 'if you have enjoyed your stay great, if not keep your gob shut' need I say anymore.

Not a site we will be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flabby 2 reviews from this member

 The location and surrounding area is lovely - sandy beaches, lovely pubs. The Albion is especially worth a visit - very friendly and accommodating staff and owners.

The good - excellent location. 20p showers did worry me to start with but we're actually a good idea as always could get in and the time was ok for a campsite show.

The bad - we stayed one week out of their defined high season and one week in high season. During non peak time (3rd week in July) the fridge 'shop' was not stocked or available. The bathrooms were not cleaned daily nor were there facilities to mop down after a shower. For a site where many pitches were non hook up there were no facilities to freeze cool blocks.

The site itself was nice but really did not feel welcome at all. There were no published rules, but they were told to you as you broke them! For example we were asked to keep the noise down at about 9. 30pm and we were told to move our belongings as we were blocking the owners view of their pond.

The children's play area was a couple of swings with a badminton net attached via a shared scaffold pole.

The owners obviously have a routine that they stick to regarding lawn mowing. We were sat eating breakfast and we were the only tent on the whole field but we were asked to move while eating (!?) to allow him to mow. When the other side of the field was completely empty and not yet mowed!

The laundry room was advised as being open until 9. I had been waiting for tumble drying to finish which admittedly did run over until about 9. 10. On going back to fetch it it was clear that even though there was credit on the timer and the laundry was still open, the warden had turned off the dryer leaving my clothes in it.

The cesspit had overflowed from the middle of final week and they made no attempt to get it emptied -the smell was horrific.

From the viewpoint of the kids they had a one word review. Dull.

This is actually a lovely location it's just a shame the owners and warden don't really seem to want an enjoyable and friendly campsite on their doorstep. We won't be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Minty010 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful campsite, lovely and quiet. We had a pitch on the other field, on reviews I've read on here it says you have to cross a road to get to it, this aint exactly true its a country lane, that has minimal traffic. The only traffic it has is the cars etc that is going to the campsite and they are therefore practically at standstill to enter site as the exit is opposite the entrance to the other field. The warden was friendly and popped over to chat with us on more than one occasion. There is a little fridge in the reception area that has milk you can buy. The shower and toilet block are nice and clean and spacious, and there is a hairdryer to use for 20p showers cost 20p. Great site would recommend. In the main field there is also a swing etc for children to play on. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rjhare 2 reviews from this member

 Smallish park, which was really good (quiet, clean, very well managed). It has excellent facilities, seemingly new, which were permanently clean. The caretaker manager was very helpful, accommodating, friendly.

As has been mentioned, the pitches are really quite big and feel spacious even after setting up. There's a bit of a trek for the Elsan (one end of the park) and fresh water (other end of park) but the fresh air walks in the rain were quite welcome to be honest!

There are a couple of swings for children, which is great while you prep dinner, and is easily visible from pretty much most of the lower park for the very small ones. Another bonus for us.

Regular visits from moorhens, ducks and other wildlife can be expected from the bird 'sanctuary' at the bottom of the park. More entertainment for the little ones.

The pitches do water log easily, but as the park is slightly sloped, and is quite high up, it drains more quickly than you would expect.

Overall, I would highly recommend this site and given the opportunity, would visit again.

(BTW, if you have a larger unit, and need to turn right out of the park, it is quite a sharp turn on to the single track road which passes by, and you may find yourself catching the concrete urns on your way home.As I did.) 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Teppinlostsoul 9 reviews from this member

 The sites shower and toilet facilities are modern and clean. The site is on the small side, but I count this as a good thing because it is nice and quiet. The site has new and enthusiastic owners who are friendly and helpful. We store our caravan on site too. The site is ideally suited for touring north Cornwall and Newquay.
The village of Crantock and West Petire are lovely too. The boogie pub is a highlight and has great views. Crantock beach is perfect for lazy days. If you want an all singing and dancing site look elsewhere, you want a relaxing time then get booking! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fdoolz 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 7 days arrived during heavy rain, the pitch we were allocated was waterlogged and muddy but this was to be expected with so much rain, we where moved slightly over to next pitch so was not too bad. This is a quiet site all times of day, very large pitches so did,nt feel overlooked,did not use facilities as they were always a bit grotty put that down to rain we saw owner mowing the grass trying to keep things looking good. Crantock village very nice with a super beach is only 5 minute drive, the Bogie Inn about 4 miles away is were we ate and had drinks overlooking beach. Newquay 10 minutes drive has all you need. Back to site the owners just need to sort out the drainage at £19pn for hookup+2 adults we thought was good value just needed better weather, and on Saturday still waterlogged and raining owner was on hand to tow van off. Would we visit again yes if weathers better 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Takisawa 16 reviews from this member

 Spent the weekend here. Nice site, well looked after with friendly staff. Owner seems to put groups etc on other site across road. We were on the main site, slight slope but nice smooth grass pitches. Nice and peaceful at night. Didn't use EHU, but gather they are available. Small shop, games room. Showers clean, but charged for. Will definitely stay here next time we visit Newquay area. If you are on the other field PLEASE watch your children across the road.    


Reviewer: Takisawa 16 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Just returned from 3 night stay. Nice quiet site. Quite selective as to who they allow on. No problem if like us you want a quiet time. We were on the "quiet feild" as the owner called it. Pitches are large and well spread out. Its not a cheap site though. We paid £7.50 a night P/P. Anyone who arrived on spec was charged £10 P/P !
The newly renovated showers need a 20p coin for 5 mins and do get very muddy even during dry weather. There was no charge for washing up facilities.
Despite the cost we value the peace and quiet of a well run site that seems to pride itself on maintaining a high standard for its guests. Will definetley visit again when in Cornwall. Also worth a mention is the Schoolhouse Tea Room about 1 mile along the lane towards Crantock. Great views. Good home made food. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crantock Plains Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crantock Plains Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Crantock Plains Touring Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3489 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement