Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Trevarrian Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Trevarrian Holiday Park Reviews

Trevarrian Holiday Park
Mawgan Porth
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 4AQ
Tel: 01637 860 381
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Julie72 3 reviews from this member

We've just spent a week here and it was great. The pitch was huge and accommodated our cabanon stratos with ease. We had an electric pitch which worked fab with my son's dialysis machine.

There's a new indoor pool which was brill, very warm in the water and out. The club was good and food not bad. There's plenty for the kids to do and lovely showers and toilets.

All for a very reasonable price. We had a lovely time and will definitely return.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thefloreys 1 review from this member

I took my 3 young daughters to this site for a few nights during half term and ended up staying longer as we had such a fab time.

Family run - very welcoming and friendly. Lovely size site for kids - safe feel to it but big enough for older ones to feel the freedom of exploring. Nice level pitches with most fields well sheltered with Cornish hedges etc - we were given a choice of pitches by the owner on arrival who advised us where we'd be best pitched.

Facilities - swimming pool is really lovely. Gorgeously warm, depth 1. 3m throughout and small paddling pool - clean and looks really good with nice tiles and loungers etc. Was quiet most of the time we were in and girls had a blast. Good sized interesting outdoor play area, massive football pitch and the best tennis court I've seen on a campsite. There's also a modern 10 pin bowling alley with a diner with booths serving food, a bar/clubhouse with bingo on 2 of the nights we were there, an amusement arcade which is a bit dated but with all the classics you need and a small shop which was really reasonably priced.

The toilet block near our pitch was fine - showers powerful and hot, and cubicles and good enough size for me to shower with my youngest comfortably. We did have an issue with the floor in the toilets but reported this and it was dealt with promptly which was nice to see. Nit-picking: I think if I was camping in colder weather I'd want 2 doors into the toilets/showers to minimise any draughts. The dishwasher sinks are a good size but the draining boards are a bit weird. Water pressure in the swimming pool toilets was not good with all 3 showers on and nowhere near as good as the toilets. Check pitch sizes when you book if you have a large tent - the pitches are clearly marked and in our field were all the same size - we have a Vango Elite which is 4x8m and fitted perfectly onto the pitch, with our annexe we went over onto the next. This wasn't an issue but will be at busier times.

Site really well located - Travellers' Rest is a really nice pub literally on the door step, village and beach of Mawgan Porth just down the hill and Newquay is only 10 or so minutes' drive away.

All in all we had a brilliant relaxed time - kids loved the holiday park elements and the freedom they had to roam whilst I knew they were never too far away. Customer service was brilliant from arrival to departure. We'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ljm1308 4 reviews from this member

Just seen in the New Year here and although the weather was awful with rain and high winds, the site was very good. Fairly flat pitches with easy water points. Fabulous swimming pool, great bowling and games room for kids and bar with entertainment. Lovely family run site. Clean facilities with hot showers. My only recommendation would be to build up the hedge backing onto the main road to control noise and give some shelter from winds but would return and recommend site to others.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Goldie1997 1 review from this member

We had a good week but I don't think it was down to the site and I think if we were not so easily pleased or tolerant we would have left early. I would not stay there again.

We felt that our arrival (which was prebooked) was an inconvenience. We felt that we were a nuisance just for coming on to the site. We followed a sign asking for new arrivals to proceed to the football pitch. On the way we had to ask someone who worked there where the football pitch was but we were told there was no football pitch and we could have been 'dealt with' at reception. We followed the chap who took us to our pitch and asked to head down to reception on foot. When we got to reception again we felt like a total inconvenience. The chap in the reception didn't even turn from his computer (which was in a back room) to welcome us just shouted 'name'. I was a bit gutted as this was our first ever caravan trip. Nonetheless we continued to smile. He took our payment and never gave us any info about their site.

This was pretty much the level of customer service throughout our stay. I went to reception to ask for some advice on free attractions to take our children to. The chap mutter something about a pool and left leaving me stood in the reception like an idiot!

Grass pitches are completely sodden when raining. Not great drainage at all.

The lady in the little shop was nice. The prices are good but selection is pretty poor and the quality of products not great; a bit like 1980s happy shopper.

The showers and toilets are always clean as are the other washing don't attempt to have a shower with your children; the cubicles are tiny and totally impractical for drying yourself after. Use the end show as all the waste water from other people's showers drains into the others (yuck!) they showers are warm but last seconds! There were several power cuts lasting 10-15 minutes each time.

The pool looked lovely but it's unsupervised and basically used as a bath for campers. It's water isn't very clean and was freezing as they had ran out of gas. Big kids are in there unsupervised and generally being pains by bombing us until I asked them to sod off! We have three children under 5.

The entertainment is shocking but the beer is cheap enough.

The play park is unsafe with bolts rusting on the see saws - looking like they will snap at any bump.

The arcades are a complete rip off, stole out money and didn't pay our prizes - even the change machine nicks your money!

The site is in walking distance of the beach but it's an extremely busy country lane down a steep hill. The location is good to use as a base to visit padstow, Holywell bay, fistral beach, porth etc

Despite this we had a great family holiday enjoying mawgan porth and other areas and I'm sure this place could be lovely but it is very dated. The staff weren't very smiliey at all!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Madrhubarb78 1 review from this member

Disappointed by the site. Very noisy pitch near the pool/bar, where people are still making a racket, with children who are trying to sleep at 9. 40pm, although the pool 'closed' at 9pm! The pool is also supposedly heated but frankly colder than the sea. Lorries every morning in early hours and never stayed on a family site before where people didn't respect children and keep the noise down after 9pm, especially on Saturday night. Sadly won't be in a hurry to return and don't like writing negative feedback

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Meandmygirl 6 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a great two week break here. Weather was fantastic for the majority of the holiday with only a couple of in different days. The Thursday of our second week was a bit scary with the thunder and lightning but it made for spectacular viewing with the sky’s lighting up like a laser show.

The site was not too busy (which is how we like it now our kids have grown up and flown the nest) all the usual visitors who come back year after year it was nice to meet up again. This was great for using the pool area. Went in the club a few times enjoyed the bingo with usual wit and humour.

We were in a caravan and pitched with tents around us. Not snobbish at all (we used to be campers). We enjoy most peoples company.

We took our two Chihuahuas one of which had recently had 4 puppies that were just 3 weeks old. The site layout is fantastic. We were booked on one pitch but on arrival we spoke with the owners who allowed us to choose from a number of ones that were available. We chose pitch 203 toward the top end of the site.

Shop open limited hours but understandable when the site is not busy, always get a warm welcome whether in the club, shop, pool or just walking around the site. Toilets were cleaned every day but at different times so the person who commented in the earlier review might not have seen the cleaner! The owners were busy getting the site ready for the main holiday season. Grass cut every day; playground had been re-painted, crazy golf area clean and tidy. Don’t buy bar food so can’t comment. I am sure if you have any concerns and you bring them to the owner’s attention they will resolve them or at least offer a solution. If they don’t know they cannot do anything about it.

Great site, location is brilliant for visiting anywhere in the Cornwall. Beaches along the coast are wonderful as already mentioned loads to choose from. That’s why we have returned every year since 2009 and will be back in 2015. Can’t wait….

Thanks to the Phillips family for a truly remarkable site and holiday experience.

See you next year.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahcue 5 reviews from this member

Moved here from another site in Mawgen Porth after we saw the site (my parents were here). Big pitches and even though it was busy didn't look over crowded. We were on pitch 47 which was great for the showers/toilets and the bar/diner. Our 8 year old loved the freedom to bike around the camp safely and use the playground/games room. The toilets and showers were clean and we never had to wait to use them, we ate in the diner a couple of times and the food was great value and was really nice. The little shop stocked everything you needed and wasn't silly prices!. The pool was a great bonus only wish the weather would have been better to get full use out of it. Great game of bowling to finish the holiday off. Lovely family owned site, everyone really helpful and friendly. All in all a great site and somewhere we would definitely go back :-)

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zippysmart 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a great weeks holiday at Trevarrian. The owners were very friendly and made us feel welcome along with the seasonal caravanners which was great as it had a real family feel to the site. The pitches were very spacious and well kept. The shower blocks were very clean and lovely warm showers with music playing which was nice. The pool was very clean and a sun trap. The bar area was spacious and a great friendly atmosphere and our toddler was made to feel welcome, the bar food to eat in or take away was very nice too and cheap.

We had lots of trips out to newquay, padstow/rock, st michaels mont, st Ives all beautiful places to visit as well as the lovely beaches along the coast (so many to chose from). We also went to lapa valley railway which is a must for any train mad kids and also the aeroplane museum next to newquay airport.

We had a great holiday and will certainly return in the near future.

Thank you

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stevewabbit 14 reviews from this member

Arrived to a friendly welcome and told to pick any pitch. The campsite was spotlessly clean. We chose pitch 19 which gave us a partial seaview. Set our tent up and then noticed not many tents. It was mostly vans. But don't let this put you off as they spoke more than the 'usual' snob van owners we've had on other sites. They were very friendly. All spoke to us. (Probably because our tent was bigger than most vans on site and they liked looking at our huge setup. )

Toilets were cleanish and only cleaned every few days, but there weren't that many people on site, so it was okay. The free showers were powerful and hot once they warmed up. Only fault with the showers is they only have a little cover wall to hide your clothes behind but your stuff still gets wet.

The laundry and washing up area were excellent.

The shop only opened for a few hours from 9am. Plenty of choice. They did open up for you if you needed something and they weren't busy in the office.

Small dog walk, but perfectly adequate for our dog. Footie field and crazy golf were in good condition.

The club only opened at night. They did basic food which was okay. The only problem we found here was that the bowling team take over the place. Even during the world cup matches. You can't take your dog into the lounge area, but they can go into the normal bar area where the bowling alley is. But it's too noisy and worried our dog so we never went in again.

You are perfectly placed on this site. Morgan Porth beach is only 1 mile down hill. Drive it though unless you're superfit! The walk back up would be murder. Newquay has all the supermarkets that are easy to find and only 5 miles away. The local pub, The Travellers Rest is dog friendly and run by great people and their staff. Food's a bit on the expensive side. But we found most pubs down there do more alacarte type food. We prefer proper pub grub!

All in all a very good campsite and we will return sometime in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steve2501 1 review from this member

This was our fist trip to Trevarrian and to say that I was impressed would be an understatement. The site was very clean and well planned out. The Owners were wonderful to. Made us very welcome from the minute we arrived.

We did plan to spend 2 weeks at the site but had to cut short our vacation due to Hospital appointment. Never the less we still had a wonderful time. The beach at Mawgan Porth is a favourite of ours as is the local restaurant FIRE. Watergate Bay is also very nice and close to the site along with the small village of St Mawgan.

Although we have not found time to do the cliff top walk it is in our plans for when we next visit Trevarrian. In fact because we had such a lovely time Trevarrian and that the Management are so polite and helpful we have decided that all our caravanning days will now be spent their. That's how nice and lovely the site and area is.

On reading previous comments about Travarrian. Then these comments are not justifiable. In fact if this is what some people some people think of the site then these people should stay at home. As for us we cannot wait to get back to Trevarrian.

Thanks to the owner and his family for our vacation and look forward to seeing you soon.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4172 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019