Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hendra Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Hendra Holiday Park Reviews

Hendra Holiday Park
Lane
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 4NY
Tel: 01637 875 778
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 600
Open: 29/03/2020 to 04/11/2020
           29/03/2021 to 04/11/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Alikely 1 review from this member

 Lovely big pitches on a well maintained site. All the standard facilities for a holiday park, but of a generally high standard.

The loos and showers are always clean and there is a parent and toddler block we never had to queue to use. The shop will exchange ice packs if needed. On site food options are handy and there is a decent variety.

Entertainment is good for the kids. Pools are also good. Extra activities can be paid for. Plenty to do on site. Also very close to Newquay beaches.

Expensive in summer hols but you do get a lot for your money compared to some holiday park chains. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Ccatriver 1 review from this member

 Excellent site. Very clean facilities.

Excellent entertainment team and location.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be staying again next year (2019).

Staff all helpful and friendly and the on site catering was first class. Thank you Hendra! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keeno77 1 review from this member

 As always a great site to visit. I've started to feel that the showers and loos could do with updating, however always immaculately clean.

We only stayed 4 nights but had a great time. Evening entertainment is class as always, but I feel the drinks could be a bit cheaper. We ended up buying drinks at Morrisons and sitting round the tent, which was still nice.

10pm curfew which is a nice touch and most people adhere to it.

Fresh water taps everywhere. Electric hook up. Dog friendly site I believe. Separate trash for dry recycling which is nice. Onsite shop can be pricey, but that's the cost of convenience. There is a Morrisons and Lidl 15 minute walk down the road + McDonalds.

Would definitely recommend A***** will be staying again next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Drdeath 5 reviews from this member

 Hendra is a site we have stayed on several times before. It is a large site and has expanded considerably since we last stayed. They have a good website so I wont list all the facilities here. I will say that the toilets and shower blocks are kept very clean. Almost every time I visited there would be someone cleaning. Despite some very wet weather they did a fantastic job.

The tables in the clubhouse on an evening were not so clean and not cleared regularly apart from a glass collector. There was discarded food and litter all over the carpet and floor and under the tables. It looked like mess left by kids but should have been cleared up by somebody or better still not been thrown there in the first place. Generally the site is very well maintained and clean. The groundsmen and gardeners seemed to be working hard despite the poor weather.

As others have mentioned is does seem to be a bit cheeky to charge to use the pool on top of the price you pay for the holiday but I know Hendra aren't the only site to do this and the pool does have slides etc. Hendras tarrif is also competitive with other local sites but the drinks prices in the club etc were way too high. My main concern now is the site is too big for the current facilities. I think a larger clubhouse or bars and bigger arcade are now needed.

More things for older children and teenagers would be welcomed particularly for the evenings. We found the entertainment not to be as good as previous times but obviously children grow up so it was the adult entertainment that was lacking this time.

Overall this is a good site and we will definitely return and continue to recommend to others. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Swcamper 1 review from this member

 We visited Hendra during the Easter holidays and were very surprised by how great it was.

We didn't take our own tent this time but stayed in one of their static caravans. The caravan we picked was a Seaton 3 bed and it was brand new for the season.

The campsite was spotlessly clean and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Food at the restaurant was good and the evening entertainment was pretty good considering we are not really into it.

Only thing I would say is that you have to pay to use the swimming pool. We regularly go to France on holiday and all the swimming pools are obviously free. Paying to use the on site pool is a little bit of a cheek in my opinion but apart from that we had a fantastic holiday. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happycampers8081 3 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were greeted by helpful reception staff. The site was very well presented and easy to find just off from the main road.

Driving to the pitch, in Chestnut field, you could tell the site was well maintained. Chestnut field itself was relatively flat, with a gentle single direction slope. The pitches are generous allowing multiple (site guided) pitching arrangements for tents.

Honestly speaking, we found that the toilet block near to Chetnut and Oak (I think) fields let the camping side of things down a little compared to facilities at other sites we have used. Shower cubicles were cramped with no real dry area. The showers in the family area we more generous still however without an area where the floor didn't get wet.

Whilst that doesn't matter too much, trying to deal with children getting them and their feet dry was cumbersome. Not a major issue, but for 2016 I know much better is possible. Also, little details such as one hand dryer in each of the gents, ladies and familiy blocks simply isn't enough at busy times. Especially as the hand dryer in the family area was over the bench where people had frequently put clothes or sat children.

The indoor pool was excellent, good changing facilities (the floor was being regularly mopped but there was a constant stream of outdoor shoes leaving mud and grass everywhere), great slides and features in the pool. The outdoor pool was also heavily used on the sunny days but we did not brave it this time!

The shop on site was well stocked and had fresh baked goods each morning.

We didn't use any of the other facilities, cafe, restaurants or bar as we ventured out into Newquay or BBQ'd most nights. The location of the site is excellent for quickly travelling east or west.

We would keep Hendra in mind for a future stay, however we might look for less of a holiday park site. Overall though, we enjoyed our stay at Hendra. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Mrcampa 5 reviews from this member

 This site has everything. Our daughter loved the arcade and there was always something to do in the evening.

Possibly due to the size not all areas were very clean but this may be down to the clients rather than the efforts of the staff. On a number of occasions people had left tables with food on after a meal. Instead of clearing away their mess it was left for the birds to peck at. You may be on holiday but the simple courtesy of clearing your mess off a table would not have gone a miss.

The language of some of the children on site and behaviour was also to be taken into account. The site attracted large numbers of people who wanted to let the kids off the reins and on a site like this why not. If you choose this site then be prepared, it won't be a quite stay and even our daughter found some of the other children quite intimidating and she is not shy in coming forward. I believe she picked up a couple of new words that have now been edited out of her vocabulary.

I could not fault the facilities, though busy there was a lot to do every night.

The only thing that spoilt the stay was the cleanliness of the caravan. At one point I rubbed my foot across the carpet to find hair rolling up under my foot. Yuk! A quick call to the reception resulted in an almost instant clean throughout at a time of our choosing. If only it had been done before check in and there would have been a 10/10 review as the van itself was almost new and had everything going for it.

All in all a great stay if a little loud and rather expensive. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Cj72 1 review from this member

 I've stayed at hendra a few times. The park is really clean. The staff are helpful and can't do enough to help you. I haven't been to the entertainment but I've heard its really good.

The shop has just about everything you could need. You can hire things you might if forgotten. The only bad thing is WiFi signal, its really bad. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jasonc488 1 review from this member

 As a 1st time camper, I really didn't know what to expect. There were 4 of us, 2 adults and 2 kids (age 3 and 6). Upon arrival, we were quickly given our pitch no. And site location. The customer service was quick and friendly.

Our pitch was located against the edge of the pitch field and slightly sloped. This caused my kids to roll towards me in the middle of the night. Also, walking around the inside of the tent was a bit of an inconvenience. There was drinking water facility located near our pitch which was great.

The shower block was located close by too. The whole of the park was very clean and tidy. The main entertainment block was adequate, but finding seating would mean turning up early and staying in your seats unless you wanted to lose them.

The cost of the drinks and food in the park was extortionate, as a 1st time camper we had no cooking facility and was dependant on eating out. Something I will not do again. The play park for the kids was good and never overcrowded.

The outdoor swimming pool was signed as being 22 - 24 degrees, I would definitely argue that. As my kids lips turned blue after about 5 mins of being in the pool, bating in mind the whole week we were there was sunny and next to no clouds.

The indoor pool was great value, we went inside when my kids didn't enjoy the outside pool. The prices in the local shop was reasonable with freshly baked croissants in the morning, there were delicious too. All in all, I would probably return to this park and recommend it to others.

The staff are friendly and welcoming, the kids were kept entertained. But I would definitely be asking for a level pitch. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snemlaw1 1 review from this member

 Welcomed on site on arrival and shown on map our pitch. Site further from Newquay than we thought but good location.

Site is very well laid out and didn't feel as big as it was.

Toilet and shower facilities were excellent and the cleaning Staff were really good at keeping at keeping them clean from morning till night come rain or shine!

Bar terrace good, WiFi not bad, prices OK, amusements all good well laid out, didn't use upstairs entertainment as too busy for us.

Pool complex good and closed to public on rainy days to allow holiday makers good access which was good.

We felt pitch size a little tight once tent was up, passengers had to exit car to park in gap we had and whilst activities on site would like to see more for teenagers that were free or small cost such as basketball area.

Overall we enjoyed holiday there and would go again. 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hendra Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hendra Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hendra Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hendra Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1574 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement