Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighouse Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright > Brighouse Bay Holiday Park Reviews

Brighouse Bay Holiday Park
Borgue Peninsula
Kirkcudbright
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG6 4TS
Tel: 01557 870 267
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 147 Reviews
                8/10 from 147 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  147 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Medusa 1 review from this member

 We arrived at night so couldn't see the park, but reception left us a map and details of the pitch.

Reception staff really helpful and considerate, great customer service.

Unfortunately we chose a date when maintenance was being done on the shower and toilet block so we couldn't use the facilities, so didn't get chance to comment.

We would go back again perhaps around christmas or new year. Its a 12 month season so we can go anytime. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Nicole 1 review from this member

 The campsite was great, we arrived late and it was easy to find out where we were to stay.

The facilities are really modern and very clean. The showers are good. The campsite is quiet.

Great location to walk our dog to the beach. Washing up facilities really clean too.

Great play park at the other end of the camp site. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Barryeee 4 reviews from this member

 Despite not being the type of site we would normally choose, we enjoyed our 3-day stay in June (midweek).

Lovely walks from the site, although signposting could be improved. Direct access to a nice large sandy beach too.

Excellent ultra-modern shower/toilet block.

Be prepared that on-site food options at the site's golf club are limited, and there are no other local options for eating out. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alland 1 review from this member

 Pleasant family-oriented site in a nice location. Relaxed atmosphere. Couldn't fault it overall.

The on-site facilities were good and well maintained. Only down-side for some might be that some of the facilities in the clubhouse were temporarily unavailable (we were told due to post-COVID staffing shortages, which is fair enough in the circumstances).

Oh, and if you really need a phone signal/internet access you'll struggle as it's relatively rural. Personally, I think this is a bonus on holiday! 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: SteveP 1 review from this member

 Absolutely wonderful place. We had the best holiday ever here (maybe different if it wasn't so sunny all the time.

The site is a bit of a trek down narrow lanes but enough passing places even for the biggest of caravan setups.

Site facilities are clean and plentiful. Never had to queue for a shower or toilet. Waste skips are emptied on pretty much a daily basis. Roads and gravel are clean, they have a great maintenance team.

The advertised fishing pools cannot be used as they are overgrown with weed(probably a summer thing but that's when you want to go fishing!). Fishing in the bay is great especially if you have a small boat or kayak.

It can get a bit rowdy with some families disregarding site rules for being quiet after certain times. People need to read agreement when they visit the place to keep quiet and be respectful. Children are often running around til gone midnight. Although families were told during our stay to ensure they were off the playpark by 10pm and quiet by 10:30.

Weekends (obviously) are VERY busy and family congregations can be a little noisy. Just join in the fun and make friends!

We are very fortunate to have a small boat and on a trip round to Kirkudbright bay we encountered a large pod of dolphins that stayed with us for a while. Https://youtu. Be/N-7pFYqRceY

Overall 10 out of 10 and we will return! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Annamu 1 review from this member

 I have an 8 year old and a 16 year old we all had brilliant time,

Everybody at the park was chilled and enjoying the lovely weather, brilliant weekend.

There was no entertainment and the shop had no stock but it didnít stop us having a good time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kaygor 1 review from this member

 Beautiful place, had a fab time camping

Would certainly be back

Toilets spotless,

Weather perfect,

Only downfall was pool was not open 😔

Beautiful beach 🏖️ nearby which was an added bonus 😍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MaryTJ82 2 reviews from this member

 Love this site been going now for well over 10 year, but feel the site could now do with a little more care. Having said that if you are thinking of going still give it a go. Iím maybe a little picky.

Brighouse is a spacious site, with plenty of room between pitches Good size car park on arrival and easy to navigate around the site even with caravans and motorhome. (currently have trees across the entrance to the car park since covid. TBH Iím not clear on the point of this. As when people are arriving itís making it difficult for 2 way traffic).

There is a reasonable sized shop on the site which can offer all the basics if you run out. However this has not been well stocked the last few times.

First toilet blocks you come to are always clean, modern and well maintained by the staff. But the laundry facility has been getting installed for around 2 years. There is an alternative laundry facility at the second block which does the job but is more dated.

If you have kids (we donít) there is a great play park and lots of pitches where you can watch the kids easily. It right on the beach and has indoor pool (not open when we were their due to covid) they will love it.

Very dog friendly too with some easy walks. We play a lot of golf even had a membership on site, but this was very disappointing. Course was in very poor condition albeit they were trying to work on it they have a bit to go and not the right staff in place to manage properly including bookings. Could be a fantastic course again.

The staffing seems to be an issues. Although the ones there are clearly working hard but could do with more support. The actual site is maintain ok but not as it use to be (I do think covid has contributed) there was a putting area which basically doesnít exist now. Shame!

Additional charges are getting a little excessive for awnings, gazebo, cars, dogs! Food used to be nice, we only ordered pizza last time was very disappointing. Again the rest could still be great. I donít honestly know.

Anyway too negative itís a nice site. I would say go make your own mind up!

I will be going back soon I imagine looking to see what they have managed to do since my last visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mcdavi 3 reviews from this member

 Not enough toilets and showers for size of park those that were open were not cleaned often enough.

The camp shop did not stock enough basic supplies as nearest shop was miles away. The access to the beach was not accessible for us.

No WiFi or mobile available emergency calls only. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Barryeee 4 reviews from this member

 Despite not being the type of site we would normally choose, we enjoyed our 3-day stay in June (midweek).

Lovely walks from the site, although signposting could be improved. Direct access to a nice large sandy beach too.

Excellent ultra-modern shower/toilet block.

Be prepared that on-site food options at the site's golf club are limited, and there are no other local options for eating out. 
via mobile


Previous     147 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brighouse Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Brighouse Bay Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighouse Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Brighouse Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkcudbright      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the countryís leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3426 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder