Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighouse Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright > Brighouse Bay Holiday Park > Reviews

Brighouse Bay Holiday Park
Borgue Peninsula
Kirkcudbright
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG6 4TS
Tel: 01557 870 267
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 155 Reviews
                8/10 from 155 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scottishflower2000 16 reviews from this member

 This campsite is in a beautiful area of Scotland and one we are quite familiar with. Circumstances generally mean itís a long way to travel when we only have 2 nights away but it was worth it. It was competitively priced.

There was so much space! It's not a busy time of year generally but the weather meant we did expect to see a busier site as it seems to be huge. We set up quickly and sneaked some water off a fully serviced pitch as the map suggested water was a good walk away.

In fact, another 10 steps would have taken me to the nearest hosepipe. By the end of the weekend we had neighbours on either side but it didnít feel like they were too close.

There was so much space I did wonder why they were on either side but perhaps they were regulars and this was their preferred spot?

We walked up to the leisure club early evening and had a couple of drinks outside, admiring the indoor pool and the menu for food that looked reasonable.

This is a dark skies site and unfortunately, we were in bed when the northern lights did their merry dance. :-(

We popped into Kircubright the following day for sunscreen as the evening before had been particularly sunny & warm. It was a short journey then to have a sundae at Galloway's.

The rest of our visit was spent reading in the beautiful sunshine and enjoying watching children in the playground. By 8 pm there was absolute silence and it was only someone leaving at 11 pm with their outfit which disturbed our peace.

As it was such a late hour we guessed this was an emergency and were only sad they had to leave. 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: KeldaMacFeegle 3 reviews from this member

 Seems like we may have been unlucky with our timing on this site.

It is set in a beautiful part of the country and with wonderful countryside and beach nearby, I hoped booking this site would persuade my husband that he really does like camping.

However, we were camped next to a group who made a lot of noise from morning til the early hours and managed to evade the camp wardens each time.

The toilet block also suffered from the number of people using it - it seemed very busy and was constantly covered in toilet paper and often without the toilet paper in the actual cubicles.

I did not venture into the showers as they just didn't feel clean with how they were left. May well be a clientele problem, rather than a facility problem. One set of toilet blocks were quite dated with another less so. The water at the washing up station was lukewarm at best.

My son loved the play area and there were plenty of family friendly on-site facilities had we wanted to use them.

The pitch itself was fairly level and was easy to find thanks to the map. The positioning close to the toilet block was convenient but suffered from noisy handryers throughout the night as people went to the toilet and proximity to the bins, where people emptied their rubbish late into the night.

The site staff were friendly and helpful and the shop was good. I can see that this site would be great for lots of people, however it probably wasn't the right fit for us. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rob39 9 reviews from this member

 Nicely located south of Kirkcudbrightshire though the final couple of miles is down a tight road with passing places.

Reception includes a well stocked shop and theirs a couple of hook ups for late arrivals.

Map of the site and directions to your pitch is given then your offÖ. From this point their are no pitch area signs so the game to find your pitch starts, over the weekend we saw at least 8 tourers touring the sight looking for their pitch so good luck.

Anyhow we chose a hard standing serviced pitch with water EHU 16amp.

Pitch was G44 good size and level.

Toilet block close by offered around 12 cubicles with toilet sink and shower in each cubicle and very clean, their is another older block further up the site.

Reasonably quiet, a few older kids could be heard one night but this quickly stopped.

Site is surprisingly big but mature trees hides its size.

Club house offers a pool bowling golf course meals though pricey.

Site sits next to the sea offering walks, biking and dark skies.

Staff all very nice but zero phone reception and we couldnít even get the Wi-Fi they offer at a price because you donít have a signal!

Overall a good stay would definitely go back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Angela 1 review from this member

 Good points. Brilliant pitch with lots of space and lots of greenery around. One of the biggest pitches I have come across.

Immaculately clean toilets and showers. Fantastic children's play park.

Staff very friendly

Dislike - no phone reception, wifi or tv signal-we had satellite so we were okay. Great if you want to get away from everyone

Lots of flys. Weather was very changeable so this might not have helped but we were greeted with a swarm of flies upon arrival 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Markjenn 5 reviews from this member

 We arrived at site after following the signs out of kirkubright very easy to find. On approach to entrance you are greeted by scrap static caravans not what you want. The reception building looks very tired.

We booked in given our pitch found it very easy very good size the site was quiet for a bank holiday. First appearances I thought I have made a mistake. After we set up we then went to explore the site is very big and looking around it was very tired but after the last couple of years it's understandable that things have slipped. This is an honest opinion I think that they are trying to get site to its best again they have a lot of work to do I think that given the time this could be amazing site they have everything beautiful location great size pitches.

The wildlife is something to see we had wild Deer walking around our van bird watchers will have a blast. There is a golf course that hopefully it will get back to its best. They need to get a lot of the attractions back to there best.

The club house is a great attraction The food menu needs to be a lot better. The toilet and shower blocks are fine one old one and one a relative new one all clean no problems.

The town of kirkubright is a gem of a place nice tea rooms bars and the best gin bar in Scotland.

The Auld alliance restaurant some of the best food I have ever had. The whole area is beautiful.

Would I go back of course I would it needs people to visit that's the way it improves its quality I wish them all the best for the future. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Astonfamily 5 reviews from this member

 Bank holiday weekend booked 3 nights from Thursday as a first weekend in the caravan.

The site was a big site easy enough to get to. Reception staff was helpful and friendly.

Pitch was good size and the one we had was near the park and the second toilet and shower block. Toilets was clean and there was male female and unisex ones. Much preferred the unisex ones as the toilet cubicle was larger and had sinks in them.

Visited the pool didn't mind the extra costs as they was clean and the pool was heated friendly helpful staff behind the desk ( young girl and lad).

The site was a dark sky site so limited light pollution and also quiet from 10. 30 pm which was great.

The beach was nice and was nice walks nearby recommend a trip to Kirkcudbright. Lovely town 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jenkin 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site. Was quiet at night although plenty of families around.

Facilities were lovely.

Shop a bit expensive, no worse than any other camp shop, though.

Staff were really helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Cheesy 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite.

Will definitely return.

Amazing coastal walk right at the site.

Lean facilities.

A bit pricey for the time of year.

Ideal location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Medusa 1 review from this member

 We arrived at night so couldn't see the park, but reception left us a map and details of the pitch.

Reception staff really helpful and considerate, great customer service.

Unfortunately we chose a date when maintenance was being done on the shower and toilet block so we couldn't use the facilities, so didn't get chance to comment.

We would go back again perhaps around christmas or new year. Its a 12 month season so we can go anytime. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Nicole 1 review from this member

 The campsite was great, we arrived late and it was easy to find out where we were to stay.

The facilities are really modern and very clean. The showers are good. The campsite is quiet.

Great location to walk our dog to the beach. Washing up facilities really clean too.

Great play park at the other end of the camp site. 


Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Brighouse Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Brighouse Bay Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighouse Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Brighouse Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkcudbright      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3697 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement