Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighouse Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright > Brighouse Bay Holiday Park Reviews

Brighouse Bay Holiday Park
Borgue Peninsula
Kirkcudbright
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG6 4TS
Tel: 01557 870 267
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 134 Reviews
                8/10 from 134 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  134 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Joanne142491wna 1 review from this member

 Great location, park was great, beach was lovely,

Shame that nothing is open due to covid.

Lots of things to do near by with kids, chocolate factory was good. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Geokaz 1 review from this member

 Had a fantastic relaxing week, beautiful woodlands and the sea.

Town not far away, bus service also though we didn't use it.

Staff 10/10

Would advise taking a torch and a tv cable as need to use a hook up tv cable on electric point which gives fab signal.

Cables available at reception for a l returnable deposit 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brian Mclachlan 1 review from this member

 Loved this site. And so did my 8yr old son itís a bit out of the way.

But well worth it food is great at the on site restaurant.

All facilities in perfect working order. Canít wait to return 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Aldo1877 7 reviews from this member

 We took our Grandson back to this site and found it just as enjoyable as our previous visit. The weather wasn't very accommodating as it rained almost the whole time.

This is a large site with walks throughout which can show lots of local wildlife. Deer are known to visit the lakes, but we have not been fortunate to see one. Not all of the facilities were available, due to the time of year. The clubhouse includes a swimming pool (reasonable charge), which my Grandson and I had all to ourselves. It also has a small games room and a small cafe area which is used outwith the main season for food. The bar opens in the evening.

The on site shop provides most things you would need in a hurry, but there are supermarkets in Kircudbright which is about a 20 minutes drive.

The play area is getting a bit run down and could do with some investment to improve and increase the apparatus. This can be a busy area in the better days, so needs a bit more for the kids.

Prices are on a par with many sites. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campingtoon 2 reviews from this member

 Very well maintained site with friendly staff

Pro's

Clean

Friendly

Child friendly

Great beach nearby

Decent club house

Cons

Scottish weather (can't be helped)

Some of the toilet blocks are starting to look a little old and grimy. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Red Robbo 5 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site for many years camping, touring caravan and lately with a motorhome and we will not be back.

This site in our opinion has gone down hill over the years and is looking very tired and dated. I note that the first toilet block did say it was going to be updated over the winter and not before time. Shower cubicles in the ensuite rooms were disgusting, with even more disgusting shower mats that I presume were originally white. Surely a wetroom type of ensuite is more hygenic with less crevices to be black and mouldy!This shower block was also closed for cleaning at 8:30 in the morning!

The maintenance of the site leaves a lot to be desired. There were a couple of lads mowing and strimming the grass whilst we were there and no effort was made to pick it up - hence the grass was everywhere. Everything seemed to be done in a half-hearted manner, even the reception staff were not very friendly.

The seasonal pitches looked very untidy with awnings that were green with mould, collapsed and grass growing around them.

The only good thing about this site is the bay which is excellent for families and the walks in the area.

Perhaps Gillespies are a victim of their success and don't need to do anything as they continue to get the customers. However we have always recommended this site to others but will not do so again and we will certainly not go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sitesnooper 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 4 night stay and absolutely loved it, always a bit concerned with reviews and found the site much better than some reviews would have us believe. Location was great with access to a sandy cove, good walks in every direction, golf course, fishing what more do you need. Reception staff were most helpful and friendly, will most definitely be back very soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mcgeachyscott4 1 review from this member

 Very impressed with campsite excellent facilities showers n toilet block kept really clean staff very friendly and helpful loads to do on site dogs loved it shop was impressive wasn't much they didn't have good prices great value for money definitely be going again x will stay longer next time was great base for touring dumfries n Galloway 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 182 reviews from this member

 Have been before, years ago. Stayed just one night to check the MH was ok. Very few people at this time, which would explain why the facilities were shut (pub, pool etc). Paid £1. 50 for the dog, but don't know why - no poo bins are provided which is surprising.

They're doing a lot of major upgrading work in the lower part of the site (where we were put) so it's noisy & untidy; it might take several weeks to complete the work. Pleased to see that a lot of the big dense dark hedging conifers have been recently cut, so the site is much less shaded, more open & sunny.

The adjacent woodland is excellent for off-lead walks, but access to the beach (sandy and huge boulders) is not clear from this path.

Several motorhomes were parked up overnight in the car park at the back of the beautiful beach with direct access, where there are loos.

Zero Vodafone coverage. Great if you want to detox. Not great if you need to check on the person who's walking the dog and is away longer than expected.

Be aware - the road from Kirkcudbright is not a fast one, it's bendy. And the last stretch of road to the site is C-road and involves the use of passing places if someone is coming from the opposite direction. Locals know & are very courteous. 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Timvan 6 reviews from this member

 Disappointing. Camp Site advertises on website as open all year with cafe, bistro, bar, swimming pool etc. Which is just what we wanted. Upon arrival at 2. 00pm On Sunday we were advised that all the facilities close at 3. 00pm on Sunday until Thursday. I pointed out this is not what it said on the website and was advised that they have no control over the website. So we stayed one night instead of 3. The site was clean tidy and well looked after. There are not many sites open at this time of year so it was a disappointment. 


Previous     134 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brighouse Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Brighouse Bay Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighouse Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Brighouse Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkcudbright      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6076 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement