Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Limefitt Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Limefitt Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts)
Patterdale Road
(lake District)
Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA23 1PA
Tel: 0330 1234850
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Statics Only
Open: 1 March To 14 January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Lellyk 1 review from this member

Excellent Caravan Park, best equipped caravan and standard we have ever stayed in, it came equipped with towels, toilet roll and even soap this was fab, (we have stayed in many up and down the uk)! A fairly quiet park, don't use if you are expecting to party till dawn and want a person dressed in an outfit to baby sit your children for you.

Really friendly helpful staff, lovely food and huge portions. Child play area very good, even us adults had a go on some of the things. Very close to Ambleside and Windermere.

Site shop has been moved to reception and has a very limited choice so expect to buy or bring your own before arrival.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Walker Dan 9 reviews from this member

Only has a limited number of touring pitches now which are fairly close together and we felt fairly hemmed in by caravans and awnings, with cars parked all over the place.

Most of the park is given over to lodges and permanent caravans and I think this is the way things are heading.

Lovely area with not too many other touring parks close by.

Food in on site pub very good despite the inside and outside appearance. One or two folk wandered in but didn't stay. Food was good, beer not as clever.

Queens Head pub a mile or so up the road in Troutbeck excellent for food but may get busy.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kbheal 19 reviews from this member

In a very beautiful part of the Lakes with lots of walks from the site.

Good overall facilities, the pub on site served good food but the decor in places is looking a little tired.

It stated in the site details that there was a Motorhome service point but we couldn't find it.

Toilet block OK, mens and womens, showers good, plenty of hot water.

Childrens play area brilliant, the river pool was definitely a hit as we had lovely sunny weather.

They did not appear to enforce any of the rules in relation to cycling on roads near the touring part and skateboarding. They need to decide if there is any point in having them!

I was surprised also that a caravan next to us was allowed to park across the pitch, making their front window look onto our grassed area instead of forwards.

Overall we had a good time there and may return sometime.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pfcbpfcb 6 reviews from this member

This site from 2009 no longer accepts tents - what a shame - we have had such lovely camping holidays there. Just up the road from the campsite is a lovely pub with excellent pub meals. Lovely walks from the campsite. Facilities of a very good standard but does get booked up quickly. There is a pub on site which is nice for a drink and a meal. Small shop on site.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Domag123 7 reviews from this member

We enjoyed our time at Limefitt but felt that the site was more interested in the static owners and trying to sell you one.

It is a lovely site in stunning location. The road to get to it from Windermere can be a bit hairy especially if you have a big outfit.

On arrival pitch was already allocated. Ours was in a handy location next to toilets. Quite a bit of space between pitches. However, depending on how many nights you stay depends on where you are put. We were there for 4 nights so on long stay so pitch was fully serviced inc tv hook up.

Site has small shop, pub which was old barn. This is lovely beer and food bit on pricey side but nice place to chill.

I found the site to be quite good facilities clean and tidy. Staff helpful. I would probably not return as it is just too far out of Windermere for my liking and meant we had to use the car all the time. Think there is a bus service but it is fairly intermittent.

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mooney3 6 reviews from this member

Very scenic site surrounded by mountains and hills. At this time of year it was picturesque with full Autumn colours and on our last day woke up to snow capped hills.

Reception is a beautiful really old cottage with friendly reps

The touring sites are numbered and as mentioned in previous reviews are fairly bald with very hard ground. However they are spacious enough for full rig including full awning and majority are now super service pitches.

Toilet and shower blocks were very acceptable and always kept clean.

Wasn't much going on in the play areas as it was just about Zero but I could imagine that during warm months these areas could become very easily overcrowded.

Pub is quite some size with a couple of pool tables, a games room and a darts board as well as a 'chill out room' for a quieter evening if needed.

Only one downside to our short stay. Two nights on the trot the park lost its electricity to certain parts of the site including half of the touring section. This meant the main area of the Pub was also out of bounds. However the 'chill out room' was open and bottled drinks were served. Unfortunately the heating in this room was electric ignited meaning no heat.

This was only a minor qualm though and I would definitely go back in the summer or maybe even hire out a couple of the log cabins over New year with the family.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sburrage 4 reviews from this member

The site is well positioned in a lovely valley 2-3 miles from Windermwere. As you would expect the views are perfect (in all directions). Toilet blocks were clean and tidy, the shop well stocked and the on site pub is the cheapest for food and beer in the area.Our only son is a bit old for the play area (24yrs), but I would have had a go on the 'death-slide' myself if no one had been looking.

There are 2 pubs/restaurants in the vicinity- The Mortal Man is nice, but a long walk (up hill!), The Queens Arms is better, both the food and the log fires, and is closer,located along the main road toward the pass.

We used one of the full service pitches , which meant I didn't have to lug water and waste about, but the TV connection didn't pick up a signal (better without.).

Despite being late in the year the site was quite full, so book !

Lots of places to visit in the area - boat rides on the lake - Beatrix Potter fans must take the ferry across to the west bank and visit Hill Top.

This was our first visit to this site. But not the last!

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alkaz 10 reviews from this member

Almost 12 months after our last visit we were astounded to find that the big tent field now had lodges on it. We enquired about the long stay caravan pitches and were told that this was going to be the last season for such. Also it was the last season for tents, which must be hugely disappointing for campers. We were on pitch number 9 which is in a slightly elevated position, these were going to have lodges on the pitches next year. The tourers would then be housed where the long stay pitches were.

The site is one of the most scenic in Cumbria set in the troutbeck valley, it has its own pub and restaurant and great,free,power showers. Not good news for dog owners either as from what we were reading Limefitt operate a No Dogs policy which I find a bit extreme. When we visit next year I would probably find there are to be no more tourers.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phiwinuk 3 reviews from this member

Would echo many of the previous reviews here. Site is obviously cutting down on tent space and moving over to caravans and statics. However, it is well located and organised. Pitches are numbered - though this means they are very worn and have hard ground. Toilet blocks good, on site shop and bar (children welcomed) not bad. Playground and play area good for children and they loved paddling in the river.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: James1309 3 reviews from this member

Stayed on the site the end of June, the weather was horrendous, belting down with rain when we pitched, luckily had purchased rock pegs as a previous review had stated how hard the ground was, not wrong, invest in some, they are a must.

Nice spacious pitch, just unfortunate we where next to 2 people arguing from 2.30pm until 1am when I told them to shut up, do the camping world a favour, get divorced.

The park is set in a beautiful place, rolling hills either side, unfortunately could not bbq because of the weather, me the wife and my 2 yr old took a walk up to the pub.

The staff where very friendly and the pub had a cosy feel, the toilets are pretty grotty and there was nowhere to change the baby.

Overall the food was ok, bit pricey for a drink which you would expect as there was no pub in the near vicinity.

The shop was adequate and had all want you required if you run out of supplies.

My son had a ball in the childrens play area despite the downpour, nice and safe and well maintained.

Again the shower block was well maintained, plenty of hot water and never had to queue despite the park being full.

One gripe was in the baby changing room, there was no bins at all and just a ledge to put the baby on,could be quite dangerous, could of benefited with those plastic changing tables you see in certain changing rooms.

All in all we tried to make the most of an absolute waterlogged weekend, its quite a dear stay at 25 per night, but probably will return to the site again in the future.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2740 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!