Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rudding Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Rudding Holiday Park
Follifoot
Harrogate
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG3 1JH
Tel: 01423 870439
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 86
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 145 Reviews
                8/10 from 145 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Dollimore 1 review from this member

We have stayed at Rudding Park many times initially in a touring van and more recently by hiring a lodge. We love the area and the site is accessible from all directions.
Our lodge has been cosy and well equipped with good WiFi.
Would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jan Blad 1 review from this member

A beautiful place to spend a nice holiday near Harrogate (by bus) and York and Leeds (by train)! All the comforts nearby, the magnificent golf club, the hotel. Made our stay a success (despite the winter weather). We will be back in the summer, to highly recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RainMagnet 5 reviews from this member

We camped here for 7 nights in July as a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children aged 7&3). Its a big site with a mixture of statics, lodges, tourer's and tents, but is broken up with trees bushes & changes & level's. There are 2 large toilet blocks which are well maintained & clean. We found the staff friendly and polite and well organised.

The site has 2 basic play areas near the on site pub this is also the location of the outdoor pool, we did't use the pool as the price of £4. 00 + for 90 min seemed a bit excessive for a basic pool.

Our overall impression was of a nice site well organised but there where some issues that I will come to that stopped me giving this site full marks:-

1. Our pitch was supposedly a Standard 10mx10m pitch, now while out tent isn't the smallest at 6. 0mx3. 5m we struggled to fit it on the pitch with the car and considering its £30+ per night I was left feeling a little short changed. The condition of the pitch wasn't great with bare soil visible, been the beginning of the school holidays I couldn't help feeling they will be in a very sorry sate come September.

2. On Sunday lunchtime dance music that wouldn't be out of place in an Ibiza nightclub started booming across the campsite at first I thought is was an inconsiderate guest but after we decided to take the kids to the park we discovered it was the pub! the music was loud, very loud, stood in the park next to the pool you couldn't have a conversation and they only seemed to be entertaining a handful of guests, if this was a Saturday night on the town I would have enjoyed it but midday on a Sunday at a family campsite was not the place for it.

We did enjoy the camp site as its central to a lot of local attractions but I don't think we would come again mainly due to the cost.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Farm girl 1 review from this member

Our fourth visit was as good as the previous three. This site is very clean, tidy and well-managed. The facilities are very good, toilet and shower blocks very clean, and our grandchildren particularly enjoy the open air swimming pool, especially in the rain. When they were younger we found being able to bath instead of showering them a great help, especially after a cold wet day. The staff are equally exceptional, friendly and helpful, going the extra mile to ensure our stay was as pleasant as possible. Particularly Susan in the office, who by suggesting the best type of pitch for our needs, made the stay even better. I've no hesitation in recommending this as a very good site.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donkers 15 reviews from this member

I am in two minds about Rudding Holiday Park as it is not our typical choice of site. However we did have a fun weekend; the site was convenient and perfectly fitted our needs for this particular trip.

We stayed 2 nights over a weekend (Friday & Saturday) in the middle of July with our 2 young kids and 4 other families. The big family holiday park vibe is usually one we avoid like the plague, preferring small quiet tent sites. However, Rudding Park is only 20 minutes from where we live and was a handy site for a quick getaway on a Friday afternoon, after school, with a group of friends, hence our choice in this instance.

Very friendly and efficient check in process on arrival and we were shown straight to our pitch by a member of staff. There was some sort of booking mix up whereby one of the families in our group were allocated two pitches, some sort of double booking, but they were refunded the second pitch no problem. We had asked in advance for the 5 families in our party to be sited together and this request was well accommodated.

The site is huge with lots of ugly (IMO) green statics as well as large touring caravans and tents. It was pretty much full the nights we stayed and it did have the feeling of being overcrowded. It had many more caravans (complete with large awnings etc) than other sites we have visited, in very close proximity to each other, so it seemed a bit more hemmed in and overlooked than we are are used to. The site looked much better on Sunday lunchtime once it had emptied, but you don't get to appreciate the full loveliness when there are so many units around you. Was also quite noisy until 11pm ish, with some quite big groups (including ours!).

The pitches were fairly well maintained, nice and flat, although some were quite threadbare in places and not very easy to peg into with stony ground under the turf.

Anyway no real complaints and we had plenty of room for our 4 man tent, with the car parked alongside. I think all pitches have EHU, although we didn't use it. This probably contributes to the high cost (£77 for two nights on a standard grass pitch - 10m x 10m - is way more than we would normally pay!).

There are a couple of toilet blocks which are well organised and kept clean, to be honest some of the best we have seen; there were plenty of toilet cubicles, sinks and showers, a decent pot washing area and even a laundry room. We had no issues with waiting or queues whilst we were there, even though the site seemed pretty full.

We didn't use the showers, although the members of our party who did said they were fine.

The outdoor heated pool is a bonus and the kids loved it. You do have to book a time slot in advance and it was busy. It didn't have the changing facilities to cope (one pretty small male and female changing room with a single shower and two toilets). I felt the £4. 25 additional fee for 90 minutes was excessive, given it is slightly dated and the limited facilities provided.

There is a small playground with swings, slide and climbing frame located next to the pool, within the beer garden of the Deer House Family Pub. It is small and only really Suitable for younger kids. A playing field opposite the pub has a football net along with additional swings and a climbing frame for older children. I felt this was slightly limited though for the cost of the site and there was scope for it to be much better equipped.

Located within the Pub is a games room with pool, table tennis & table football. The food served in the pub is basic pub food, nothing special, just ok.

The extensive grounds around the park are really well kept and peaceful. The older kids loved exploring. I would have loved to visit the spa and Clockhouse restaurant, but not practical with the kids in tow!

The site is fantastically located for exploring Harrogate and the surrounding area. Loads to do and a lovely place to visit. Also very close to the Yorkshire show ground so well placed for visiting events there.

It is undoubtedly a lovely clean and tidy site in a great location, however for us there are some 'buts'…admittedly all of which are down to our own personal preference. Mainly that we found the site to be too big and commercial and didn't really like the ratio of statics, caravans and really big tents, as opposed to smaller units. Just not our 'thing'. It is also expensive.

I would stay again, with a group of friends, because it is so clean and tidy and convenient for a quick weekend away on a Friday. It wouldn't be my choice for a longer stay or as an individual family. Nothing wrong with the site, just our personal preference.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Allfamfun4 10 reviews from this member

Fantastic 4 night stay at Rudding Park - beautiful site

Large grass pitch with loads of room to reverse the caravan in.

Both toilet blocks spotlessly clean and never had to queue and it was half term

Lovely open field with goal nets for our lads, small fenced dog exercise area and a nice half hour dog walk around the site

Easy to get to the site with no tricky country lanes

Great base for visiting Harrogate, Knaresborough, Bolton Abbey etc etc

Welcoming staff on reception and around the site, small site shop with all the essentials and a large Sainsburys only a couple of miles away.

Pool is small, our lads only visited once and it does seem a bit pricey for what you get.

Would we visit again - yes without hesitation.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Malcolmtrot 13 reviews from this member

We, 2 adults, 2 kids and a dog, have just returned from a lovely one night stay here. The site is easy to get to from the A1 and is well signposted when you get close.

On arrival, we were greeted by a friendly receptionist and warden and shown to our pitch. The pitch was generous, level and well maintained.

The site has a shop and a lovely pub on site, with a pool (it was not open until May), a playground and a table tennis table (we always have bats in the van, so the kids soon made friends!). There is also a small adventure playground and a field with a goalpost for the kids to play on. The roads are all tarmacked, ideal for children on bikes, and there is a nice exercise area and woodland walk for dogs.

We could not fault the site, they even provided glorious sunshine in March, and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ianroscoe 1 review from this member

Finally got the trailer tent out of retirement, and selected Rudding Park for first trip in 11 years. Rudding park was always our favourite park, and and happy to report it still remains so.

Check in a pleasant experience with friendly helpful reception staff. And escorted to pitch by site worker.

The outdoor heated pool was lovely, very quiet, but it was mid week.

Overall a very pleasant few days.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HobsonK 1 review from this member

Stayed in a camper van for one night (Saturday) in August. We were put in the hard standing area next to the kitchen garden which is the late arrivals area - it was very peaceful and only a few minutes walk in different directions to the toilet block, shop, pub and playground. Hook up and water supply were both available and included in the price. All the staff were very helpful and friendly.

My kids weren't with me so we didn't use the playground or swimming pool but both looked good fun. The kids activity programme for the summer holidays looked well thought out and included varied activities. Grounds nice to wander around. Shop is well stocked with essentials. Toilet block was clean and spacious. Pub had entertainment on which wasn't to our taste but something on every week. We were given some vouchers for the pub when we checked in - drinks offer and a pizza offer - which was a nice touch.

This is a local site for us and one we'll be returning to.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Celticmd1 1 review from this member

Wow what a lovely site its got it all set in beautiful grounds and very well kept, Staff on site very very helpful and professional on arrival we were escorted to our pitch via Security and a small talk about the site.

If you like carp fishing there's a fantastic lake only 500 yards up the road with pub,

If you want to spoil your self at Rudding there is a small walk to the main Spa, cinema, Restaurant. Or the Deer in on site for some pub grub any 2 large tv s with all sports me and my son went each night to watch olympics, shower blocks very clean, Fantastic, Chris Hall Wakefield

Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2536 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019