Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cofton Country Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Dawlish > Cofton Country Holidays Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP
Tel: 01626 890111
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 233 Reviews
                9/10 from 233 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  233 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Annie0103 1 review from this member

 Love this place so much, it’s become a regular place to stay.

I have a lung problem and find their indoor swimming pool to be the best ever as they use UV light to clean the pool. I can’t go anywhere near a swimming pool that uses chlorine as it makes me choke with the fumes and I struggle to breathe, so Cofton is just great for me and fish and chips are decent too!

Great site, we’ll be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Meady41 1 review from this member

 We have been coming here for 8 years, gets better every year,

Only moan is only being allowed 45 mins in outdoor pool??

Really clean always

Love it, it’s a must 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Deligh 1 review from this member

 The site was very nice but we cudnt get into the entertainment at all as fully booked and we only got to spend a 45min slot in the swimming pool as that was fully booked to. The toilets near the barn smelt of sewer.

The pictures you look at look like your near beach but it's further than you think.

I would only stay there again if you didn't have to book to swim and see entertainment.

The security was brill thou when I coundn't find my grandson 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Billy 17 reviews from this member

 We stayed here mostly because it was the only site in the area taking the ACSI discount card. This reduced price to a bargain £15. 50. Normally around £28pn in June off peak.

Site is in a valley with the pitches on terraces & you need to choose as carefully as some pitches can as some slant excessively in sometimes 2 directions. Whatever pitch you choose you will almost certainly need levelling blocks.

Good quality grass pitches with plenty of hard standing pitches available as well.

The site is massive with literally 100s of pitches as well as mobile homes. After booking in you will be led to your pitch by staff member in an electric buggy. If you do not like pitch say so & they will let you choose another as we did as first offer was too downhill.

Aspect of most pitches are good though with views over the site & mostly sunny. Despite off peak week in June site was quite full probably 80% occupancy most of the time.

Site is so big you can walk a good distance without leaving. Dawlish Warren is a long walk through the wood but worth the effort. Very crowded holiday area with expensive parking in nearby towns like Teignmouth & Torquay. There is a Sainsbury’s supermarket quite near though.

A good site though if you are ok with large & busy family site. There is a pool & restaurant & plenty of large toilet/shower blocks that are cleaned regularly. Staff are plentiful & are friendly & helpful.

We would be happy to visit again. 


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chrisa 1 review from this member

 Could not fault this campsite.

Staff, cleanliness, services, all first class.

Will definitely go again.

Very impressed with the systems in place during this endemic. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Judas_hill 42 reviews from this member

 We stayed her for 7 nights pitches are a good size. We did not use any of the facilities due to covid.

Did notice that we were the only people cleaning the water taps before we filled our water containers and the cleaned again when we had finished.

The area is well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wendyb 1 review from this member

 A very friendly site. Toilet and shower block were always clean, staff were very helpful.

Outside pool was closed but indoor was open so not a problem.

Would revisit 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Milofilo 7 reviews from this member

 Couldn't praise them more for their management of the site during covid 19, the spacing provided on a large busy site combined with care taken in their facilities were very good,

They had you book a time for everything though from dining at their pub to using the pool. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: NigelBowles 1 review from this member

 The Covid pandemic meant we could not do our usual 6/7 camping trips this year, but as the restriction were lifted we selected Cofton's as our first outing based on past experience of the site. Our last visit was in 2017, and to be honest not much has changed in 2020. That's not to say it's dated or anything, far from it, the facilities throughout are excellent, although understandably most have to be booked in advance in accordance with Covid guidance. This can be done using either your mobile phone or through reception.

This was our fourth time camping at Cofton's and it's one of our top 3 favourite sites in the UK. The site is easy to find and our friend who came with a caravan said it was really accessible for him with the van.

So, what did we like.

The Staff where happy, friendly and very accommodating. I am deaf and obviously had difficulty lip reading with all the masks, but the staff made a special effort to accommodate my needs and booked all my activities for me without any fuss. Similarly the wardens/site staff were equally accommodating, given my previous visits and knowledge of the site, they were happy to let me choose where I would like to be sited and actually noted that my daughter would be arriving later (her own separate booking), and "unofficially" kept the pitch next to us free.

The pitches are large with little hedges between for privacy. We have an Outwell Concorde L with Front Awning, so about 9-10m (ish) long, and we fit within the pitch with room for the children to play and just enough space to park the car. Although I must say from this and past experience most of the pitches tend to slope a little. Not a lot, but enough to notice. TIP: Take some coasters with you to level your kitchen & wardrobe units!

The Toilet & Shower facilities are modern, fresh and clean (most of the time). We did experience no loo paper in any of the cubicle's on one occasion at around 10am, obviously after the morning rush, however they were cleaned regularly. Other site facilities include dish washing sinks and a launderette with washing, drying and ironing facilities. Cost of the dryer was a very reasonable £1 for 10 mins. Wi-Fi is available around the park for an additional fee (£20 per week I think was).

There's also the usual waste disposal facilities for caravans and porta potti's etc. We also like the fact there were recycling bays scattered throughout the park.

It is also worth mentioning that access around the site is controlled by electric barriers that use your cars registration number to allow access. Definitely a plus point for security, which is always a worry on sites. We also noted several security guards around the site.

As far as entertainment eating and drinking etc, there is a central main complex that houses reception, a shop, the swimming pools, a bar, restaurant and amusement arcade, with a Fish & Chip/Takeaway near by.

The pools are clean and well maintained, with excellent water quality and continuous lifeguard cover. The changing rooms and showers where spotless! Unfortunately the Sauna & Steam Room were closed, but this was obviously understandable! The Outdoor pool is free to use, but there is a small fee for the indoor pool of around £7 for 2 adults an a child, which is cheaper than my local leisure centre. Bookings in both are for 1 hour.

The Café/Restaurant, called Amelia's, was a pleasant spot and eating out on the balcony overlooking the pool and camp was a pleasurable experience. The food was very good, albeit a little on the expensive side. A steak ranged from £29. 99 to £55. There is also a pub/bar but we found it a little too busy for us, so can't comment. Bookings for both were for a 2 hour slot. There was also free Wi-Fi there.

The entertainment was so-so if I'm honest. We watched a ventriloquist who I initially thought was very good, until I realised he was not actually speaking, it was a pre-recorded track played in the background. As an adult it kind of made me feel cheated lol, but our Granddaughter like most of the kids I'm guessing, loved it. The later entertainment was typical of most campsites up and down the country. Okay, but nothing to write home about.

Out and about.

Locally there is a Sainsbury's a mile down the road which was convenient and Dawlish Warren beach is not much further. This is a typical seaside town with a large car park (£5. 50 - 4 Hrs) and all the usual seaside attractions, arcades, shops, bars and restaurants. We visited it twice and enjoyed. There is also a small funfair there too.

A little further out there is Exeter, Torquay, Paingnton and Brixham all within about an hours drive.

So overall we really like Cofton's a lot, it is a top quality camp site, with excellent facilities. Not the cheapest, but definitely worth the extra in our opinion. We initially booked for 7 nights (Fri-Fri), but extended that to add the weekend whilst there, and that says it all really! We would definitely recommend it for families with kids or like us grandparents with the grandkids.

Nigel & Gayle. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colinsrea 9 reviews from this member

 I will start with the cons: We were located on the 10acre field grass pitch although there was plenty of room to the side of the caravan plenty for an awning and car the room in front of the caravan was limited to say the least.

All the pitches aren't level so you need to chock the front or side depending how you locate the van.

The chemical waste was miles away to empty could do with more as the whole site is on an hill so trudging up and down.

The only water tap and grey water was near the toilets again could do with more taps around the place.

These were only the negatives we came across.

The Pros

The toilets were spotless as were the showers which are free and not timed.

The staff were friendly and polite.

Each hookup as a light on it for night time but you do share with upto 3 other hookups socket for each and 4 breakers inside

The walking to the dog exercise field was easy to get to which our 2 dogs loved running around with other dogs.

They have 2 donkeys and a shetland pony in a paddock next to the woods which are friendly.

The swimming pool is excellent and heated.

They have a great kiddies park and an adventure park in the woods which looked like great fun for the kids.

We never used the pub or restaurant so cannot comment, but we did use the Fish & Chip shop which is overpriced for what you got so only used the once.

The area is ideal for travelling around being central, there is a Sainsbury superstore about 2 miles away, cheaper than the local shops for food and cheap petrol/diesel.

Dawlish was a great place and a beach that you can take the dogs on, watch out the for car parking charges they are expensive £1. 70 + an hour around that area, you can park at railway station but they charge for all day £4, we enjoyed our stay but remember S/Devon is very hilly and they do like their speed cameras and 20MPH speed limits. 


Previous     233 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cofton Country Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Cofton Country Holidays have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cofton Country Holidays?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cofton Country Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dawlish      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1112 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement