Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cofton Country Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Dawlish > Cofton Country Holidays Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP
Tel: 01626 890111
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 229 Reviews
                9/10 from 229 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  229 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chrisa 1 review from this member

 Could not fault this campsite.

Staff, cleanliness, services, all first class.

Will definitely go again.

Very impressed with the systems in place during this endemic. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Judas_hill 41 reviews from this member

 We stayed her for 7 nights pitches are a good size. We did not use any of the facilities due to covid.

Did notice that we were the only people cleaning the water taps before we filled our water containers and the cleaned again when we had finished.

The area is well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wendyb 1 review from this member

 A very friendly site. Toilet and shower block were always clean, staff were very helpful.

Outside pool was closed but indoor was open so not a problem.

Would revisit 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Milofilo 5 reviews from this member

 Couldn't praise them more for their management of the site during covid 19, the spacing provided on a large busy site combined with care taken in their facilities were very good,

They had you book a time for everything though from dining at their pub to using the pool. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: NigelBowles 1 review from this member

 The Covid pandemic meant we could not do our usual 6/7 camping trips this year, but as the restriction were lifted we selected Cofton's as our first outing based on past experience of the site. Our last visit was in 2017, and to be honest not much has changed in 2020. That's not to say it's dated or anything, far from it, the facilities throughout are excellent, although understandably most have to be booked in advance in accordance with Covid guidance. This can be done using either your mobile phone or through reception.

This was our fourth time camping at Cofton's and it's one of our top 3 favourite sites in the UK. The site is easy to find and our friend who came with a caravan said it was really accessible for him with the van.

So, what did we like.

The Staff where happy, friendly and very accommodating. I am deaf and obviously had difficulty lip reading with all the masks, but the staff made a special effort to accommodate my needs and booked all my activities for me without any fuss. Similarly the wardens/site staff were equally accommodating, given my previous visits and knowledge of the site, they were happy to let me choose where I would like to be sited and actually noted that my daughter would be arriving later (her own separate booking), and "unofficially" kept the pitch next to us free.

The pitches are large with little hedges between for privacy. We have an Outwell Concorde L with Front Awning, so about 9-10m (ish) long, and we fit within the pitch with room for the children to play and just enough space to park the car. Although I must say from this and past experience most of the pitches tend to slope a little. Not a lot, but enough to notice. TIP: Take some coasters with you to level your kitchen & wardrobe units!

The Toilet & Shower facilities are modern, fresh and clean (most of the time). We did experience no loo paper in any of the cubicle's on one occasion at around 10am, obviously after the morning rush, however they were cleaned regularly. Other site facilities include dish washing sinks and a launderette with washing, drying and ironing facilities. Cost of the dryer was a very reasonable £1 for 10 mins. Wi-Fi is available around the park for an additional fee (£20 per week I think was).

There's also the usual waste disposal facilities for caravans and porta potti's etc. We also like the fact there were recycling bays scattered throughout the park.

It is also worth mentioning that access around the site is controlled by electric barriers that use your cars registration number to allow access. Definitely a plus point for security, which is always a worry on sites. We also noted several security guards around the site.

As far as entertainment eating and drinking etc, there is a central main complex that houses reception, a shop, the swimming pools, a bar, restaurant and amusement arcade, with a Fish & Chip/Takeaway near by.

The pools are clean and well maintained, with excellent water quality and continuous lifeguard cover. The changing rooms and showers where spotless! Unfortunately the Sauna & Steam Room were closed, but this was obviously understandable! The Outdoor pool is free to use, but there is a small fee for the indoor pool of around £7 for 2 adults an a child, which is cheaper than my local leisure centre. Bookings in both are for 1 hour.

The Café/Restaurant, called Amelia's, was a pleasant spot and eating out on the balcony overlooking the pool and camp was a pleasurable experience. The food was very good, albeit a little on the expensive side. A steak ranged from £29. 99 to £55. There is also a pub/bar but we found it a little too busy for us, so can't comment. Bookings for both were for a 2 hour slot. There was also free Wi-Fi there.

The entertainment was so-so if I'm honest. We watched a ventriloquist who I initially thought was very good, until I realised he was not actually speaking, it was a pre-recorded track played in the background. As an adult it kind of made me feel cheated lol, but our Granddaughter like most of the kids I'm guessing, loved it. The later entertainment was typical of most campsites up and down the country. Okay, but nothing to write home about.

Out and about.

Locally there is a Sainsbury's a mile down the road which was convenient and Dawlish Warren beach is not much further. This is a typical seaside town with a large car park (£5. 50 - 4 Hrs) and all the usual seaside attractions, arcades, shops, bars and restaurants. We visited it twice and enjoyed. There is also a small funfair there too.

A little further out there is Exeter, Torquay, Paingnton and Brixham all within about an hours drive.

So overall we really like Cofton's a lot, it is a top quality camp site, with excellent facilities. Not the cheapest, but definitely worth the extra in our opinion. We initially booked for 7 nights (Fri-Fri), but extended that to add the weekend whilst there, and that says it all really! We would definitely recommend it for families with kids or like us grandparents with the grandkids.

Nigel & Gayle. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colinsrea 8 reviews from this member

 I will start with the cons: We were located on the 10acre field grass pitch although there was plenty of room to the side of the caravan plenty for an awning and car the room in front of the caravan was limited to say the least.

All the pitches aren't level so you need to chock the front or side depending how you locate the van.

The chemical waste was miles away to empty could do with more as the whole site is on an hill so trudging up and down.

The only water tap and grey water was near the toilets again could do with more taps around the place.

These were only the negatives we came across.

The Pros

The toilets were spotless as were the showers which are free and not timed.

The staff were friendly and polite.

Each hookup as a light on it for night time but you do share with upto 3 other hookups socket for each and 4 breakers inside

The walking to the dog exercise field was easy to get to which our 2 dogs loved running around with other dogs.

They have 2 donkeys and a shetland pony in a paddock next to the woods which are friendly.

The swimming pool is excellent and heated.

They have a great kiddies park and an adventure park in the woods which looked like great fun for the kids.

We never used the pub or restaurant so cannot comment, but we did use the Fish & Chip shop which is overpriced for what you got so only used the once.

The area is ideal for travelling around being central, there is a Sainsbury superstore about 2 miles away, cheaper than the local shops for food and cheap petrol/diesel.

Dawlish was a great place and a beach that you can take the dogs on, watch out the for car parking charges they are expensive £1. 70 + an hour around that area, you can park at railway station but they charge for all day £4, we enjoyed our stay but remember S/Devon is very hilly and they do like their speed cameras and 20MPH speed limits. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Northern_monkey 1 review from this member

 Decided to book here for the first week of summer holidays as it had the pool and other facilities.

We arrived around 4. 30 on a Saturday and able to check in straight away. We were given a no quibble refund as we did not bring our dog, which was appreciated. Shown to our pitch at the bottom of barn field by the guy in a golf buggy. Pitch was flat and looked big but we could only get our tent on the pitch sideways which meant we didn’t really have a car parking space. We managed to squeeze it along the front and nobody complained.

Showers/toilets were great - we only had to queue once for shower. They seems to be cleaned regularly but there were sometimes clumps of hair in the drainage area. However, good showers and plenty of hot water.

Washing up area had plenty of sinks.

Didn’t use indoor pool but outdoor pool was lovely and even I got in it and found it warm! Even though it was a hot day and the pool was busy, we managed to find a space on the grass (well straw after all the warm weather this year!)

We are at the restaurant the first night. I wanted the salmon but was told after paying there were no noodles so I had the sausage and mash. As it was a pound cheaper they gave me a portion of onion reigns that would’ve fed the whole place! The food portions we had were good sizes and the service was cheerful despite being later in the evening.

We watched the Robbie tribute act which was fun if you like Robbie/take that.

Fish and chip takeaway on site was good.

Sainsbury’s just down the road towards dawlish that has a petrol station and Argos too. Close to Dawlish Warren beach - you can walk but we didn’t!

We decided to leave a day early as the weather was due to be heavy rain and gales.

The only thing was that the roads were narrow on site and it could be improved if they were made one way. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vardyne 3 reviews from this member

 They have a big problem with dog fouling. People are letting their dogs roam free and twice in one week I had to clean dog mess from my pitch (we don't have a dog). My neighbours three year old son got dog filth all over his bike and shoes one day. The staff who are around the site all of the time on trolleys seem to just ignore roaming dogs. Otherwise a good site in a good location but this issue really lets them down. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mary0311 9 reviews from this member

 Beautiful campsite that we have stayed at many times, with no pre-bookable pitches you are free to choose where you want to stay. Would advise if you have a tourer that you stay on the 16amp pitches not the 10amp as you have to keep switching off electrical appliances so it doesn't cut out. Perfect for dog walking as Cockwood is just off of the site and you can walk down into Dawlish through the woods. Plenty of things to do on site with the Leisure facilities, although the indoor pool is really busy in peak season and looked over crowded to me. Out door pool was freezing when I tried it but to be fair it was April and it had just opened that weekend. The site is very peaceful although large and the toilet and wash up areas are spotlessly clean. Lots of places to eat and has a handy take away on site. Sainsburys is just down the road so convenient as on site shop as always is a little expensive but handy if you can't be bothered to drive anywhere. The staff are really friendly and when we got our caravan and car stuck in the mud during this years monsoon rain at easter, they pulled us out and sited us, with ease. The site is located about 3 miles from Dawlish and 6 from Teignmouth. What ever your looking to do, walking, shopping, going to a beach, it is the perfect location. Like all sites prices rise during peak season but if you choose to go in low season you can take your dogs for free. Would not hesitate to recommend this site and have just booked another week in July before the school holidays begin. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Heather2 3 reviews from this member

 Good and plentiful washrooms, spotlessly clean. Some slight road noise bot not too intrusive. Lots of dog walks. Good bar which is a bit pricey but ok. Couple of pubs serving good food in easy walking distance. Bus runs from site entrance. Lovely indoor swimming pool but avoid kids lesson times. 


Previous     229 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cofton Country Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Cofton Country Holidays have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cofton Country Holidays?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cofton Country Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dawlish      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4330 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - 12v / 240V Avtex Freeview Play Full HD TV with built-in satellite decoder worth £379!