Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Dawlish > Cofton Country Holidays Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 223 Reviews
                9/10 from 223 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  223 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Colinsrea 7 reviews from this member

I will start with the cons: We were located on the 10acre field grass pitch although there was plenty of room to the side of the caravan plenty for an awning and car the room in front of the caravan was limited to say the least.

All the pitches aren't level so you need to chock the front or side depending how you locate the van.

The chemical waste was miles away to empty could do with more as the whole site is on an hill so trudging up and down.

The only water tap and grey water was near the toilets again could do with more taps around the place.

These were only the negatives we came across.

The Pros

The toilets were spotless as were the showers which are free and not timed.

The staff were friendly and polite.

Each hookup as a light on it for night time but you do share with upto 3 other hookups socket for each and 4 breakers inside

The walking to the dog exercise field was easy to get to which our 2 dogs loved running around with other dogs.

They have 2 donkeys and a shetland pony in a paddock next to the woods which are friendly.

The swimming pool is excellent and heated.

They have a great kiddies park and an adventure park in the woods which looked like great fun for the kids.

We never used the pub or restaurant so cannot comment, but we did use the Fish & Chip shop which is overpriced for what you got so only used the once.

The area is ideal for travelling around being central, there is a Sainsbury superstore about 2 miles away, cheaper than the local shops for food and cheap petrol/diesel.

Dawlish was a great place and a beach that you can take the dogs on, watch out the for car parking charges they are expensive £1. 70 + an hour around that area, you can park at railway station but they charge for all day £4, we enjoyed our stay but remember S/Devon is very hilly and they do like their speed cameras and 20MPH speed limits.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Northern_monkey 1 review from this member

Decided to book here for the first week of summer holidays as it had the pool and other facilities.

We arrived around 4. 30 on a Saturday and able to check in straight away. We were given a no quibble refund as we did not bring our dog, which was appreciated. Shown to our pitch at the bottom of barn field by the guy in a golf buggy. Pitch was flat and looked big but we could only get our tent on the pitch sideways which meant we didnít really have a car parking space. We managed to squeeze it along the front and nobody complained.

Showers/toilets were great - we only had to queue once for shower. They seems to be cleaned regularly but there were sometimes clumps of hair in the drainage area. However, good showers and plenty of hot water.

Washing up area had plenty of sinks.

Didnít use indoor pool but outdoor pool was lovely and even I got in it and found it warm! Even though it was a hot day and the pool was busy, we managed to find a space on the grass (well straw after all the warm weather this year!)

We are at the restaurant the first night. I wanted the salmon but was told after paying there were no noodles so I had the sausage and mash. As it was a pound cheaper they gave me a portion of onion reigns that wouldíve fed the whole place! The food portions we had were good sizes and the service was cheerful despite being later in the evening.

We watched the Robbie tribute act which was fun if you like Robbie/take that.

Fish and chip takeaway on site was good.

Sainsburyís just down the road towards dawlish that has a petrol station and Argos too. Close to Dawlish Warren beach - you can walk but we didnít!

We decided to leave a day early as the weather was due to be heavy rain and gales.

The only thing was that the roads were narrow on site and it could be improved if they were made one way.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vardyne 3 reviews from this member

They have a big problem with dog fouling. People are letting their dogs roam free and twice in one week I had to clean dog mess from my pitch (we don't have a dog). My neighbours three year old son got dog filth all over his bike and shoes one day. The staff who are around the site all of the time on trolleys seem to just ignore roaming dogs. Otherwise a good site in a good location but this issue really lets them down.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mary0311 8 reviews from this member

Beautiful campsite that we have stayed at many times, with no pre-bookable pitches you are free to choose where you want to stay. Would advise if you have a tourer that you stay on the 16amp pitches not the 10amp as you have to keep switching off electrical appliances so it doesn't cut out. Perfect for dog walking as Cockwood is just off of the site and you can walk down into Dawlish through the woods. Plenty of things to do on site with the Leisure facilities, although the indoor pool is really busy in peak season and looked over crowded to me. Out door pool was freezing when I tried it but to be fair it was April and it had just opened that weekend. The site is very peaceful although large and the toilet and wash up areas are spotlessly clean. Lots of places to eat and has a handy take away on site. Sainsburys is just down the road so convenient as on site shop as always is a little expensive but handy if you can't be bothered to drive anywhere. The staff are really friendly and when we got our caravan and car stuck in the mud during this years monsoon rain at easter, they pulled us out and sited us, with ease. The site is located about 3 miles from Dawlish and 6 from Teignmouth. What ever your looking to do, walking, shopping, going to a beach, it is the perfect location. Like all sites prices rise during peak season but if you choose to go in low season you can take your dogs for free. Would not hesitate to recommend this site and have just booked another week in July before the school holidays begin.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Heather2 3 reviews from this member

Good and plentiful washrooms, spotlessly clean. Some slight road noise bot not too intrusive. Lots of dog walks. Good bar which is a bit pricey but ok. Couple of pubs serving good food in easy walking distance. Bus runs from site entrance. Lovely indoor swimming pool but avoid kids lesson times.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Conmor98 3 reviews from this member

Stopped here for 10 days and well where to start. The pitch was at the far end of the campsite in the barn field and getting there through the campsite was a job in itself. There is no speed limit well not what I could see and no pedestrian only route so the roads through the site doubled up as footpaths kids everywhere running wild so you will need to be extra vigilant. The chemical waste outlets are a joke only being 3 on the whole site and they were no where near enough. The shower/toilet blocks are excellent and modern shame you have to walk a good distance to get to them as the toilet block on the field we were at was an old prefab hut (not nice). The pitches should better divided as a small line barely visible is whats there, this enabling groups to pitch together resulting in one case 10 parties taking over one part of the field parking where they wanted so on. Security was called on numerous occasion due to the noise and after 3 days of loud music and shouting they finally quietened down staff did not seemed too bothered which was a shame.

The shop on site was probably the best I've seen well stocked and not too expensive however the bars made up for that though. The food typical pub grub was far expensive for what it was. We were charged £8. 99 for a bowl of tortilla chips with some melted cheese on it and literally a spoonful of chilli. When complained I was told basically tough. £4 for a pint of coke just a joke but I suppose you have to finance the new indoor pool somehow. This was okay but the changing rooms and lockers are just as you go in so there is always a back log of people going in, coming out and fetching the cloths to get changed.

You can see how the park has expanded over the years but the basic infrastructure needs updating before someone either crashes or gets run over because it will happen organised chaos springs to mind.

Good points are new shower/toilet blocks, good size pitches, 16 amp hook ups, good shop, ample water points

Bad points are no one way system (needs addressing), only 3 chemical waste points. Poor lighting at night especially if you need the toilet take a torch, not enough toilet/shower blocks, to many groups allowed and not policed to a good standard. Site is massive far too big for the amenities they offer and it is literally first come first served. Entertainment venue would have been ideal 5 years ago but far too small. This is a fair campsite but it could be amazing if more attention to basic rules were applied

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bigbessie 17 reviews from this member

We visited here before children's holidays and were really surprised at how busy the site is. It is some time since we had been before but it was just a mass of vans and so many were seasonal ones. Because the site is well landscaped it helps a lot but it is nothing like it used to be.

Standard of toilet cleaning which used to be amazing had lapsed and there was food in the showers in the evening and just not well serviced. What was quite worrying was that we only saw a couple of very small signs for 5mph on the Site and the worst culprits were the site staff wizzing around on their golf buggies and 4x4's etc and the bin collectors. This with so many young children on their bikes.

Very upset that we couldn't get TV where we were - it would have been nice to have been told this could happen - maybe we would be selected a serviced pitch. Staff not interested - just said it was luck of the draw.

Also only 3 chemical toilet disposal points on the 30acres of site.

The new restaurant and bar is very impressive but prices are more than local pubs.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TRAILER TRASH 1 6 reviews from this member

We love Cofton for many reasons. Its location is so convenient for lovely walks, visiting Exeter I could go on and on. The staff are so helpful and kind and the shop has everything you could want in the way of a really good convenience store. The site is quiet and peaceful with the convenience of a restaurant meal or a bar if you feel you want to eat out. For a family with youngsters the attraction is immediately obvious. Cofton is primarily designed for families with children. And it does that job amazingly well. However, if you are an older traveller they have allocated an area near the bottom of the site by the lake where they direct the golden oldies. An area with peace and tranquillity where the noisy rumbustious children rarely stray. Unfortunately although the shower and toilet block is always kept clean it is very tired and dated. We went in January and at 8am on a cold winters morning it is unwelcoming cavernous and very, very cold. We unwittingly booked on a Spring bank holiday and were amazed by the sumptuousness of the facilities in the upper fields compared to the offering near the lake. So: Dear Mr and Mrs Jefferey please spare a thought for the crinkles in the lower areas. Get that big fat wallet out and modernise the lower block. I will then get my wallet out and pay you more for your wonderful offering.

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Janey47 22 reviews from this member

I recently stayed here for 2 nights. Firstly I'd say this isn't the sort of site I'd usually choose due to its size. But I was pleasantly surprised all round. Pitches were very large and all the grounds were very tidy and well kept. The showers and toilet blocks were spotless. The restaurant was also a pleasant surprise as all the food was freshly cooked to order. I can recommend the full English breakfasts. There is an outdoor as well as an indoor pool. There are play areas for the children dotted around the site.

There is a lovely easy walk to Starcross with a cycle path to Exmouth. I intend to return with my bike sometime.

I was pitched by the fishing lakes which seemed very popular. I imagine a keen fisherman's paradise.

The reception staff were particularly helpful and welcoming. I didn't use the on site shop so I can't comment.

I will return to this site but only out of season as my children are grown up and I prefer a quieter stay. But for me out of season it's definitely on my list.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helen19 2 reviews from this member

Been back now 4 times deserves it 5 star rating

An amazing site with fabulous facilities for all to enjoy. Showers and family bathroom always clean and smell of bleach. Fab fish and chip shop on site too will look forward to returning time and time again

Previous     223 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3749 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019