Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wood Farm Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Charmouth > Wood Farm Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk ) Reviews

Wood Farm Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk )
Axminster Road
Charmouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6BT
Tel: 01297 560697
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 212
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 99 Reviews
                8/10 from 99 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dawnke 1 review from this member

 Great campsite, beautiful views and very peaceful

Facilities are excellent, very clean toilet/shower blocks with changing area in the shower cubicle,

Separate hand basins in separate cubicles that give washers some privacy

Also has a good mirror and hairdryer…. Perfect.

Beautiful lakes and walks around the site and the swimming pool is excellent and the bar is just perfect to sit and relax after a walk or swim.

A small shop to get all those little things that you might need

I would without doubt give this campsite a 9 out of 10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Junglesim 14 reviews from this member

 This is a really lovely, well cared for and maintained campsite, with generous sized and level pitches, most of which have terrific views of the beautiful undulating countryside beyond.

The manager and staff are very friendly and responsive. The indoor pool was immaculate. Due to covid restrictions there were limited numbers allowed in the pool at any one time and so one had to pre-book a time slot (which could be done a day in advance). The slots were 40mins long which was ideal (especially after being mauled for the duration by my three kids) and there was no arguing from the kids to stay longer when the lifeguard said 'everybody out!'. It created a nice end, which I would advocate them keeping post Covid restrictions.

There were three toilet/shower blocks and even though the site was full none of our contingent had to wait to wash or spend a penny. Two of the blocks had 5 or 6 heated unisex units consisting of a basin, toilet, shower (one with a bath), equipped with soap (a real boon as that is rarity in my experience and I have lost count of how many times I have spent my said penny to then realise that I have left the soap back at the tent) and hair dryer and mirror.

The other, newer block had separate male and female sections each of which had separate toilet, basin and shower cubicles. The latter block was the pick of the bunch, perhaps due to it better design, but having toilets in cubicles rather than in the same room of the shower meant that if someone was having shower or drying hair it did not mean that the toilet, being behind the same locked door, was also out-of-use, but also that the toilet cubicle floors were dry unlike the combined units which were inevitably wet due to the showers.

There are some great walks to do from the campsite, but one word of caution, several of the coastal paths that you'll see on the current OS maps are un-passable due to purposeful neglect (i. E. Weeds left to overgrow) as the land owners understandably want to do what they can to limit coast erosion In such cases there are well marked diversions and I do suggest that you take them.

As for the environs, Charmouth, outside the costal area, in my opinion, is rather small and uninteresting, but I would very much recommend the local bakery which prides itself on simple products well done for reasonable prices. Lyme Regis though, is a must. It contains old world charm and is not garish in anyway and certainly has no pretence; it has everything you'll need from a seaside resort and is a beautiful setting.

The only negative for me about the campsite, and this is not something the site managers can do anything about, is the noise from the adjacent A35. It is certainly not overbearing, but is always there, so if you are a camper/tourer that demands perfect quiet then it would annoy you, but for most, I suspect, like for us, it would be fine.

As others have mentioned, the site itself, despite having the trappings of a 'resort' does still feel like a traditional campsite (which is a massive positive). It is certainly top-end in terms quality among UK sites, 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Margie3 3 reviews from this member

 Thought I would leave a current review of this site as when I was looking at reviews to possibly book, there were no recent ones!

We had 5 nights at this lovely site and would highly recommend it.

We had some Caravan and Motorhome Club vouchers to use and this park kindly accepted them when a different affiliated site would not. So first good point!

The site is well laid out and while big, does not feel so owing to the different areas and terracing. Views were great from most pitches of far reaching countryside.

We had a standard unserviced pitch which was generous and well kept.

The toilet/shower facilities were fantastic, each large room having a toilet, shower, wash basin, heater and hair drier. So much room to move around in and keep everything dry! They were extremely clean and perfect for the current social distancing!

Two blocks meant no queues either.

The shop was adequate for most basics including a daily newspaper and the staff were extremely helpful and courteous.

We did not use the indoor pool but it looked great, as did the indoor play area which was currently closed.

Unfortunately the visiting curry van had problems during our stay so did not appear but we were told of this to enable alternative food arrangements (an Indain takeaway delivered from Lyme Regis!)

We did make use of the fish and chip van and the meal was superb.

Plenty of walks from the site, both Charmouth and Lyme Regis reachable. We also made use of the bus service to Bridport and West Bay, the stop being a short walk from the site entrance.

This obviously means that background road noise can be heard from this site but we did not find it at all obtrusive and the advantages outweigh this easily.

We highly recommend this site and found it perfect for our short break and it was also extremely good value for money! 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pnwnhm 1 review from this member

 Yes it’s clean and the staff are great but it’s as noisy as staying in a motorway service station.

We booked for a week and stayed for one night - not a relaxing place to stay at all. T

he staff were sympathetic, and we wrote to the directors who could not be bothered to reply. There are much better places to stay 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: minddhyg 17 reviews from this member

 Wood Farm is very pleasant with pitches on different levels. All the facilities are well up to the standard of C&MC. We never used the indoor pool or cafe/ bar but they look very good.

The bus stops almost outside the site, the service is good and you can go almost anywhere in either direction, by connections or direct - very handy for bus passes.

This is a very beautiful part of the Dorset coast and some of the scenery is breathtaking. If you like walking then take the coastal route into Lyme Regis and follow the route from the campsite leaflet.

There's a Fish and Chip van on Monday's and Curry Spice on Tuesday's. The weather was awful but we still enjoyed our stay and would stop again.

There is one downside to the site though in that it can be noisy being situated right alongside the A35 dual carriageway. The local bikers and hot car enthusiasts do use it as a speed trial road.

That is a shame because otherwise the site is good in it's location and facilities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Joynpete 4 reviews from this member

 Had an excellent short stay on this lovely site. We booked a premium pitch which was perfect for our needs. The site is very well maintained with great views over the valley.

The facilities were very good. Although we didn't use the swimming pool it looked really nice with staff in attendance. There is a small cafe and outdoor seating area adjacent to the pool and to the outside playground, and although not applicable to us, it would be ideal for parents keeping an eye on the kids whilst enjoying a coffee or something more interesting!

As we were right at the end of the season the site was relatively quiet. Different types of food seem to be available in the evenings - during our stay it was a curry night.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and sorted us out with bus details to Lyme Regis. The shop stocked the usual supplies, and probably even more in the season. We will certainly return and recommend to friends. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrscmb 52 reviews from this member

 This is a well run campsite set in a hillside location with fabulous views of the surrounding countryside. It was our first visit and we were given a very warm welcome from Stella. The rest of the staff were always available and friendly. Reception has a small shop selling essentials including bread rolls daily which were very fresh. Mobile food vans call on different evenings – we tried the fish & chips and also the wood fired pizzas. Both were excellent quality and very tasty.

The showers and toilets were kept very clean (although a large mat might help the cleaners just inside the main door to stop muddy footprints being walked through). The showers are a good size with a large shelf (come seat) and plenty of hooks. There are also some private shower rooms with toilet and handbasin. The laundry facilities are good and I especially appreciated the use of a spin dryer for my hand washing. Very thoughtful.

We didn’t use the pool or café so can’t comment on either, but appreciated the fact these amenities were provided. The children’s playground looked very good and there is also a tennis court and outdoor draughts.

The location is fantastic – a 20 minute walk to Charmouth beach (be prepared for the uphill return) and bus stops just past the roundabout with the A35.

Unfortunately not everything was good. The wifi was very intermittent and we had just used the same service the previous week on a hilly site in North Devon with 100% reception which rather highlighted the poor signal at Wood Farm.

The worst thing for us was the pitch itself. We had a standard pitch near the road running through the site. It was far too near the road for comfort but worse than that it wasn’t level. When you see a concrete base you assume it will be level but this was from it. The rain drained under our awning and the gravel area designed for the awning was a good 3” below the concrete base making the step into our caravan very difficult.

We walked round the site looking at other pitches and it appeared that a lot of the standard pitches were the same – no end of caravans had to put lots of blocks under the steadies at one end in order to be level. Awnings don’t fit well when one end of the caravan is a lot higher than the other – and there were plenty of awnings pulled into a strange shape, including ours. The premium pitches are all weather pitches and looked ok - it is such a shame that a lovely site like Wood Farm is spoilt by so many unlevel pitches.

I would love to return to this site as it has a lot going for it, but would be very wary of what pitch I would be allocated. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Valvelifter 10 reviews from this member

 We booked a two week stay at this site on the strength of several good reviews. On arrival, we were dismayed at the very small and steeply sloped pitch that we were allocated. Looking around the site there seem to be two classes of pitch: A fully serviced pitch which looks like a normal sized pitch for an average sized caravan and is level, and the non-serviced pitch. Ours was a non-serviced pitch. It consisted of a concrete apron less than two thirds the length of our two berth caravan. It was impossible to get the jockey wheel and all four corner steadies on the concrete. We elected to have the jockey wheel and front corner steadies on the concrete along with the caravan wheels. The rear steadies were on the grass. Furthermore, the pitch was unacceptably sloped with the front of the van more than two feet above the ground and the rear almost touching the grass with the rear steadies only wound down two turns. The approach to the pitch required mounting a kerb and driving up a steep grassy slope on the first pitch we were offered. And on the second pitch we had to drive over the adjacent vacant pitch to get the caravan positioned successfully. The management keep some wooden blocks for loan for sloping pitches and looking around the site, several pitches were steeply sloped. In practical terms, unless your caravan is fitted with a motor mover or you choose a fully serviced pitch don't book this site if you value your car's clutch. The excessive slope of the pitch meant I had to buy extra hose to use my Wastemaster and they charged an exorbitant price for it it the on site shop. The management offered to pitch another customer's caravan using a small tractor and wrecked his jockey wheel, dragging it over soft grass in the process. He complained and they replaced it for him.

The weather was unseasonably cool on some days and the shower rooms were unheated even though there were radiators fitted. The showers were not always as clean as they could be.

The site advertises good tv reception but we found it very poor with far less channels that we expect and achieve on other sites.

There is a games room with a pool table but several of the balls were missing. The management's response to a complaint about it was 'well there were lots of children in last week'.

There is an on site indoor swimming pool but this is not for the exclusive use of site residents and was rather over crowded at weekends. There are other facilities; fishing, tennis courts, giant draughts etc but everything is charged for.

The site is in a good location, less than a mile from Charmouth village centre and about two miles from Lyme Regis but aside from that, I found little to recommend it and we will not be returning to this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lms0110 50 reviews from this member

 Very helpful staff before we even arrived as we rang to postpone the trip then a day later had a change of heart and they rearranged it back to accommodate us. First impression was a lovely clean site on various landscaped levels with fabulous views over the hills. Two large off lead areas for the dogs, clean amenities block. Didn't use the pool. Lovely to have a safe walk into Lyme Regis via the redirected coast path along the pavement for a short time then across the golf course and down a back lane into Lyme, fabulous seaside town, had a lovely meal in The Pilot, and the dogs can go on the beaches at each far end, the better beach being the one between Lyme and Charmouth. Not a lot in Charmouth and the weekly market is full of tat, nice paddle for the dogs in the river, we then walked across the beach back to Lyme Regis. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doverover 30 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, certainly lives up to all the reviews.

Friendly staff, escorted to our pitch and given all the usual directions.

Showers very clean and plenty of hot water.

Curries, Pizza's and Fish and chips share the honours for on-site visits, only day not catered for is Thursday so we had to fend for ourselves - dreadful.

Easy access from main road and all level pitches.

Right in the middle of fossil country which is why we went.

Didn't use the pool but it looked nice and the food at the café overlooking the pool was of good quality and a reasonable price.

Yes, would definitely visit again. 


Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wood Farm Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wood Farm Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wood Farm Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wood Farm Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Charmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3260 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement