Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mother Iveys Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Padstow > Mother Iveys Bay Holiday Park Reviews

Mother Iveys Bay Holiday Park
Trevose Head
Padstow
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL28 8SL
Tel: 01841 520990
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vangelina 21 reviews from this member

 This is our favourite Cornish Site due to its spectacular location. We were blessed with sun and loved our walks around Trevose Headland.

Site is immaculately kept and the flowers are beautiful.

We visit twice a year outside school holidays.

Itís a great base for good restaurants and gastro pubs as long as you book early. Canít wait to return in September.

Only negatives are it gets booked up quickly due to its popularity and the WIFi is not site universal. We still love it though. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alibodge 4 reviews from this member

 This was an immaculately kept campsite. Rather smarter than we usually stayed at on our walking trip but just fabulous.

Toilet blocks - impeccable, Showers - hot, staff - friendly.

We loved the amazing flowers in the walls, the beach.

Thank you for a great trip and for being right on the coast path! 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Headed to the area rather than this site in particular and on arrival and after a quick look at both; we chose this one over it's neighbour. We were given a choice of pitches and ended up with a great view over the bay and the lifeboat station.

We initially paid for one night, but stayed three as reception said we could just pop back each morning if we wanted to extend our stay. Facilities were excellent and kept clean. The on-site shop was very well stocked for the time of year and also getting the fresh pasties delivered each day from the Chough bakery was a really nice treat to be able to conveniently buy to take out walking. The flowers and green spaces around the site were nicely maintained and added to the good feel of the site.

That said it's too big/busy a site for us to visit in peak season, but out of season, I can see this becoming a firm favourite. It is priced on the expensive side, but we opted for non-EHU to keep the price down.

So all-in-all a great site that I just hope doesn't price us out of visiting more often. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Newnatjj 25 reviews from this member

 Two adults, two kids (aged 16 & 14) plus dog, Outwell Corvette 7ac tent & EHU.

Great online booking system - was able to select pitch on booking.

Arrived after a hair raising drive towing our trailer down some very testing Cornish lanes a little earlier than check in, however friendly, helpful staff allowed us to pitch early after our long drive.

We were pitched on The Meadows; a large field specifically for tents (electric & non electric) and had a wonderful view of Trevose Headland. Our pitch fit our very large tent, trailer and car, leaving room for us to sit out too. It was the furthest from the facilities, with quite a walk! It was very windy especially through the night here.

The location of the site is amazing. The private beach and walks directly from the tent was beyond expectations; the beach now being one of my favorite spots in Cornwall!

We could have quite happily and easily spent the whole two weeks without having to move off site, but we did venture out and just a short drive from Padstow, about half an hour from Newquay and lots of fabulous beaches in the area.

This however is a large site with not enough facilities to cope with its guests. There are not enough showers/toilets/washing up facilities and the few that there is are not cleaned nearly enough. With the very expensive fees (cost us over £600 for two weeks!) they really need to invest their profits into hiring (lots) more staff to keep up with the cleaning of the facilities and provide more facilities.

Fabulous play park on The Meadows for the little ones to play on, a WiFi room, lots of information provided in the launderette and a great shop selling just about anything you may need.

Loved the location, customer service, child friendliness and atmosphere; didn't like the facilities so much and it is very expensive. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rbedwards 11 reviews from this member

 An excellent visit. Easy booking and confirmation. Friendly welcome, pitch available as booked and described. Late in the season so not many units there, lots of space and quiet. Toilet and shower facilities first class, regularly inspected and cleaned, lots of hot water!

Terrific location, straight onto the Coast Path for walking.

A beautifully kept site, highly recommended at this time of year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jacquies 3 reviews from this member

 This is our 4th yearly visit here and it is still the best site we have stayed in in Cornwall.

We had a super pitch this year so we had loads of space.

The location is fantastic with its own private beach and so lovely that there were barbecues arranged on the beach every Wednesday evening to raise funds for the Padstow Lifeboat and everybody who attends has lots of fun and it is like one huge party.

Lots of interesting coastal walks and you can walk up to the lifeboat station which is open daily for you to visit.

Lovely clean facilities with plenty of hot water. Never had to wait for a shower but had to wait couple of times to use washing up area which was'nt a problem.

Staff lovely, friendly and helpful. The site is kept immaculate. The shop is well stocked, can be a little expensive but the best thing is the fresh bread, cakes and pasties delivered daily.

Mobile signal is very poor but who cares you are on holiday!

The only disappointing thing is they have changed their booking procedures for 2016 and after having waited 4 years for a super pitch we cannot get one for next year plus we tried to get a normal pitch with electricity and cannot get one at all in the dates we can take our holiday so doubtful if we will get to Mother ivey's in 2016 which makes me feel incredibly sad. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Haynew 12 reviews from this member

 This site is beautiful and very well kept. In an area called seven coves but 5 miles or so from Padstow. The site has a lovely shop with hot pasties on a Saturday, but no bar. In fact the nearest bar is well over a mile away along the coastal path. Site is perfect for families and has its own playground, iit has its own beach, which looked lovely. Just a bit too far out of Padstow for us and very expensive at £39 with 2 dogs per night! We drove to the Padstow park and ride which had a regular bus service at £4 for the car and bus travel into town free this was a great service. We also visited Port Isaac (doc Martin) Which we really enjoyed, use the main car park at the top of the hill as parking is limited in the village. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sportbilly999 4 reviews from this member

 The location of this site is supurb. Great private and safe beach for all the family. The staff friendly and a well stocked shop. However. I don't understand the ratings criteria as the shower block was beyond being tired/dated. There was mould, the only ventilation came from the doors being open, sand on the floor in the toilet cubicles was there from the start of our stay and remained there when we left 6 days later. I went into the Family showers, thinking that these might be an improvement but water took ages to heat up and the floor and bowls were dirty. Not great if you have to encourage young children to keep clean.

The sanitiser lotion had run out in both the chemical deposit area and the ladies toilet and was never replaced

There were clear signs that wet suits were to be washed in a separate area and not in the shower blocks. Great. However, when I tried to use it there was no water. This was listed as a 5 star site and I am sorry to say but I have stayed in 3 and 4 star places which have been far and above better than these facilities. The location of the site is definitely a winner. Before putting this review on I did write to the campsite - but have heard nothing back - after 9 days. The only communication I have had is whether I want to rebook for next year!

Very disappointed - you spend a long time working for your holiday and so want a good experience - this was sadly lacking

Let's face it when you are in a Tourer - the shower and toilet facilities are very important 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Merryways 9 reviews from this member

 We followed the sites directions to the site, using their 'towing' route as we have a large van, and this still involved very narrow windy roads and a trip through the golf course. Apparently the other route has bends too tight for large or towing vehicles.

The site itself is immaculately kept with beautiful flowers and shrubs. We were in The Green as had asked for recommendations for the best sea view. We could see Mother Ivey's Bay as well as Boobys Bay so were very pleased.

Our pitch was large but if all pitches were full (in high season) then manoeuvring could be difficult and it could feel crowded. As it was, we had plenty of space.

Reception and shop staff were all very friendly and helpful. There are no shops in walking distance and no buses but the site shop was well stocked and had fresh bakery goods every day and a good selection of fresh meat. The also offered to order anything in that we may want for our BBQ etc.

There was a huge children's park with zip wires etc and a football pitch.

Toilets and showers were good, with covered dishwashing areas and wetsuit wash. The family shower rooms were spacious and had baby change tables as well as those strap-in seats.

The private beach is idyllic and you are allowed to have BBQs there. Dogs are also allowed. The sea in this bay was much calmer than around at Boobys Bay where the surfers go. Boobys beach is accessed via a short walk through the golf course.

There was almost no phone signal. Wifi was available but expensive. There was free wifi in the Harlyn Inn a short walk away along the coastal path, and this pub does great food.

We would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mummyg 2 reviews from this member

 This is the best campsite I have ever stayed at!

Location was perfect (10 minutes from Padstow) with beautiful scenery and the most wonderful sandy beach within two minutes of our pitch. We visited the beach everyday and introduced the children to body boarding which they loved! I would recommend taking wetsuits as the sea is cold! You can hire them there if you prefer - at the time of writing it was £8 a day for adults and £5 a day for children. They also do weekly rates. You are not allowed open fires on the beach but you can bbq - we saw many people doing this late afternoon/early evening when the beach was quieter.

There is a brand new to 2013 wooden play park (located near the Meadow's field). The children loved this - especially the zip wire! Plenty for all ages - slide, pirate ship to climb on, various swings and rocking type equipment. My youngest liked the wooden campervan (a squeeze for me to climb in but I managed it!)

The beauty of this site, for me, is there is no evening entertainment/music/bar/kids clubs etc. So it a peaceful site that doesn't attract hoards of young weekend campers! Whilst we were there they did have a BBQ on the beach (every Wednesday during the summer) to raise funds for the Lifeboat.

Facilities - There is a little shop which sells all the basics and was not too expensive. Daily fresh bread and pasties are delivered to the shop from a local bakery. They also sell chilled wine -perfect - and ice creams for the children. A launderette (which we didn't use) is also on site and cost £5 a cycle (this included washing powder and the drums were huge!)as well as the Reception which has many leaflets on local attractions. The staff are also very friendly and helpful. There is a chemical disposal area for toilets, plenty of washing up facilities, toilets and showers. I liked the family showers as it was easy to shower myself and my two children at the same time without feeling squashed! We only had to wait for a shower once (although we didn't shower at peak times)and the wait was a short one. We occasionally had to wait for a space at the washing up sinks, but again only for a short while and it's a great way to talk to other campers! Toilets and showers were cleanish and a bit dated. There was often sand on the floor (which can't be helped considering how close the site is to a beach!) We showered in flip flops so it didn't matter but I would have liked to have seen a squeegee (if there is such a word!)so that I could wipe away the previous persons soap/sand. Usually one is provided at campsites and it is common etiquette to clean the floor at the end of your shower. There is also an outside wetsuit shower. Water (grey and drinking) and bins were a plenty around the site and you are encouraged to recycle.

We pitched in 'The Square' which was really sheltered and had a nice 'community' feel about it as it was not too big. I chose my pith by looking at their online map and using Google maps - you can zoom right in!

There are some lovely coastal walks that you can take from the site, my husband even went for an early morning run.

There is terrible phone coverage here (not a bad thing!) but I was able to call out and send messages - you see a lot of people at the entrance to the site where coverage is best! Wi-Fi is available but is expensive and I have to say I felt that it should have been free. It would have been different if this was a cheap site but it is one of the most expensive per night places I have stayed at and I felt the cost should include this.

As I have just mentioned, not the cheapest place to stay but it is certainly worth it and we are planning on visiting again next year. The fact that the first three campers we met and spoke to were regular visitors (one has been coming for the last 12 years!) spoke volumes!

Beautiful and worth a visit! 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mother Iveys Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mother Iveys Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Mother Iveys Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Padstow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2806 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement