Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Ravenglass Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ravenglass > Ravenglass Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Ravenglass Camping And Caravanning Club Site
A595
Ravenglass
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA18 1SR
Tel: 01229 717250
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 06/02 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 148 Reviews
                9/10 from 148 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  148 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LozzaS5 21 reviews from this member

 Delightful well run wooded site above C&C good standards.

Clean, organised, plenty of space, mostly but not all level pitches, nice wooded hillside very close to Ravenglass with three pub eataries.

Enjoy coming here every couple of years.

Minor criticism is lack of third shower cubicle but only when busy an issue. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Njwinn 4 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome to this busy site. Flat pitch, clearly defined with plenty of room.

Site full at this time of year and clearly very popular. Facilities very clean and well maintained. Easy walk to local pubs for good food.

The Ratty is 10mins and very welcoming.

More expensive that other sites we have stated on but we will return. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HulaHulaAbi 1 review from this member

 With my family in a tent and our friends in a caravan we got to experience all the wonderful features at this campsite. Situated round the corner from the Ravenglass Railway this site is the perfect location for families.

In the midst of a baking hot summer of 2018, we went during the one dodgy week of the heatwave. However this certainly didn't dampen our spirits. Excellent shower facilities and washing facilities and I can't think of a better location.

My only gripe is a lack of a good grocery shop. The nearest store (Co-op) is a 10 minute drive away. However, we did order an Asda online delivery - which was an inspired idea and one I'd highly recommend! 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pulster 4 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant greeting by staff on arrival and quickly shown to our pitch.

Not masses of tents on site and ample sized pitch for our Dutch Pyramid between some trees. Though the ground is rather sloped. We were thankful for the shelter provided by the trees and hedges when storm Hector reared his ugly head.

Facilities are a bit dated compared to some CCC sites but they are immaculate and no silly push button showers, though only 2 showers in the male's washrooms and no private washbasins.

Lots to do in area and the small steam railway offers value for money as it gives you 50% off at Ullswater Steamers on production of your train ticket.

No children play area so not many kids on site.

Local pubs offer good food, Ratty Arms especially good. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Athers 7 reviews from this member

 Very welcoming site on approach and the staff very friendly and helpful

This site is for the camper who wants to get away from it all very quiet and peaceful. Facilities are a little scarce only 2 showers each for male and female but on the positive side they are spotless all the time.

The site is a small stroll to the village of Ravensglass it has some really nice views of the estuary and surrounding area, the village has a couple of pubs which are very friendly and both serve food.

The village has a station to take you up the line to Carlisle, also the miniature railway and station are well worth a visit, the station has a cafe which serves really good food. Take a trip on the miniature railway which is good fun and dog friendly well worth a pleasant afternoon. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 42 reviews from this member

 We had a call from the site a couple of days before we were due to arrive: 'Are you quite sure you want to do this? In a tent? You can have a full refund if you think better of it. ' Slightly anxious, we arrived at dusk. All the tent pitches were deep in wet, slushy mud but the very helpful warden had picked out a drier spot next to the track up at the top of the site. Being the only nutters in the tent area we could park on the track so the car didn't sink.

The rain started as we were pitching and we had to cut some corners getting the awning on as the pitter-patter grew into a torrent. The wind suddenly doubled at about 9pm, so out I went to sort out my dodgy pegging. Once we were windproof and dry we had the full benefit of having doubled up the EHU. There's a certain amount of shelter from the bare trees and the lie of the land, but we needed our plastic delta pegs.

Next day the wind swung round through almost 180 degrees - more re-pegging - before dropping off. In the icy, still, clear nights birds would congregate in the trees above our tent to get the rising heat, and crap liberally all over us. Hmm, perhaps I should have slung a tarp over the top.

More about the site: it's muddy in the wet. No amount of drainage can help much with claggy, peaty topsoil in wet weather, but the paths are clear and firm. The wardens spend a lot of time keeping the drains free and, evidently, cleaning the facilities. They are miraculously spotless.

The water is wonderfully and endlessly hot. The showers (six between 75 pitches) are the real thing - no push buttons of doom - and the shower heads are those dial-a-squirt adjustable ones, ranging from drenching to flagellating. Whoever had been in mine before me must've been trying to atone for something really very naughty.

There's plenty of room to change, a slatted wooden seat and five (count 'em) double hooks in each cubicle, while there's a step down into the shower itself so you don't flood the changing area. Genius. A very large double radiator means you can even warm your towel. There is no condensation at all thanks to two loud, hugely effective extractor fans.

The washing up area is excellent, with three double drainer sinks in a warm and comfortable, well lit room. The laundry area is small but very well equipped.

The shop-cum-reception is bright, well heated and useful. Buy the Cartmel sticky toffee pudding. Depending on which warden is manning the desk, you may be able to freeze your own ice blocks, or you may be required to hire the site's own for stupid amounts of money, plus deposit. Much cheaper and easier to buy a bag of ice.

Assuming you're here to do some walking, there's a good first walk over Muncaster Fell right out of the site entrance: turn left, take in the roman bath house, take another left and keep going uphill; then drop down to Irton Road station and catch La'al Ratty back.

The roads south of Whitehaven are hard work, so it's a schlep to any big supermarkets - Millom for Tesco, or Whitehaven for various. Be sure to nip down to Wabberthwaite for R B Woodall's Cumberland sausages.

We were adopted by Mildred, the neighbourhood ginger cat. S/he is very companionable but has no shame when it comes to food and tried to nick our bacon right from the grill pan. The sheep in the next field have hilarious, flatulent-sounding “baa”s, and owls hoot pleasingly. Other noises of note: the Type 37 diesels which haul some of the main line trains are spectacularly loud - we thought a Chinook was landing - and occasional artillery practice at Eskmeals gun range.

In summary, we had a wonderful time thanks to the flexibility and excellent organisation of the site. I wonder how well the facilities cope when it is full, though. We wanted to visit the Lake District but avoid the crowds, and Ravenglass was easily the best option for February tent camping. There’s masses to do in the area and we barely scratched the surface, so I hope we’ll be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 32 reviews from this member

 We last visited this site four years ago. There have been changes and not all for the good. Time in reception on arrival was pleasant and efficient. Unfortunately we were not feeling the love once we got to our allocated pitch.

There had been a lot of rain. Nobody can help the weather. What can be helped however, is drainage and clearly on this site, there isn't any. Perhaps when marsh grass grows around the site someone at the CCC should reconsider how investment should be handled there? Even basic soak aways would help, particularly on the pitches.

The site is situated on a slope. Hard standing pitches are level. The grass could not even be walked upon without a real sinking feeling so a tent in these conditions would have been an unhappy experience.

Our allocated hard standing pitch was basically a pond and was not suitable for our unit. We have one of the new rear entry, rear awning Swift Basecamps. Apparently we should have informed them of this when booking. As the booking had been made through the CCC call centre and the type of caravan and awning specifically mentioned, I was little upset about this and said so, because I was told by the call centre that the type of unit was irrelevant, it would fit! Clearly it was not going to fit on this pitch. Eventually after I resorted to pleading we were offered another pitch. This new one wasn't a pond however, the outskirts of it on the sloping grass, were starting to take on pond like features!

We experienced some nights of heavy rain whilst there for nine nights. Every pathway and the road around the site was a paddling pool. This is why I made the comments about bad drainage. After 5 nights some fresh gravel was laid on one of the pathways, which made things slightly better the next time it rained.

At over £30 a night for two of us in September I expect better. One thing I have noticed in recent times is that owners of private sites have a can do attitude when it comes to their customers, where as the CCC site staff have 'hmm, can't do that' attitude.

The facilities are still kept very clean and I love the showers there. No push buttons. The hot water in the washing up room is beautifully hot.

Still a quiet site and it is in a lovely location. The village is just a few minutes walk away with three drinking establishments, a tea room, a post office run by a man who actually doesn't want your business (!) and of course the Ratty railway. Lots of lovely walks and beaches very close by. The camp shop still sells lovely local bacon and sausages.

We enjoyed our holiday there but would I return to the site? Not unless there is some major infrastructural investment with regard to drainage, no. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nomadyane 6 reviews from this member

 I love the coastal Lake District - best of both worlds, mountains and sea. This is a very pleasant site, which I last visited ten years ago. All changes since then have been for the better.

Quiet (even in late July), friendly (wardens and other users), beautifully maintained. I was offered a choice of pitches on arrival for my 4-night stay and chose one which was sheltered but also had good sunshine. Others have reviewed the local facilities.

One thing - the Ratty Arms can get very busy - I was advised a 45min to 1 hour wait for food, but at least they told me before I had ordered. The Pennington provided me with the same meal for only £3 more - plenty of room and hardly any wait.

To sit outside the Holly with a good pint and watch the sun setting over the estuary must be one of the best ways to end an evening! 


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Piggle28 23 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights between Christmas and New Year

Lovely little site with very friendly wardens

It was very busy and there was only 1 toilet/shower block open, however I obviously timed it well as walked straight into the shower but there was a queue by the time I came out as although there were plenty of toilets there were only 2 showers.

Walked to the ravensglass and eskdale railway which happily was operating, a lovely 45 minute each way narrow gauge journey, ours was diesel hauled but most are steam and had a fab lunch in the cafe when we returned.

Had a walk by the sea which was lovely. There is a pub very local (The Ratty Arms) but had brought stuff with us so never used it. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 79 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Ravenglass for 4 nights in mid September 2016 having been advised that the coastal location would be ideal for us after 10 days in the central Lake District at Torver & Borrowdale.

Others have described the site in great detail and we would generally agree with their comments. Whilst the site was pretty full during our stay, we never had a wait to use the showers – perhaps a dowsing in mid afternoon after a walk is the best time to visit!

We used the narrow gauge railway to get up to Dalegarth & walked back by the river back to Eskdale Green station to pick up the train again – lunch being taken at The George V pub in the village.

Opportunities to let the dog loose were limited as the fields were plentiful with sheep. However, he did get a good run on the beach/estuary mudflats when the tides allowed [we were almost stranded at one point when we misjudged the incoming tide – clambering up the sea defences was required!].

Having waited until the end of our stay to visit The Pennington hotel, the ale choice was disappointing [only two on display and one of them was “off”] but The Ratty Arms was much better – 5 real ales on offer and a “pub grub” menu. Next time we will know where to visit for our refreshments! 


Previous     148 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ravenglass Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ravenglass Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Ravenglass Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ravenglass      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4671 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements