Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ravenglass Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Ravenglass > Ravenglass Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Ravenglass Camping And Caravanning Club Site
A595
Ravenglass
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA18 1SR
Tel: 01229 717250
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 70
Open: 06/02/2024 to 02/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 155 Reviews
                9/10 from 155 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Katiefphillip 1 review from this member

 Really well managed, clean and superbly maintained site. New showers, heated floors, even a dog wash area. Great location.

5 minutes walk from the site we found a fantastic pub, CAMRA winner, called The Inn at Ravenglass.

Dog friendly. Food was superb. Local fresh produce. Fish, burgers, lambÖ not too much on the menu which is always a good sign!

Great service and atmosphere too! Also Ratty Arms, also dog friendly and good standard pub food, really welcoming and great service. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brenda 1 review from this member

 Nice peaceful site. Very clean. Friendly helpful staff.

Missing a playground.

Very handy for Ravenglass.

We didn't need to use the van to get to the local attractions 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iansails 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of May, glorious weather.

Site was very quiet, very clean, and well managed.

A bit of a walk down the slope for the loos, washrooms etc. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 257 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- From the A595 watch out for signs to Ravenglass and take road into village. In a few hundred metres turn left at brown camping sign and through stone gate posts and site is on left in about 20 metres.

This rustic, wooded site with its unmettled roads reminds me of a few French and German sites I have been on. The site is quite hilly and the 55 or so hardstanding pitches spur off the site roads and are generally level.

At the top end of the site there is an area for tents. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16 amps and use blue CEE17 connectors. Some of the electrical bollards have TV connections but according to the site staff these are not supported and are a left over from the previous private owners.

There is one central toilet block which is functional rather than luxurious. The block contains a small laundry room and a covered washing up area. The only chemical emptying point is next to the toilet block.

There are numerous water and grey waste disposal points around the site. The motorhome service point has an open grill grey water disposal but it is fairly small so positioning would be crucial. There is free site wide Wi-Fi although I found this rather slow, using my own 4G data was much quicker. The site has a few Camping Pods for hire.

It is only a short walk, via a handy footpath, into Ravenglass. On the way you pass a small childrenís playground. As you approach the railway bridge you can take a right which will bring you to the Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway.

It is a 15-inch narrow gauge railway. On site there is also a small Museum which is free to enter, there is also a cafe. There is also a mainline station for stops north and south along the coast. There are several pubs in the village which do meals and a Tea Shop.

There appears to be no other shops so you may have to venture further afield to top up supplies. 


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ralty6 1 review from this member

 Nice site with plenty of room between pitches.

Not a lot in the area if your in need of a rest and donít mind a drive itís a good base to stay.

The inn at Ravenglass serves a nice pint and you can sit out on a nice evening. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Firecrest13 5 reviews from this member

 Second time on this site. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The site is lovely with lots of bird song and well maintained. We did not use the showers but they were very clean and we never saw any queues.

No shop within walking distance so come prepared. Sadly, one of our favourite pubs has now closed, The Inn at Ravenglass. The Ratty Arms and The Pennington are still going strong. We did not eat in Ravenglass this time, but the beer in both pubs is good. The staff are excellent, very friendly and obliging.

We always have a trip or two on The Ratty. You must book online until 12th June then they are awaiting government announcements. The staff are wonderful and I wish people would remember they are all volunteers! Most people are respectful but I did see one example of obnoxious behaviour. We tried the icecream for the first time and it is gorgeous. They are not baking at the moment so could not buy the lemon meringue pie to take back to the van. :-( Hopefully they will start again soon. L

Ovely walk from Ravenglass over Muncaster fells to Eskdale and Boot. Great pubs in Boot with wonderful staff who cannot do enough for you.

All the area is dog friendly as is La'al Ratty. We obtained discounted prices for the site as members of the club. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Meter rat 4 reviews from this member

 First time at this site. This was a try out for us, as we have never had a caravan with a shower and toilet. The site facilities were closed, due to Corvid19, so I cannot comment on them.

Site wardens were really nice and helpful and kept the site spotless. They didn't even mind us using our wood stove in the awning, telling us the local bylaws.

Pitches are a bit uneven, but not a problem. Nice walk to the village, the Ratty train, and some pleasant evenings in the Ratty Pub, talking to the locals.

Definitely will use this site again. We were a bit disappointed about the cost, but that is down to the Caravan and Camping Club, so had to mark it down for that. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LozzaS5 32 reviews from this member

 Delightful well run wooded site above C&C good standards.

Clean, organised, plenty of space, mostly but not all level pitches, nice wooded hillside very close to Ravenglass with three pub eataries.

Enjoy coming here every couple of years.

Minor criticism is lack of third shower cubicle but only when busy an issue. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Njwinn 4 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome to this busy site. Flat pitch, clearly defined with plenty of room.

Site full at this time of year and clearly very popular. Facilities very clean and well maintained. Easy walk to local pubs for good food.

The Ratty is 10mins and very welcoming.

More expensive that other sites we have stated on but we will return. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HulaHulaAbi 1 review from this member

 With my family in a tent and our friends in a caravan we got to experience all the wonderful features at this campsite. Situated round the corner from the Ravenglass Railway this site is the perfect location for families.

In the midst of a baking hot summer of 2018, we went during the one dodgy week of the heatwave. However this certainly didn't dampen our spirits. Excellent shower facilities and washing facilities and I can't think of a better location.

My only gripe is a lack of a good grocery shop. The nearest store (Co-op) is a 10 minute drive away. However, we did order an Asda online delivery - which was an inspired idea and one I'd highly recommend! 


Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Ravenglass Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ravenglass Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Ravenglass Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ravenglass      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56713 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement