Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Alders Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Alne > Alders Caravan Park Reviews

Alders Caravan Park
Home Farm
Alne
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO61 1RY
Tel: 01347 838722
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beejayok 1 review from this member

 Had been at this site in 2016 and thoroughly enjoyed the setting and the facilities. These haven't changed but unfortunately I think this will be my last visit due to, in my opinion, the unfair price hike.

In 2016 we paid 20/night for a caravan + hook up for 2 adults.

This year the price went up 20% to 24. When I asked why I was told that it should have been 22 but the decision had been made to charge all caravans a price to include awnings. The site would no longer differentiate between caravans with or without awnings.

So not having an awning for our caravan meant that we faced a bigger price increase than those with awnings. Please understand that it's not the price I object to but the fact that caravans without an awning are being charged the same as those with an awning.

I have never come across this before at other sites and don't think it can be justified. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dirkster 1 review from this member

 Our first time at The Alders and what a fantastic find! We enquired at last minute and we're lucky enough to get a pitch due to a cancellation. Whether via the phone or face to face, everyone we encountered were genuinely friendly and helpful.

The lovely, level pitches are very nicely arranged in clusters and every one has loads of space around them. Despite being declared full it wasn't at all crowded.

Toilet and shower facilities were excellent and kept spotlessly clean. People are obviously working hard behind the scenes.

We will definitely return to The Alders and it will be great to see it in late spring or summer once all the leaves are out and the cricket season has started.

In short; quiet, clean, friendly and secure. What's not to like! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Boxertwin69 13 reviews from this member

 Peaceful, well-kept site. Easy to find & a short drive away from the excellent Park & Ride facility on the A19. Friendly staff. Showers & loos perhaps not as clean as they could have been, but that's a minor complaint. 20p for hot water to wash your dishes is disappointing on top of 43/night for a pod, but at least hot showers are free. Camping pods clean & well-insulated but are basically small sheds with a radiator, 2 lights & a double wall socket (no bunks, just a carpeted floor). Each pod has a picnic bench, a dustbin & a breezeblock outside for barbecues. Bit of a squeeze for 3 & a bit of a walk to the toilet block, so bring a Portaloo. TV reception good, but mobile phone/3G poor. Choice of takeaways in nearby Easingwold. No playground on site, but a good little one off Mitchell Lane in the village, with football field & tennis courts attached. We enjoyed it & would consider going back. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Juliegreen 1 review from this member

 Nice location, spacious pitches, however the shower/toilet facilities are dated and quite frankly in need of a good clean. Used the disabled/baby cubicle and found a dirty mop propped up in the shower tray, insects that appeared to have been there for more than a day, black mould over the silicone, grubby floor and no power to the shower. If you are disabled please note there is a step down into the shower and only one grab rail although there is a stool. Paying extra to was dishes is not good. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Traut 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed on the CL at Alders caravan park and we found it to be more than satisfactory. The people were very helpful and getting fresh bread and papers in a morning made the whole experience more relaxing. The horses and other animals were a delight to watch. No shower room didn't pose a problem for us as we use our own. You could use the main caravan parks showers but it was a good walk there and back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Big Rig 15 reviews from this member

 A good level site with acres of grass between pitches and a sensible black dump to accommodate an American fifth wheel unit.

Although the shower/toilet block were clean and functional there were simply not enough showers to prevent lengthy queues that built up in the morning, despite the site being far from full.

Although we didn't need the facilities our pitch was next to the block and the complaints were audible.

Friendly staff apart from some groundsman who thought that using a heavy duty ride on mower within feet of people trying to relax was a good idea - whilst we appreciate that the grounds have to be tended, we were the only large motorhome and were leaving the pitch the next day - a few hours wouldn't have made any difference.

The nearby RAF base were practising 'bumps and circuits' with noisy single and twin engine planes constantly roaring overhead - the novelty soon wore off so take earplugs or stay at the weekend when the flyboys go home.

Good dog walks 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Quayjen 3 reviews from this member

 This is our 5th stay at Alders campsite. What can I say. Its lovely! This is a campsite we will always come back to as its so nice. The toilets are spotless the whole site is very clean and depending on what time of year you go the kids loved seeing the lambs running about. Village cricket ground is on site. Easter time they had a falcon display that was amazing and was free. Always a friendly welcome, and very reasonably priced as well. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tosho 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from another really pleasant and relaxing weekend at Alders.

Facilities continue to be first class, with extremely helpful staff on hand to help. Cricket Club is a real bonus, with folk from the site made very, very welcome.

Good meal in the Blue Bell in Alne (booking recommended) limited choice of ales, but good quality.

Lots to do around York, whatever the weather (we had some quite terrific thunder storms, but site stayed dry and well drained!).

I'd very much recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: G in scotland 1 review from this member

 Great site although many of the pitches had seasonal caravans on them. Plenty of green space between and in front of the units. We were on the older site - the abbeys - but the facilities were as good as those on the new site.

The toilet/shower block was kept very clean and was warm although the showers could have done with being slightly hotter. There is an excellent dog walk round both sites and a nature walk as well. A good site for those liking peace and quiet.

Families who like to have a formal playground would not find it suitable, although for children who can make their own entertainment there is plenty of space for ball games etc. Young children will like the fact the entrance is through open areas where sheep and cattle graze and hens potter. Also horses can be seen in one field.

We have previously stayed on caravan club sites but found this far better so we will definitely return. We will now try more private sites in future 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Europa555 11 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit to this site, chosen for it's rural location, yet not to far away from the Park & Ride for easy access into York. It is a lovely spacious site, good sized hardstand areas, with the freedom to set the caravan in any direction to get the sunlight, not that we had much when we were there! Plenty of rain, but the site wasn't flooded which is another plus. There are two toilet blocks, the newest of these being the best. The showers are very good and having a room containing shower, toilet and wash hand basin was an asset and were relativately clean. The new block was heated, but didn't seem to be on, until the weekend and the old block which was clean didn't have heating and with the frosty mornings was a place to be avoided. There are two partially enclosed dish washing areas and a charge of 20p for hot water which we felt was outrageous, especially having paid 280 for 14 nights. We did get the impression that things were geared mainly towards those coming for the weekend e. G. Grass cut on the Thursday, heating put on, toilets given a good clean etc.

The only major problem we had was with the electricity, which cut out on 3 occasions, always in the evenings and always at weekends when the site was busy. We later learned that the site had been 16amp, but was reduced to 10amp when the site was enlarged. On the 2nd occasion I decided to phone the duty warden only to discover that the number wasn't on the site advice note, so drove down to the entrance, got the number, surprise, surprise no answer. There was a landline number which I did phone, possibly the site owner, who wasn't entirely happy at being called late on a Saturday night.

All in all, despite being a bit pricey, we like this site and will return in the future. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Alders Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Alders Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Alders Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6400 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement