Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kessingland Beach Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Site Reviews

Kessingland Beach Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Beach Lane
Kessingland
Suffolk   (Browse area)
NR33 7RW
Tel: 0843 309 2591
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 15th February - 15th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 51 Reviews
                6/10 from 51 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: MadNurseGaz 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week to give our 4-year-old grandson his first taste of camping. Our stay was Wednesday to Wednesday, and was a good holiday! We will definitely be going back at some point.

The site is typical Parkdean fare, and is situated at the end of a lane with a tricky (for towing) "kink" at the start. The site has, of course, many static 'vans, and the Touring field is easily found on the "land" side (as opposed to sea) of the site, with hardstanding pitches down one side, grass pitches on the other and more grass pitches in-between.

A bridge crosses a stream to lead to the non-electric pitches in a separate field. There is a decently-sized toilet/shower block right by the entrance to the touring field, it's a bit far if you're on the non-EHU field! The toilet block was always clean when I used it, and my partner said much the same about the Ladies toilets/showers. It was noticeable that about 10. 30 every night, the touring field went quiet until around 7. 30 next morning (I've been on Haven and Parkdean sites where that wasn't the case)

The field is flat and level, although the grass surface showed signs of wear. Overall the site appeared well kept, the stream behind the field was deliberately allowed to be overgrown as a haven for wildlife- we saw ducks often, at least one heron visited and swans swam by occasionally.

The entertainment complex was small, but welcoming, the staff all friendly and helpful. A visiting act, Madhatters 2, was the funniest thing I've seen on stage for a long time! Prices at the bar were a bit expensive, but the Boathouse restaurant seemed more reasonable (although drinks cost the same as the bar). Decent service, good food and again, friendly helpful staff. The site shop charged "corner shop" prices, but that's normal for campsites!(Head up the main road towards Lowestoft a couple of roundabouts to find a supermarket!) We had good weather most days, the field is a real sun trap!

Best things about Kessingland Beach: big, flat, level pitches with 10 amp EHUs. Breakfast in the restaurant is great value!

Worst thing about Kessingland Beach: Bar prices!

Out and about: Kessingland village for fish'n'chips; Africa Alive safari park/zoo at the other end of Kessingland village: East Anglia Transport Museum has tram, train and trolleybus rides on offer.

Finally, this holiday was great value; we paid £83 for the week, including EHU and entertainment.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suebear 7 reviews from this member

We had two nights camping (no EHU) at the very end of the school holidays. Although not our usual kind of campsite, I think this is a site we will return too. Once we were round on the camping field, we could have been anywhere. There was no sign of the static vans. It was a free pitch in a flat, level field surrounded by trees and reeds, and we chose a quiet corner with friends.

PRO's: Cheap, free pitch, pool seemed clean and warm, open air pool popular with children. Little light pollution. Overflow toilets were clean and warm.

CON's: They shut the overflow toilets during our stay, and the shortcut bridge was closed, which made it nearly a 1km walk to the toilet. Luckily we had the potty for our toddler, but totally unacceptable in my view. The evening entertainment was, interesting, but to be fair its not really our cup of tea. The children enjoyed, it though, and the slot machines weer a hit as well. The beach is shingle, but lovely to walk on. EHU pitches were really jammed in.

We visited Africa Alive, luckily on a deal, but if not a family of 4 would be £70! There's shop on site - £2. 15 for a tiny jar of mayo, but other things seemed more reasonably priced, Morrison's is 10mins away by car.

We plan to return, not in the high season, mainly because its so cheap, and close to Southwold, Minesemere etc. But we'll definitely take the camping toilet with us!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FLINTSTONE 6 reviews from this member

We found the staff very friendly and the facilities - pools, crazy golf, sports court and shop are excellent. The site has everything you could need.

The pitch we had at first was too small and once the awning was on, there was very little outside area left. Also, not much room to manoeuvre the caravan on to the pitch with a car, so you will need a mover or ask the site warden - who is always very happy to help. After setting up, we walked around and picked a couple of other pitches we might like if available next time.

Unfortunately, we had a day and night of heavy rain during our 2nd week and woke to find about 8 inches of rain and mud in the awning and a very wet, shaking dog. Gary - the site warden- soon arrived and helped us move to another pitch and waited to help us set up. Would have been an issue if the site was fully booked in high season.

There were enough toilets and showers and hot water whilst we we there, but it is a long way from the non-electric field. Although the cleaners kept the toilet blocks very clean and well stocked at all times, there was often a very unpleasant odour coming from the drains.

If you like the beach, you will be very disappointed - not Parkdeans fault obviously. Although, if you have dogs you will be very happy.

I found the amusement area machines very disappointing. I know they are mainly 2p drop machines which I love, but the gifts were very poor quality and uninspiring compared to our usual place. So we didn't use them. As we have dogs, we didn't use the entertainment, but the programme looked very good.

We will return, so that says it all. And it was incredibly good value.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: MackeralJack 7 reviews from this member

We enjoyed our stay here. Our caravan was clean and comfortable. The staff we met were all really friendly. My children really enjoyed swimming here. The indoor pool is quite small, the outdoor pool is bigger. There is a nice playground for the children here. We took a walk to have a look at the camping facilities. Just to warn you it seems they allow large groups to come. As you can imagine it was quite noisy with loud music being played, and I would of not really enjoyed camping here as I would of liked it more peaceful! Having said that we stayed in a static caravan and didn't have any problems and we will probably return, but would stay in a static caravan or go and camp midweek when it would be quieter!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmy1977 3 reviews from this member

This is not one of the best sites Iíve been on. On arrival the reception staff are very friendly which was a good start but I have to say thatís where it stops, we were shown to our pitch by staff but this resembled a bog land and in the middle of our pitch was a nice fresh pile of dog mess, we reported this to the staff and requested a change of pitch which they were happy to do but they failed to clear the offending item leaving it for somebody else to find.

The toilets and washing facilities were dirty, dated and totally inadequate for the amount of touring and camping pitches, there were some additional toilets and showers on site but on the morning of day 2 these were closed off because the waist tanks were full.

The crazy golf could do with being updated and cleaned and the swimming pool needs to have the heating turned up as it was freezing. I donít think I would be recommending this site to my friends and family.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hamletrabbit 5 reviews from this member

Friendly staff on check in. The field was reasonably busy when we arrived, lovely neighbours helped us site our van!

Our pitch had a big groove down the middle of it, ok for our touring van but would be less good for a tent.

We didn't use the loos/showers because my parents were staying in a static on site, but when we were packing up to leave the waste water was blocked so we couldn't empty it before we left.

The site is on a lovely beach, mostly pebbles and dunes but stunning to look at. The park and shop on site are good - the entertainment is as you would expect at these sites-not for us but the kids liked it. The staff were friendly here too -the other patrons less so.

The swimming pool was closed both days that we tried to go -very upsetting for our little ones.

We were welcome to vacate the pitch whenever we wanted to on the Sunday -a welcome courtesy.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Burnards 11 reviews from this member

I might feel differently if we had got a groupon deal like another reviewer, but this park was nowhere near worth the £450 or so our 10-day stay on a smallish EHU pitch cost us. The toilet cubicles were clean enough but the showers were very tired, a bit grubby and ran cold at times. Some grey water disposal points were blocked and the water and fire points, like much of the touring facilities, looked tired. On the other hand, the hand basin in the Elsan point was a nice touch and staff were almost without exception good-humoured and helpful. Free WiFi, without which the kids cannot live, was all right, entertainment was okay and the amusements and tots' play area proved a great draw, although it does at times get too crowded, hot and noisy for some.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Boocamp 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 4 night stay. On arrival we were shown to our pitch quickly, Nice pitches, although quite busy we didn't feel cramped even though the touring/camping area is quite small,

Both pools are nice and fairly warm, close to the beach and shop on site not over priced. Great show bar and plenty of kids entertainment.

On the down side, when we arrived bins were over flowing and there was rubbish blowing around the site.

The shower block was disgusting, showers by the evening were filthy and water logged, around the sinks were dirty, with rusty chains with no plugs on some, the grout and sealant around the showers were mouldy. Broken locks to the showers, and grime around the bottom of the showers that obviously been there for along time

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jayc001 3 reviews from this member

I got a cracking deal for this site through groupon. Paid £25 for 5 nights and then an additional £15 for EHU.

Initially I was a bit worried as over the phone they told be pitches ere 20ftx20ft. My van is 25ft and I tried explaining 20ft is very small for a tourer. They then said if I couldn't fit I could use the non EHU field which is very large. So just in case I bought a cheap Aldi generator to top up the battery in case of no EHU.

Got to site bang on 12pm checkin time. There were a few tourers ahead of me but the warden quickly guided us to the pitches. He showed us the pitches and I then asked if anyone was going to be put in front of us. No was the answer and our pitch was easily 60ft x 40ft. Massive!

16A EHU, loads of fresh water points, plenty of bins and nice well maintained grass pitches. Shower block and elsan was a little bit of a walk but not too made. Was dated but clean and bright enough with lots of room and hot water.

Bar and evening entertainment ok. Not great but not bad either. Kept my kids happy for an hour or two but wasn't the type of thing we'd rush out to every evening. Think we did 3 out of 5 evenings. Bar prices were good. £10. 50 got 1 x stella, 1 x wine, 2 x soft drinks, 2 x crisps and 2 x choc bars as part of a deal.

Good location for the beach and shout road trip to Lowestoft.

Overall a pretty good site and likely to return if I can get another groupon deal!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jockeyboy17 1 review from this member

This was our first ever camping trip so with 1 child, 1 baby and a dog we decided to stay local to home. The people at reception were polite and quick and directed us to a warden, he proceeded to point us in the direction of the field and left us to it. The toilet/shower block had plenty of hot water but became messy after the morning rush. The on site shop had plenty of variety and was well equipped for campers ( gas, air beds, tent pegs). It was also reasonably priced. Our main problem was with a group of fellow campers who amongst other things were playing guitar at 3am, swearing, heavy drinking, shouting. The lack of camping site rules seems to have allowed them to do what they want. They were warned after a complaint but this was not followed up on so it continued the following night. We felt the staff on site did not know how to deal with the problem. We still enjoyed our first time camping but would not return to this site again.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3734 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019