Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Carsington Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Carsington Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Carsington Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Kirk Ireton
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3JL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 127
Open: 16/03 To 07/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 72 Reviews
                9/10 from 72 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs fisher 1 review from this member

Spent 4 days here, and honestly can not find fault with anything, beautiful place to escape to, with views surrounding very pretty, its a family site, lots of kiddies and dogs. Washrooms and showers very clean, a very well kept site, would recommend to anyone, and will be booking in near future. And very helpful staff xx

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John+judy 101 reviews from this member

Amazing how the weather can change so suddenly in this country. Our first six days were sunny and pleasant for November, but wow what a change on Friday night. Little sleep that night, rain and tree drops like machine gun fire on the roof! On the other days we enjoyed doing the usual stuff around the lake, other than actually setting a foot in the water. Our 8-year old grandson knocked the spots off us oldies on our bike ride round the lake - at least on the flat bits! What is it about kids and gears? It's an easy off-road route from the site to the lake side, walking or cycling - leave the vehicle on the pitch.

On another day we went to Crich tramway museum, which kept the gs happily occupied and interested for more than 5 hours with no iPad! On a previous occasion we found the Heage windmill interesting - but check opening times.

As everyone says, the site is very well maintained, and as a bonus the shower cubicles seem much larger than most sites, and the toilets have a flush tank adequately big enough to complete the intended purpose - and refilled quickly too! TV reception was good - at least on the main channels. Wifi was also fairly good, though caravan club rates are rather on the high side at 10 for 7 days. We had a fault at first with the connection which resulted in me having to sign in and pay again. However I got a very prompt refund from Airangel when I e-mailed their support team. Phone signal, at least on EE was rather poor and intermittent - something of a concern given my need to make and receive calls during the incident described below.

As we were leaving on Saturday morning, doing the usual caravan road-light check I was traumatised to find not a glimmer on any of the lights. Obviously continuing the journey was impossible. After speaking to our dealer service people - bit of a miracle given it was Saturday morning - I undertook some self diagnosis. First I asked a neighbour if I could plug my car into his caravan. The chap was most obliging but we had mismatching plugs, so I then asked a site warden if he would try plugging his car into the caravan. Again, he was most obliging and helpful and we were able to prove the fault was in the car. Thanks to his assistance I was able to call an AA technician out and point him in the general direction of the fault, which turned out to be a burned out (melted!) fuse holder. He made a temporary repair and we safely made it home - with lights. I did wonder what we would have done if the fault had materialised, say, during the motorway part of our route? Anyway, thank you again the helpful site warden, and the fellow-camper who helped get us out of a scary situation

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stan on tour 39 reviews from this member

A beautiful peaceful site set amongst the pine trees. We were fortunate to get a pretty pitch amongst the trees, but some pitches were more sparse looking. Helpful staff and excellent toilet and shower facilities. Carsington Water is a 15mins walk away with a good cafe, but there are no shops or pubs nearby. We did walk to a pub the far side of the lake for a lunch though. For peace and quiet I'd recommend this site.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lobraes 26 reviews from this member

Another visit to this beautiful campsite. Stunning location set in tall pine trees. Many pitches are shaded because of the trees but the sun pokes through at some point in the day.

Site is beautifully kept and peaceful. Nice little play areas for small children.

Showers loos are warm and spotless.

Lovely safe off lead dog walk around the perimeter of site with poo bins.

Carsington water is easily accessible from site on foot or by car.

Ashbourne is a lovely place to visit as is matlock bath plus many more.

Good phone signal 4G all the time.

Wardens are very friendly.

Very grateful for late checkout on Sunday until 3pm making a weekend away much more worthwhile.

Really can't fault this site and look forward to going again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Venerable Bede 10 reviews from this member

After a few nights at a festival with no hookup it was a pleasure to be at this site with all the expected comforts of a Caravan club site. Do prepare your route in - we didn't and thought we could get there via Kirk Ireton - fortunately we realised it wasn't gong to work with a long outfit and managed to turn round in a stubble field. Although quite a large area the site is long and thin so there's no sense of being among a great crowd. We could chose our own pitch and elected to be fairly near the toilet block with easy access to the attractive dog walk around the outer edges of the site. There were a lot of dogs but it is a very good site for them and if, like ours, they like the water, Carsington Water has friendly paddling places - as well as shops and a cafe. Water sports also available so a good spot for children, especially with bikes. We did ride around the lakeside path which does have its challenges in terms of some steepish climbs and sharp little bends. It was pretty busy while we were there so you do have to take care as cyclists and pedestrians and buggy pushers share the same space. If you're cycling do notice that there are signs advising cyclists (and pedestrians) to use the side gates at the cattle grids at the bottom of the site access road. I hadn't noticed and coming back in, hit the far side of the second grid (like a step!) and ended up on my back on the road.

Facilities and services all excellent as usual and staff friendly and helpful. We love Ashbourne with its Waitrose and Bennetts, the department store - will probably use this very relaxing site again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Willgina 9 reviews from this member

We stayed here as the reviews looked very good. The toilet facilities were excellent very clean and the wardens very chatty. We booked without an awning but the prices are the same with or without. We were given a map and told to choose any blue pitch but this was not easy the pitches are not uniform so we had to drive around ending up in a dead end and having to reverse, we finally found a pitch close to the facilities. The next morning the warden came round and said we had a large van which we stated on booking, it's a twin axle. By the end of the day we had more neighbours all seemed crammed in and some with awnings, there was definitely not enough space between pitches and to add to it people were using ours & our neighbours pitches for a short cut to the dog walk. We met lots of people complaining the dog walk was to steep and no safety features in place. Also if the electricity tripped the boxes were locked so you would have to see a warden and phone reception is very poor. But everything else was lovely

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jewelly 5 reviews from this member

Living only 20 minutes drive away, this is not somewhere we would normally use for a holiday.

However, after many years of tenting, we upgraded to a caravan at the end of last year (were offered a superb deal on a full setup via a friend of a friend)

We used this site as a trial run for caravanning last weekend. I didn't want to tow too far, as I have only ever towed a camping trailer previously, and I wanted a relatively short journey to 'get used to it'

The site is simply fabulous.

On arrival, the staff that met us at the gate were friendly, and very helpful - particularly when I explained it was the first time we had used a caravan. They said 'If you need any help, don't hesitate to ask' - the manner in which they conducted themselves, and appeared to help others (I saw one staff member helping to manoeuvre someone's van onto a pitch) - I honestly believe that if I had said 'I am struggling to erect my awning' then someone would have come up and helped me (I don't know if they would, but it felt like that!)

The pitches are very spacious (which I understand is the norm for Caravan Club sites?) and we didn't feel at all encroached upon by neighbouring units.

We didn't use the on site shop for anything, but it seemed to have all of the basics covered.

The toilet block was a real eye opener from what we have experienced over the years - absolutely spotless, and more shower cubicles than you could shake a stick at - each shower unit is huge, and gloriously hot. Music was playing in the toilet block, which I thought was a nice touch.

The service points are plentiful and again, faultless.

We know the Carsington Water area very well as we live locally, and this site is just superbly placed for visiting and exploring - perfectly walk-able to the Visitor Centre - and the pathway that runs around the reservoir is easy to join from the site. (To walk all of the way around the reservoir is about a 7 or 8 mile walk with a pub at the village of Hopton about half way round.

The town of Ashbourne is only a short drive away for supermarket shopping (including Aldi and Waitrose)

The site was gloriously peaceful, despite being about 3/4 full during our stay.

If you want to explore the Peak District and this part of Derbyshire, I would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leeturner4666 11 reviews from this member

What a smashing site set right next Carsington Water Reservoir, we took our bikes, the reservoir can be accessed from the site along a track that means you don't have to hit any main roads. We were two adults and two boys 9 and 6, the distance around the reservoir is about 9 miles, there are a couple of hills but the track is well maintained and well worth a bike ride.

The site is really well maintained with wardens working hard all times of the day to ensure that it is always spic and span. The toilets are spotless, warm, with lovely hot showers, plenty of space to leave your clothes to get changed and even have radio two playing for you pleasure.

The site is set back off the road probably a couple of hundred metres which means there is no road noise at all, the pitches are large and well drained with water points, waste and chemical toilet points dotted about frequently.

The site is set amongst fir trees and there is loads of wildlife to see, there are a number of walks away from the site and the information hut is very helpful in this regard. There are two small playgrounds for the children although unfortunately no where to play football but this didn't impact upon our enjoyable stay.

Carsington Water can be seen from the site and there are some beautiful views from the site across the ever expanding countryside, we really enjoyed our 4 night stay, I would thoroughly recommend this site for families or couples alike.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lobraes 26 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weekend at this most idyllic and beautiful campsite.

The large level pitches are set in a pine forest and wow it's so quiet. The perfect place to relax and unwind.

Showers and loos were warm, modern and spotless.

The campsite staff are a credit to the caravan club (and how nice to be asked if we would like a newspaper ordering for the morning)

Campsite shop is small and basic but sold the everyday essentials.

Carsington water is on the doorstep (you can see the water through the trees) and the dam is reached in a ten minute walk, the visitor centre easily walkable in 30 mins. Lots of nice shops there and places to eat. There are many nice pubs not too far away in the car but didn't have time to use them(too busy playing with our new BBQ)

We visited Ashbourne a lovely Derbyshire village (with a waitrose. Bonus !)

Great rustic style play area for children should you need it. I would have loved it as a child !

Great dog walk around the woodlands which surround the campsite with lots of dog poo bins located in very logical positions.

We paid for a late checkout so we could stay all day on the Sunday, making the weekend feel much longer and no mad rush to pack away on Sunday morning.

A perfect campsite, can't wait to return. :)

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ragster123 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site.

Really friendly and helpful staff who keep the facilities very clean.

Allowed us to tour the site and pick our own pitch which was great. We managed to find one that didn't have any overhanging trees, but these are few and far between.

Two nice playgrounds for the kids - one for toddlers and one for the older ones.

Our kids enjoyed the caravan club treasure hunt (Explorers book I think?).

Also Carsington Water itself is great for all the family with bike paths, shops, cafe, huge playgrounds and lots of open space - and its only 5 mins away in the car.

Will definitely be going back for another visit soon.

Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1380 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019