Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carsington Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Carsington Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Carsington Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Kirk Ireton
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3JL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 127
Open: 16/03/2022 to 07/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 80 Reviews
                9/10 from 80 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ray Clayton 36 reviews from this member

 Mature Couple with Granddaughter.

Stayed on Carsington caravan club site this weekend.

We attended a Rally held by the Derbyshire centre and was well run by the marshals. (Thank you)

The site is set in woodland, and was split on different levels. The site was well kept, with toilets showers and all other facilitates spot on. Both kids playgrounds where spot on and also well looked after.

Dog walk was fantastic around the edge of the site, for those that require it.

The site is a credit to the hard work the wardens put in here, to make everyone's stay worth while.

We great views on some limited pitches of Carsington Res.

Chip shop van Friday night, I will leave people to make there own mind up on that. Fish was great.

Saturday night was pizza night which seemed to go down well.

We will definitely return as we live local anyway.  


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 40 reviews from this member

 First visit to Carsington Water site for a two night stay. Wardens were helpful on arrival, and managed to find a fairly level pitch that didn't have overhanging branches from the very tall pine trees.

Its a largish site, with several areas off the main route through the site for six or so units to enable a family grouping. During our stay, the site was quiet and peaceful, even when on the Friday it began to full up.

Communal facilities were spotless and well maintained, with most visitors adhering to the band system.

We walked (in some cases yomped) around Carsington Lake, and I concur with a previous review, its better to walk this 9 mile loop anti clockwise to get the hills out the way first. We stopped at the Visitor Centre for a well earned tea and cake, before walking the top of the Dam back to the campsite.

On Fridays a Fish and Chip wagon was on site, and Sat a Pizza wagon was due. Unfortunately, we didn't have the chance to try these delicacies as we met up with some family on the Friday and walked to the Knockerdown Inn (just over a mile or so). This pub was busy, and just glad we had booked an undercover outside table beforehand.

The only area of disappointment was the pitches. They were mostly hardstanding, however were a little tired and in need of some maintenance. Also, there were approx 4 of the pitches with a traffic cone over the marker. I thought this was originally due to people being being out for the day and so saving their pitch. One was was for the food vans, but 2 of the other 3 were not in use the day we left, so wondered, who was saving them for who as they were some of the better pitches. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kevin2 16 reviews from this member

 Near Knockerdown, close to Ashbourne. Carsington Water is a huge reservoir, with a lovely park around it, and great walks.

The circuit is about 8. 5 miles of undulating and beautiful countryside, with great woods and many differing views of the lake and surrounding countryside.

Great base for seeing this part of the Peak District. Did the 9 mile walk from the site, and around the full circuit of Carsington Water and back.

Site facilities and atmosphere and feel is superb, just let down by the pitches being a bit scruffy and the access roads being a little rough, which given it was very wet made it slightly scruffy.

Great location and set in lovely scots pine. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Dannie 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, handy shop for necessities,

Plenty of room on pitch, bonus toilets and showers open,

Great walks and tissingtin trail on site,

A couple of pubs not far away. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 637 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site just a few minutes from the reservoir. Lovely big pitches under the trees but there is still plenty of light.

At check in the main concern was pitching in the right manner by the marker. Didn't really get the fuss as a small camper is taking a third of the space of a car, caravan and awning - we were warned we have to move if we didn't get it right.

We were a little surprised to find that the majority of the toilets and showers were closed off. In the ladies only 2 out of 8 of the loos were in use (plus a disabled). Same with showers, appreciate the reasoning was due to covid social distancing but there wasn't any reduction in the number of pitches being used so the facilities struggled to cope at times with people queuing for loos /showers.

Wrist band system in use but not working as people not bothering with it. At times 7 + bands on the hooks but not a soul in the block, at others only 1 or 2 bands and went in to find several people queuing for loos inside.

Being just a minute walk from the reservoir is the main selling point, good off road path all the way. Approx 9 miles around the complete reservoir walk, same fairly steep paths on the side opposite the visitor centre. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SBOOTH 5 reviews from this member

 This site is situated ideally for the waterpark and it fantastic circular route and is good to walk the dogs or cycle around but it isnt near any shops or pubs so bear that in mind.

There is a food van that turns up on friday and saturday but that had broken down or sold out after 1\2 hour so stock up.

The pitches are surrounded by tall pine trees so when its windy your van can get a battering from the pine cones.

We couldn't get any tv reception and the phone signal is hit and miss.

The toilets are covid safe they have a very good system and we felt safe.

The only negative was the warden facing the pitch sat in his van that came out of his van talking to us like a school headmaster he nearly spoilt the weekend we hadnt even put the handbrake on the van and he was shouting at us to move 1 meter nearer the peg. This warden sat in his van all day watching for us to make a wrong move and made us feel uneasy we are adults and not school children.

The site is a good base and its clean apart from the warden I would recommend it. 


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jax1076 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Lovely clean toilets.

Showers lovely and hot - didn't have to keep pressing button if water stopped like at many sites.

Very near to lovely dog walks. Very dog friendly site.

Can't wait to return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chappies43 39 reviews from this member

 This was our first trip away for quite some time without any of our 3 boys so it was a different experience for us. We had our lovely cocker spaniel with us and he loved this site.

The weather was fine but chilly whilst we were there so we went on lots of walks but we needed to be well wrapped up against the wind that blew quite strongly across the water.

We managed to get a pitch across from the toilet block which was perfect and the on site dog walk was close by too. We found the staff helpful and friendly and the visiting fish and chip van was most welcome with nice food.

We would highly recommend Carsington Water and will visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrs fisher 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 days here, and honestly can not find fault with anything,

Beautiful place to escape to, with views surrounding very pretty, its a family site, lots of kiddies and dogs.

Washrooms and showers very clean, a very well kept site,

Would recommend to anyone, and will be booking in near future. And very helpful staff xx 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John+judy 109 reviews from this member

 Amazing how the weather can change so suddenly in this country. Our first six days were sunny and pleasant for November, but wow what a change on Friday night. Little sleep that night, rain and tree drops like machine gun fire on the roof!

On the other days we enjoyed doing the usual stuff around the lake, other than actually setting a foot in the water. Our 8-year old grandson knocked the spots off us oldies on our bike ride round the lake - at least on the flat bits! What is it about kids and gears? It's an easy off-road route from the site to the lake side, walking or cycling - leave the vehicle on the pitch.

On another day we went to Crich tramway museum, which kept the gs happily occupied and interested for more than 5 hours with no iPad! On a previous occasion we found the Heage windmill interesting - but check opening times.

As everyone says, the site is very well maintained, and as a bonus the shower cubicles seem much larger than most sites, and the toilets have a flush tank adequately big enough to complete the intended purpose - and refilled quickly too! TV reception was good - at least on the main channels.

Wifi was also fairly good, though caravan club rates are rather on the high side at 10 for 7 days. We had a fault at first with the connection which resulted in me having to sign in and pay again. However I got a very prompt refund from Airangel when I e-mailed their support team.

Phone signal, at least on EE was rather poor and intermittent - something of a concern given my need to make and receive calls during the incident described below.

As we were leaving on Saturday morning, doing the usual caravan road-light check I was traumatised to find not a glimmer on any of the lights. Obviously continuing the journey was impossible. After speaking to our dealer service people - bit of a miracle given it was Saturday morning - I undertook some self diagnosis.

First I asked a neighbour if I could plug my car into his caravan. The chap was most obliging but we had mismatching plugs, so I then asked a site warden if he would try plugging his car into the caravan.

Again, he was most obliging and helpful and we were able to prove the fault was in the car. Thanks to his assistance I was able to call an AA technician out and point him in the general direction of the fault, which turned out to be a burned out (melted!) fuse holder.

He made a temporary repair and we safely made it home - with lights. I did wonder what we would have done if the fault had materialised, say, during the motorway part of our route?

Anyway, thank you again the helpful site warden, and the fellow-camper who helped get us out of a scary situation 


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Carsington Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carsington Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Carsington Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3577 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement