Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carsington Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Carsington Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Carsington Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Kirk Ireton
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3JL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 127
Open: 16/03/2021 to 07/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 77 Reviews
                9/10 from 77 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Dannie 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, handy shop for necessities,

Plenty of room on pitch, bonus toilets and showers open,

Great walks and tissingtin trail on site,

A couple of pubs not far away. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 607 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site just a few minutes from the reservoir. Lovely big pitches under the trees but there is still plenty of light.

At check in the main concern was pitching in the right manner by the marker. Didn't really get the fuss as a small camper is taking a third of the space of a car, caravan and awning - we were warned we have to move if we didn't get it right.

We were a little surprised to find that the majority of the toilets and showers were closed off. In the ladies only 2 out of 8 of the loos were in use (plus a disabled). Same with showers, appreciate the reasoning was due to covid social distancing but there wasn't any reduction in the number of pitches being used so the facilities struggled to cope at times with people queuing for loos /showers.

Wrist band system in use but not working as people not bothering with it. At times 7 + bands on the hooks but not a soul in the block, at others only 1 or 2 bands and went in to find several people queuing for loos inside.

Being just a minute walk from the reservoir is the main selling point, good off road path all the way. Approx 9 miles around the complete reservoir walk, same fairly steep paths on the side opposite the visitor centre. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SBOOTH 5 reviews from this member

 This site is situated ideally for the waterpark and it fantastic circular route and is good to walk the dogs or cycle around but it isnt near any shops or pubs so bear that in mind.

There is a food van that turns up on friday and saturday but that had broken down or sold out after 1\2 hour so stock up.

The pitches are surrounded by tall pine trees so when its windy your van can get a battering from the pine cones.

We couldn't get any tv reception and the phone signal is hit and miss.

The toilets are covid safe they have a very good system and we felt safe.

The only negative was the warden facing the pitch sat in his van that came out of his van talking to us like a school headmaster he nearly spoilt the weekend we hadnt even put the handbrake on the van and he was shouting at us to move 1 meter nearer the peg. This warden sat in his van all day watching for us to make a wrong move and made us feel uneasy we are adults and not school children.

The site is a good base and its clean apart from the warden I would recommend it. 


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jax1076 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Lovely clean toilets.

Showers lovely and hot - didn't have to keep pressing button if water stopped like at many sites.

Very near to lovely dog walks. Very dog friendly site.

Can't wait to return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chappies43 33 reviews from this member

 This was our first trip away for quite some time without any of our 3 boys so it was a different experience for us. We had our lovely cocker spaniel with us and he loved this site.

The weather was fine but chilly whilst we were there so we went on lots of walks but we needed to be well wrapped up against the wind that blew quite strongly across the water.

We managed to get a pitch across from the toilet block which was perfect and the on site dog walk was close by too. We found the staff helpful and friendly and the visiting fish and chip van was most welcome with nice food.

We would highly recommend Carsington Water and will visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrs fisher 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 days here, and honestly can not find fault with anything,

Beautiful place to escape to, with views surrounding very pretty, its a family site, lots of kiddies and dogs.

Washrooms and showers very clean, a very well kept site,

Would recommend to anyone, and will be booking in near future. And very helpful staff xx 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John+judy 105 reviews from this member

 Amazing how the weather can change so suddenly in this country. Our first six days were sunny and pleasant for November, but wow what a change on Friday night. Little sleep that night, rain and tree drops like machine gun fire on the roof!

On the other days we enjoyed doing the usual stuff around the lake, other than actually setting a foot in the water. Our 8-year old grandson knocked the spots off us oldies on our bike ride round the lake - at least on the flat bits! What is it about kids and gears? It's an easy off-road route from the site to the lake side, walking or cycling - leave the vehicle on the pitch.

On another day we went to Crich tramway museum, which kept the gs happily occupied and interested for more than 5 hours with no iPad! On a previous occasion we found the Heage windmill interesting - but check opening times.

As everyone says, the site is very well maintained, and as a bonus the shower cubicles seem much larger than most sites, and the toilets have a flush tank adequately big enough to complete the intended purpose - and refilled quickly too! TV reception was good - at least on the main channels.

Wifi was also fairly good, though caravan club rates are rather on the high side at 10 for 7 days. We had a fault at first with the connection which resulted in me having to sign in and pay again. However I got a very prompt refund from Airangel when I e-mailed their support team.

Phone signal, at least on EE was rather poor and intermittent - something of a concern given my need to make and receive calls during the incident described below.

As we were leaving on Saturday morning, doing the usual caravan road-light check I was traumatised to find not a glimmer on any of the lights. Obviously continuing the journey was impossible. After speaking to our dealer service people - bit of a miracle given it was Saturday morning - I undertook some self diagnosis.

First I asked a neighbour if I could plug my car into his caravan. The chap was most obliging but we had mismatching plugs, so I then asked a site warden if he would try plugging his car into the caravan.

Again, he was most obliging and helpful and we were able to prove the fault was in the car. Thanks to his assistance I was able to call an AA technician out and point him in the general direction of the fault, which turned out to be a burned out (melted!) fuse holder.

He made a temporary repair and we safely made it home - with lights. I did wonder what we would have done if the fault had materialised, say, during the motorway part of our route?

Anyway, thank you again the helpful site warden, and the fellow-camper who helped get us out of a scary situation 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stan on tour 48 reviews from this member

 A beautiful peaceful site set amongst the pine trees. We were fortunate to get a pretty pitch amongst the trees, but some pitches were more sparse looking.

Helpful staff and excellent toilet and shower facilities. Carsington Water is a 15mins walk away with a good cafe, but there are no shops or pubs nearby.

We did walk to a pub the far side of the lake for a lunch though.

For peace and quiet I'd recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lobraes 26 reviews from this member

 Another visit to this beautiful campsite. Stunning location set in tall pine trees. Many pitches are shaded because of the trees but the sun pokes through at some point in the day.

Site is beautifully kept and peaceful. Nice little play areas for small children.

Showers loos are warm and spotless.

Lovely safe off lead dog walk around the perimeter of site with poo bins.

Carsington water is easily accessible from site on foot or by car.

Ashbourne is a lovely place to visit as is matlock bath plus many more.

Good phone signal 4G all the time.

Wardens are very friendly.

Very grateful for late checkout on Sunday until 3pm making a weekend away much more worthwhile.

Really can't fault this site and look forward to going again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Venerable Bede 10 reviews from this member

 After a few nights at a festival with no hookup it was a pleasure to be at this site with all the expected comforts of a Caravan club site. Do prepare your route in - we didn't and thought we could get there via Kirk Ireton - fortunately we realised it wasn't gong to work with a long outfit and managed to turn round in a stubble field. Although quite a large area the site is long and thin so there's no sense of being among a great crowd. We could chose our own pitch and elected to be fairly near the toilet block with easy access to the attractive dog walk around the outer edges of the site. There were a lot of dogs but it is a very good site for them and if, like ours, they like the water, Carsington Water has friendly paddling places - as well as shops and a cafe. Water sports also available so a good spot for children, especially with bikes. We did ride around the lakeside path which does have its challenges in terms of some steepish climbs and sharp little bends. It was pretty busy while we were there so you do have to take care as cyclists and pedestrians and buggy pushers share the same space. If you're cycling do notice that there are signs advising cyclists (and pedestrians) to use the side gates at the cattle grids at the bottom of the site access road. I hadn't noticed and coming back in, hit the far side of the second grid (like a step!) and ended up on my back on the road.

Facilities and services all excellent as usual and staff friendly and helpful. We love Ashbourne with its Waitrose and Bennetts, the department store - will probably use this very relaxing site again. 


Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Carsington Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carsington Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Carsington Water Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4872 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement