Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Willingcott Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Woolacombe > Willingcott Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Willingcott Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Woolacombe
Woolacombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 7HN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 134
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: S64miller 40 reviews from this member

Friendly welcome and very helpful staff answering all my questions about things to do and places to go. Picked our own pitch as there were plenty of room. Facilities first class. A disused railway track runs along the site which you can take to the Fortesque Arms ( 5-10 min walk)or like we did walk 4. 5 miles to Ilfracombe which is downhill, a bit different when you're coming back and has quite a gradient to say it was a railway but there was quiet a bit of shade. There is a bus runs to Ilfracombe which you can catch near the pub. We did walk down into Woolacombe and back but it is a very steep hill. This was about 2 miles and there is a bus again back to the pub. Enjoyed our stay even though you are a little isolated

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Daisy85 15 reviews from this member

Lovely site, very peaceful, but the schools have not finished yet so might get a bit livelier. There is a mixture of grass pitches and hard standing. Seemed very spacious but again was not full.

Toilets and showers were spotless. You get a key for the door at the back of the site, this leads on to the Tarka Trail, a walking and cycle path.

If you turn right and walking up to the road, cross the road on to the next part of the path you can walk all the way to Ilfracombe.

If you turn left at the road you end up at the pub. Very dog friendly.

The site has a small children's play area. Nothing really for older kids.

I found the wardens to be very friendly and helpful. We will definitely go again.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

Just got home for a lovely short break at this quiet C&MC site near Woolacombe. Watch the approach road off the B road as it's small in places and not everyone wants to pull in for you! :-(

Large'ish site but in small sections so never feels busy.

Nice wardens, easy booking in, daily papers can be ordered each day for the next day - 10p delivery charge. A few 'essentials' in the shop/reception if you forget anything! As with most C&MC sites you get to choose your own pitch. Plenty of choice of grass or hard standing and nice big pitches. Lovely central toilet block, spotless with plenty of showers, toilets and privacy cubicles. Indoor laundry and washing up room too and information room.

You get given a key to the 'back gate' which takes you onto the path/dog walk (watch out for all the poo the lazy owners don't bother to pick up!). 10 minutes stroll the to the local pub which is VERY doggie friendly. Nice choice of ales, ciders and food and good quality. The path is part of the cycle network and you can bike/walk into Ilfracombe. It's about 4 miles and downhill on the way. We got a bus back to the site later that day. 3. 70 each SINGLE and we were the only ones that paid on the bus! You can also walk down into Woolacombe (via Mortehoe is the pretty route) and bus back up. It was 2. 10 each SINGLE but worth not having to walk up the hill, even if we were only on the bus for 5/10 minutues!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jasmo 10 reviews from this member

Our fourth visit and possibly our last. Site wardens, two couples one pair reasonably pleasant but the others were petty and rude. Heard the gent be really rude to a lone lady who was a bit tardy getting off site and we were told off for going the wrong way round the one way system on site which was the only way out since a twin axle towed by a large 4x4 was hitching up on the road causing 8 vehicles to be blocked in behind it.

The shower blocks were reasonably kept but cobwebs and dusty and the cleaning could have been better.

On the Friday before bank holiday we were rather surprised that someone else was told our pitch was free when we had been there several days. When I queried this the following day I was told that as we hadn't collected the keys to the dog walk they thought we had gone. We don't have a dog so why would we have to have keys to a dog walk we wouldn't use to ensure that the wardens knew we were on site? Bizarre.

One couple on site made our teenage sons life a misery ( and another teenager too) by constantly watching them whenever they went to the waste/ water point or played and threatened them and made sarcastic comments and even abused me when I came to my sons defence. There are some very petty people in the world who seem to hate kids enjoying themselves, making no trouble and no noise just playing badminton or throwing a soft sponge ball. If you hate children why not just go to an adult only site?

We actually left early having paid for an extra night because we felt unwelcome. Another couple who asked for a couple of extra hours on site, as their son had a pre paid activity that had been delayed by weather, were told they had to pay for an extra night with hook up to stay until 4. 30pm. The site was half full at this point so this also seemed petty. As a caravan club owned site I find it surprising that members are treated as a nuisance and customer service seems a low priority and slavishly sticking to the 'rules' is all that matters.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CK+B 39 reviews from this member

The site has a lovely new facilities block, which is very up market!

Not the most friendliest of welcomes, but we all have off days.

After you pitch up you are given a key for the back gate which goes onto the trail behind, you can then walk to the Fortisque Pub, which is about 1 mile away. We had lunch there one day, basic OK food.

This site didn't really do it for us, not one we will be rushing back to, although we did have terrible weather, so that might have clouded our judgement?

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Happyscrapper 3 reviews from this member

The site is lovely and well spaced out and broken down into smaller sections which was very nice. It can get rather windy on the north Devon coast, and it did get rather windy on a couple of nights we were on site so we had to use our storm straps on the awning. The new wash block is excellent with individual showers and wash basins. There is also a shower at the back of the wash block for people to wash their wet suits. We found the wash block was big enough for everyone even though the site was full. There is a little play area for the younger children, but nothing for the older children, not even a ball field. The wardens are friendly enough but we found they were very 'hit and miss' with the site rules. Children gently tapping or throwing a ball to each other behind their caravan and the parents were told off immediately. However, some dogs not on leads on their pitch was ignored. Also on quite a few days, the male warden actually allowed one caravanner to have FOUR cars on the pitch for one day and then three cars for nearly a week. There was a visitors car park at the entrance to the site a few minutes walk away. Quite a few of the pitches had two cars parked on it. I know we go to CC Sites because the rules are enforced, but all rules should apply to everyone. The site is well placed to visit all the activities and beaches in North Devon. The lane to access the campsite is extremely narrow with a few small passing places so it is best to stick to the times stated for arriving and leaving. The lane is also very busy throughout the day with people going to and leaving the beaches and Woolacombe. We would go back to this site if visiting the area again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trenchfoot2010 9 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a great week in N. Devon staying at Willingcott.

The site?

Well laid out with exceptional facilities block. Huge washrooms, never a queue or shortage of hot water.

I never understand why sites have so few washup sinks. Just the four here but again we didn't have to queue even though the site was full all week.

Well protected from the coastal 'breezes' by high hedges. Other local sites seemed to be more exposed.

Down sides? We had a grass pitch which was seriously sloping. Although we levelled the van we of course couldn't level the awning.

The approach road. You take your life in your hands on the approach to the site. The width of the road varies dramatically and at peak times the road is busy with people leaving the beaches.

What to do in the area?

Wooly beach is fab and the cheapest parking is at the pich and putt in the centre of the village at 6 for the day. The other carparks are either 7 or 8.

The beach was very busy during our week.

The Dutch Pancake man is always a winner with the children, just up the road from the Wolly Bay hotel.

Drinks after you leave the beach? Go to the Tides Inn 3. 00 a pint for real cask ale. At least 70p cheaper than the other bars.

Ilfracombe has a terrific new Weatherspoons, the Admiral Collingwood and parking is free in Ilf ater 18. 00.

Arlington Court is a must if you are National Trust members.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bazz63 4 reviews from this member

This site is first rate. From the warm welcome to the friendly Goodbye I have nothing but praise for the staff, the cleanliness and general appearance of the site and the quiet beauty of its location. On a calm night you can hear those Woolacombe breakers to soothe you off to sleep while the many birds at dawn welcome you to another day. I understand the Sanitaire has been recently refurbished and it really is of an excellent, high standard. Pitches are spacious, well-maintained and there was ample choice of grass or hard standing. Some parts of the site are a bit exposed and may need caution in a strong, westerly or south-westerly gale but other parts afford good shelter. Above all, it's location is ideal with quick access to main roads leading off to other places and amenities. Not the cheapest of sites in the area - 18. 40 pn in June - but you get what you pay for. Woolacombe is easy of access for surfing though parking charges there are ubiquitous. Park for just an hour and you'll need a quid and it's like this simply everywhere near to the sea. A full day at Woolie will cost you 6. Adjacent to an excellent cycle route into Ilfracombe and fairly close car access to other sections of the Tarka Trail. Not a good site for kids or young adults wanting a wild night life. I don't want that anyway and the peace and quiet after 10 pm was great. The sunsets were an inspiration and I would definitely return. One of the best I've stayed on.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alihari 8 reviews from this member

Excellent cc standards we pitched on grass on quite a slope to be out of the way. Didn't get evening sun sadly so was a bit dark and did feel we slid further back each day. Chose this position as have 2 small dogs and backing on to dog walk. Sadly this was not that clean and not that pleasant in my opinion, but not responsibility of cc of course. Stayed for 6 nights although booked for 7 to give flexibility as have a 5/6 hour journey home, I did get a polite telling off on my last day for having my dog off her lead near our caravan on empty pitches which is feel is petty as she is about the size of a rabbit and there were plenty of them, this is a shame as warden had to March over from the bins to do so. Great peaceful site at this time of year but will probs not rush back now. I have stayed at other cc, ccc, and independent ones have never been reprimanded before. Some pitches have sea views which on reflection would have been better. Seemed a lot of seasonal pitches in great positions and owners not in attendance which for some May find lacks atmosphere. Good roads to site May have to breath in on the very last stretch for a couple of minutes. Facilities the best I have seen and spotless, I don't normally use them but it would be crazy not to. Missing north Devon already and will be back to the area soon.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

Just got back from a long weekend at this lovely CC site and the weather was cracking for us all!

We had stayed before - quite a few years back - and really enjoyed it but it has even improved since then.

Lots more large hardstandings, all in small areas so the site never feels big or busy (not that it was busy in October!). There are also grass pitches available.

Check in was smooth, efficient and very friendly. As with most CC sites you get to choose you're own pitch. Once pitched up, advise the wardens and they'll give you a key to the private gate that leads onto the cycle route/walk to the local pub, etc. Reception sells various essentials too. Daily newspapers can be ordered the day before for collection the next day (there is a delivery charge).

Willingcott now have a brand new toilet/shower block (opened May 2013) and it's 5*. It not only houses plenty of toilets, showers and privacy cubicles but also a dishwash area, laundry and information room, all absolutely spotless at all times.

There are plenty of service points in each area with drinking water, waste water, chemical disposal, bins and recycling. The only thing there seems to be a lack of on this site is dog poo bins (only found one near to the gate/dog walk).

The local pub (Fortescue Arms) is just a 10 minute stroll from the site. We didn't use it this time but the wardens recommended the food there. There is a large commercial site (not our cup of tea!) next door that has a pub on the outskirts (The Old Mill) and a large Premier supermarket - both for use by the general public.

You can walk into Woolacombe from the site (uphill on the way back). The wardens will sell you a map for a 20p donation to Devon air ambulance. The 'bike track' right outside the site takes you into Ilfracombe (approx 4 miles) - again it's uphill on the way back.

Willingcott is in a stunning part of north Devon for cycle rides and walks and we have no doubt that we will be back again and again.

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Woolacombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5157 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019