Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Sandringham Estate Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

The Sandringham Estate Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
The Sandringham Estate, Glucksburg Woods
Sandringham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
PE35 6EZ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 138
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 72 Reviews
                9/10 from 72 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eycaravanner 19 reviews from this member

Very warm welcome when we arrived, lots of useful local information available in and around reception. We were able to choose from the available pitches and we were very happy with our choice, as youíd expect from a club site, everything was well maintained, clean and efficiently run, there is a tv aerial booster on each hookup post, you will need your own co-ax cable, these can be bought from reception. WiFi is available for a charge. Everything has been thought of, washup room, laundry, motorhome freshwater fill, waste water dump point, recycling point etc, etc, the showers, toilets and washrooms are all immaculate. The shop is well stocked and staff friendly and helpful.

A fish and chip van arrives Monday, Wednesday and Friday evenings just before 6, give your order when it arrives and you will be given a number and told when to come back and collect it. There is a social club which you can walk to through the forest.

Take some insect repellent as we got quite a few nasty bites in the forest, itís wonderful for dog walking and you can walk through to Sandringham House and gardens but you cannot take dogs into the royal park, we were able to walk to the church though.

We caught a bus from right outside the site into Kings Lynn, we were able to take our 2 dogs in the bus which was a bonus, we found all the usual high street shops and it seems there is a market there on Saturdays. There are lots of other places you can get to on the bus service eg Hunstanton, Wells-Next-The-Sea, Cromer etc etc. Would definitely visit this site again.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Iwalani 158 reviews from this member

As other reviews have said, this site is in very pleasant wooded surroundings, with access to woodland walks from several points around the site.

It's divided into three named areas, Lynnwood to the right of the entrance, Glucksberg to the left and Knights Rise, where the playground is, the furthest away from the entrance.

The pitches are mostly hardstanding and a good size but there were variations in both size and shape - our pitch was wider than it was deep, so it's a pity you can't pitch sideways like you can in many sites abroad! Despite looking level our pitch (no. 11) turned out to have quite a slope, so not only did we need levelling blocks, but also an extension pipe to the waste water container.

There are two shower blocks. We used the smaller of the two, which had the typical C&MC layout and cleanliness. However it was looking a bit tired. The 2 washing-up sinks were outside, but under cover, making it a bit chilly in adverse weather.

Reception is friendly and there is a range of food available, including milk, and newspapers can be ordered. A fish and chip van and an ice cream van visit the site, although we didn't use either.

If, like us, you're impervious to the attractions of royal palaces there are plenty of other things to do. King's Lynn makes an interesting day out, and on Saturdays has a small but very tempting 'foodie' market. There are two RSPB reserves, at Titchwell and Snettisham, and the Rose and Crown at Snettisham does excellent food.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Margaretsp 3 reviews from this member

A beautiful, well laid out site within the forest of the Sandringham Estate. Being under trees is a big phobia of mine but I didn't have to worry as it was easy to find a pitch that didn't have overhanging trees. The dog walks from the site are tremendous with loads of different directions to choose from. We pitched on the top level of the site and were very happy there. The visiting chippy was amazing, best I've had in a long while. The site was nearly full when we were there and there was never a queue for the showers which were immaculately clean. They also closed them in the afternoon for cleaning, a great idea: why do so many sites close them just when us late risers want to clean ourselves?

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Babstreefern 26 reviews from this member

Never been to King's Lynn, so decided to stay at this marvelous site. Its large, but there is plenty of space, so you don't feel cramped. There are 2 toilet blocks, although the one near to Reception has a separate disabled toilet, the other block in the middle doesn't. They are kept spotless. They empty the bins (there are numerous about the site) regularly.

Only negative bits, and I don't know if its this time of year, there are lots and lots of midges flying about. Also, very poor tv coverage (obviously not site's fault, but just mentioned it), and overall, there are only 5 sinks for washing up pots, could do with more.

The reception crew are really, really helpful and everyone has a smile. We arrived with a flat tyre to the car, so, straight away, they told us where the nearest place is. ATS (discount for Caravan Club members).

Put N/A for children, as we didn't bring any:)

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Uncle Festa 15 reviews from this member

This was our first time to Sandringham CC, but it certainly won't be our last. We arrived in freezing conditions in January and the site was largely empty, with the top section of the site closed.

With plenty of room available we were soon set up on a lovely large pitch. That said, we didn't see too many small pitches and most would easily accommodate our large twin axel.

Most of the pitches were sloping and all the vans we saw had levelling blocks or ramps. We just used 2 ramps on one side of the 'van, but we still had a slight slope, so take plenty of blocks for some of the pitches.

The toilet/shower block was spotlessly clean, with decent cleaning times between 10:45 and 12:00 when the toilet block was closed. The other block was closed for the Winter so I'm not sure of the arrangements when the one left was closed for cleaning?

Any significant shops are some distance away, with a Co Op in Dersingham and an Asda in nearby Kings Lynn, both approx. 4 miles away. Pubs and restaurants are numerous, but again, be prepared for a drive to find any. We found a gorgeous pub in Snettisham, The Rose and Crown, which has been pub of the year numerous times. The food was excellent and not too pricey.

The obvious attraction is Sandringham House which is a 1. 5 mile walk through the woods, or a quick 5 min drive in the car.

We love this site and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jasonjarrow 4 reviews from this member

Just got back from a lovely weeks stay at this site. What a lovely location set amongst a forest on the Sandringham Estate making it peaceful yet not too far away from main roads for easy access.

Although this site is quite large it doesn't feel like it thanks to being split into three areas. We opted for the area containing the play area as this suited us best with our two boys who loved the play area and made so many friends it was a struggle dragging them away from site to visit the great surrounding area.

With Sandringham House with its garden and grounds with restaurant, tea room, gift shops and a great outdoor play area along with some fabulous coastline and beaches such as wells next to the sea and Cromer and within easy reach of kings Lynn for shopping just a few of the nearby places I would highly recommend a visit.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Codwales 22 reviews from this member

On arrival at the site, we were met by very friendly staff. The site reception has a shop with basic essentials. They do supply daily newspapers for a charge of 10p.

The site is set out in 3 areas, We stayed in the middle area which we found to best suite our needs. The furthest area away from the entrance has the playground and the area to the right is pleasant but the ground is covered in rabbit droppings. There are hundreds of pigeons that continually coo day and night. Perhaps this is more evident during the mating season.

The facilities whilst very dated were always clean. There are only 3 toilets for the men in each of the two blocks which is not enough when the site is full which is very often the case.

There is a chip van and pizza van call at the site. Did not try them ourselves as heard mixed reports.

There are plenty of places of interest to visit.

We will definitely return to this site

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alyerpal 8 reviews from this member

Visited this site for the early May Bank Holiday and I have to say I was thoroughly impressed. I really like the lay- out of the site. It is set within the forest close to Sandringham House and I am informed is walking distance. The pitches are of a good standard and I found them to be spacious. Despite the surrounding trees I still found it to be sunny with dappled shade throughout the day.

There is plenty to do around the area especially for outdoor pursuits. Sandringham house offers a free car park with a small adventure play park for kids. Mine loved it. There is also a cafe and a couple of shops as a well as the opportunity to visit the house and gardens. In my humble opinion worth a visit and I am not a royalist by any standard. (If you are reading this, apologies maíam)

There is an enclosed dog walk on the site which is adequately lit for the last one of the night (The dog that is!) as well as walks off site in the immediate vicinity.

There are 2 toilet blocks which are well maintained and clean, one of which is becoming dated but adequate none the less. It was a little cramped with the downside of the showers being opposite the throne room, aka the WC. This did present some bodily odours whilst showering which is never good and perhaps a bit too picky! The site was full and I did not have to queue to use the showers.

When I was hitching up to leave, I had a problem with my motor mover, itís a big caravan and my dearly beloved is still my beloved! The staff were on hand to give me some assistance and lend me tools. Despite the rain which was the first of the weekend we resolved my issue and I was able to depart with dignity. Thanks also to the kind gent who offered to accommodate my dearly beloved and children whilst I got wet with the warden. I donít really think he knew what he was letting himself in for but itís appreciated.

In all a truly great site with helpful staff and I will certainly return. I will perhaps be a little pickier with the timing of my shower as steam and bodily gasses are truly a bad combination.

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Abby life 6 reviews from this member

We stayed on this lovely clean and tidy site for one week. The staff were friendly and helpful, the facilities were great and very clean with lovely hot showers. The pitches are all fairly level with lots of space on each pitch. There are plenty of walks from the site, we walked to Sandringham estate cafe which do lovely home made food and was only about half an hours walk from the site with lovely views along the way. This is the perfect site to explore the local area from and there is a local shop just a short drive from the site. We will definitely be visiting this site again

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oldcodgers 21 reviews from this member

Usual high standard caravan club site, toilet facilities excellent and very clean. Site full for Christmas but didn't feel crowded. Plenty of walks for the dogs which they enjoyed. Short distance to the sea by car. Budgens supermarket in the next village or Tesco and Sainsbury in Hunstanton. We have visited this site before but will have to rethink if the price goes up again.

Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1187 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019