Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Sandringham Estate Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Sandringham > The Sandringham Estate Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

The Sandringham Estate Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
The Sandringham Estate, Glucksburg Woods
Sandringham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
PE35 6EZ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 138
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jennypegs 25 reviews from this member

 The welcome was so lovely. (Best ever in fact). The wardens were so helpful, obviously love their job. It was a pleasure calling in the reception. Lovely to drive round to pick your own pitch.

Showers clean, powerful and hot. (No buttons/timers). Privacy cubicals and 2 hairdryers. Heating was on so it was nice and warm.

Part of the site was closed due to it being low season.

Really good (tasty) chippy van calls 3 times during the week. Pizza man once but we were unaware of that 😞

Best thing for us was the bus stop at the gate. We used it for Hunstanton and Sandringham House (which wasn’t open but the visitors centre was).

Loads of lovely walks around the campsite and through the woods.

Cannot comment on children’s facilities as it was term time so no children on site, but the park looked good and hopping in the bus up to Hunstanton would make an ideal day out.

And child friendliness I can only assume it would be.

If you are thinking about booking this site: Just do it! You will enjoy! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blinkie 65 reviews from this member

 Arrived on site and wardens were very helpful and friendly. First we went to the motorhome point and filled up with fresh water. Onto our allocated pitch 103 which had quite a slope on it. To be fair it seems that most pitches are sloping. The site is very clean and well organised. One of the areas of the site was closed as one of the facility blocks was having maintenance.

I only used the accessible toilet/shower room but it was very clean and well maintained. For once there were soap baskets in the shower area.

We ventured onto the coast which was not too far away and found a car park suitable for motorhomes.

I went for plenty of walks in the woods and toward Sandringham house.

The site is in a good location but be prepared for weak phone signal and 4G coverage. The site wifi is quite weak and intermittent.

All in all a good site in a pleasant location with good local walks. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 56 reviews from this member

 Lovely site surrounded by the forest. Well kept, shower block clean but needs updating. Good play area for kids & open spacious pitches.

Sandringham house is a 30 minute walk away. The grounds & stunning interior of the church are free to visit and were well maintained with lots of interest.

The house at £20 per person to visit around 6 rooms was very expensive! Hunstanton is easy to visit on the bus & the site had lots of info on buses, walking and cycling routes.

Chip van (5 scores on doors) visits 3x a week, take a orders & gives a time to collect. Was delicious! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Clg070 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic place, will definitely return.

The children’s playground is wonderful.

A safe & interesting area in the most pleasant of parkland. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JarvoJarvo 1 review from this member

 Absolutely brilliant site with very scenic surroundings. Direct path to visit Sandringham House if this is your thing. We came here for the fantastic cycle routes principally and will visit again.

From the site you can travel to many wonderful days out including Norfolk Lavender and Cromer Pier and town. The site is well managed and friendly staff are there to help with anything you need.

The site is visited in the week by two different food vans, a Fish and Chips one and a Wood Fired Pizza van They both play a horn at tea time to signal their arrival. Handy if you don't fancy cooking and seem very popular.

Toilets and showers super clean and well kept. We stayed at the top of the site, a bit of a hill if you have to consider this.

The wifi is absolutely awful and the site has teamed with AirAngel who charge for each person in the caravan who use wifi. This was the only downside of the site and for a family of four, this would be very expensive. We used our phones, tethered.

A very quiet site surrounded by beautiful trees, we really enjoyed the setting and peace and quiet. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: GWTE 23 reviews from this member

 On approach to the site one person goes to reception and is given a site map and two wristbands. Once you have chosen your pitch you return to reception, are given a fob for opening the barrier and you pay your campsite fees. There is hand sanitizer outside of reception.

Most of the pitches have a slight slope and you may need chocks. All of the grass pitches appeared to be on a slope.

The children’s park was closed due to coronavirus.

There are two toilet/shower blocks. To use them during these unusual times you place your wristband on one of two hooks outside the blocks and collect it on your way out. If the two hooks already have wristbands on them then you will have to wait in a socially distanced queue outside. This works well except when those leaving the blocks forget to take their wristbands. Outside of the toilets/showers, and wash up area there are hand sanitizers available.

There are a further three water points with CDPs. There were no hand sanitizers available at these points when we were there.

The hard standings were of a good size and the EHUs had two TV aerial points on them, which is good as the signal was not good from the caravan aerial. Mobile ‘phone signal was not good.

During high season a fish and chip van appears three time a week and a pizza van twice a week. Both accept contactless payments and both are very good. The fish and chip van ran out of fish one night so it may be a good idea to order early.

The nearby area is good to visit. There are a number of walks from the site into the Sandringham Estate. There are also a number of coastal attractions close by but you may need to time your visits carefully as the roads can become very crowded during the day.

There is a box near the exit barrier to deposit your key fob and wristbands on departure. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Eycaravanner 29 reviews from this member

 Very warm welcome when we arrived, lots of useful local information available in and around reception. We were able to choose from the available pitches and we were very happy with our choice, as you’d expect from a club site, everything was well maintained, clean and efficiently run, there is a tv aerial booster on each hookup post, you will need your own co-ax cable, these can be bought from reception. WiFi is available for a charge. Everything has been thought of, washup room, laundry, motorhome freshwater fill, waste water dump point, recycling point etc, etc, the showers, toilets and washrooms are all immaculate. The shop is well stocked and staff friendly and helpful.

A fish and chip van arrives Monday, Wednesday and Friday evenings just before 6, give your order when it arrives and you will be given a number and told when to come back and collect it. There is a social club which you can walk to through the forest.

Take some insect repellent as we got quite a few nasty bites in the forest, it’s wonderful for dog walking and you can walk through to Sandringham House and gardens but you cannot take dogs into the royal park, we were able to walk to the church though.

We caught a bus from right outside the site into Kings Lynn, we were able to take our 2 dogs in the bus which was a bonus, we found all the usual high street shops and it seems there is a market there on Saturdays. There are lots of other places you can get to on the bus service eg Hunstanton, Wells-Next-The-Sea, Cromer etc etc. Would definitely visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

 As other reviews have said, this site is in very pleasant wooded surroundings, with access to woodland walks from several points around the site.

It's divided into three named areas, Lynnwood to the right of the entrance, Glucksberg to the left and Knights Rise, where the playground is, the furthest away from the entrance.

The pitches are mostly hardstanding and a good size but there were variations in both size and shape - our pitch was wider than it was deep, so it's a pity you can't pitch sideways like you can in many sites abroad! Despite looking level our pitch (no. 11) turned out to have quite a slope, so not only did we need levelling blocks, but also an extension pipe to the waste water container.

There are two shower blocks. We used the smaller of the two, which had the typical C&MC layout and cleanliness. However it was looking a bit tired. The 2 washing-up sinks were outside, but under cover, making it a bit chilly in adverse weather.

Reception is friendly and there is a range of food available, including milk, and newspapers can be ordered. A fish and chip van and an ice cream van visit the site, although we didn't use either.

If, like us, you're impervious to the attractions of royal palaces there are plenty of other things to do. King's Lynn makes an interesting day out, and on Saturdays has a small but very tempting 'foodie' market. There are two RSPB reserves, at Titchwell and Snettisham, and the Rose and Crown at Snettisham does excellent food. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Margaretsp 4 reviews from this member

 A beautiful, well laid out site within the forest of the Sandringham Estate. Being under trees is a big phobia of mine but I didn't have to worry as it was easy to find a pitch that didn't have overhanging trees. The dog walks from the site are tremendous with loads of different directions to choose from. We pitched on the top level of the site and were very happy there. The visiting chippy was amazing, best I've had in a long while. The site was nearly full when we were there and there was never a queue for the showers which were immaculately clean. They also closed them in the afternoon for cleaning, a great idea: why do so many sites close them just when us late risers want to clean ourselves? 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sonygeezer 19 reviews from this member

 It is a nice site but the wife and I just did not like it, most pitches are small and all seem close together.

Too many speed humps around the site for my liking and the site is in the middle of nowhere yes there is a bus stop outside the gate which helps.

The fish and chip van seemed overpriced and the chips were not very good.

All in all we will not be returning, maybe it just didn't suite us I just can't put my finger on it. 
via mobile


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Sandringham Estate Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Sandringham Estate Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Sandringham Estate Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sandringham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


21756 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement