Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kielder Water Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Kielder Water Caravan Park
Kielder Waterside
Kielder Water & Forest Park
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE48 1BT
Tel: 01434 251000
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 38 seasonal only
Open: 03/02 To 01/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 49 Reviews
                8/10 from 49 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shortlegs 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights June 24-26 site is lovely and showers were really nice. Only down side was the lack of space to put stuff so wrapped up in a towel and headed to the toilets to finish drying etc. Showers and toilets were lovely and clean. Warden, forgotten his name was very friendly and warned us re the midges and he was not wrong they were horrid! The site is in a perfect spot for touring the area and we walked everywhere. The pub is really close by and the food was lovely and again folks were really friendly. Would stop there again but out of midgy season.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Simpsons22 1 review from this member

We went to this site for our 1st time and cannot recommend this site highly enough. The toilet block was very clean and the showers very powerful and hot. The play area and restaurant area were very clean and ideal for our 4 children ranging from 2 - 14. The site is set in some fantastic scenery with beautiful views and the bike/walks from site around the lake are truly outstanding. This is like an unknown Lake District type gem of a place. If you want to be pernichty the only things that may bother some people would be the midges (which do bite!), no internet connection or signal and the nearest shop is 20mins drive (although the shop on site is ok for basic items). We did not have chance to make use of all the facilities but there is plenty to do for everyone and all ages. We will definitely be back but more prepared for the beastly midges. Oh and the site wardens were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Noak 1 review from this member

We've just spent 2 nights at Leaplish camp site. (We knew there'd be midges so we were prepared with room and body spray, plus mesh mossie head cover!)

The site and facilities were well kept and clean with fast flowing hot water in the shower block. What did disappoint me was that there was only a wall fixed folding seat within the shower tray. Fine to use if you needed to sit whilst showering but no good to sit on to assist dressing! There was no handrail to hang on to either. I guess there were disabled facilities which I didn't investigate as I generally don't need them but did need a bit of support on this occasion.

Recommend campers read the notice board in the lodge reception area. We went for a walk round the lakeshore expecting to take the shorter route only to find it was closed for logging. We found the notice once we got back.

Swimming pool and sauna made up for long walk. It was like having our own spa. Worth the extra cost which we had thought was included in the camp fees.

Centre Bar and restaurant staff very friendly and good choice of food.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Browntechjrb 1 review from this member

Go to this site every year for long weekend around may time and could not have said enough good things about the place. Sad to hear after phoning this morning to sort out 2017 booking that it is only accepting seasonal pitches this year ??? Which seems a strange decision but hey ho. Hopefully the management will consider touring pitch provision again for 2018. Still a great place though and seasonal pitch price for end of May till beginning of Oct 2017 was very reasonable but not for us

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Milestone 5 reviews from this member

Warden Wayne was very helpful and suggested the pitch that suited us as most pitches are shaded beneath the pine trees.

The views of the lake are amazing.

We had a meal at the Leaplish bar and restaurant, just a short stroll through the site. Dogs are allowed in part of the bar.

Dog walking was not as we expected as they have to be kept on a lead around the lake.

Hot water and high pressure made showering a treat.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Etherbeliever 5 reviews from this member

We very much enjoyed our stay at Kielder. Wayne who runs the site is very helpful and accommodating.

The facilities are clean and plentiful with powerful showers, the pitches are large enough and nicely spaced out so you don't feel like you're on top of fellow guests.

The site itself is set up on a hillside in the forest above the lake. There are some beautiful views from the pitches in the open area.

What we really liked about the site is the fact that you can do a lot from the site like cycling, swimming, hiring boats to go out on the lake, walking around the lake, you can easily ride over to the MTB trails that lead out from Kielder Castle. There are also bird of prey displays each day and the excellent Kielder Observatory is just down the road but book ahead to avoid disappointment!

If I were to warn you of anything, it would be that midges descended in the evenings and early mornings when we were there. There's not a lot anyone can do, just pack the insect repellent.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hibbsa64 8 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights. We had a very large pitch with an uninterrupted view of the lake.

A lovely well kept site with plenty to do.

The lakeside cycle track is challenging but fun.

We were taking a breather after a few hectic days so this site was perfect having a indoor swimming pool, archery and crossbow classes available and even had a bird of prey centre and Osprey viewing area.

The facilities were modern and clean.

The local bar was great for catching up on emails whilst enjoying a beer.

The only downside were the midges!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alanakerr 8 reviews from this member

We loved this park. There wasn't really any negatives that we found so I will list the things that we liked about the park.

KIDS - Kids are allowed to build dens in the forest parts. There are a couple of great play parks near the water for the them to play. There are activities you can book them onto if you want at the waterside reception. My daughter enjoyed the Birds of Prey centre which is on sight.

DOGS - Very dog friendly even the waterside restaurant have an indoor area where you can take your dog in. Lots of lovely walks. Kielder Castle cafe is also dog friendly.

SHOWER/TOILET FACILITIES - Immaculate, warm, warm showers.

CYCLING -The park itself is hilly so not ideal for kids bikes but there are plenty of places to go with your bikes. There is also a bike hire somewhere not far from the park where there are bike trails.

ACTIVITIES - There is a Birds of Prey centre on sight and you can book activities at the waterside reception. Nearby is Kielder Castle and cafe, worth a visit. It has a maze and playpark which the kids enjoyed. There is also a bike hire across from the castle and bike trails. We didn't try it this time but looked amazing.

EATING OUT - We went to the restaurant on site which was good and reasonably priced. We also had lunch at Kielder Castle cafe which is also dog friendly

I definitely recommend this park and will return again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: 1101 gourmet 1 review from this member

If you seek beautiful scenery, peace and quiet- this is the site to visit! We had intended to do lots of cycling but at times it was a little too up and down for our liking. (However- head towards Keilder castle and the cafe- a gentler path. )Nevermind- we sat and enjoyed the views of the lake in the sun. The birds of prey centre is lovely and very child orientated, the boat ride is very good.

The campsite is excellent. The toilet block is clean, the showers powerful and hot and there are free hairdryers - no walking back with wet hair!

Previous reports of midges?! Well- use repellents, spray your interiors- be wise- this is a small price to pay for this type of glorious isolation! ( If you have a large motorhome- ring 3 days before to secure a suitable pitch- thank you Wayne!)

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kitwaller79 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site with two under fives. Even though it rained constantly we had a great time.

On arrival the friendly wardens suggested a good pitch for the kids for access to the play park and pool.

Washrooms were clean and modern and there is a basic shop on site.

Just off site at the waterpark there is a very nice restaurant, decent shop, play areas, crazy golf and the pool and sauna which you have to book for. The kids also enjoyed the Osprey viewing area.

Away from the site there is a few good pubs within 15 minutes drive and at kielder village there is fuel, plus loads of walks in the area.

Only negative is poor TV reception but it was expected because of remote location.

Overall a very nice site and will be back soon!

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


400 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019