Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of White House Beach Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Lowestoft > White House Beach Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

White House Beach Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Kessingland
Lowestoft
Suffolk   (Browse area)
NR33 7RW
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 122
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kate w 70 reviews from this member

 I stayed 6 nights on this really lovely site with my dog. The weather was lovely, which I’m sure helps but it was really a great site for me and the dog. Split into 2 areas, either side of a small road.

The beach side was no awnings only, daresay it can get a bit breezy. The main part of the site was spacious with plenty of trees and bushes.

Only a couple of pitches to choose from when I arrived, none of them a hardstandings but the grass pitch I chose was in good condition and drained well when it did rain. A warm welcome from the site managers.

The only slight niggle I had was the location of the water / waste and bins. The nearest I only used when the pitches behind me were vacant as it meant cutting between pitches, the next nearest to me was by the loo block, which was an uphill trundle with a full waste hog or toilet cassette.

An excellent place for an early morning dog walk, either on the promenade behind the beach or on the beach. A nice mix of sand and shingle.

Whilst staying on site I drove to Southwold, which is a really nice town, with lots of beach huts and a pier with fascinating home made slot machines in the under the pier show. Aldeburgh, a village with fisherman’s huts on the beach selling fresh fish.

Framlingham castle, where you can walk the walls with an audio guide. I stumbled across The Long Shop museum, home of Garrett steam engines.

Walberswick, where we strolled up the river with house boats tied up in various states of repair, a beautiful semi ruined church and an excellent tea rooms.

Definitely an area to return to in future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 46 reviews from this member

 Second visit so must be doing something right. Pitch on beach side so great views and easy access to 'heath' and beach. Friendly wardens even when we were very late due to road closure/accident.

TV reception almost non existent without plugging in to the bollard. Note you do not need what CAMC likes to call a 'booster' cable, any good coax will work. The WIFI is not wall to wall but seems to work well enough and free.

The facilities; liked being able to adjust both flow and temperature in shower, no button pressing. Usual problem to keep things dry. Requiring a key on the beach side block was occasionally a pain when one of us was already in the block.

The nearest pub Jolly Sailors seems to be well used but entertainment is mostly at weekends, check the website. Pricing is no where near Wetherspoon levels! Happy Wok Chinese, my wife loved her choice I was less happy with mine. Hederston Arts and Crafts signposted on main road, I would not bother again.

Beccles town centre is a bit spread out but more shopping than I previously thought. Most of riverside in town is inaccessible.

See my earlier review for more info. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 56 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site - choice of pitches either slightly inland (5-10 min walk to the beach - or beach front.

Immaculate site and friendly wardens. Bus stop closest is out of use however the next stop is only about 15 minute walk.

The day family ticket was around £12.

Africa Alive is about a 35 minute walk. 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Suepe5 1 review from this member

 Loved location by the beach and walking distance to Vulcan public house serving excellent food,

Lots of great walks along beach on our doorstep, dogs had a brilliant time and site very dog friendly,

Half hour drive to Southwold and close to other places to visit.

Excellent facilities and friendly staff, site and facilities kept very clean and tidy and very nice bar on site which we were surprised and pleased to see open so late in season.

Would definitely recommend and will be going back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 46 reviews from this member

 Site location is excellent, only a short walk across heath behind the beach. Beach can be almost deserted. No beach facilities. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Covid restrictions meant you did not see toilets/showers at their best. Showers were OK, usual problem trying to keep your things dry, plenty of hot water.

The 'band' system for entry took my wife two days to understand! Hopefully will not apply much longer. We have been spoilt recently with some absolutely superb showers.

We had a few pitch options although they were going fast. The one with best outlook was grass and sloped a lot. We were allowed to pitch caravan with door facing 'wrong' way, but even so only just got it level front to back.

There were two pubs within walking distance, three fish and chip shops and a chinese within easy drive. Two small supermarkets in town, Spar and CooP, again easy drive. Endless walks along the beach.

Lowestoft nearest town, some restaurants, a number of pubs (includes Wetherspoons), overall a little run down. Ness point, often mentioned, is situated behind the massive Birds Eye Peas factory! Oulton Broad is lovely of course and an easy drive. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Spikeion 6 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant and well laid out campsite. We chose a grass pitch with electric when booking. Unusually for us, the site warden invited us to go and choose a pitch and then let her know where we had chosen.

They Covid precautions were well organised if a little confusing (I wasn’t quite too sure what to do with the rubber wristbands!) We watched one morning as one of the wardens thoroughly disinfected all of the children’s play area. My only niggle was that whilst the toilets were being cleaned for 90 minutes, there was nowhere else to go. Usually, you are allowed to use the disabled toilet during the cleaning process. However this was locked.

There are two pubs very close to the site. Both were enjoying a post-lockdown boom. One was fully booked for food both evenings we stayed and the other one wasn’t doing food. However, there was live music and an outside seating area that offered tableservice for drinks.

A short walk past the pubs will lead you to a fish and chip shop. Here, you can eat in or takeaway. It’s near enough to get back to your caravan / motorhome without your chips being cold.

Finally, this is not a site to take a pet who is afraid of fireworks. Whilst this is nothing to do with the campsite, close by there are some bird scarers that emit a very loud bang fairly frequently throughout the day. I’ve read reviews elsewhere that have castigated this site for scaring their pets. However this is beyond the control of the wardens.

Southwold is a great day out. Make sure you visit.

We’d definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 257 reviews from this member

 We have used this site perhaps 6/7 times over the past 40 years. White House Beach is a members only site with direct access to the shingle beach at Kessingland.

The site has two separate pitching areas. The larger one is where the reception building is and all arrivals have to report in here. Although mainly hardstanding pitches in this section there are about a third grass pitches. Awnings are allowed on most pitches in this area but there are also some non-awning pitches marked by a different coloured peg. There are no serviced pitches.

Across the road from reception is a second, smaller, pitching area with direct access to the shingle beach with 24 pitches. All pitches are on hardstanding in this section and again a mix of awning and no-awning pitches.

The beachside section has its own toilet block and motorhome disposal point. On the main section there are two toilet blocks, the main one being at the rear of the site with a smaller one near to reception.

The motorhome service point on the main part of the site is of the older type with lifting metal cover. The way it is positioned would also require a length of hose to get to the drain point unless (UK) vehicles turn against the direction of traffic so they could dump directly into the drain.

Ironically the service point on the smaller beach section of the site is superb with a reverse in over an open grill. Service points are dotted around the site.

Electric points are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16 amps and use standard CEE17 blue connectors. The electric bollards also have Co-Ax TV connections. Reception sells a variety of essentials and next door is an information room. Site wide WiFi is available and time can be purchased online.

On our latest stay I used my phone 4G data which worked pretty well. Near the main toilet block there is a small adventure playground although nothing really for younger children.

We generally found this to be a very peaceful site although occasionally the peace is broken by a nearby bird scarer which does a double thud. Also be aware that the local pub does host live music events which can be heard on site.

This site is convenient for exploring the Suffolk coast. Lowestoft, the most easterly town in England is not far away. In the other direction is Southwold.

There are several attractions near to the site including Africa Alive, East Anglia Transport Museum and Pleasurewood Hills. For shopping there is a large Morrisons on the A12. There are several bus services from Wash Lane which is about a half mile walk from the site.

The options are buses to Lowestoft, Norwich and Southwold. There is a bus stop at the end of Beach Road opposite the pub but it is uncertain whether it is still in use. Not far from the site is the Waterfront Restaurant/café and the Sailors Home pub.

Please note that whilst we still have the COVID epidemic restrictions some service may not be available but clear instructions are given on arrival at the site. 


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kevin2 16 reviews from this member

 Right on the sea - some few pitches literally right on the sea wall. You can walk out to the sea and check cafes/pubs right near the site.

There is a walk 5. 31 miles around Kessingland marshes, inland back to the town, then along cliffs north and back to site.

The Waterfront cafe by the entrance, was beyond expectations! Starters of marquet sausage and caprese salad, then pinchos Marinetos (fish skewer) and brisket burger (beef burger and brisket). All superb.

Another 7. 3 mile walk along beach to Covehithe and - superb coast, cliffs a geologists dream, and very nice walking

Then a cycle 35 miles to Gisleham, Oulton Broad, Lowestoft, Kessingland, Henstead, Wrenham, Richmere, Gisleham and back. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Npkent 58 reviews from this member

 Gem of a site, great wardens shame they are moving on but it will be another sites gain. Choice of pitches by the beach or sheltered area, we choose the latter because of forecast strong winds and wanted to put up the awning.

Lovely flat pitches although one or two pooled with water during heavy rain. Like a lot of club sites the toilet facilities could do with a refurbishment although worked fine and plenty of hot water in the showers.

Thought the site would benefit from service pitches in future. Used the booster cable for the TV and the WiFi worked fine. The nearest fish and chip shop in the village was excellent and the Waterfront restaurant worth a visit.

Plenty do in the area including Southwold, Aldeburgh and walking galore. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kazzyb 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site.

Great location few yards walk from beach and from fabulous restaurant, the Waterfront.

Well worth a try.

Site clean and tidy.

Wardens very helpful and friendly.

Would definitely stay here again. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is White House Beach Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to White House Beach Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is White House Beach Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lowestoft      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


53636 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement