Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - White House Beach Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Site Reviews

White House Beach Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Kessingland
Lowestoft
Suffolk   (Browse area)
NR33 7RW
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 122
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dug1911 6 reviews from this member

I have Stayed here a week so far

I am on the beach side part of the site

Itís lovely to be able to look out to the sea

As said before itís a pebble beach but is easily reached even by someone who canít walk very well

The warden welcomed me with a smile and asked where Iíd like to go saying thereís pitches available on the beachside, go look where you like to go

There were no pitches available on the front row, so I chose one at the back it was fairly level and a hardstanding

The facilities are clean and well looked after the staff are doing a good job

The weather is hot and dry so itís pleasant to be able to sit outside

The only downside is the pitch is only about 8 feet from a road, and although this is a narrow road the speed of the traffic can be unnerving, there are ridges across the road at intervals but this doesnít seem to slow the speed

In fact lorries ignore these as they make little difference to them but causes terrific bangs and crashes as they run over them at speed

The road ends in a holiday camp so therefore is a dead end so speeding lorries cause two bangs a visit, I know this is not the sites fault but it is something to consider when choosing your pitch

The local fish and chip shop is good but painfully slow, it seems the cook does one order at a time and in busy times you will need to wait nearly 45 minutes to get your order

I wonít be returning to this site not because there is anything wrong here itís just I like to try different places

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Iwalani 158 reviews from this member

We had a cheerful welcome in reception. My first impression of the site was that it was not quite as smart or well-laid out as some C and MC sites, with not many trees, and some pitches backing on to housing. The approach road is quite narrow and winding.

The main toilet block is large, clean but looking a bit dated. It's quite a long, slightly uphill walk from some of the pitches, but as the site was nowhere near full we chose a pitch at the top end of the site so we didn't have so far to walk. There's a roomy washing-up room with 3 sinks and a laundry with two machines and dryers. The more exposed area of pitches nearest the beach have their own small shower block.

There aren't many National Trust or English Heritage properties in the area, but we loved Southwold. Climb the lighthouse for terrific views! Minsmere RSPB reserve makes a wonderful day out - we're not serious twitchers but were thrilled to see a bittern! Another delightful day was spent at Fairhaven Water Gardens.

All the local beaches are long, wild and windy - they could be a bit bleak if the weather wasn't good.

For shopping, there's a large Morrisons 3 miles away. Otherwise, it's a very long walk to the Co-op in Kessingland!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JohnnyTwosheds 8 reviews from this member

Wonderful site with helpful, personable wardens who were less officious than most CC&M wardens made our stay there a delight on our road trip. Many sites could take a leaf out of their book with regard to local knowledge, welcoming and hospitality. When given a choice on arrival look for a pitch away from the well fenced off deep water as each pitch is divided by shrubs and all are well tended but if the wind is in a certain direction those with a sensitive nose may notice a slight odour. Easy walking into the village or right on the beach (some pitches). Lots to see in the area so worth a return visit methinks as the area is awash with places to visit and the natives are friendly. Sailors home pub also worth a visit with frequent live music at weekends. And a trip into Southwold a must!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vic 21 3 reviews from this member

Visited this site in July and stayed for a week. The Wardens were very nice and helpful. This is a nice site but looked a little un-kept around the hard standings. The toilet facilities were clean but a bit dated and a fair way from where we were pitched (alright if weather fine). There was also a smell from the sewage farm not far from the site, this smell was about for around 4 days. This site seems to be used by lots of dog owners due to being near the beach.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AntKaye 2 reviews from this member

Thought this a nice site with a good mix of pitches, some right on the beach and others across a small road, a mix of grass and hardstanding. Although the site was pretty full it didn't really feel over busy. The site is divided by some nice hedges and this gives a feel of some privacy without being shut away. There are great walks along the beach in both directions. Friendly reception and clean facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Crocketford 12 reviews from this member

We chose a pitch looking across the beach, nice position except for irritating people walking across our pitch because they were too lazy to go around it to the dog walking gate. The shower block was always clean but desperately needs an update as do so many of the Caravan Club Sites. You do feel as if you are in the midst of a housing estate but having said that we did not find it particularly noisy. There are some little shops and places to eat nearby, but to get out and about you really need a car. We hired one from Enterprise and would really recommend a trip to the Aviation Museum, run by volunteers, free entry, how unusual and well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: WILL-UK 3 reviews from this member

Whilst being a member of the Caravan Club, I seldom stay on CC sites, but this site offered the best choice of location and price in the area we wanted to visit. It was a good choice and we weren't disappointed.

Firstly the site is split in two by a public road, with less than 30 pitches on the small beachfront part and the remainder on a tree lined part of the site. Upon arrival we were allocated a pitch on the beachfront part. It has its own toilet and shower block and vehicle access is via a swipe card for the barrier. At this point, I should mention that the beach is predominantly shingle and heavy going from a walking aspect. Apart from a small reserved area north of the site, it is dog friendly all year round, so great if you have dogs with you.

Location wise, there is a large co-op and a half decent chip shop within Kessingland village and a large Morrison's supermarket about three miles away in Lowestoft. The site is in a very good location for exploring the Suffolk and Norfolk coastal villages.

As with all CC sites, it was very well kept, with clean tidy facilities and the wardens there were absolutely wonderful, really going the extra mile to ensure everyone had a great time.

Whilst the site has easy access from the main A12, do be aware that the final part of the road is very narrow, with two tight ninety degree blind bends with parked cars everywhere, so take it real steady around those as the site entrance is immediately after that second bend. Great site though and happy to recommend it.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Iggycamper 36 reviews from this member

For once we can say NOT to the usual Caravan Club standards!

Very disappointed with both site and local area such that we decided to leave asap despite this meaning we lost our second nights payment. Note that as site was full the same pitch was soon re-assigned so the club got paid twice! (Wardens seemed somewhat smug that they could 'hide behind the CC rules' rather than discussing other options like say giving the excess payment to charity?) It seems that CC wardens have no discretion or delegated authority or willingness to even enter into an intelligent discussion regarding folks with valid reasons wanting to leave early. We intend to take this up with the CC directly.

Back to the site itself. Although was quite clean the small upper toilet block very small (only one toilet and one poor shower in the gents and all quite old fashioned. )

In the main block my wife found that she was greeted by a strong smell of drains when using the disabled shower which could have been caused by the local sewerage works sited adjacent to the site boundary - actually next to the small children's play area!

Very weak TV signal means using the site hook-ups - curiously only analogue so won't work with modern digital tv's. (Many folks seem to be using satellite dishes on this site. )

Site and village/pavements are not suitable for disabled if using a normal mobility scooter. On the so-called Beachside site the step at the gated pedestrian access meant my wife had to walk whilst I lifted the scooter over various small steps!

The beach is not a beach as such - rough tracks over about 1/4 mile of very rough land (that looks more like a derelict building site) takes you eventually to a steep shingle bank and then the sea. Not a 'fun place' and totally unsuitable for older or disabled folks and possibly quite dangerous for children!

The village is in quite a run-down state and like the site itself not visually attractive. The last straw for us was getting quite a rude response from local bus driver when we asked if we could take the mobility scooter on the bus. He muttered some thing about health and safety. (Bear in mind the 'scooter' is no heavier than a large suitcase!)

We could only guess that the site was so busy because of very little competition in area? Didn't stay long enough to talk much to other members but one did say there could be a strong smell of sewerage when wind in 'wrong' direction.

Note that we had earlier just spent couple of wonderful weeks in North Norfolk where there are plenty of good sites as well as lovely villages! (We headed back north again after Kessingland!)

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 211 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- From the Lowestoft direction follow Kessingland Bypass to end of dual carriageway and turn sharp left at roundabout into Whites Lane (signed for Kessingland Industrial Estate and Africa Alive) This road leads you to Kessingland Beach in about a mile. At the end of the road turn right and entrance to site is on the right. The final stretch of the road road down to the Beach narrows so care is required.

White House Beach is a memberís only site with direct access to the shingle beach at Kessingland. The site has two separate pitching areas. The larger one is where the reception building is and all arrivals have to report in here. Although mainly hardstanding pitches in this section there are also some grass pitches. Awnings are allowed on most pitches in this area but there are also some non-awning pitches marked by a different coloured peg. Across the road from reception is a second, smaller, pitching area with direct access to the shingle beach with 24 pitches. All pitches are on hardstanding in this section and again a mix of awning and no-awning pitches. The beachside section has its own toilet block and motorhome disposal point. On the main section there are two toilet blocks, the main one being at the rear of the site with a smaller one near to reception, this one has the motorhome service point. Service points are dotted are the site. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16 amps and use standard CEE17 blue connectors. The electric bollards also have Co-Ax TV connections although only analogue signal. Apparently the site has to convert digital signal to analogue because of interference caused to the signal by local wind turbines. Reception sells a variety of essentials and next door is an information room. Site wide WiFi is available and time can be purchased online. Near the main toilet block there is a small adventure playground.

This site is convenient for exploring the Suffolk coast. Lowestoft, the most easterly town in England is not far away. In the other direction is Southwold. There are several attractions near to the site including Africa Alive, East Anglia Transport Museum and Pleasurewood Hills. For shopping there is a large Morrisons on the A12. There is an hourly bus from the beach at Kessingland to Lowestoft but if you walk up to Wash Lane a little further into the village there is a more frequent service to both Lowestoft and Southwold.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DaveG23 19 reviews from this member

We stayed for three nights at this site and pitched on the main site, not the site overlooking the beach.

The wardens were friendly and helpful on arrival and we had a good choice of pitches as there were only three other units on that part of the site.

The toilet/shower facilities were up to the usual high Caravan Club standard and the site was well tended.

Previous members have complained of smells from the sewage works (just over the back of the site) but we did not experience this at all.

Due to poor digital TV reception the site has it's own distribution system but it is analogue and for us numpties it took some time to get the TV switched over to receive analogue but, that done the reception was good.

We went into the little restaurant just outside the site (The Lighthouse?) which was advertising Thursday as Paella night. It was brilliant and we didn't see anyone manage to clear their big dish of paella. Can thoroughly recommend the place.

Only small gripes with the camp site were that the wardens had closed off most of the toilets and showers, leaving just two of each for use and the toilet cleaning started at 9-45, just when you wanted a final visit before going out for the day leaving for home.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Suffolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2278 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019