Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bolton Abbey Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Bolton Abbey Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Bolton Abbey Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Bolton Abbey
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 6AN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 57
Open: 17/03 - 03/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AMATEUR 6 reviews from this member

We loved the campsite, we arrived just after 1 pm and had our choice of pitches. The site manager told us the sunniest spots were on the top level, around pitch 50 area, so we chose there.

The toilets and showers were immaculate (although I was a bit irritated by other campers leaving the door wide open allowing insects in). There are only 4 showers, but they were never busy and there are individual washing areas in cubicles.

There's a dishwashing area and motorhome service point. The site is wooded and beautifully laid out. You can access all the Bolton Abbey walks - although as other reviewers say, there is a reasonbly steep hill down to the river. The walking along the river is lovely, and Bolton Abbey itself is stunning.

We got a taxi into Skipton one day - the taxi company was recommended by the campsite, and it cost £10. Parking for Bolton Abbey is £10, so its a good idea to walk in from campsite.

There's a narrow archway coming from Bolton Abbey, so if you have a wide unit, you need to take account of this (although the service bus got through - with his mirrors pulled in!).

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We stayed on the upper level along from reception. Bright open pitches with plenty of light - we looked at the lower level and thought it seemed a bit over-shadowed with trees.

We had a non awning pitch but it was plenty big enough - not sure how much difference in price as we still paid £25 a night. The loos and showers do seemed a bit dated, but always clean and the showers were piping hot.

For us it was all about location, campsite entrance is on the Strid footpath network, mile after mile of footpaths through the woods, to the abbey or the village.

From the campsite there is also a wheelchair friendly walk in the woods, well set out with gravel paths.

We did the walk from campsite to the Abbey, there was a small coffee / sandwich van parked up at the children's play area approx 30 minutes from site, then there is the Pavillion cafe about an hour down the path and another cafe at the Abbey.

We found the site expensive but its £10 to park in the car-park next to the campsite, so that taken into consideration a night there isnt too bad.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 48 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Bolton Abbey club site. The approach to the site was quite hairy as there is a narrow bridge as you approach Bolton Abbey. We had a few inches to spare on each side of the caravan, but it took a bit of maneuvering to get through.

The site itself is divided into two areas, the lower area is all awning pitches whereas the upper area has a mixture of awning and non-awning pitches.

We had a non awning pitch which was level from side to side but sloped quite a bit from front to back, so much so that the front of the caravan was right down to almost its lowest point while the rear steadies were extended to their maximum. Most pitches seemed to be like this on the top section of the site.

The toilet and shower facilities were satisfactory and always kept very clean. There were only four toilets and four showers but as cleaning doesn’t begin until 11:30 AM there was a more staggered approach to showering in the morning which meant that the four showers were adequate and I never had to queue.

The site itself is on the edge of a wood and you can walk directly from the site into the woods and along the river in both directions.

Turn left along the river and you can pick up the Dales Way which goes to Grassington and beyond (that would be a long walk) or turn right and you can walk along to the ruins at Bolton Abbey which is about 4 miles away. We really enjoyed walking in the woods and had a couple of lovely days out walking to different places.

However, walks from the site are not suitable for those with limited mobility as there is a very very steep hill from the site down to the river, so whilst when you get to the river you can have a nice gentle stroll along the banks, getting up and down to the river from the site is a bit of a climb.

There is a tearoom in the car park right beside the site but we didn’t try it so I can’t comment, however we did find a great farm shop and restaurant in Skipton called Keelham farm and we went there often to either eat in the restaurant or buy lovely local food from the farm shop to cook at the van. The Devonshire arms is about 5 miles from the site but it was very expensive.

Due to the isolated nature of the site there is no mobile signal at all. I am with Vodafone and my husband is with Virgin which uses the EE signal and neither of us could get any signal on site.

There is also no television signal so you have to plug into the EHU bollard which gives you eight channels, however we found our bollard particularly temperamental and we were only able to get a signal on a couple of occasions during our four days. This doesn’t really matter to us as we are not big technology users and we don’t watch a lot of TV but it might be a problem for some people who like to stay connected.

Overall, we really enjoyed staying at this site due to the peace and quiet and great walking and we will definitely return in the future.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 2discover 3 reviews from this member

Set in beautiful Wharfedale in woodlands on the Devonshire Estate which includes Bolton Abbey this secluded site is becoming one of our favourites. The site is on 2 levels with the lower smaller level next to the play area. Access is shared with The Strid car park with its very nice cafe next to the site entrance. There are plenty of riverside walks direct from the site to Bolton Abbey, Burnsall, and other local villages. There is a cafe at Bolton Abbey, the expensive Devonshire Arms hotel, plenty of good food pubs and a Spar further afield in Grassington. Nearby Barden Towers has an excellent restaurant offering superb Sunday lunches but other opening is limited. Bus stops outside the site entrance provide a good service up or down the dale making it easy to get about. A great site for dogs and children who like the outdoors. All pitches are hardstandings, none are fully serviced. Being surrounded by woods provides good shelter. There is only cable TV available on the site (so bring a long TV aerial coax cable) and no mobile phone or 4G signal available. Site facilities are the usual C & MC standards and clean and modern. The site is also located in an area often painted by Turner and there is a viewing point he used in a famous painting only yards from the site.

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandgrounder52 12 reviews from this member

We stayed here at the end of November 2017.

I loved the site. It is located within the Duke of Devonshire's Bolton Abbey estate. Access is interesting (!) requiring a trip through an old stone archway but it actually looks more intimidating than it is. The site benefits from its location in that there are miles of walks directly from the site. Most of the paths on the estate are well maintained (often paved) which makes for easy walking when it is cold, wet and muddy. The estate is well populated with cafes as well. There is one located immediately outside the site, then another a couple of miles down the river at the Cavendish Pavilion. A welcome sight after a brisk couple of miles walking at just above freezing. There is a lovely walk alongside the river for several miles in each direction on both sides.

The abbey itself is fascinating, although the famous stepping stones were under water

The pitch was an adequate size for our Basecamp (5m) with Sunncamp rear awning (total length 7 m). The pitches looked level but, in fact, we needed to level both side to side and back to front. Not excessively so but we would have noticed had we not had a ramp. The pitch next to ours had a bird feeder which we assumed belonged to the site until we saw the couple next door pack it away when we left. It was well visited and I think we may try a bird feeder ourselves. There was also a semi-tame pheasant pair who visited (& loads of ducks). Squirrels also live in some of the large trees on site.

The site is in a clearing within a wooded area. Visiting in November the trees were without leaf which allowed the welcome winter sunshine into the van. It is on 2 levels. Personally, I think the lower level might have been a bit dark.

Facilities were older but perfectly adequate. As always with the C&MHC they were spotlessly clean. Even in the sub zero temperatures we experienced the water in the showers was hot and the block itself was warm.

My husband says the CDP and water points he used were fine.

Skipton is about a 10 / 15 minutes drive away. It has the usual massive Tesco etc but also lots of smaller, interesting shops and restaurants in the town centre.

A little further away, about 8 miles west along the A59, is the Bull at Broughton. We found it in the Michelin Pub guide and had a delicious evening meal there in front of an open fire. Highly recommended.

In summary, I would highly recommend the site. I would definitely revisit at some time. Perhaps when the weather is a bit better when we could tackle some of the open moorland walks at the edge of the estate.

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Atkinbrown 17 reviews from this member

First visit to Bolton Abbey

This is the first time we have stayed at this site. What a gem. Brian and Janet were extremely welcoming and friendly and more than happy to give you all the information needed. The site is in a fantastic position surrounded by woodlands and really well laid out pathways. These provide hours and hours of walking and wonderful views. Plenty of cafes around although we found that most will not allow dogs inside which makes for a very cold and quick lunch sitting outside even with blankets provided. Would highly recommend this site and will be back again early next year, if not for Christmas. A message to Brian and Janet. We hope your dog continues to recover. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cathy Sims 28 reviews from this member

Really nice small site set among trees. Very pleasant wardens who gave advice on the pitches available. Loved the pheasant who liked to wander round the site

Wonderful walks from the site down to the River Wharfe through the woods. All the paths are surfaced and well maintained. Our 12 year old Retriever thought it was fantastic. Bolton Abbey itself very scenic and The Strid gorge amazing.

We loved the site and the area. Will be back again

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 130 reviews from this member

A warm and friendly greeting is offered on arrival at this dated Caravan (& Motorhome) Club site set in the delightful Bolton Abbey Estate.

I have stayed on this site on several occasions over the years and the location never fails to impress what-ever the season. A walk directly from the site take you to the Strid and the magnificent view of Barden Tower largely unchanged since Turner painted this spot 200 years ago!

Lots of interesting (and some challenging) walks and bike rides in the area, but stock up on supplies as no shops are to found in the immediate location. Bolton Abbey’s Strid Wood car park just outside the site has a Tea Room that provides a very good breakfast and snacks during the day.

The site is however very dated and has tight pitches compared with new Club sites. Also with the increased pitch fees imposed by the Club over recent years – this is now an expensive site to stay at especially given the lack of services and the age of the facilities.

Overall delightful and quite location, very friendly wardens, but investment is required to improve this site and bring it up to 2017 standards!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DandT 25 reviews from this member

We had 4 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. The site is in a lovely woodland location with very good facilities and some lovely walks by the river Wharfe. The downside to this is the appalling TV reception, even with an aerial hooked up to the pillar on the pitch. It's also on a bit of a slope and so some pitches need chocks.

It's on part of the Duke of Devonshire's estate and is in a beautiful setting although parking by the river is very expensive, so walk down to it!

Skipton is about 8 miles away and is a lovely old town with all amenities.

Fountains Abbey is well worth a visit and the Fountaine Inn at Lipton is a lovely village pub with good food

Would certainly go back

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happycamper2012 9 reviews from this member

What a brilliant site. Quiet, plenty of walks around. Spotless facilities.

Our children loved this site, the ducks roam around freely!

TV limited but all the channels you need without SkyTV. Wifi good.

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5877 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019