Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wharfedale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Wharfedale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Wharfedale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Long Ashes
Threshfield
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 5PN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 115
Open: 16/03 To 03/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gazza1309 6 reviews from this member

 Great site, for walking, which if yo have a dog is very good. Close to Grassington which has a good selection of pubs/ restaurants.

The garage up the road has a Spar attached which is bigger and better stocked than it looks. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 66 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to the Wharfedale CMC site and it definitely wonít be our last. The site is very typical of CMC sites, mostly hard standing with a few grass pitches. Many of the pitches are sloping slightly so you may need levellers but the pitches are a good size.

We didnít use the shower block because of Covid19 so I canít comment on it.

We donít have children so donít pay that much attention to play areas but there was definitely a reasonably sized play park with a couple of picnic tables beside it.

The wardens were very friendly and the site was well organised.

The location of the site is excellent. It is about 8 miles north of Skipton and about 2 miles from Grassington. The walk to Grassington is partly across fields for the first mile which was really nice but the second mile is along a footpath beside the main road which is less interesting! There are also a number of nice walks directly from the site. We only got to explore a couple of these but look forward to trying some more in future.

The site is directly adjacent to a much larger mobile home park with a mix of both holiday and residential park homes. This site has a pub/restaurant and leisure centre in the complex which I believe people staying on the CMC site can use. We had a walk up to have a look at the pub for future reference but didnít use it this time as we are still a bit nervous about Covid19 as we are both classed as vulnerable. It looked pretty good with lots of outdoor seating.

We really enjoyed our short stay and look forward to going back again soon. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul+julie 58 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, lovely area for walking with great views.

Really friendly wardens.

About 1 and half miles into Grassington but you can cut across if you want to get to the river, it brings you out by Linton Falls.

The only negative I have about the site is that the showers have a very fine spray which when it gets to your body is Luke warm despite having the temp control on full, also a right pain trying to wash shampoo and conditioner out of long hair.

We stay on a lot of CAMC sites and the showers are one of the reasons we choose over independent sites.

Not sure if there is a problem with pressure or they are just trying to save water, if the latter then itís false economy as I had to use my own shower in caravan. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 This is nice site, located about 2 miles from Grassington. The village is lovely and worth visiting.

Excellent hill walking around the site and the local disused quarry is worth exploring.

The Long Ashes complex next door has a great pub and you can also use their spa facilities at an addition price. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stokewalker 15 reviews from this member

 Spent 1 night here in June. Got here a bit later than planned after long drive up from Bristol but as normal with CC sites staff were very friendly and facilities very good.

As other reviews have mentioned there's a very decent pub 5 minutes walk away which did nice food.

The only slight disappointment was that it was further way from Grassington than I had hoped - I note from reviews below that there's a route through the fields, but the staff at the site told me that you have to walk along the road and that it would be about 40 mins walk.

The other real plus about the site is that it's located in fantastic area. The drive in and out in any direction is stunning 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mondeocort 38 reviews from this member

 Another pleasant stay at Wharfedale, our 1st since they have had a refurb and the site looks great and facilities excellent. Wardens very friendly and approachable. 2 negatives which are mentioned on other reviews, off lead dogs on site and speeding. Rules obviously only apply to some members and not others and in plain site of wardens which is disappointing. We even had bollards and a light post knocked flat to the ground by one driver whose concentration had lapsed, could easily have been an off lead dog or child knocked over. Will visit again as we love the vast amounts of walks and Grassington itself it a lovely place to visit within walking distance of the site and welcomes everyone into their eateries and shops even just for a browse. 


Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Neil684 35 reviews from this member

 A well laid out site, lovely facilities, really warm in winter. The usual friendly helpful wardens. The pub in the adjacent holiday park was great, dog-friendly and welcoming. Easy walk into Grassington (unless you take two dogs the pretty route across the fields via Linton Falls and loads of ladder stiles :-) ). Again, Grassington has dog-friendly pubs and cafťs, we particularly like ECOcoffee. As we are in a motorhome, the bus services to Grassington, connecting to Skipton were useful. Plenty of walks from the site. All in all, we plan to return. 


Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a base for teh annual Dickensian festival in Grassington.

Large, well-maintained site with excellent facilities and pitches.

Fascinating walks around the local quarries right from the site.

Handy Park 'n' Ride a 10 minute walk from the site during the festival.

Nice pub and restaurants at the Ashes complex next door. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ChampersCrean 8 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome. Staff very helpful. Little shop for necessities and gifts. Pitch not very level and most people used levellers. Ours were not good enough for the slope. Showers very good and have recently been installed. I understand trees have been removed which is a shame. Lovely area for walks and fairly close to Grassington. 


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 We use this site when visiting the Grassington Dickensian festival.

It makes an excellent base for this event as the Park & Ride is within walking distance.

The surroundings of the site are beautiful.

Usual high standard CC facilities. 


Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wharfedale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wharfedale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Wharfedale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skipton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2225 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement