Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wharfedale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Wharfedale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Wharfedale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Long Ashes
Threshfield
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 5PN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 115
Open: 16/03/2022 to 03/01/2023
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 71 Reviews
                9/10 from 71 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Pettergo 8 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome, usual facilities, immaculate.

Some pitches quite a slope though most are flat or almost flat.

Great area for walks though weather was very wet so non tried.

Fly Fishing at Kilnsey craggy is nearby. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vangelina 34 reviews from this member

 The usual high standards are present at Wharfedale Caravan Club Site. Facilities are immaculate and wardens are very welcoming and helpful.

Location is perfect for exploring the Yorkshire Dales. Lovely walks along the River Wharfe.

Walk into Grassington takes 40 minutes (mostly pavement walking and up and down hill).

Itís one of those sites we will return to often as there is so much to see in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Smart Family 70 reviews from this member

 Cant Fault this site, reception was very friendly and welcome, plenty of pitches to choose from, level and sloping, whatever we wanted.

We picked a nice level pitch near the dog walk gate pitch 89.

Immaculate toilet block with unisex service toilet. Lots of service points one with dog/cycle wash. Endless walks nearby.

Beautiful Grassington on your doorstep. Great site.

Will be back, can't wait ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 83 reviews from this member

 We stayed here previously in August 2020 and my review from then should be in the reviews below, however, I thought I would add a few additional observations from this trip.

When we arrived this year the site had plenty of pitches free so we were able to choose one to suit us, but as we drove around, one thing that we noticed particularly was that a large number of the pitches slope quite significantly from front to back. Most appear to be reasonably level, or only requiring a small amount of levelling from side to side, but the front to back slope on many of them was quite extensive. We even saw a number of Caravans who had had to put several blocks below their front or back corner steadies to enable them to reach the ground! We were fortunate to get a pitch where we didnít need any other equipment to level although our back studies were almost fully extended and the nose of the caravan almost on the ground to find a level.

We took an ordinance survey map with us this time and found some really lovely walks in the area, some start directly from the site, however there are a number of other walks which start from neighbouring villages, about a five to ten minute drive away. Most of these villages have a lay-by for walkers to park up in before they head off up into the fells. If you like circular walks of between seven and 10 miles, you should definitely find plenty to suit here, however we noticed that there seems to be a shortage of circular walks of under 5 miles apart from the standard walk back and forwards to Grassington Village or up and down to the river.

The toilet block was open to use the toilets and wash basins only, the showers were closed, however everything was very well organised with maximum numbers allowed inside at any one time and a band system to ensure that this was adhered to. Everything was very clean and tidy and people seems to be observing social distancing. The Wardens were friendly and helpful on arrival and carefully explained the COVID rules.

As a second visit to the site, we enjoyed this just as much as we enjoyed our first visit, and hopefully we will be back again later this year to try out some more of the Fell walks in the area. 


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karen2 1 review from this member

 Easy check-in & new rules explained well,

Clean toilet block/facilities felt completely safe & enjoyed our stay

Will be back to explore further.

We walked from the site to Burnsall for lunch at the Red Lion approx 4 miles easy walk from Campsite, if you donít want to make the return journey check public transport as limited & taxis tend to come from Skipton so charge accordingly.

I wish the caravan club would implement a 2 night minimum stay either Friday & Sat or Sat & Sunday people seem to block book in advance and cancel last minute at the required 72hrs only managed to secure booking less than 24hrs before we departed.

This is not directed at this site but merely an observation of how the club operates which affects popular sites. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Michae 1 review from this member

 Shower block very clean. Great shower hot and the room was warm. Good size pitches location.

Would recommend it.

Dog friendly. Plenty of great walk rounding the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gazza1309 17 reviews from this member

 Great site, for walking, which if yo have a dog is very good. Close to Grassington which has a good selection of pubs/ restaurants.

The garage up the road has a Spar attached which is bigger and better stocked than it looks. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 83 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to the Wharfedale CMC site and it definitely wonít be our last. The site is very typical of CMC sites, mostly hard standing with a few grass pitches. Many of the pitches are sloping slightly so you may need levellers but the pitches are a good size.

We didnít use the shower block because of Covid19 so I canít comment on it.

We donít have children so donít pay that much attention to play areas but there was definitely a reasonably sized play park with a couple of picnic tables beside it.

The wardens were very friendly and the site was well organised.

The location of the site is excellent. It is about 8 miles north of Skipton and about 2 miles from Grassington. The walk to Grassington is partly across fields for the first mile which was really nice but the second mile is along a footpath beside the main road which is less interesting! There are also a number of nice walks directly from the site. We only got to explore a couple of these but look forward to trying some more in future.

The site is directly adjacent to a much larger mobile home park with a mix of both holiday and residential park homes. This site has a pub/restaurant and leisure centre in the complex which I believe people staying on the CMC site can use. We had a walk up to have a look at the pub for future reference but didnít use it this time as we are still a bit nervous about Covid19 as we are both classed as vulnerable. It looked pretty good with lots of outdoor seating.

We really enjoyed our short stay and look forward to going back again soon. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul+julie 58 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, lovely area for walking with great views.

Really friendly wardens.

About 1 and half miles into Grassington but you can cut across if you want to get to the river, it brings you out by Linton Falls.

The only negative I have about the site is that the showers have a very fine spray which when it gets to your body is Luke warm despite having the temp control on full, also a right pain trying to wash shampoo and conditioner out of long hair.

We stay on a lot of CAMC sites and the showers are one of the reasons we choose over independent sites.

Not sure if there is a problem with pressure or they are just trying to save water, if the latter then itís false economy as I had to use my own shower in caravan. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 607 reviews from this member

 This is nice site, located about 2 miles from Grassington. The village is lovely and worth visiting.

Excellent hill walking around the site and the local disused quarry is worth exploring.

The Long Ashes complex next door has a great pub and you can also use their spa facilities at an addition price. 


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wharfedale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wharfedale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Wharfedale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skipton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3792 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement