Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wharfedale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Wharfedale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Wharfedale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Long Ashes
Threshfield
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 5PN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 16/03 To 03/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 63 Reviews
                9/10 from 63 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul+julie 58 reviews from this member

Lovely site, lovely area for walking with great views.

Really friendly wardens.

About 1 and half miles into Grassington but you can cut across if you want to get to the river, it brings you out by Linton Falls.

The only negative I have about the site is that the showers have a very fine spray which when it gets to your body is Luke warm despite having the temp control on full, also a right pain trying to wash shampoo and conditioner out of long hair.

We stay on a lot of CAMC sites and the showers are one of the reasons we choose over independent sites.

Not sure if there is a problem with pressure or they are just trying to save water, if the latter then it’s false economy as I had to use my own shower in caravan.
via mobile

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 510 reviews from this member

This is nice site, located about 2 miles from Grassington. The village is lovely and worth visiting.

Excellent hill walking around the site and the local disused quarry is worth exploring.

The Long Ashes complex next door has a great pub and you can also use their spa facilities at an addition price.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stokewalker 15 reviews from this member

Spent 1 night here in June. Got here a bit later than planned after long drive up from Bristol but as normal with CC sites staff were very friendly and facilities very good.

As other reviews have mentioned there's a very decent pub 5 minutes walk away which did nice food.

The only slight disappointment was that it was further way from Grassington than I had hoped - I note from reviews below that there's a route through the fields, but the staff at the site told me that you have to walk along the road and that it would be about 40 mins walk.

The other real plus about the site is that it's located in fantastic area. The drive in and out in any direction is stunning

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mondeocort 35 reviews from this member

Another pleasant stay at Wharfedale, our 1st since they have had a refurb and the site looks great and facilities excellent. Wardens very friendly and approachable. 2 negatives which are mentioned on other reviews, off lead dogs on site and speeding. Rules obviously only apply to some members and not others and in plain site of wardens which is disappointing. We even had bollards and a light post knocked flat to the ground by one driver whose concentration had lapsed, could easily have been an off lead dog or child knocked over. Will visit again as we love the vast amounts of walks and Grassington itself it a lovely place to visit within walking distance of the site and welcomes everyone into their eateries and shops even just for a browse.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Neil684 34 reviews from this member

A well laid out site, lovely facilities, really warm in winter. The usual friendly helpful wardens. The pub in the adjacent holiday park was great, dog-friendly and welcoming. Easy walk into Grassington (unless you take two dogs the pretty route across the fields via Linton Falls and loads of ladder stiles :-) ). Again, Grassington has dog-friendly pubs and cafés, we particularly like ECOcoffee. As we are in a motorhome, the bus services to Grassington, connecting to Skipton were useful. Plenty of walks from the site. All in all, we plan to return.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 510 reviews from this member

We used this site as a base for teh annual Dickensian festival in Grassington.

Large, well-maintained site with excellent facilities and pitches.

Fascinating walks around the local quarries right from the site.

Handy Park 'n' Ride a 10 minute walk from the site during the festival.

Nice pub and restaurants at the Ashes complex next door.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ChampersCrean 8 reviews from this member

Friendly welcome. Staff very helpful. Little shop for necessities and gifts. Pitch not very level and most people used levellers. Ours were not good enough for the slope. Showers very good and have recently been installed. I understand trees have been removed which is a shame. Lovely area for walks and fairly close to Grassington.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 510 reviews from this member

We use this site when visiting the Grassington Dickensian festival.

It makes an excellent base for this event as the Park & Ride is within walking distance.

The surroundings of the site are beautiful.

Usual high standard CC facilities.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jane&Lynn 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this site. Lovely setting, nice walks directly from site. Handy drying room. Non existent phone signal on EE but paid to use Wi Fi which was mostly adequate. Warden assisted us when we didn't use electric hook up correctly - you have to turn it clockwise at bollard. Shops sells basics and you can order newspapers. Toilet block is fine although there is only one. TV booster gave us the basic channels. On last day warden kindly said we could stay till 2pm. Would come back. Lovely scenic drive to Pateley Bridge.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Beautiful site, set in an outstandingly beautiful area. Big pitches, clean facilities, good hot showers - everything you expect from a CC site.

The village of Grassington is picture postcard perfect - great little shops, cobble streets and loads of places to stop for a coffee, drinks or food.

We found the lanes perfect for cycling, very little traffic around. The walk from the campsite to Grassington took us around 40 minutes at a gentle pace.

There are numerous footpaths and bridleways in the area, you can walk for miles directly from the site.

Nothing we could fault at all - a perfect few days.

Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4652 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019