Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Coed Helen Caravan and Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Coed Helen Caravan and Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

CLOSED: Coed Helen Caravan and Motorhome Club Site
Coed Helen Road
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
                8/10 from 22 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davver 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a relaxing break at this lovely site. The staff were very attentive and met us on arrival they gave a quick run down on the site, the local area and offered us the choice of pitch. The main camp ground is reasonably flat with EHU. The hot water was plentiful and the shower block was clean, I did find the shower cubicles a little small and I'm not a particularly big person but that is a minor comment. We walked into Caernarfon and was surprised how close it is. Loads of lovely walks for the dogs too. Due to poor weather we didn't use the pool but we did go to the bar. Food was a little pricey and basic, you can get the same in town for 1/2 the price but the beer was excellent. A point of worthy note is Tesco and Morrisons are just around the corner. All in all a lovely campsite that I would go back to. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clampets5 1 review from this member

 Just returned today and would definitely go back. ALL staff were friendly and helpful. Pitches are quite big and the toilet/shower block were clean with piping hot water.

The on site warden is available anytime.

The pool is lovely and has a coded gate so children need an adult or the code isn't given.

The bar could do with updating as could the whole building but the welcome from John and co more than makes up for it. Our girls made so many friends and all parents looked out for them all. A play area on the tent field would have been a bonus as the one on site is over the far side of the statics.

Caernarfon town is a 5min walk away with lots to keep you busy, we loved crabbing in the bay. I am not a lover of camping but this site has changed my opinion. (ish) 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 The Caravan Club site at this location closed in 2011. However a new site is now running called Coed Helen Holiday Park at the same place. Their listing and full details can be found at Coed Helen Holiday Park 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnanddot 8 reviews from this member

 We booked here for 7 nights but as the weather was so good we asked to stay for a further 3 nights. The site was fully booked but the warden very kindly said he would let us know if anything changed.

The next day he came to our caravan to inform us that we could stay. The site is so close to Caernarfon, no need to use the car.

There are so many attractions to see and so many places to walk to. The coastal path is quiet with not a lot of traffic. We did the cycle ride to Bangor which was brilliant.

The path is mostly flat and no traffic which made it a really relaxing ride.

The beach and the area leading to the Caernarfon Air Museum is fantastic. A hidden gem. The only downside was when we discovered that the site is closing due to end of lease.

We hope that the CC opens another site in the area but do not think one could be in such a lovely spot as Coed Helen. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Madasmad 13 reviews from this member

 Arrived on the Friday before the bank holiday a little early but was still welcomed by the fantastic staff on this site. There had been a heavy downpour the night before so the 90% grass pitches had taken a lot of water making some unusable.

The sloping site meant that the ones on the left hand boundary we actually quite dry. However due to the slope the only way to get the van on the pitch was with the movers. Blocks, chocks and ramps are required for these pitches.

The site is to be shut at the end of October as the CC lease has expired. This means the facilities, although always spotless, are very tired but of course with the impending closure these will never be sorted.

What a shame to lose such a wonderful site in an ideal position. Let's hope the CC purchase something quite close that is just as good. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Whitemeridian 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for a couple of nights on our way to Ireland, principally to visit the Welsh Highland Railway which is within walking distance of the site.

The site itself is an open field up to the usual Caravan Club standard but the facilities whilst well-maintained were rather dated in what appeared to be a temporary-style building.

The site is close to the centre of Caernarfon with its choice of shops and restaurants and of course the famous castle.

The site is next to but separate from a large static caravan site. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Louise99202 4 reviews from this member

 a lovely peaceful small site. Very clean and friendly. People need to remember to mop the water up when they shower though.

The toilet/shower block was otherwise basic but spotless. The surrounding area is lovely.

Bangor is the nearest for larger shops. Caenarfon is small and lovely. We found everybody in the area happy and helpful.

The snowdonian NT is a must by car/train or cycle if you have the energy.

Our children loved the peace and the clean lush play area.

The site wasn't full at all during our stay but at just 44 pitches we find this perfect. Bbq's are allowed too! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Igworm 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for three nights. On our first night we were late arriving so had to have the last pitch available on a slope so we needed our chocks.

The warden told us that we could move the following day as many pitches would be empty early. The toilet block is old but kept very clean and the water was very hot even when well used in the morning.

We didn't get to use the swimming pool which is on the adjacent static site but did use the bar and restaurant facility. The meals were very good and good value. It's only a ten minute walk into Caernarfon.

We went on the Welsh Highland Railway which is an excellent way to see the surrounding countryside and gives a discount to Club members. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TRAILER TRASH 1 6 reviews from this member

 Yes. It is not up to the usual Caravan Club standards but it is still 4 star. The block is out of the ark this cannot be denied, but it is kept scrupulously clean. The wardens are lovely and the site location is perfect being an easy walk from the centre of Caernafon. It is Caravan Club and the reason I do not begrudge a penny of my membership fee. I have stayed in five start hotels which were not as clean. Life is not perfect but in camping and caravan terms this is just about as perfect as it gets. We will be back and will be very grateful for it. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gail88 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights and thought it was a brilliant site. You are allowed to book on to the site after 12 and we arrived about 12.45 You are told to go and choose your own pitch and come back with your pitch number and get your toilet key. We found a pitch in the middle and it was flat so no ramps or blocks needed. When I went back to get the toilet key the reception had closed at 1.00. There was a note on the door to say if you want the warden ring the bell. Me and another bloke who had just arrived did this and the warden sorted our kys out. No problem and with a smile. Its in a great location for getting about and Caernarfon itself is a short walk from the site. While we were here we went to Porthmadog and Anglesey.

The toilets were always spotless with 3 toilets and 4 showers for the ladies.

My only gripe is that we asked if we could stay another night as we liked it here that much but they were fully booked. Such a popular site and I can see why.

We hope to go here again for longer so must book early. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


49125 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement