Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greendale Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Rutland > Oakham > Greendale Farm Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Greendale Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Pickwell Lane
Whissendine
Oakham
Rutland   (Browse area)
LE15 7LB
Tel: 01664 474516
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14 - Only 7 in winter months
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 142 Reviews
                9/10 from 142 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (29)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  142 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 38 reviews from this member

 1st time at this site, it has fantastic reviews, the site did not disappoint. Approach by the A606 due to the angle of the entrance gate.

You are about half a mile from the A606 down a narrow lane at times so take care. Think we started on the wrong foot, met at the gate by the own who's 1st words were I have your van down at 6.4 metres, hubby made the booking but we always tell the site its 7 metres long. I don't know why he said that because the pitch he had us down for had enough room for the van with car in front & an awning had we decided to put it up.

He gave us lots of information that we could bring home as well as other info in a pack which he asked that we return prior to leaving. The site is lovely but small, adults only, dogs allowed on leads, some pitches have table & benches to sit on.

There was a very good shop with honesty box, did not use but also books, dvd's to borrow.

I went to take a shower, it was dark inside the light comes on once you are well inside the cubicle. I had already put my wash bag on the shelf as I walked in, got soaped up, shampoo in my hair then took the shower head out of it holder to hose myself off & it cut out, no water at all. Had to get dressed best I could & get back to caravan, asked hubby to let them know otherwise someone else could have followed me in & no water from shower.

Hubby was spoken to sharply when he went to the house, was told he should have gone to reception, he did, it was closed so what are you suppose to do. Anyway the guy seemed to know what I'd done so obviously it must have happened before-sorry. The following day there were signs telling you not to take the shower head out of the holder, they could have been there the night before but as I say it was completely dark until well in the shower before the light came on, I just didn't see the sign if it was there already. After that no other mishap.

Lovely quiet site in the countryside, we used our car to get to places as the bus stop was in the village about half a mile away & about every 1 to 2 hrs.

As I say beautiful site, & quiet. 


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shilto 1 review from this member

 Every thing on this site was immaculate,

Very nice couple, always on site if you needed anything.

All the information on the board to say what was on around the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: TommyTrooper 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site absolutely spotless,

We were made to feel very welcome with nothing being too much trouble.

The site is ideally positioned for people wanting to explore Rutland by car or for people like us with dogs who want to walk from site there are several walks in the beautiful countryside. 


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Graham 1 review from this member

 What a gem of a site, super clean and tidy.

Alan was so helpful to us newbie caravanners.

Lovely location with lovely views over the valley.

Local pub was an easy 10 minute walk and a fish and chip van on Thursday evening.

Would recommend and we will certainly be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Geoffp 2 reviews from this member

 Very friendly and approachable owners.

This site is absolutely immaculate.

Hardstanding pitches with lawned grass in between.

Facilities are spotless.

Really quiet and peaceful day and night and a 15 minute stroll to the village pub.

We will definitely return. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dingobee 6 reviews from this member

 A lovely tidy and quiet small site.

The toilet block was very clean with a good hot shower. There are two washing up sinks, one outside and one inside, and a well stocked little shop (including essential ice creams!) with an honesty box and plenty of information on the area.

I really enjoyed my stay, it was peaceful and quiet, and the hosts were very friendly and helpful.

I have already booked again for this year. 


Date of Visit: February 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Holtma 1 review from this member

 One of the tidiest sites we've been on. Facilities tip top.

Alan a very attentive host.

Good location with village 15 minutes walk away for pub, shop and bus stop into Oakham or Melton Mowbray.

Good cycling country. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ann Cavanagh 7 reviews from this member

 One of the best small sites we have stayed on over the past 7years. The owners are friendly, approachable and offer valuable advice on where to visit if you are unfamiliar with the area as we were. The site is immaculate.

Although there is only 1 shower in each toilet area it was not a problem, loads of hot water.

The swimming pool is warm and again exceptionally clean.

We were given a comprehensive folder of information about the site and the area including details about the local wildlife.

More information is available in the small shop where you can buy a small selection of necessities should they be needed. Payment using an honesty box.

Easy walk into Whissendine and a regular bus service into Oakham and Melton Mowbray.

Our dog was made very welcome and enjoyed his morning treat from Jaqi.

This site is doing everything it can to be “kind to our planet” and Alan and Jaqi should be congratulated.

Brilliant first stay and definitely not the last.

Loved everything about our stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: 0ldskool 2 reviews from this member

 This is a small adult only site in a fabulous location. We were made very welcome by the owners and they were most friendly and very helpful with local information and because we were in a tent they provided additional heavy tarpaulin for protection from the pebbles on the hard-standing pitch.

We liked that the site was password secured out of hours, that it is clean and well maintained there are solar powered showers, the owner’s own eco sewerage system and plenty of recycling options.

The on-site shop is great -having lots of information and maps about the area as well as reasonably priced items (ice cream). We were very impressed with the gardens (the site is like a garden), with bird feeders that encourage a wonderful variety of birds as well as wasp repellent “ornaments”.

The local pub is within walking distance – ideal at the end of a long walk and there is lots to do locally. During our short visit we took walks around the area, visited Rutland Water for birdwatching as well as the local windmill and museum. We have decided that the site is ideal for future visits.

The cost of the site included all our hot water and showers, use of the swimming pool Our electricity was metered fairly, but we didn’t use more than the basic allowance. This made the charges a lot more favourable than expected. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lbarkas 91 reviews from this member

 We last stayed in October 2009 and it has been our intention to return at some time and this year we did.

Although under new ownership the high standards we remembered were still in place.

This is just like pitching up in someone’s prized garden so much so we now have lawn-envy!

The pitches are imaginatively laid out, with delightful rural views and sounds. Ours was hard standing which we were able to access using the motor mover, otherwise it would have been tricky.

We enjoyed the peace and quiet, though a bit of traffic uses the lane to Whissendine. Explored Oakham, Uppingham, a few garden centres.

Excellent lunch at Hector’s Barn, Oakham - the lamb rump was to die for.

Definitely intend to return at some time as it’s an ideal getaway for a few days at an hour and a half from home. 


Previous     142 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Greendale Farm Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Does Greendale Farm Caravan & Camping Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greendale Farm Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Greendale Farm Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Oakham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Rutland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


42774 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement