Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Coed Y Llwyn Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Coed Y Llwyn Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Gellilydan
Blaenau Ffestiniog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL41 4EN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 16/03 To 29/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 37 Reviews
                9/10 from 37 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chappies43 27 reviews from this member

We spent a lovely 2 weeks holiday at Coed-y-Llwyn even though the weather was pretty awful for the first week. First impressions were not brilliant as you enter the site through a small housing estate and it is quite a tight lane due to the residents' parked cars, members would do well to heed the 12pm arrival time to make sure you don't meet a departing unit leaving the site. It is very easy to find off the main road though and it is only a short stretch that could be problematic. The site entrance is quite a tight swing in with a large caravan; watch out that nobody is leaving as you turn in as we very nearly caught our 'van on the gate bolt due to this. The wardens offered a friendly greeting on arrival and advised us which pitches were available that were big enough for our caravan. We only have a single axle but were restricted to just 3 pitches that were big enough as lots of them are not very deep.

The pitch we chose sloped both side to side and front to back but we managed to get level fairly easily. However, a hedge dividing our pitch from next door made it very tight due to having to pitch the caravan corner to the marker peg, a foot to the right would have been much more sensible and given us room to get in and out of the car better. The toilet facilities are the usual club standard and hot water was plentiful. There is an annexe to the toilet block for busy times which was opened for the duration of our stay, easing any congestion and ensuring facilities were available even when cleaning was taking place. There is a small dog walk and a nice playground for kids. We really struggled to get a decent TV reception and gave up in the end and just watched stuff we'd recorded on our digibox.

The Bryn Arms next to the site has been recently taken over and the new owners are making a lot of effort to make improvements. We ate there one night and whilst the food was nice, it was quite pricey for what it was. Dogs are welcome in the pub side and the beer garden but not the restaurant.

As others have commented there is very little in the village, not even a newsagents so you need to drive to the Spar shop at Penrhyndeudraeth for groceries which is about 15 minutes drive. Initially we found this to be a pain but we soon worked it into our return journey after a day out when we needed to stock up. Also in Penrhyndeudraeth are a fish and chip shop, Chinese takeaway, kebab/pizza takeaway and an Indian. We didn't try the Indian but the other 3 were all good and we can recommended, particularly the pizza/kebabs which is run by a very friendly Turkish gentleman. A bit further away is Porthmadog which is a lovely place with a large Tesco and Lidl for more substantial grocery shopping. Portmeirion is a lovely place with a gorgeous beach that we have visited in the past but we were unable to go on this holiday as we now have a dog and they are not allowed there. We did find North Wales was not particularly dog friendly with even some parks restricting where they are allowed.

This area of North Wales is beautiful with magnificent scenery. We climbed to the top of Mount Snowdon on a lovely clear Sunday and it was well worth the effort but it is not for the faint-hearted or those with limited mobility - get the train up if you're unable to walk but book well in advance as it is always full but be aware that dogs are not allowed on the railway. Your four-legged friend is, however, welcome on the Welsh Highland Railway so we journeyed between Porthmadog and Caernarvon and back with our pouch and we had a lovely relaxing time through some of the most magnificent scenery we have ever seen. The buffet service is reasonably priced and the staff are really friendly - highly recommended.

Our son wanted to go to Zipworld which looks like fantastic fun but in the end we decided it was too pricey as under 18's have to have a participating adult with them which effectively doubles the price to almost £200!

We enjoyed a nice afternoon at Betws-y-Coed which is a really pretty little place with waterfalls and nice dog walks through the woods. We also enjoyed Criccieth which is a traditional seaside town with a pebbly beach - dogs are allowed in certain areas.

All in all, a great holiday where we made some lovely memories and ticked off 'Climb one of the 3 Peaks' from our bucket list! We would return to Coed-Y-Llwyn but it's not a site we've said is a must-go-back-to.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscairnnut 56 reviews from this member

We booked this site at the last minute. Tucked away in a little village, it is a Caravan & Motorhome Club site. First impressions are that it is a small site but it is arranged over many small areas keeping a feeling of privacy and not too many other people around you. Facilities are of the usual high standard you associate with the Club. We were greeted by friendly staff who made us feel welcome. Very neat pitches. Not much in the village. I think this is really a site to use as a base for touring the area. The owl that sat in the tree above our heads kept us company during the night. You feel like you are driving into a housing estate and the pitch we were on did back onto houses but it wasn’t an issue. We would return to this site should we be in this area again.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 85 reviews from this member

Access to this site is not difficult. The site entrance being just 100m or so from the A487. Nice friendly warden son site at the time of visit.

This is quite a large site that is split into smaller pitching areas, each giving a different outlook. The site is mostly hard standing so make sure that you have GOOD rock pegs with you as there is rock just below the gravel dressing.

Reception sells a few essentials, which is good as the nearest shop is a few miles away. For a bigger shop Porthmadog is home to a few larger supermarkets. Porthmadog also has two caravan accessory shops as well as numerous outdoor shops, including the Gelert outdoor superstore.

The site is well kept and the shower block was warm and spotlessly clean. You can ignore previous comments about the toilet block being tired as some people need to readjust their expectations a little, you are paying to stay at a campsite not a 5* hotel.

The site has a newly installed booster system, but ensure that your ariel is in direct line of sight to one of the transmitters and no trees block the signal. Most pitches are spacious but be prepared for noise if choosing one adjacent to the lane, Lorries start using it at 7. 30am and the farmer who owns the yard opposite is none too quiet when he goes about his business.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ouncy2 21 reviews from this member

Just spent a week at this site, our first excursion to North Wales and also our first stay on a Club site.

We found the site excellent in all areas from checking in at reception through to leaving a week later. Great facilities which were first class and spotlessly clean with one slight negative comment about the water pressure in the showers which could have been better.

We met some very nice, friendly people most who have been club members for years and offered some kindly advise.

The area is amazing with plenty to do and lots of places to visit.

All in all a great weeks holiday!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gwynneth 12 reviews from this member

Just back from a fabulous peaceful weekend at Coed Y Llwyn. The site and its facilities are immaculate and the wardens extremely friendly and helpful. We found the dog walk ideal for early mornings and late evening trips. It is not a huge dog walk but more than adequate. Whilst we had no need for the children's play area, sited next to dog walk, it seemed perfect for the kiddies using it. It is a large play field with swings etc. There is a lovely walk from the site which takes you up through fields and woods, around the side of the amazing power station, over the reservoir to a lovely café. We had lunch there on the terrace overlooking the lake. Excellent food and very reasonable too. There and back about 5 miles, and not too strenuous. Note: Found out that the pub outside the camp apparently no longer serves meals. Perhaps this may change as summer brings more people to site.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: RoamfromHome 20 reviews from this member

Excellent stay the week after Easter. Quiet, comfortable site and all facilities of the high standard expected by the Caravan Club. Friendly wardens. Good views. Children playground and dog walking on site. Pub next door and many other places to visit within a very short drive. Good centre for exploring Snowdonia, the many little steam railways, the coast and castles.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jules070603 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from spending the Easter weekend on this site and we had a fantastic time.

The site is lovely, its in a great spot and was nice and quiet. Sheep and birds all around and lovely views. The one way system on the site works very well, the pitches are dry and well drained as was the whole site. We were on a with awning pitch and it was a very good size for our caravan, awning and car.

Lots of service points well ordered with recycling bins. The facilities block is well thought out with 2 separate toilet/shower areas so there is always one available. The site was pretty much full and we we never saw queues. Wardens are friendly and reception sells some basic food bits, Easter egg hunt and games on the Sunday was enjoyed by all the children and well organised.

The park was a huge hit with our children. We were pitched right above the park area which was great. The playground is down a small hill and there is lots of room for ball games even if its a bit slopey away from the play equipment! My son managed well enough. There is a stream that runs along the bottom of the hill but it is completely fenced off from the playground as is the lovely dog walk next door.

The surrounding area we really enjoyed. We visited a children's farm in Harlech on Good Friday which was fun if a little basic (got us out of the Friday drizzle). We went on the Bleanau Ffestiniog railway to Portmadog on the Saturday, a great day out in the sunshine and seemed to be dog friendly. We also visited Swallow Falls and Betws-y-coed on Easter Sunday.

We loved this CC site and have booked to return later this year. Follow the site directions for an easy journey and look out for the road to turn down (maybe check street map). Next time we'll do a few walking trails I think, lots of walks and bike rides nearby.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Median 15 reviews from this member

A really good site which is well placed for the mountains of Snowdonia and the coast. Usual high standards you would expect from the CC. There is only one facilities block but it is a good size and well placed so that nobody has to walk too far, it also has a drying room which is useful for the Welsh weather!

The approach to the site is interesting as it feels like you're going the wrong way down a residential street however it's well signposted and quiet. If, like us, you missed the turning off the A487 to Gellylidan approaching from the East, don't panic, just continue towards Porthmadog and in a few miles there is a pub & bus stop on the right which can be used as an easy turning point. The pub opposite the entrance serves good food and is welcoming however the decor is a bit dated and it can be noisy (not really for families) some evenings.

Overall we really liked this site and would definitely go back. The CC has detailed instructions of the best way to get to the site which we followed, much to the Sat Nav's annoyance, but it meant the drive was very easy and we'd follow them again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DianeDavey 5 reviews from this member

We visited this site at the end of August and over the bank holiday.

The journey there was uneventful and we followed the Caravan Clubs instructions on how to find the site. Access was good although there is a lack of signs from the road so make sure you are aware of the turn off prior to arrival. Easy check in with helpful wardens advising which pitches may still be available. We chose a hard standing pitch near to the play area for our 2 children (6&8). Pitches are lovely and big with plenty of space for car, awning and caravan with additional space around.

Washblocks were to the usual caravan club standard but I did find the shower cubicles a little small, however I was usually showering with a child as well. There were plenty of showers with a main block and an annex as overspill.

The playground was lovely for our 2 children, climbing frame, balance area, swings slide and some space for ball games, however it is set in a hill (as is the whole site) so ball games were made difficult. The dog walk was adequate to exercise the dog and well used, there is a small stream to one side, fenced off to stop humans but if you have a dog that likes water (as ours does) be aware that they can paddle!

The site is in a beautiful area. Not far from either beaches or mountains. We enjoyed the Blaneau Festiniog railway (there is less to do in Blaneau than Porthmadog so best to start at Blaneau and head towards Porthmadog). The Llanberis slate mine (Free) and the drive there was stunning, We travelled to the Llewyn Peninsular and their beautiful beaches, Anglesey, Caernarfon and many other places in the area. In a 2 week holiday we didn't run out of things to do and will return in the future. If you are a caravan club member don’t forget your Great Days Out vouchers and your membership cards as there are many places with discounts for members.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Countrywalker1 4 reviews from this member

Great Site; really lovely people manning the site; Fantastic experience here; very quiet and peaceful place; good facilities (well sized) and really enjoyable walks in the area. Would recommend this site to all.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1405 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019