Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Black Knowl Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > New Forest & Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Black Knowl Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Black Knowl Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Aldridge Hill
New Forest
Brockenhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO42 7QD
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 127
Open: 02/03/2024 to 12/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 111 reviews from this member

 I have reviewed this site a number of times before and those reviews are still accurate based on our recent visit. We love the location of this site and the pitches and facilities are good.

We usually pitch on the lower level of the serviced pitches, in the loop above the toilet block, but these were all taken this year so we were in the row above that, on the main drive, and we were amazed at how much better the 4G signal was.

In previous years the 4G signal on EE had been poor so when it gave us such a better signal this year I thought that maybe EE had upgraded their tower, but walking around the site quickly showed that on the lower serviced pitches, it was much the same as before, it seems that the higher up the site you go, the better the signal!

I would give this site 10 out of 10 if it wasnít for the extortionate cost. We only grudgingly pay it because there are no other sites so well located in the New Forest with such good toilet and shower facilities. 


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Theothertwin 40 reviews from this member

 This is a typically well run CAMC Club Site. Pleasant group of Wardens keeping the place spotless and tidy. Very popular and booking appears to be essential.

Plots are quite open in respect that there is little or no hedging between any plots so no privacy.

Well located on the edge of the New Forest, after a few steps outside the site you can see ponies and cattle roaming free. Its a 40 minute walk into Brockenhurst along, mainly, gravel or stoned pathways.

My gripe about our stay was to do with our fellow campers, dog owners to be precise. When the rule state ALL dogs must be kept on a lead why can't it be observed. The rule does not exempt those who think their dogs are well behaved.

Would stay here again. 


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 200 reviews from this member

 It was good to be back at Black Knowl after 5 years away.

Excellent location and stunning campsite, right in the middle of the New Forest.

Friendly welcome and quick check in. We only had a choice of 6 pitches but found one we were very happy with.

Large hardstanding close to the facilities.

Facilities block always 5* clean with everything you could need, including washing up room and laundry, etc.

Water and bin points close by and essentials in the small on site shop.

Loads of walking and biking routes directly from the site. We biked into Brockenhurst and then down the Rhinefield Drive and the following day biked into Burley and back. Quiet'ish roads or tracks available if you want to be off-road.

The walk into Brockenhurst took us about half an hour. Pubs, restaurants, tea rooms, Tesco and Co-op, etc. , etc. , in the village.

Food waggons visit the site most nights (not every night now it's out of season). We tried the Hungry Hog (Thursday night) - very good, even though they ran out of pulled pork and onions very early! Still delicious dirty fries.

We also did the New Forest Tour (open top bus from Brockenhurst railway station - seasonal). £19. 50 each and well worth it. We only managed to do 2 of the routes but still very good value. Hop on, hop off, as we did in Lyndhurst and Lymington.

Weather was kind and everything about our stay was top notch. Apart from a gripe of ours, lazy campers wandering across your pitch because they can't be bothered to walk around! 


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Richar 1 review from this member

 Very large pitch friendly staff.

Each evening is a different vendor for food so for example Monday is pizza Tuesday chilli, well priced and good food

Only consideration is none of the pitches provide water only electricity 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: RRoberts 18 reviews from this member

 This was our first stay at this site as we usually go to the Centenary Caravan & Motorhome club site.

Black Knowl is a new favourite - set right in the heart of the New Forest.

As it was Easter not all of the grass pitches were open and so it was probably not as full as it would be at peak season. But its smaller than Centenary and we preferred it.

Very peaceful and no road noise as it's quite far into the forest.

We walked into the village both days - road free and across the heath. Took about 20 to 30 mins.

Facilities were modern, clean and the staff super friendly.

We will definitely be back! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 111 reviews from this member

 Itís only been a couple of months since my last review of our visit in June but we were back again in September so Iíll log another review!

Nothing has really changed over the last few months apart from the fact that the really dry weather has led to the grass being a bit parched however the rain that came at last towards the end of our stay will soon sort that out.

The wardens are still friendly, the site is still excellently located, there is still lots to do in the area and we just love it.

One place that we visited this year that we havenít visited in the past was Exbury Gardens. We really enjoyed the walks through the gardens down to the river and itís definitely somewhere that will return again when we next visit The New Forest.

We also discovered the Setley Ridge vineyard which serve the most delicious cakes in their tea room! I am really fussy about my cakes being a keen amateur baker myself, but these ones are some of the best that we have ever tasted.

So all in all, another great time spent in The New Forest, one of our favourite locations. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 74 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site on the edge of the forest with miles of walking available amongst the ponies, cows, donkeys who also frequent the town on a regular basis. - certainly an experience not had elsewhere !

Site facilities were of a good standard with welcoming wardens. Will be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 111 reviews from this member

 Another year, another visit to Black Knowl, which is still my favourite site on the Caravan Club network.

Facilities are as good as ever, however the ridiculously early cleaning time for the ladies toilets is still in place so you have to get up and get going early if you want to stay on this site!

The location of the site is ideal for us, with lots of walks through the forest in all directions. Itís also close enough to places by car like Lymington, where there are good supermarkets and shops to visit.

We usually go in the autumn, so it was really interesting to visit at the start of the summer this year, there are newborn foals everywhere, which was delightful to see.

The only negative aspect of the site is the price, it has been creeping up gradually over the last few years and itís now ridiculously expensive. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kevin2 16 reviews from this member

 Right in the forest. Cycle out along trails all over, or along Rhinefield and Bolderwood Otnamental Drives through arboretums of stunning redwoods. Ride to Beauliei offroad good - get New Forest map to numbered posts on trails to help navigate.

Really love the site, full but peaceful site, really well kept, but lots of character, and straight into the forest for walks and cycles, or a pub meal.

Huntsman pub in Brokenhurst about 2. 2 miles away is great for quality food and lovely in good weather for outddor dining, looks good inside too. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 111 reviews from this member

 My review below from 2019 still stands but I thought I would add a quick Covid19 update.

The site is still as good as ever and the wardens are working hard to keep everyone safe. There is a band system in pace that allows 6 people at a time into the toilet block where 3 toilets and 3 showers are open. These seem to be well cleaned and everyone was doing a good job with social distancing while we were there. I complained in my review last year about the ladies closing at 10. 15am for cleaning, itís even worse this year as they are closing at 10am which is ridiculously early but we love the location of this site so are happy to put up with this!

The local towns and villages seemed to be as busy, if not busier than they have been at this time in previous years but generally people are social distancing and wearing face coverings etc.

Most of the local cafes have significantly reduced capacity and a few have even closed since last year as they are so small they could probably only have 1 or 2 tables with social distancing and probably didnít think it was worth opening

But we had a really enjoyable stay as usual with lots of walking and cycling opportunities in the Forest, direct from the site. 


Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Black Knowl Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Black Knowl Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brockenhurst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3297 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement