Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Black Knowl Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Black Knowl Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Black Knowl Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Aldridge Hill
New Forest
Brockenhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO42 7QD
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 127
Open: 04/07/2020 to 12/11/2020
           02/03/2021 to 12/11/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 66 reviews from this member

 My review below from 2019 still stands but I thought I would add a quick Covid19 update.

The site is still as good as ever and the wardens are working hard to keep everyone safe. There is a band system in pace that allows 6 people at a time into the toilet block where 3 toilets and 3 showers are open. These seem to be well cleaned and everyone was doing a good job with social distancing while we were there. I complained in my review last year about the ladies closing at 10. 15am for cleaning, itís even worse this year as they are closing at 10am which is ridiculously early but we love the location of this site so are happy to put up with this!

The local towns and villages seemed to be as busy, if not busier than they have been at this time in previous years but generally people are social distancing and wearing face coverings etc.

Most of the local cafes have significantly reduced capacity and a few have even closed since last year as they are so small they could probably only have 1 or 2 tables with social distancing and probably didnít think it was worth opening

But we had a really enjoyable stay as usual with lots of walking and cycling opportunities in the Forest, direct from the site. 


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 90 reviews from this member

 Access to this site is not difficult at all, just ensure you follow club directions on your approach through Brockenhurst.

Wardens at time of visit very friendly and helpful. Site is well laid out, and despite what others say felt spacious. The hardstanding pitches were generous in size, well maintained and for the most part level. The facilities block is new, was always spotlessly clean and there was always plentiful hot water.

The site offers walking direct into the New Forest, and varied walks are available.

We got a strong signal for TV through our Status and good reception on EE for web browsing.

Tesco express in Brockenhurst for shopping, but all the other suspects available a bit further afield. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 66 reviews from this member

 Black Knowl is probably our favourite site on the Caravan Club network. The site is right in the middle of the forest and you can walk straight from the site into the forest.

About half an hours walk takes you into the village of Brockenhurst and there are numerous walks and cycle routes in the surrounding area. There are horses and cattle roaming freely on the common just outside the site which is lovely to see.

The site itself has both grass and hardstanding pitches and there is a good number of fully serviced pitches. The shower block is excellent, with plenty of toilets and showers however the ladies block is closed for cleaning at 10:15am which is far too early in my opinion.

We love the relaxed feel of the site and there is so much to do in the surrounding area that I doubt we will ever get bored with it! 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ourtouruk 4 reviews from this member

 Situated in an open area of the New Forest with numerous walks leading directly from the site. Brockenhurst village within walking distance. Lyndhurst and Lymington a short drive away.

A very well maintained site with lovely floral displays around the arrival area together with a comprehensive information kiosk.

The toilet block and general facilities were always immaculate and the wardens were friendly and very helpful. A most enjoyable stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Annde8 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site which is well equipped. We stayed on a serviced pitch which meant having our own water and waste point. The site was upgraded the previous year do there is now a new toilet block which has family wash rooms; ideal for people with youngsters. From here you can walk into the forest and see different animals (deer especially). You can also ride your bike on the paths through the forest. Brockenhurst can be walked to so no need to drive. Well worth a visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

 After being cancelled by the CMC here in September 2017 we decided to try again, this time booking a fully serviced hardstanding pitch.

The weather could not have been better - summer 2018 = heatwave!

Thankfully the approach road to the site has been sorted and most of the potholes have been filled.

New reception area with bigger shop which means the information room has been moved to a new impressive round 'hut'. Barriered in and out of the site now. Fantastic new toilet block - key code required.

The new fully serviced hardstandings are right in the middle of the site (near to the toilet block) and do feel a bit 'exposed' but are large. Some of them are not flat by any means and we had to use our chocks but not a problem.

We love the fact that you are literally right in the middle of the forest at Black Knowl. We walked and biked from the site on all 3 days of our stay.

It's not a cheap site and we paid over £30 per night for our fully serviced pitch and it wasn't even high season. Would still highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pekaz 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a weeks stay at the site. Since the last review there has been some big improvements to the approach road. The majority of pot holes have been repaired with only a few remaining. There is still quite a large one near one of the speed humps but this can be easily avoided. The last section of the lane, on the approach to the sites entrance, has been completely re tarmacked. The site itself is in a great position to explore the woods on a bike or foot, but if walking bear in mind that its a two mile walk into Brockenhurst. The shower block is already showing signs of wear, mould on the ceilings above the showers. This is caused by poor ventilation and a bad choice of ceiling paint. Apart from that it's a great site. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Keefysher 17 reviews from this member

 As other reviews the final stage of the approach lane at the bottom as you approach site making the sharp right angled right turn the lane turns to about 40' of loss of base at the edges with the left edge having no compacted substrate, the right side was fast approaching the same condition following the thunderstorms on Saturday night. What is left of the rest of the lane is a mass of craters. Extreme caution is required to negotiate the obstacle course. Once through that first section, there are several more potholes that again require caution at very low speed to negotiate. It may be fun as a judge on the Caravanner of the Year event to rip the back off your caravan, but to the average member, that's not an option. Fortunately we don't have Wedgewood crockery, so our Ikea Oftast survived in tact.

This belies the lovely site that awaits you for your holiday.

The check in was easy and lots of information from the lovely lady warden was forthcoming. Particularly how to walk to nearby Brockenhurst that we did the following morning, that was fun in the water and mud!

We had pitch 120, that was in a lovely spot to catch the sun. Deploying the sun canopy facilitated a lovely evening having dinner outside. On the Saturday the sun canopy dealt well with the thunderstorms.

The toilet block is clearly well thought out. Pity the lowest price, highest cost works missed full fixings on loo door latches. Loo seats not fitted squarely and loose fixings. The sinks in the dishwashing area were flimsy and poorly fitted, the taps appeared cheap. Fees are not the lowest in the area, so why not fit less than 'value / basic' line parts?

Nearby, after the walk to Brockenhurst we had a light snack at the Buttery, followed by a drink and meeting friends at the Snake Catcher pub.

Look forward to further visits and being able to use a grass pitch, or a serviced one.

Just hope the approach lane is fixed properly, sooner rather than later as the damage from this weekends thunderstorms was evident in the few hours we were there.

A pity we only get to do short weekends from after school on Friday. This visit reminded us just what this caravanning lark is all about. Great pitch in a great area, enjoying great food and drinks with good friends, priceless.

Will book again, just hope we can get there on a suitable road.

The road is due to be repaired overnight on 9 & 10 May 2018 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kiyasmum 19 reviews from this member

 The good points, the site is in a great location, the facilities are clean as expected from a Caravan and Motorhome site. We used a serviced pitch which was a great luxury. The wardens do a great job of keeping the site spotless. Sadly there were negatives. The new shower block is not the best designed suffering from the age old problem of water getting into the drying and dressing area, very sad as this is newly built. Great care had to be taken when putting on trousers etc. Not to get them in the water. I used the shower on one occasion when no one else had been in there and the floor was dry, I hoped that the changing area would be dry after my shower but this is not the case. The other major negative is the road leading to the site. This is full of pot holes many best described as craters. It is impossible to miss them. Campers stated units had been damaged. Until I know that the road has been repaired I would not use the site again, a shame as I had waited a long time to get a booking. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 66 reviews from this member

 We spent a delightful week at the Black Knowl site in September 2017. The site itself has not long been open after a major redevelopment and we were very impressed. They have installed a good number of fully serviced pitches with water and waste on the pitch which was very welcome and the pitch size was very good and of the standard CMC gravel hard standing makeup. The newly constructed shower block is great with plenty of shower cubicles, toilets and washbasins in cubicles. These are all well sized and there is space for your clothes and other bits and pieces in each shower cubicle. There was a problem when we were there with the showers not draining well because of the levelling of the floor but the wardens informed us that the floor had been laid incorrectly and as soon as the site closed for the season, the contractors were coming back to relay the floor to ensure a good runoff of water in the showers.

The site itself is beautifully positioned about 20 minutes walk from the village of Brockenhurst and there are endless walking opportunities in the forest straight from the site. There are also lots of bike hire shops and cycle paths if you fancy a day cycling. The forest is beautiful with the New Forest ponies roaming everywhere as well as highland cattle and other assorted wildlife. There are loads of interesting places for days out nearby, our favourite was Hengistbury Head nature reserve which was a great day out with walks along the beach, over the nature reserve and along the 'Spit' where you can admire the £250, 000 beach huts and wonder who on earth would pay that!

We had a really amazing week, despite iffy weather, and can't wait to return again. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Black Knowl Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Black Knowl Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brockenhurst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1770 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement