Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Black Knowl Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Black Knowl Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Aldridge Hill
New Forest
Brockenhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO42 7QD   See Map
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 127
Open: 02/03 To 12/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <5 miles 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pekaz 1 review from this member

Just returned from a weeks stay at the site. Since the last review there has been some big improvements to the approach road. The majority of pot holes have been repaired with only a few remaining. There is still quite a large one near one of the speed humps but this can be easily avoided. The last section of the lane, on the approach to the sites entrance, has been completely re tarmacked. The site itself is in a great position to explore the woods on a bike or foot, but if walking bear in mind that its a two mile walk into Brockenhurst. The shower block is already showing signs of wear, mould on the ceilings above the showers. This is caused by poor ventilation and a bad choice of ceiling paint. Apart from that it's a great site.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Keefysher 16 reviews from this member

As other reviews the final stage of the approach lane at the bottom as you approach site making the sharp right angled right turn the lane turns to about 40' of loss of base at the edges with the left edge having no compacted substrate, the right side was fast approaching the same condition following the thunderstorms on Saturday night. What is left of the rest of the lane is a mass of craters. Extreme caution is required to negotiate the obstacle course. Once through that first section, there are several more potholes that again require caution at very low speed to negotiate. It may be fun as a judge on the Caravanner of the Year event to rip the back off your caravan, but to the average member, that's not an option. Fortunately we don't have Wedgewood crockery, so our Ikea Oftast survived in tact.

This belies the lovely site that awaits you for your holiday.

The check in was easy and lots of information from the lovely lady warden was forthcoming. Particularly how to walk to nearby Brockenhurst that we did the following morning, that was fun in the water and mud!

We had pitch 120, that was in a lovely spot to catch the sun. Deploying the sun canopy facilitated a lovely evening having dinner outside. On the Saturday the sun canopy dealt well with the thunderstorms.

The toilet block is clearly well thought out. Pity the lowest price, highest cost works missed full fixings on loo door latches. Loo seats not fitted squarely and loose fixings. The sinks in the dishwashing area were flimsy and poorly fitted, the taps appeared cheap. Fees are not the lowest in the area, so why not fit less than 'value / basic' line parts?

Nearby, after the walk to Brockenhurst we had a light snack at the Buttery, followed by a drink and meeting friends at the Snake Catcher pub.

Look forward to further visits and being able to use a grass pitch, or a serviced one.

Just hope the approach lane is fixed properly, sooner rather than later as the damage from this weekends thunderstorms was evident in the few hours we were there.

A pity we only get to do short weekends from after school on Friday. This visit reminded us just what this caravanning lark is all about. Great pitch in a great area, enjoying great food and drinks with good friends, priceless.

Will book again, just hope we can get there on a suitable road.

The road is due to be repaired overnight on 9 & 10 May 2018

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kiyasmum 19 reviews from this member

The good points, the site is in a great location, the facilities are clean as expected from a Caravan and Motorhome site. We used a serviced pitch which was a great luxury. The wardens do a great job of keeping the site spotless. Sadly there were negatives. The new shower block is not the best designed suffering from the age old problem of water getting into the drying and dressing area, very sad as this is newly built. Great care had to be taken when putting on trousers etc. Not to get them in the water. I used the shower on one occasion when no one else had been in there and the floor was dry, I hoped that the changing area would be dry after my shower but this is not the case. The other major negative is the road leading to the site. This is full of pot holes many best described as craters. It is impossible to miss them. Campers stated units had been damaged. Until I know that the road has been repaired I would not use the site again, a shame as I had waited a long time to get a booking.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 38 reviews from this member

We spent a delightful week at the Black Knowl site in September 2017. The site itself has not long been open after a major redevelopment and we were very impressed. They have installed a good number of fully serviced pitches with water and waste on the pitch which was very welcome and the pitch size was very good and of the standard CMC gravel hard standing makeup. The newly constructed shower block is great with plenty of shower cubicles, toilets and washbasins in cubicles. These are all well sized and there is space for your clothes and other bits and pieces in each shower cubicle. There was a problem when we were there with the showers not draining well because of the levelling of the floor but the wardens informed us that the floor had been laid incorrectly and as soon as the site closed for the season, the contractors were coming back to relay the floor to ensure a good runoff of water in the showers.

The site itself is beautifully positioned about 20 minutes walk from the village of Brockenhurst and there are endless walking opportunities in the forest straight from the site. There are also lots of bike hire shops and cycle paths if you fancy a day cycling. The forest is beautiful with the New Forest ponies roaming everywhere as well as highland cattle and other assorted wildlife. There are loads of interesting places for days out nearby, our favourite was Hengistbury Head nature reserve which was a great day out with walks along the beach, over the nature reserve and along the 'Spit' where you can admire the 250, 000 beach huts and wonder who on earth would pay that!

We had a really amazing week, despite iffy weather, and can't wait to return again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jenmikeh 10 reviews from this member

This campsite, surrounded by the New Forest, is situated outside the village of Brockenhurst. The campsite itself is of a slightly unusual but pleasant layout with a large number of grass pitches. The facilities are outdated, but I understand that they are to be replaced this winter in time for the 2017 season. The biggest disadvantage on this site were the number of caravan club members who, despite having access to hundreds of acres of forest immediately outside the gate, continually walked their dogs around the site with the expected results certainly not what I wish to see whilst having breakfast. The wardens seemed unable to address this problem. If you are not a dog lover, I would avoid a visit here.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GrumpyBoaby 58 reviews from this member

Despite the bumpy potholed track leading to the site, we were welcomed at reception and booked in, site was busy so ended up near the medieval looking circular shower building.

Well laid out site with an elevated area which proved to be popular, the showerooms also had a. W/C and wash hand basin, these areas were clean, however very dated with mold in the shower cubiles, holes in the wooden doors and loose toilet seats.

Utilities area had the usual pan wash, veg prep area and washing machine.

The site is ideal to explore the New Forest and beyond, watch out for nesting birds in the fields and thorns in the undergrowth.

We had a good pub lunch in the village and shopped at the stores in Brockenhurst, hope to return in the near future, we enjoyed our stay.

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth 239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2157 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1875