Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Skye Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Portree > Skye Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Skye Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Loch Greshornish
Arnisort
Edinbane
Portree
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV51 9PS
Tel: 01470 582230
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 105
Open: 01/04 to 09/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 83 Reviews
                9/10 from 83 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kather 1 review from this member

 A very ordered and clean site with great facilities.

Ideally located for access to Skye and Broadford has a few lovely little shops and cafes.

Friendly staff and great pitches arranged with good spacing.

Quite close to road so some noise but not too bad, particularly in a caravan.

Very conscientious re: Covid. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Nojan1 1 review from this member

 Amazing spot with a very good facilities on site.

Definitely recommend for anyone who is visiting the place or doing the NC500 route.

It is by far one of the best campsite I have been to. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: PoppyDaisy 10 reviews from this member

 Great site looking out onto the loch.

The site is very clean and spacious. Canít comment on facilities as things are still closed due to COVID but the wardens go round frequently cleaning the fresh water taps etc.

Thereís a great dog walk, accessed through a gate, by the loch, through ferns and heather which all dogs love, with beautiful views. At the gate is a poo bin, a plentiful supply of good strong poo bags and a hand sanitizer machine.

The site goes perfectly quiet by about 10pm, which is wonderful. Itís bit of a drive to get to Portree but itís a good road. I love this site and will definitely return.

I had to comment on child friendliness to leave the review but tbh, it didnít apply to me as I only had my wee dog with me! 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Eileengrace 5 reviews from this member

 Loved this site! Perched on the hillside with wonderful views of the loch below and hills beyond. Pitches are well spaced out and facilities are usual club standard.

The dog walk is along the shore of the loch, also popular with wildlife photographers (looking for otters we think). There is a nice little shop and the wardens were very cheerful and helpful.

We visited Dunvegan castle nearby and enjoyed exploring the beautiful gardens. Also had a day on site, doing our laundry and relaxing in the sunshine! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Basil S 24 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with top quality facilities and a stunning view over the loch. The site manager is very helpful as we turned up without a booking due to a cancelled ferry.

Very good site for exploring this part of Skye and don't forget a visit to Skye Silver excellent for jewellery. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Philbrawn 1 review from this member

 Excellent site on the loch side. We arrived 2 days before storm Ali and life was quite exciting.

The staff were very helpful and amenities were excellent, stayed for 6 nights.

Skye is beautiful and we saw golden and white tailed eagles. Well worth the trip up from Kent. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lovetheoutdoors 7 reviews from this member

 Excellent location for sightseeing around the Isle of Skye. Facilities ok but toilet and showers seriously in need of upgrading. Not as clean as I am used too. Staff ok, but always in a rush.

Will come back to Skye but will look for another site to stay on as would not stay here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poppiepiechucker 3 reviews from this member

 I have visited Skye on several occasions but didn't understand that Portree covers such a vast area. When booking this site I noted the address as Portree, but unfortunately it is approx 15 miles past the town.

It is very isolated so we decided to choose another site. However, if you like the remoteness, this site would be great. It also had a very well stocked shop too and the costs of a tent pitch was very reasonable.

Walking difficulties did prevent us staying there as intended due to the location. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Call-me-al88 7 reviews from this member

 Great site. Easy to get to and well set out. Wardens very friendly and helpful. Our dog loved the walking area by the loch. Shop on site. Edinbane Inn lets dogs in and humans.

Very friendly and good food. Visit to the Coral Beach well worth it but busy. Fairy pools very very busy and a trek. Go in fine weather. Portree a bit of a let down but Skye has some great views so that makes up for it.

We tried to take the mallaig ferry and expected it to run every hour (their website) When we arrived at 12. 15 told there was only one more at 3. 45pm and it was already full. * BE WARNED * We then drove 80+ miles to the Skye bridge. Great views from the road though but unexpected detour. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Camperfamilyof4 1 review from this member

 This season's site assistants are brilliant. Offered us a choice of several pitches which you don't normally get with the C&CC.

The site slopes down to the loch and all handstanding pitches are pretty much level (the rest are on a slope) and pretty much every pitch has a nice view.

One of my highlights includes dancing while washing up to keep the light on. (I got a signal with EE in the facilities block so was a reason to do the washing up!)

The dog walk is brilliant, and we don't have a dog! It's along the beach. We saw evidence of the local otter there but sadly no sign during our 2 night stay. Maybe because we didn't really watch first thing in the morning. However saw siskin and Redwing from our pitch.

There is a specialist Dog bathing area which I thought was a brilliant idea and a payphone in a hut within the site if you can't get a mobile signal as well as the owners house on site for emergencies. Also they provide a picnic room and information room. The info room has a book to record your wildlife spottings which we found very funny (see the 14th September 3017 entry) and useful as well as the usual local info leaflets.

They have recently moved the motorhome point to just by the entrance to the campsite as people were finding it noisy.

The facilities are some of the cleanest and best maintained I've seen on a site and the showers hot.

There is no playground but it isn't needed with the lovely location!

The shop is well stocked with the usual items plus a few extras and you can also get teas and coffees with the proceeds going to charity 


Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Skye Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Skye Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Skye Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Portree      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1257 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement