Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Uig Bay Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Uig > Uig Bay Caravan And Campsite Reviews

Uig Bay Caravan And Campsite
10 Idrigill
Uig
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV51 9XU
Tel: 01470 542714
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 88 Reviews
                8/10 from 88 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joanne Nichol 1 review from this member

 The hosts could not have been more helpful

Excellent for base camp or to catch the ferry as its literally along the road from campsite

We sat in there garden with a bottle of wine, fantastic views. thank you 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Kelly5 2 reviews from this member

 Middle Ages couples one camper van and one tent pitch.

We had a very warm welcome after and extremely long drive. We were pitched on the grass next to our friends tent as the weather was dry also picnic bench next to our spot.

Site is not even one minute drive to the ferry terminal great location if catching the ferry which we were the exit day.

Site very clean and well looked after hand standing and grass area.

Shower and toilet block very clean had laundry service which are £4.

I asked what time we had to be off site and the gentleman suggested a hour before ferry departed to get in the queue.

We have booked the same camp site on our return before our long journey home.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Des1603 8 reviews from this member

 We planned for an overnight stay and then moving on. We ended up staying for three nights using the site as a base to explore from. It is also an ideal site for stopping at for taking the Ferry over to or from the Outer Hebrides.

Campers may use the private grass area behind the Cottage which has lovely views over the Loch and you can also watch the boats and Ferry pass by.

A Flat site with hardstand and grass is well maintained and clean. The Toilet block is a little old, but very clean and nice hot shower with music. There is also a Dishes washing area a Washing Machine and Dryer.

There is a Motor Home service point.

Within a short walking distance there are a couple of Potteries, a Pub a takeaway café and a microbrewery; the port offices and a Petrol Station (which also contains a very well stocked shop and another café).

The owners are very friendly and have a lot of local knowledge, so ask them.

A definite place to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Hannah 1 review from this member

 Stayed one night, arrived very early to ensure we got a space, and the lady who greeted us was incredibly helpful and friendly.

Very well kept ground with plenty of space and we saw them continue to be helpful for others arriving into the evening.

Everything we needed in terms of facilities, that were very easy to find and well kept.

A stones throw from the ferry terminal with a handy shop also right next door.

A couple of restaurants right next door too, however cannot comment on the food there as we were self-catering on the camping stove. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Julesf 1 review from this member

 Excellent site next to the ferry terminal in Uig.

Very helpful staff and excellent facilities.

Only negative is that you can't prebook but plenty of space if you arrive in the afternoon 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mcout4 2 reviews from this member

 After a couple of nights in the wild kids needed there tech stuff all charging so we found this site.

Turned up without booking and very helpful owners got us a pitch no problem. Hard standing with electric.

Very good value for money. Kids made friends straight away and went off playing.

Good facilities on site showers nice and warm and music playing makes it enjoyable.

Would definitely go back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Alison21tigger 2 reviews from this member

 I emailed a couple of times to check the site had space as they didn’t pre-book.

The owner greeted us on arrival and was very friendly and helpful.

We were show to a pitch and told where the toilets/showers were.

The site is quite basic but adequate for our 2 night stay.

The tents were all pitched quite close together so we felt like we couldn’t sit out at the front of our tent as another was facing us a couple of meters away.

The toilet and showers were clean however when using at night the lights kept going off as the sensor didn’t detect you all of the time.

Toilets, showers, washing up, laundry, drinking water and rubbish facilities all easily located.

The site was quiet and very close to the ferry terminal. We used the petrol station shop for a few supplies and visited the Isle of Skye brewery next to the site for some souvenirs to take home.

The site was a good base for us to explore the area. We visited Fairy Glen and Staffin. We drove down to Portree a couple of times too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Seanco 1 review from this member

 We were very pleased with our stay at the site. Having spent the previous four nights in a secluded glen, we welcomed the change -- being in an active ferry port gave Uig (and the site) a bit of a buzz.

The campers represented a wide swathe of society, including couples in their sixties like us, friends on motorcycle tours, families in transit to/from the outer Hebrides and some high-spirited school leavers.

Watching from our tent as the ferries arrived and departed was a delight. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LindsayCam 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a couple of nights with our friends in another motorhome.

It's a nice clean site, albeit very basic.

Dogs are allowed but must be kept on a lead, unlike the owners two spaniels which run free and can be quite intimidating to smaller dogs, like mine.

It's nice to see the ferry coming in and out but that's about it for Uig.

It's a nice stopover site but not for a holiday. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Tomnay 1 review from this member

 The site was very well organised. Withing walking distance of port and ideal if you were catching a ferry to Uist or Harris and Lewis.

Toilets and showers clean good hardstanding for motorhomres.

Good basic site not much in the port apart from a few shops and fuel station.

Good location for exploring the top half of the island. 
via mobile


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Uig Bay Caravan And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Uig Bay Caravan And Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Uig Bay Caravan And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Uig      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1204 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement