Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Uig Bay Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Uig > Uig Bay Caravan And Campsite Reviews

Uig Bay Caravan And Campsite
10 Idrigill
Uig
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV51 9XU
Tel: 01470 542714
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 62 Reviews
                8/10 from 62 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Coxieboy 2 reviews from this member

Great site and location,

The bar restaurant just down the road lovely food,

Very helpful owner

Arrived late afternoon a bit mizzzly but the setting was ideal

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Louissa 10 reviews from this member

Very, very convenient site for ferry terminal - literally a minute from the boat to our pitch!

Staff (including site dog!) are friendly and understanding. We called ahead to reserve a spot and explained we'd be on the late ferry from Tarbert, arriving after 11pm, but this was no problem: they told us where to park up and to pay in the morning.

The shower/toilet facilities are clean enough but rather tired and the signage around there could be better, especially for people arriving in the dark. The potwash area was a little cramped but satisfactory.

One side of the site inevitably looks over the industrial port terminal buildings but everywhere else, it's beautiful Skye hills.

There is hardstanding for larger motorhomes but with our campervan, we were asked to use the grass area instead. We didn't need an EHU so this was no problem for us, but it did mean people in tents had vans close by and the ground got fairly waterlogged after a rainy night.

I'd not recommend a long stay there but for a night (or maybe two) before/after the ferry, it's absolutely ideal.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jrd74 2 reviews from this member

Stayed one night in campervan in October (2 adults). Very scenic location, really close to ferry terminal but that comes with convenience of shop & bar. Toilets spotlessly clean, with ramp and accessible toilet & shower for those with disability - do not often see this at campsites. Tumble drier, washing machine and small washing up area indoors, also very clean. Recycling area outside toilet block. Would be happy to stay again for night or two. Seemed to be efficient, functional, relatively small campsite rather than a place to unwind for a couple of weeks, but efficient and functional was more than adequate for our needs and in fairness their own selling point seemed to be 'ideal for the ferry' which it certainly is.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Matt-lucie 15 reviews from this member

This is more a functional stop over place rather than a place to pitch and stay. Some tenters but looked very sloppy on grass, unless there is somewhere else. Motohomes and caravans on a large car park type area. Had the necessaries there and all clean and functional. Location super handy for ferry. Nothing bad to say really its just a good functional stop over and even though quite busy was very very quiet with Motorhomes and caravan closing curtains and settling down at 8pm.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GillOK 8 reviews from this member

This was the 3rd site we stayed at on our tour of Skye and the Outer Hebrides. Right next to the Ferry port, pitches are reasonably level, hard standing mainly (tents tended to be on the grass, had been rather wet, so wouldn't want to get our wheels stuck!) Stayed 2 nights, with EHU, so could tour the north of the island. Friendly helpful owners. All pitched rather close to each other - too windy for awnings anyway & not the weather for sitting out! Close to pub, brewery and a few shops. Pub served lovely menu, ate there twice, as walking distance, but there are other restaurants nearby. Facilities reasonable, water pressure from the taps not brilliant and condensation while showering an issue, but this shouldn't put you off, I am being picky, having stayed in 11 sites on our trip, was the most expensive and wifi not included, but available. I would stay there again

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kimmiemm 2 reviews from this member

Fabulous location.

Site owners very helpful, we travelled in 2 motor homes, as it was dry we were placed on a grass area which was great for our dogs.

We were able to pick up our vodafone mobile signal, and the camp has WiFi.

The site is very close to the ferry port for the outer hebridean islands and there are boat trips around the bay to view sea eagles, puffins and seals, well worth the trip.

Loved that area of skye will be back soon xxx

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lorfal 21 reviews from this member

Site is clean, well kept. Owners are very helpful and do their best to accommodate requests. Like other reviews, this is a great place to spend the night if you need to be close to the ferry. It is reasonably priced, close to a shop and pub/eatery.

The water and ehu points are well positioned and there is a grey waste disposal which is easily accessed fir driving over.

This is not however a place I would chose to spend a holiday at. The hard standing area though a good size, had the feeling of being camped in a car park. Not suitable for awnings at all. Motorhomes are not permitted on the grass. The grass felt soft underfoot but this area is in a downward slope, at the bottom and I'd imagine gets rather soft after heavy rain. Looked great for tents.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Macivers 2 reviews from this member

Friendly reception on arrival. Clean modern facilities. Ideal for ferry port and there is a (limited) bus service to Portree. Negative point is the resident dogs are allowed to leave a mess and it is not picked up by the owner. It was on our pitch, next pitch and my husband stood in it next to the bins. I would recommend it if you are going to or from the ferry.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nomadengland 12 reviews from this member

Lovely little campsite, well kept. The hardstanding area was covered in big gravel like a car park with no markings or divisions, but we were able to take our motorhome on to the grass and had a lovely pitch. The fans in the facilities are quite noisy if you are obliged to pitch near the building. Quite busy in May - don't think we would try this in Summer!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Densey 2 reviews from this member

A brilliant campsite. Great facilities. Lovely friendly owners. We even got a full Scottish breakfast cooked for us when no where in uig was open on Saturday 3rd September! It is the third time we have been here so can't recommend it highly enough. Also the pier restaurant and bakur bar is on the doorstep for drinks and food.

Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Uig      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3215 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019