Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Uig Bay Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Uig > Uig Bay Caravan And Campsite Reviews

Uig Bay Caravan And Campsite
10 Idrigill
Uig
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV51 9XU
Tel: 01470 542714
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 92 Reviews
                8/10 from 92 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Zarya 8 reviews from this member

 If youíre relying on a sat nav to get you here, please double check other map sources. The site is tucked away at the end of a lane directly east of and mere yards from the ferry terminal pier. It isnít clearly signed for anyone looking for it in the dark though.

My sat nav tried to send me away along the A87 to someone elseís private property so Iím pleased I double checked :)

On the other hand, It couldnít be more convenient a location for anyone using the ferry and in need of an overnight pit stop!

Facilities are basic and in need of a refresh albeit they have everything youíll need, and given the price this shouldnít put you off.

The key downside for me on this particular trip was that the ground gets very VERY wet and is poorly drained. Make sure you pack a separate groundsheet/wellies :) Me and the pooch got well damp while pitching and striking; essentially we were sloshing about in a campsite sized puddle. As a result we didnít hang around on departure day, instead opting to head off early doors and seek brekkie elsewhere which was a shame :/

In short, perfectly placed, basic, damp, but isnít gonna hurt ya! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Vivs50 1 review from this member

 Great little campsite easy to find friendly and helpful staff.

We had no dislikes ferry near by you can hear it tooting as it leaves which was great.

There is restaurant in walking distance 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Chris5 1 review from this member

 Campsite well located for ferry travel. We arrived off the ferry from Harris as did many others. It was a free for all squeezing every one in close together.

There were only 2 toilets in the gents which included one disabled and 3 ladies which included one disabled. Nowhere near enough for the size of the site.

The toilets and showers were in need of serious upgrade. Floor uneven and potential trip hazard, all in need of a deep clean, showers had free standing wooden slats to stand on which were black and completely unhygienic, there was no sanitizer available anywhere on the site, no outside lights at the toilets so unable to find easily after dark.

The laundry and wash area was dirty, shoddy with industrial washing and drying facilities. The chemical toilet disposal was an old toilet pan on the outside of the toilet block covered with a rotting piece of wood, the surrounding area was puddly and muddy with traces of toilet disposal on the ground. It needs upgrading.

Not a lot of interaction with the wardens. Luckily it was a one night stay had we booked for longer we would not have stayed. Dont expect this poor quality on a campsite charging £20per night. We wonít be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joanne Nichol 1 review from this member

 The hosts could not have been more helpful

Excellent for base camp or to catch the ferry as its literally along the road from campsite

We sat in there garden with a bottle of wine, fantastic views. thank you 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Kelly5 2 reviews from this member

 Middle Ages couples one camper van and one tent pitch.

We had a very warm welcome after and extremely long drive. We were pitched on the grass next to our friends tent as the weather was dry also picnic bench next to our spot.

Site is not even one minute drive to the ferry terminal great location if catching the ferry which we were the exit day.

Site very clean and well looked after hand standing and grass area.

Shower and toilet block very clean had laundry service which are £4.

I asked what time we had to be off site and the gentleman suggested a hour before ferry departed to get in the queue.

We have booked the same camp site on our return before our long journey home.  
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Des1603 8 reviews from this member

 We planned for an overnight stay and then moving on. We ended up staying for three nights using the site as a base to explore from. It is also an ideal site for stopping at for taking the Ferry over to or from the Outer Hebrides.

Campers may use the private grass area behind the Cottage which has lovely views over the Loch and you can also watch the boats and Ferry pass by.

A Flat site with hardstand and grass is well maintained and clean. The Toilet block is a little old, but very clean and nice hot shower with music. There is also a Dishes washing area a Washing Machine and Dryer.

There is a Motor Home service point.

Within a short walking distance there are a couple of Potteries, a Pub a takeaway cafť and a microbrewery; the port offices and a Petrol Station (which also contains a very well stocked shop and another cafť).

The owners are very friendly and have a lot of local knowledge, so ask them.

A definite place to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Hannah 1 review from this member

 Stayed one night, arrived very early to ensure we got a space, and the lady who greeted us was incredibly helpful and friendly.

Very well kept ground with plenty of space and we saw them continue to be helpful for others arriving into the evening.

Everything we needed in terms of facilities, that were very easy to find and well kept.

A stones throw from the ferry terminal with a handy shop also right next door.

A couple of restaurants right next door too, however cannot comment on the food there as we were self-catering on the camping stove. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Julesf 1 review from this member

 Excellent site next to the ferry terminal in Uig.

Very helpful staff and excellent facilities.

Only negative is that you can't prebook but plenty of space if you arrive in the afternoon 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mcout4 2 reviews from this member

 After a couple of nights in the wild kids needed there tech stuff all charging so we found this site.

Turned up without booking and very helpful owners got us a pitch no problem. Hard standing with electric.

Very good value for money. Kids made friends straight away and went off playing.

Good facilities on site showers nice and warm and music playing makes it enjoyable.

Would definitely go back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Alison21tigger 2 reviews from this member

 I emailed a couple of times to check the site had space as they didnít pre-book.

The owner greeted us on arrival and was very friendly and helpful.

We were show to a pitch and told where the toilets/showers were.

The site is quite basic but adequate for our 2 night stay.

The tents were all pitched quite close together so we felt like we couldnít sit out at the front of our tent as another was facing us a couple of meters away.

The toilet and showers were clean however when using at night the lights kept going off as the sensor didnít detect you all of the time.

Toilets, showers, washing up, laundry, drinking water and rubbish facilities all easily located.

The site was quiet and very close to the ferry terminal. We used the petrol station shop for a few supplies and visited the Isle of Skye brewery next to the site for some souvenirs to take home.

The site was a good base for us to explore the area. We visited Fairy Glen and Staffin. We drove down to Portree a couple of times too. 
via mobile


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Uig Bay Caravan And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Uig Bay Caravan And Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Uig Bay Caravan And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Uig      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3044 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement