Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Eweleaze Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Weymouth > Eweleaze Farm Reviews

Eweleaze Farm
Osmington Hill
Osmington
Weymouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT3 6ED
Tel: 01305 833690
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/07/2022 to 31/08/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 125 Reviews
                8/10 from 125 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Pop Up Campsite 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  125 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cathal 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic camp site, very clean, close to beach, amazing food options. Kids loved it too.

The activities for the kids were amazing, toilets and showers were extremely clean 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RHealiss 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely brilliant! This site depends entirely on the type of camper you are. Yes there are compost toilets but once you get used to them it's no big deal.

We never experienced any problems such as lack of sawdust etc. And to be honest the toilets are the only thing to be aware off but please do not be put off by them - its just a different and ecological way of the farm providing a campsite.

And what a campsite it is! Stunning scenery, it's own beach (shingle beach) fantastic shops. Now when I say shops they're more of a pop up type shop accommodated within sheds type of thing. There is a coffee shop, pizzeria, bakers, ice cream and others where you can get something to eat.

All the shop area is basically in a paddock and all the camping fields surround this area making it a type of hub to which everyone goes to pick up odds and sods as they see fit. There is also a animal petting areas for young kids - when we were there they had border collie puppies which my kids adored.

The best way I can explain this site is that it is like a festival feel without the festival. There is loads and loads of space so you never feel you're jammed in check-by-jowl. We were there the time of the Weymouth Festival on the other side of the bay so we had the added treat of the Red Arrows flying over.

Everyone congregated in the field at the top of the cliff to watch. This is a fantastic site for family groups (not sure if there is a limit) I went there with my three daughters and the dog. Noise is not a problem and just a truly great feel to it with a great community atmosphere.

Every camper should go to Eweleaze at least once! We will definitely be going again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brendanpaulloughlin 1 review from this member

 The scenery around this campsite is truly beautiful which is why this was our fourth stay there. I personally find the facilities a bit sparse though in terms of a shortage of loos and washing up in each field. There's always a queue at peak times and very often outside of this. My one big gripe this year was the noise around the site.

I expect there to be a bit of noise at weekends but this year our last night was completely spoiled by a bunch a 20 year olds turning up and proceeding to drink through most of the night. I personally didn't get to sleep until 4am. I know that at least 5 people complained at the bunch and to the camp security.

At 3am the security guard threatened to have the group marched off by the police. He then left and they started up again. I think he should have followed through with this theat. I personally don't see why we had to put up with such a racket given the high price that we paid to stay there. I may have to reconsider staying there in future.

I've camped out 20 nights this year so far and this last occasion at this site was terrible. I did confront the bunch the next morning but I don't think that's acceptable for customers to have to do this, the site manager should have taken action the night before. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sheenies1 2 reviews from this member

 We stay here each year and no other campsite has yet to compare. Getting busier each year but still love it.

Facilities fab, vibe amazing. Its a very special place. So much fun on site and so incredibly relaxed.

Walking distance to Weymouth and lovely nearby walks. LOVE THIS PLACE! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poshcamper48 9 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2015 following several days of rain. As a result the site was very muddy. Cars were getting stuck all over the place and the area around the shop, bakery, etc was ankle deep. Most of the staff we met were very friendly and helpful - although the guys controlling the traffic on the track seem to have let their power, yellow coats and walkie talkies go to their heads - not very welcoming.

As others have said this is like a festival site but without the music. It is huge and was very busy. If that's your thing - come to this site and you'll probably enjoy it. We went here at the suggestion of friends but while it might suit others, it's not my kind of camping. I like small, quiet sites with privacy - not a view of over 100 tents and loads of kids running around. I think the facilities are overwhelmed by the number of people staying and need an upgrade to cope with poor weather.

Some people will love it. I guess it's a matter of taste. I'm going back to my small sites! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vangoforce10 2 reviews from this member

 Love this site! I first visited 4 years ago and good as it was then it is even better now. Despite the awful late August weather my 3 sons had a blast.

Freedom to roam, campfires, the pontoon, the Turkish bath, the hay barn, all great. Loads of very helpful staff on hand, toilets plentiful and clean, lots of pot wash sinks in the fields with hot water, decent showers, sauna always full of wood for the fire.

And very reasonably priced. Averaging £40 per night over the 6 nights (prices depend on w/e or weekday) 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spacecake 1 review from this member

 We camped 5 nights in August for the second year at Eweleaze such beautiful sea views with it's own beach. The road onto the site is not a major problem it's bumpy and hilly but that's what adds to its charm.

If you like the place you'll put up with it only used the car to arrive and leave, walked everywhere and used local bus service. Plenty of lovely walks to pubs and local shops, some aren't buggy friendly though. The walk to Weymouth is not far or get a bus from the village. This site is big with plenty of space with different fields, it has an informal atmosphere you choose where you pitch.

Facilities are quite rustic but very good, plenty of toilets (compost), showers and washing up facilities. I've read conflicting reviews on other sites, two times we've stayed I've never had to queue for the toilet or shower. Our field had 6 toilets spaced apart around the field, two washing up and stand pipes for drinking water and a block of four showers. But some fields were busier than ours.

Shop stocks good healthy food (nothing processed) daughter was upset at the lack of Dr pepper and sweets. There are basic camping spares and children's games in case something gets broken or forgotten. Bakery with organic bread and croissants, pizza, organic pies, chips all cooked on site plus a little restaurant. Big barn of hay for kids to play also logs sold for campfires. Lovely goats, pigs, cows, ponies, puppies, llamas (I think) even kittens to cuddle.

We had a campfire most evenings as did lots of others, it did get quite smoky one night but people were very responsible in where they lit their fires. For me this is a big plus because the week was quite damp.

On the whole a great campsite, if you don't like the sound of kids playing and people enjoying themselves then it's not for you. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Non camper 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for three nights with three other families in their own tents.

The good points were:

1. The location (especially beautiful in the fabulous sunshine we were lucky enough to enjoy)

2. The flexible space Ė we appreciated being able to pitch our tents wherever we chose, and we had plenty of space for our group of four tents

3. The facilities - excellent restaurant, very good shops

4. The eco-friendly aspect - the composting loos (though smelly) and solar panels

5. The animals

6. The haystacks and other activities for small children

7. The ability to have camp fires

The bad points were:

1. The number of people completely overwhelmed the facilities, leading to.

2. L-O-N-G queues for almost everything, e. G. 50 minutes for pizzas

3. A lack of hot water for showers and washing up several times a day

4. A complete lack of water at times (we were in Top Field and all the nearby taps repeatedly ran dry)

5. The narrow access road meant that it took us 20 minutes to get out of Eweleaze on departure

6. The restaurant only accepted cash so we had to join the long queue at Reception to get cash back to pay for our meal there

7. The washing and washing up facilities are all uncovered, which would be horrible in rain

With most campsites I would be tempted to go back during a quieter time but as Eweleaze is only open during August there IS no quieter time. Therefore we will not be returning. It's a great shame - with half as many campers it would probably be wonderful. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skoopish 3 reviews from this member

 I was going to go to Eweleaze Farm in 2013, but I was not too sure about composting toilets to be honest. Well having been now in 2014 I can safety say they are simply not an issue at all, very clean toilets and the above surface (the important part) is just like any other toilet.

The campsite itself is very large and there is plenty of room to pitch up, the only negative I found were not the drive down which I know many feel scared about, but I really feel the site needs to put in some passing points as the farm track is very narrow and moving a few posts in the opposite field temporary whilst the site is open, is small thing that would make a big difference in my view.

What I loved most of all was the beach and pontoon, really lovely setting and for what you pay, it really takes camping back to where is should be, a cheap friendly experience.

Shops were great to have on site, although ice was hard to get hold of, but enjoyed the ice creams and bakery, I was going to have a pizza as well but the queues were huge.

I would definitely recommend it and will be going again next year at some point, I will just take more food with me and invest in a better ice box, so I don't have to pop out to local shops, as mentioned above, getting out can be very tricky indeed.

All in all a great find, but I really hope they consider passing points for next year, it will make getting in and out of the site so much quicker and easier. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sfinge 2 reviews from this member

 We spent 2 nights at this campsite at the end of July. To start with as soon as we approach our destination we had to contend with an almost scary road down to the campsite. When eventually got there we were quite shocked to be charger DOUBLE the price stated on the website and although it said from £ 5 per person per night I didnít expect it to be twice as much. We were not very impressed by their customer service either. There was nothing particularly remarkable that could justify that price.

I didnít realise at the time that the toilettes facilities were the composting type therefore when during the night I needed to use them I nearly fainted from the smell of raw excrement and it felt like being thrown back to the Middle Ages! These toilettes can only work with lots of saw dust which wasnít there. Needless to say we never used the toilettes again and made use of facilities offsite. Next day by late morning the saw dust box was still empty.

There were no opening times of the shop displayed so when in the evening I put the freezer packs in the freezer it didnít occur to me to ask because I assumed they would have been open at an early hour as in most of the campsites we have been to.

On the following morning when we were leaving we stopped at the shop to pick up our freezer packs and guess what? It was still closed at 8. 50. There was a lady waiting outside and when my partner asked her if she knew of the opening times she replied that she had been told the evening before that the shop would open at 8 am !

At this stage we decided to leave the freezer packs there and get out as quickly as possible never to return again.  


Previous     125 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Eweleaze Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eweleaze Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Eweleaze Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Weymouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2043 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement