Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Minehead & Exmoor Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Minehead > Minehead & Exmoor Caravan Park > Reviews

Minehead & Exmoor Caravan Park
Porlock Road
Minehead
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA24 8SN
Tel: 01643 703074
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 15 Reviews
                6/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Roma07 37 reviews from this member

 Spent one night here at end of July, partly out of curiosity having read previous reviews.

First the good things: access direct from the A39 is very easy, in contrast to C&CC site up on the hill above Minehead, which is accessed by a steep road, rather narrow in places. Also the two staff were very friendly and welcoming. The site was surprisingly quiet for the school holiday period: only three pitches were occupied in the lower part of the site.

Some of the pitches are very close to the main road, so noise is inevitable, which is one of the drawbacks. Also the lower section is in a dip with surrounding trees which makes it a bit gloomy and keeps the ground damp. The upper part of the site seemed a bit more open and sunny, and was mainly occupied by caravans.

We paid 24 cash only, for a hardstanding with EHU. There were charges (20p) for shower use, and washing up, which seems a bit excessive. Also the washing up room was the smallest I have ever seen! About the size of a toilet cubicle.

I don't think it is a site I will hurry back to, but it might suit those wanting to be near Minehead and needing easy access for a large unit, but don't stray onto the soft grass. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Johnoregan10 1 review from this member

 Having read the previous reviews I was nervous about visiting this site but was pleasantly surprised! There is a major road close by and during the day there was a lot of noise, but it was fine during the night. The toilets were small but very clean and were not busy, so more than adequate. We had a very large pitch which was very shady, but there were less shady pitches if you wanted. The staff were very nice too! The playground was fine for our two children and it is a very safe place, so they were able to safely explore the site.

The campsite is about 25 minutes walk from Minehead, but there is a bus route advertised. It is very easy to get to and I imagine is very well located for visited Porlock, Dunster and Exmoor, although we were only there for a short stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clive and cath 1 review from this member

 After a very long and tiring journey with a mototbike and trailer we recieved a warm and friendly welcome and were shown to a quiet, tree shaded spot beside a stream to pitch our tent, bliss. After reading other reviews about this site before our holiday we were a little dubious of the noise of traffic from the a39 but shouldnt have worried as didn't find this a problem at all, was very peaceful and was lovely to sit outside our tent at night and what we call chill out.

We found the toilets to be clean and fresh with plenty of hot water, there were hot showers, hairdryer, iron and board for use for 20p which we didn't find too much to pay but wouldn't have been willing to any pay more than that as paid 10 per person per night but use of these when camping is ideal as limited to how much can carry. There was also a tumble dryer but this cost a little more to use which is understandable.

Only downfall was distance from site to Minehead front, we assume the distance given in the sites advert is to the town as was a lot further to walk to the sea front than we anticipated.

If you want a site with shops, your bingo at night ect then this isnt the site for you but if you want a warm welcome with a peaceful place to relax and a good base whilst visiting this lovely area with more than adequate amenities this site is for you.

We would definitely return to this camp/caravan site with no worries in the future.  


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ladyk 2 reviews from this member

 Got stuck in the bank holiday traffic therefore were extremely late arriving on site. We phoned ahead but the phone number is the lady who runs the Park but apparently wherever you ring is not on site! She said the warden would be able to help us. We were shown to our pitch and just settled for the night.

Some reviews on here explained the ground being constantly wet mostly due to constant shade from the trees, this was true. It was damp & dreary. Very close to main road so all pitches experienced traffic noise. The toilet block looked Ok on the outside, clean ish inside but only 2 toilets and 1

Shower which cost 20p and looked decidedly grubby.

The Saturday we pitched our awning after moving pitches, it drizzled all day. Consequently when we arrived back on site after a day out, our van sunk to the axels. It's was then that blame was placed on us for attempting to park near our awning. We have camped in any places and I would have expected the workers to know the ground and be able to advise where best to park us. We also had our dog with us, but on arrival we were told not to walk the dog on site, but go off site up the main rd!

The site was damp, noisy due to traffic, facilities extremely poor, we packed up on Saturday and left.

And yet our Cheque was still cashed for the full amount.

I would not recommend this site. It was like we paid to stay in a layby. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pattiann 1 review from this member

 Nice site and an extremely pleasant lady running it. She was such a character and so nice.

Site not cheap so paying 20p for shower and hot water for washing up a bit cheeky. Nowhere in shower to put your toilet bag etc. and to sit and dry feet. No bucket and mop for you to wipe down floor after use.

Again nowhere by washbasins to put toilet bag etc. Need some shelving please and one small hook for towel but mine keep falling on the floor.

No hot water at all on Monday to washbasins and again on Tuesday morning. This was reported and being looked into as we left.

Lots of cobwebs in washrooms needs a really good clean.

Having said all of this would use the site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shirlock47 2 reviews from this member

 We booked this site for a few days 'quiet' break. When we got there however we found our pitch was right by the busy main road underneath pine trees. Luckily it was dry as otherwise wet pine needles underfoot trailing in the caravan would not have been good!

We spent every day out visiting other places because it was far too noisy from the traffic to actually sit outside the caravan at all. The only good thing was that traffic did cease during the night but started up again about 7am in the morning.

We had thought about moving on somewhere else but as we were only having a few days break felt to pack everything up and find somewhere would not have been an option.

We felt the site was quite expensive for the facilities and having to pay 20p for a shower and 20p to use the hairdryer was ridiculous. There was only one shower in the ladies which was not in a very clean condition with spiders and cobwebs everywhere together with mud and pine needles on the wet floor!

The only nice thing about the place was the owner who was a very friendly lady trying to run the place on her own. One thing I thought was strange was that everywhere there were signs saying it was a Caravan & Camping Club Site. When I asked her about this she said she had nothing to do with them and was private.

We liked Minehead and the area very much and will be going back again as it is only about 2 hours from where we live but will certainly not be going back to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stesimemily 1 review from this member

 We did not enjoy our 4 night stay here. The only positive thing I can say is the owner was friendly and the site was clean. Situated on the busy A39, very noisy!

The 3 toilets & 1 shower are situated in a very dated cold unit. The shower needs modernising with more facilities to store clothes etc. when showering and after the floor was dirty and sodden, no mat, which was difficult with a 3 year old.

The charge for hot water was only 20p but when paying 25 a night didn't seem appropriate.

No lights on the site at night makes it very dark, there are solar lights but if its a dull day they don't work.

The 'playground' needs improving, 1 swing in one area and a unit which has 3 things hanging off it in another area, these were hidden by a tall hedge so couldn't see child.

We wont be going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: TheMindDoctor 12 reviews from this member

 I rather liked this site, although it is dominated by trees, making sunshine something of a rarity, and although there is only one shower in the men's block. The site was clean and tidy and the owner most helpful.

Fans of Carry on Camping will enjoy the fact that almost everything - showers, hot water, hair dryer, iron - is charged extra: not a pound, as charged in the film, but a modest 20p! The kids could have fun on a wet day seeing how many things they could find that cost 20p.

The charges were more than offset by the modest pitch fee, and you'll have no complaints from me.

The site is ideally located for walkers who wish to head inland to Dunster or up to the coast and Porlock.

Some of the pitches seemed a long way from the hook-ups, but the owners helpfully provided extension cables. Nice site, which I'd visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sallycook 1 review from this member

 Good basic campsite. Minimal clean toilet facilities with 1 shower in mens toilet block and 1 shower in ladies toilet block.

The site is set out in kind of 3 'cul-de-sacs'. 1st one for caravans and motorhomes, 2nd and 3rd for tents with EHU and hard standing for cars (up to 4 tents I would say in each cul-de-sac) and then a more open field for about 8 tents.

Very small play area with swing and a couple of rope swing type equipment suitable for older children 4/5 +

All facilities clean. 20p for hot water for dish-washing and 20p for shower!

Friendly owners. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 203 reviews from this member

 Used this site as couldn't find any other at the time. As others have said a basic campsite though adequate for one or two night stay. Right by A39 though road noise disappears at night,thought the lady running the site worked very hard considering her age.
This site though is good for walking in to Minehead which we did during our stay,by turning left out the campsite follow the main road(A39) for about 100/ 200 yards then turn second or third left through the housing estate leads you into the centre itself. Paid 17/night for two with ehu. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Minehead & Exmoor Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Minehead & Exmoor Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Minehead & Exmoor Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Minehead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Sussex 18/05 to 19/05

Endless activities for you and your dog to enjoy plus weekend camping - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2928 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement