Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sandymouth Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bude > Sandymouth Bay Holiday Park Reviews

Sandymouth Bay Holiday Park
Sandymouth Bay
Stibb
Bude
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
EX23 9HW
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: HH19 4 reviews from this member

 Nice big site with lots of room. We were on the camping field with electric - a bit of a slope which given my rig meant I had to park with hitch downhill - this caused me a little concern on day of packing up which I resolved by not packing the folding camper, folding down to turn around and push up the slope, unfold again to pack in the awning etc.

Weather was mixed.

Site has clubhouse which was useful for a couple of evenings and food prices reasonable.

15 minute walk downhill to beach - rocky until tide well out so plan visit. Once tide out it was a really good beach. National trusts car park - £4. 50 for the day - toilets, café and shop there as well - I ended up taking laden car down early to get a space and walk down when tide out - saved a walk carrying lots of the usual gear.

Bude nearby - not really walkable - had to use the car for all journeys as site a bit out of the way.

As with other reviews toilets let the site down - could have done with a second clean - having said that it is the other campers who are leaving the mess - gents were the worst culprits and makes you wonder what they do at home.

First week was windy - top of cliff so expect some wind. We were unlucky on our second week when either side had young children and a noisy dog. There was a few barking dogs. There was a late party one night until the early hours - no sign of any night worker to ask them to tone it down 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ntlyle 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for a week during the August holidays in our caravan. The touring pitches are at the bottom of quite a steep hill quite a trek from the playground, pool and clubhouse. The pitches and camping field have amazing views over the north Cornwall coast and The beach is just a couple of minutes drive further down from the site (walkable if you're feeling fit!). The local area has some beautiful beaches, great for children but you do need to be lucky with the weather! The food in the clubhouse was unexpectedly really good and very reasonably priced. Our children loved the playground and pool but we felt the pool changing area could do with a good clean. Don't rely on the on site shop as there was next to nothing in there! What totally spoilt our stay here for us was the toilet block. There is only one toilet block to service all the touring pitches and the vast camping field with only four showers in each of the male and female sections. When we stayed one shower in each section was constantly out of use and for four out of seven mornings there was no hot water. If you were lucky enough to be able to have a shower they were barely a trickle. There is only one separate sink cubicle to wash in which had a constant murky puddle on the floor but there are about 5 general sinks where everyone washes their hands etc. The toilet blocks are cleaned once a day but not very well and felt generally quite dirty, they are in desperate need of a good refurb, and a second block for the camping field. The touring pitches are not level as is stated on the website so we needed to use our ramp. They are also very close to the road used by many to access the camping field, there is a 10mph speed limit which nobody, including the staff in vans, sticks to and so it was hard to relax when constantly making sure the children didn't stray into the road. This could easily be a fantastic site but as it is we will not be going back and would not recommend it. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ruth3799 1 review from this member

 This is a great site in many respects. It is set in a beautiful location overlooking the bude coastline, it has a fantastic pirate ship adventure playground, a really good size indoor swimming pool, a large playing field and a shop and restaurant, both of which are very reasonably priced. My family stayed in a caravan and friends of ours took their tent and camped on the field. The pitches for the caravans are well serviced with electricity, running water and the bins area close to hand however I would not recommend camping at this site in bad weather. The wind and the rain made for quite an uncomfortable camping experience at times for our friends. My other negative comment about this site were the showers. The toilet block is quite dirty at times, the showers really trickly and at times in the evenings, they were often cold. We were told when we arrived at the site there was a problem but were then informed this had been rectified. Good site for the most part however 3/10 for the shower and toilet block. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Debbiek 2 reviews from this member

 This is a brilliant camp site, lots to do for children, the play park and swimming pool were excellent and well used by ourselves. The club at night was very good although lack of seating was an issue when busy. Staff very friendly. The touring pitches at the bottom were in a beautiful location and had great views however it got very muddy with all rain and cars continually on it, they would benefit from putting a tarmac road around the edges. The area itself is quite boring and you have to travel quite far for things to do with children, we did however go on a couple of nice bike rides around bude. Would def recommend site as value for money ! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Section33 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week during the summer and we were blown away by how clean and tidy the site was. Our static (basic model) was luxurious and very up to date and the playground, clubhouse and arcade were excellent!

Staff were very friendly and were out litter picking each morning and the kids club was fun for the little a to run off to in the early evening. The pool is a little basic but serves its purpose and the beach is more than a short stroll away but the vies out over the ocean are stunning and the atmosphere on site was very friendly and welcoming.

Definitely recommend this site and we will be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sheffgrow259 13 reviews from this member

 Good bits,

This site was excellent value for money during the 6 week hols, [£25 per night]

The view and clifftop location certainly give this site the wow factor,

It was immaculately clean,

The facilities in particular the children's play area are outstanding with ball pool, bouncy castle and zip wire and swimming pool are all free of charge,

The bar area is very modern and clean,

The on site shop as previously mention have an instore bakery and if they have sold out of something will be only too happy to bake you what you require,

There are some excellent walks down through national trust land which are breathtaking,

The showers were always clean,

Bad bits,

Little or no public transport, we tried to order a taxi from here to take us 3 miles and he wanted £20,

The site was very windy! [but I suppose that's the price you have to pay for a sea view]

I would definitely return here but you need a car to explore 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Familycampers5 5 reviews from this member

 This has to be one of the prettiest places I have ever camped, the site has amazing views, upon arrival we were given a welcome pack, with map of the park and directions code for the gates to get in and out, we drove down to our pitch, which was clearly signposted it is slightly on a slope and I guess the higher up you get the worse it is, the only thing it really affected was sleeping, as my husband and I slipped off our bed every night for the whole week, but the kids bedrooms were fine.

The toilets were clean and always had toilet tissue, showers also very clean, and did tend to get busy I think 4 showers for the whole touring park in the ladies is a little optimistic, but we just showered before 8. 30am and in the evenings after 7.00 as it was quiet then, washing up station was very clean had 3 sinks which I didn't ever see get busy.

We had an electric pitch with water and for 7 nights the cost was £290 which we thought was a bargain.

The children's play area was amazing with zip wires ball pool bouncy castle and crazy golf all for free(golf requires a security deposit that is refundable).

The food in the bar was reasonably priced and had good sized portions, the bar got busy quickly and it was tricky getting a seat but we found the best of both, we sat outside on the verander and watched the kids in the play area whilst we enjoyed a relaxing drink.

We found the staff to be very helpful when my car key snapped they put us in touch with local locksmiths, when we asked about local beaches they had a full list with information on beaches.

The nearest beach which is sandymouth, is beautiful, when the tide goes out it reveals rock pools that children could all swim it had crabs and starfish and little fish all in it, it was beautiful the kids loved it.

I will definitely go back to this park because the beauty of it is that in spite of it being quite rural it made up for that by being very beautiful with an amazing service 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Keeleylove 2 reviews from this member

 This was a nice site however the smell of their own sewerage plant at the back of the touring area really lets it down. The smell first thing in the morning and at tea time is gross

The entertainment is the same as everywhere else the kids enjoyed it. The pool and sauna where clean and good fun.

3 washing up sinks for all the touring area is no where near enough and a queue was the norm.

Showers where clean!

There's not much to do in the near area but bude is nice and you can get all the essentials and more from there.

Great car boot on a Sunday and Thursday near bude well sign posted.

Overall a nice site the kids love it 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MJF100 2 reviews from this member

 Good points: Very courteous, professional, helpful staff. Very clean site overall, clean toilet blocks, plenty of hot water and loo paper! Well stocked shop (lovely croissants in the morning). Good selection of food in restaurant and reasonably priced.

Bad points: From a tenting experience only - sloping serviced pitches, not severe but enough to annoy you. Field is very exposed and can be extremely windy. Quite expensive, £42 a night for a serviced pitch (2 adts, 3kids). Also, they don't take short break (less than 7 days) bookings in summer hols - not sure why when camping field has plenty of room.

Overall: Excellent site and would recommend to anyone wanting to book a holiday home/caravan holiday but not sure I would camp in tent here again. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lauren 7 6 reviews from this member

 My husband, daughter (aged 4) and I stayed at Sandymouth Bay for the first May Bank holiday weekend and had a brilliant time.

We stayed on a hard standing site with our VW camper.

It was quite windy over the weekend but considering the location not far from the cliffs with outstanding views of the coast and sea, our pitch was relatively well sheltered. It had a hedge on either side and a bank at the back.

The camping field also had fabulous views and gorgeous grass but a bit exposed.

It's a beautiful unspoilt location with bleating lambs in the field opposite.

The indoor swimming pool was well heated (31 degrees) and although the kiddie pool is small, it's next to the large wide steps of the big pool so the kids spend plenty of time running between the two. The slide was basic but huge fun.

The pirate ship was excellent and my daughter adored it. She needed a fair bit of help climbing up the ladders to get to the slide though and did fall off at one point as the ladder was quite tricky for little ones.

The shop was well stocked and open all day which was great.

We were surprised the entertainment was on, and the highlight of my daughter's stay was when one of the staff dressed up in a huge Flounder outfit, and she might as well have been at Disneyland for the impact.

The toilet and shower block was a bit tired and the shower temperature not able to be regulated (we needed to warm up under the shower and my daughter got really cold once dried and getting dressed). The shower heads weren't great though water flow was sufficient. We had most of our showers at the poolside instead.

The beach at Sandymouth was a short drive, but really beautiful and unspoilt. It wasn't busy and the sand was lovely. There were little streams to dam and divert. The beach did get completely covered at mid to high tide and the top of the beach was cobbles and not so easy to walk on.

We will definitely be going back. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sandymouth Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Sandymouth Bay Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sandymouth Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sandymouth Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bude      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6300 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement