Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Carlton Park Camping & Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Carlton Park Camping & Caravan Site Reviews

Carlton Park Camping & Caravan Site
Carlton
Saxmundham
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP17 1AT
Tel: 07716 884322
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/04/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Colliek9 1 review from this member

 Spent the Easter holiday in our touring caravan, never been to this site before.

Will definitely be coming back, brilliant for our kids with the play area.

Dogs loved the off the camp walks. Really relaxed and friendly site. New toilet block was clean. Camp was very quite.

Would recommend this site to anyone. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Wendy77 11 reviews from this member

 A very pleasant quiet site - especially during the week. A bit livelier at the weekend when many of the seasonal pitches are occupied but still no queuing for the facilities. An ideal site if you like to park up and then cycle or use public transport.

Saxmundham has a station with an hourly service to Lowestoft in one direction and Ipswich in the other. Look out for the free book of walks based on the railway.

Cycling is good on mostly flat quiet roads with plenty of cafes, especially on the coast. The Sizewell Tea was a particular favourite. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morticia Adams 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Peaceful and well kept. Big problem, drivers really speeding up and down lane between camping fields to get to sports club.

My son was nearly hit by a car as he was crossing the lane to get to the toilet block.

Otherwise a really good place to stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chalky9 30 reviews from this member

 This MAY be a very pleasant site if you are lucky enough to be in the main field on a reasonably level pitch close to the facilities.

However, I phoned to book a pitch and the person I spoke to omitted to mention that we would be in the 'visitors' field', with a substantial slope and far away from toilets, showers, water etc.

A quick look at the facilities themselves left me with the impression of an old barracks building.

The setting is very pleasant, but make sure you know where they are going to put you before you commit to anything. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jammydonna 1 review from this member

 Love this site. It's a lovely small site with clean and serviced toilet/shower block, waste and water facilities, a washing up room and laundry facilities. Site management are friendly and very helpful. There are fields behind the site which make for lovely walks for the dogs and a brilliant kids play park.

There is no entertainment on site except your own but this makes for a relaxed, quiet break. Saxmundham (the nearest village) has a Tesco and Waitrose, take aways etc. There is a caravan showroom 6 miles along the a12 towards Ipswich for any emergency requirements and gas refill stockists nearer still to the site.

Lots of local places to visit, one of our favourites is Framlingham castle (Framlingham being the home town of music ace Mr Ed Sheeran so keep an eye open if you visit!).

Enjoy! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RobandClaire 5 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, sports fields environment, very green and well kept, lots of space, excellent value. One field full of seasonal pitches so facilities (and sports fields) busier at the weekend. Visitor field quiet with a significant but not unpleasant slope (levelling needed in both directions).

Showers and toilets high quality rather than luxurious. Very relaxed. 20 minute walk to great pub for food (Poacher's Pocket) and 20min walk (other direction) to town.

Town has Waitrose / Tesco / Costa plus local shops). Some field lights were not working and toilets advertised as closed 11-12 but often early, we had no problem though. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Calex 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean site, with plenty of space round your camp area. The toilet block is quite small, but very clean and showers adjustable for temperature. The adventure playground is fun for all ages, with heaps of open space for ball games, cycling, running about.

Tennis courts available for very reasonable price as well. We felt a car was necessary to get around the area, although keen hikers and cyclists had no such qualms.

Saxmondham is a great little place with all the necessary shops for your supplies. Leiston Long Shop Museum was a great find and kept all amused for a surprising amount of time.

A great time was had by all in our group. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Asnood 4 reviews from this member

 We chose Carlton Park for a 4 night camping weekend as it's pretty close to the Suffolk coast.

There are 2 fields. 1 for Caravans/Statics and the camping field next door. The camping field is only slightly sloped but has flat pitches which are large, leaving plenty of space for other tents.

We were actually the only tent for the weekend and had a lovely pitch next to the old Oak Tree (with resident crows) The grass on the site is well looked after and was cut short. It's quite a pretty site with the sports facilities nearby and there was a cricket match on the Sunday we were there.

As previously mentioned the toilets and showers aren't the most modern, but were clean and there was plenty of hot water. There's also decent washing up facilities along with (paid) washing machines and a freezer for ice-packs.

Saxmundham itself is lovely with a new(ish) Tesco & Waitrose & the town has a fantastic fish & chip shop (The Trawlers Catch) perhaps a 10 min walk away. But easy to drive to.

The site manager is very helpful and friendly so no worries there if you have any issues. Which of course we didn't. He obviously takes pride in his site :-)

There's a good play area for children and plenty of local walks nearby.

We chose to stay here as the site is near RSPB Minsmere & the lovely coastal towns of Aldeburgh & Southwold.

So, in conclusion. A pretty site, well looked after and clean, slightly dated showers/toilets, but this is camping. And I certainly had no cause for complaint.

Would I come back here again? An absolute YES!

I'd certainly have no hesitation in recommending Carlton Park to anyone. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 32newton 12 reviews from this member

 Loved this site and will return we found the site to be informal and relaxing with plenty of open space for ball games and no set in stone rules.

Split into two sections one field for the seasonals and the other for the visitors.

Both tents and vans pitched and it did not feel crowded the pitches are slightly sloping some a little so more than others, the grass was cut short and the cuttings collected, hedges surround the field and we did not hear any noise from the road.

The facilities are in the seasonal field buildings look a bit unkept from the outside and they are not the most modern but are plentiful and very clean, with separate family and disabled shower/toilet rooms as well. We did not use the washing up or laundry rooms.

The site is a part of the sports club so there are tennis courts available to hire for a reasonable fee.

The sports field behind hedging is available to use and is the local football teams home ground we did not find the saturday game a problem and walked up to watch.

The play park is excellent with plenty of slides and swings and benches and shade to sit a watch the kids play, it is a public playground and is situated across from the football pitch.

There is no shop on site and with a easy walk into saxmundam taking around 10/15 mins with a path all the way it is not needed anyway. Tesco, waitrose, pubs and the usual take aways are easy to find. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saz5178 3 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for our family holiday and had a great time.

Toilet block was always clean although had to wait for showers on numerous occasions. Did find it slightly strange that the block was situated in the caravan field. Also they close from 11 till 12. Having to leave your pitch by 12 and having small children to prepare for a long journey home this was inconvenient!

The sports club actually has a bar and is open at the weekends was very noisy and slightly annoying that we could go!

The children's park was the best 1 we have ever been to, the photos on here are very old and do not do it justice.

The pub that was recommended to us was a very long walk away but great little place for food and drink although didn't serve food till 7pm so not practical for kiddies really!

Saxmundon itself seems to have everything needed. Its a 15min walk away but has good fish n chips and a great Indian restaurant for food and Tesco and Waitrose for shopping.

They do charge for children as well which I wasn't expecting as all other site we've stayed at you pay pitch fee then per adult, so worked out expensive for so few amenities

There was a few large groups but overall a very peaceful and relaxing time was had by all! 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Carlton Park Camping & Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carlton Park Camping & Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Carlton Park Camping & Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saxmundham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


989 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December