Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - River Valley Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Penzance > River Valley Country Park Reviews

River Valley Country Park
Relubbus
Penzance
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR20 9ER
Tel: 0844 88 00 144
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: Feb-jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Innuendo 4 reviews from this member

It was a sudden trip for us! My mother had been taken ill and we had to find somewhere very quickly. What a find! Just lucky I guess. We needed an eight berth caravan for us and the kids, plus their kids and the managers were excellent in sorting everything out for us.

The site is beautiful, plenty of places to walk and just take in the scenery and tranquillity. There is very little in the way of distractions. No club, no pub, no massive kids play area and best of all, very little mobile coverage.

We had bad news while we were there, my father passed away and the site personnel were lovely. (luckily mum is still with us!)We had to book again for the funeral and again for the memorial. Each time, we were shown the utmost respect for our situation.

Lovely site, great people and the accommodation better than expected. We will be back.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JADONAMY 5 reviews from this member

Our third visit and was disappointed to find that sites for caravns and tents is now very limited. The main touring and camping field has been decimated by twothirds in favour of static caravans. Otherwise the site is as previously reviewed, in 2007

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twinkly 3 reviews from this member

Love love love this site. So peaceful and quiet, and ducks roaming around and rabbits scampering about. Pitch was good size but muddy due to the terrible summer. The owners were lovely and I would go back but they are unfortunately phasing out the tent pitches in favour of hard standing areas and lodges/statics. If you can afford a lodge go for it they are fab!
Also great value for money and close to St Ives, Lands End etc.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JADONAMY 5 reviews from this member

First visit to this lovely site, especially to attend Maizy Day in Penzance. For a site this size it is unobtrusive down a long driveway.  Good mix of Static Caravans and Log Cabins, grass pitches and Hard Standings. Clean Toilets and Showers etc. Electric Hookups. Well landscaped and good sized pitches. We especially liked the Yellow Field. OK for rabbit watching!  There are plenty around. And even Reynard Fox comes a calling!
Nice riverside walk. Owners and Wardens very pleasant and helpful. Will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Candy Floss 8 reviews from this member

Second time to this site - stayed here in in July 2000.

A few things have changed - more space has been allocated to log cabins and static caravans.

But in saying that the touring section is still of a substantial size. All the pitches are level and marked. We have got a 4 berth tent and had loads of space.

The best bits about this site and this is why we returned and will continue to do so are

Very helpful owner / manager.

Prices are excellent value considering your location. We booked in advance. But there was still the odd spare pitch available.

Immaculate showers and toilets.

Little shop on site for the essentials including chilled wine ! if you require a supermarket there is a Morrison's and Tesco on your way into Penzance (10 min drive).

The food vans still come nightly - yummy and a great idea.

Fantastic surroundings some lovely walks just in and around the site - the site is central to so many places - all of the local beaches are a 10 min drive.

The stars are just brilliant unreal actually seen a shooting star my first ever !

The local pub 'The Crown' has some fantastic home cooked food - very popular. It is within waking distance if you enjoy a good 1/2 hour stroll.

Possible down side to this site - if I have to be picky - there is no play area for the little ones - but the children did not seem to miss this feature.

The people and the site are just brilliant. ! A first rate site that has stood the test of time yet kept some old quaint style to it.

Reviewer: rusty 29 reviews from this member

July 1999
A brief reminiscence about this campsite. Clean tidy etc etc but a bit twee for us. At the time couldn`t hang washing out over the fence we were camped by, too regimented for our liking. Grassy bits carefully marshalled tents moved after so many days which was irritating. No BBQues. A bit too camping and caravan clubish for us. Not for the laid-back camper. No white pcikets fences though, thank God.

Reviewer: Anthony 3 reviews from this member

May 2002
Good facilities kept spotlessly clean. A very quite site encouraging one to unwind and relax. There is no pool, bar or club (all plus points!).

The site is a short drive to the beach, Penzance and many other interesting activities.


Reviewer: pudding

August 2002
This site is nothing short of perfect. The toilets etc are immaculate and are of great design. The site is well kept and tidy. It is down along private drive well off the road. The pitches are large and well spaced out. There are many private pitches sheltered by hedgeing.

At the entrance to the site lives a gentleman and his wife, 'Gordon and Jan'.
Gordan and Jan bought this hidden Cornish Valley and turned into the Caravan site you see today. You can read about their experiences and that of their visitors in a series of 5 books. The fist book is called 'Village by a Ford' and is by Gordan Channer.
They are both now retired, but live in the bungalow at the site entrance, so give them a wave.



Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5061 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019