Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seaview Gorran Haven Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > St Austell > Seaview Gorran Haven Holiday Park > Reviews

Seaview Gorran Haven Holiday Park
Boswinger
Gorran
St Austell
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL26 6LL
Tel: 01726843425
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 75
Open: 11/02/2024 to 28/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 96 Reviews
                8/10 from 96 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jujsa7 1 review from this member

 The site was clean and organised facilities spotless.

I know weather can’t be predicted but there was no protection from the elements on the far side of camping area suggest don’t use if you have an awning

A small shop would be great 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sophe8 1 review from this member

 I happened across this campsite as I have family in St. Austell and wanted to try somewhere new.

The pitch sizes are huge for tents and really well set out with the children's play area at the centre of the site so it really helps make a great family holiday

We loved that there is plenty of space to play, make friends and explore, with a great dog walking area and even a field of cows (who love a back scratch and chin tickle!)

The camping pitches are not far from the shower block which is much better thought out than other campsites we have visited. We liked that shower and toilet rooms were private rather than in a long line of cubicles with little privacy. Easy to get little ones showered and I even managed to dry my hair outside using an outdoor socket (as we had a non electric pitch)

The washing up area was clean and tidy with a toaster, kettle, microwave, oven, washing machine and dryer. This was a great help as it rained a lot of our holiday so we could get towels dry. There is even a freezer so you can keep food fresher across your holiday when you have a non electric pitch.

We absolutely loved the swimming pool and had lots of fun and a relax in the sun.

If I could offer a few suggestions they would be, maybe keep sweeper mops in each shower room. I'm sure guests would have no problem sweeping away bits of grass, trodden in from outside. The cleaners do an amazing job and keep the showers beautiful but the grass can't really be avoided coming in. Guests would happily sweep it away.

The shop could do with a wider range of basic items for self caterers. UHT milk isn't the nicest so if there could be a fridge and a few more staple food items such a bread it would be amazing. However this campsite is so lovely and well run that these points really are minor and do not alter a lovely holiday much. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Donnab 1 review from this member

 What a gem! Great site with large pitches and beautifully laid out. Facilities were spotless and cleaned multiple times per day.

Pool area was spacious with plenty of seating/loungers.

Some improvement work going on between reception and the pool but no impact to anything.

Lanes are narrow and caravans would struggle if met with oncoming traffic but no issues in a motor home or campervan.

The site is on a headland and it was quite breezy in the camping area the whole time. Everything within a short drive and a perfect base for exploring Cornwall. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tdan0504 3 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site many times, staying in the static vans and touring caravan when the kids were little and most recently in our tent.

If you've not been there before, finding the place can be a bit of an adventure and the narrow, twisting, high banked single track road leading there can prove a challenge for touring caravans.

The site is immaculately tidy and very well tended and has probably the cleanest showers and toilets of any camp site I've ever been on. There is a separate dog walking area, kids play area and a quiet area, well away from the main site.

Staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming.

The pool area is very nice and a great facility, the shop is reasonably well stocked with the essentials and thankfully also had an inflatable double mattress when ours decided to expire one night.

The local beach is a short walk from the site but isn't great. Far better to go to Caerhays beach a few minutes drive away where there is a beach shop, toilets and ample parking. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Isnsrti 2 reviews from this member

 Toilet blocks very dated. Showers cubicles very slippery. Can't wash your face in the sinks because the soap dispenser is in the way! Wildlife and local flora and fauna are terrific, beaches great fun, and super local real ales. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jeffersskate 11 reviews from this member

 Friendly staff - especially in the shop/ café

Pool area lovely and clean and sheltered

Nice, but dated, but lovely and clean facilities - however the facilities on the 'super pitches' are new wet rooms (went for a nosy) and these are up to date.

Good flat pitches, easy to pitch in

Play area - wooden 'fort', lots of swings, great courts, lots of space which was very safe for the kids - all off the road in its own separate field.

Café/shop was well stocked with what you needed.

Extra games space with giant chess, ping pong, shuffle board is great too.

You can hire equipment to play tennis, ping pong, badminton and lots more for a nominal deposit for your stay.

Disliked: Not the campsites fault, and to be expected if you stay in the country side, but the field next door (so just over a small lane) to ours was being muck spreaded continuously all day on the Saturday, and phew! what a stink! Didn't spoil the last afternoon/ evening, but definitely had an impact, what a shame and were still a bit fragrant now haha. But again what do you expect if you stay in the country side. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Donna44 4 reviews from this member

 Plenty nice things about this campsite and some negatives too.

The showers, loos, washing up facilities are really good although I'm not sure if it would still stand up to a 'loo of the year' award. Whilst everything is clean and tidy looking, there are tell tale signs of wear and tear - the plugholes of the toilet sinks are a bit blackened for example. This could mean that they haven't had a decent bit of bleaching in a while.

The staff on site are helpful and chatty, the café area is sweet with plenty space to hang out if it's pouring rain.

The campsite itself seemed to be full of really nice, sociable campers who were really laid back and happy to chat to one another. The kids play area is large. One eve we took our bbq stuff to the play area and prepped a nice meal while the kids played. You'll still need your bbq kit here though as there are only chimney oven areas with no grills or containers for the charcoal.

Now a couple of negatives.

The local farmer is a rather large landowner (the size of his land, not his physique!) who also owns the caerhays castle down the beach. It's our opinion that he has some kind of 'beef' with the campsite as for 3 days solid during our stay, he was muck spreading in the fields next to the campsite. It was really nasty, noxious chemically stuff and I have to say it was almost unbearable.

We did talk to the reception about it but there was nothing they could do to stop it. They did tell us that this had not happened in years but I'm not so sure.

We used our tent again to camp in the newforest just a few days after our trip to seaview and I'm glad I did, as it still absolutely stank of the muckstench and really needed a good airing.

This has put me off returning to seaview next year.

The only other negative is that each morning around 10 am, there's a tractor/grass cutting vehicle which whizzes round the campsite to prepare each pitch for the next set of campers. The chap on the vehicle is nice enough but I'm afraid I found his activities really intrusive. In fact on the day we were packing up to leave he was buzzing round and I eventually told him he was like a wasp - certainly an irritant. It's pretty hard to get packed up and gone by the 10am check out time and they hassle you in such a subtle way but it's rather intimidating. I was the only adult to pack everything away and I really felt the pressure.

Would I return to Seaview? If I could be sure I wasn't going to be assaulted by the smell of farm chemicals and they changed their policy on the 10am check out then yes. If I were to read other reviews flagging the same issues up by next July/August then no.

Goran Haven, the nearest beach with a café and toilets was a joy. I'd highly recommend a day spent there. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Josh2014 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Seaview International very disappointed. The site itself was very clean, toilet and shower blocks immaculate. The on site shop was pitifully stocked only ordering stock in on a day to day basis and if the shop ran out it resulted in a 10 mile drive to the nearest Asda. The site itself is very remote. The approach lanes to the site are horrendous and in our opinion unsuitable for large caravans if you were to meet another vehicle coming the other way the outcome would be chaos. The beach is not very nice very rocky and unsuitable for our boisterous son however there is another beach at Caerhays which is very nice. The swimming pool is very nice and we thoroughly enjoyed it can tend to get crowded but still enjoyable. The site staff are very friendly and helpful advising us to leave the site at 7am for home because of our large caravan and the problems with the approach lanes. The site is very remote and resulted in us doing a lot of travelling just to get into civilisation. The site would also benefit from a clubhouse as the nearest pub is an hour's walk away a lovely old pub with a gorgeous beer garden for children. We will not be visiting again, no reflection on the staff or cleanliness of the site, but for us the site is to remote and the lanes to it are just too dangerous. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Harvey the RV 1 review from this member

 Getting to this site was an adventure in itself, the narrow lanes on approach were very daunting. We did go wrong by believing our sat nav, big mistake as it took us to Mevegissy town centre, if you reach the centre you have gone too far. Go back to the sign post up the hill (gorran highlands). Once we found our way we were welcomed by an extremely friendly lady who gave us a welcome pack with lots of useful information, and discount vouchers, these we used for the Eden project. The site itself was immaculate, pristine with large pitches, and each pitch was well marked out. The toilets and showers were clean and very well kept. The facilities around we're excellent a dog walk paddock with bins for the presents they tend to leave, a small putting green, a play area for children. Electric hook ups and water supply was on all caravan and motor home pitches, this saved so much time and effort on arrival, and whilst hubby sorted things I could make a cup of tea. There is a beach which is a 10 - 15 min walk down and 15-20 min walk back up, it does say no parking at the top of the hill and when you get down there you do see some cars parked. These must be locals as the steep incline and narrow access to this beach is not for the faint hearted driver. The beach itself is small but enjoyable and dog friendly.

I cannot fault this site, everything about it was delightful. The shop and cafe on the site were above and beyond. Fresh baguettes, baked on site with added extra's such as tiger rolls, cookies, also available was fresh salad items and various other produce milk, clotted cream ect. , also some souvenirs and the proverbial bucket and spade which were all priced very reasonably. We ate breakfast in the cafe, it was cooked fresh to order and well worth a visit, I can highly recommend this site. Our friends stayed in the static holiday homes which were excellent clean and just on the other side of the same park, quiet and peaceful. I can honestly recommend this site for all. I would recommend you have some transport ie car but the reception will call out the local cab company for you. Nothing appears to be any trouble for the people who look after you. They have a warden on site for any problems you may feel you have. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Awesome60s 14 reviews from this member

 Review by: Awesome60s Reviewer's Profile Date of visit: May 2014 Unit used: Motorhome

This is certainly a strictly run site and some would say the better for it. You'll have to go far to find another site quite like it. However it is remote and may not therefore be the best choice as a base for touring Cornwall. Every sortie requires a 9 mile drive to St Austell before starting the day - unless of course you enjoy navigating mile upon mile of single lane, blind bends!

If the weather is fine it would be hard not to enjoy a stay on the site. But when the weather is not so good it is a trek to get away.

Access to the site has not changed much over the last thirty years and the quite long single lanes approach is not for the feint-hearted. Large outfits skilfully driven can make the journey but we came across the most horrendous 'tangles' as outfits tried desperately to find a safe haven in one of the few passing places!

The facilities vary. In the new camping field where the splendid large all services pitches are found (naturally more expensive here) it would be hard to fault the toilets, showers etc. Unfortunately the press button showers get hotter and hotter until unbearable. This works OK if you are ' first in' but is a problem if you are not - especially so for youngsters. The facilities in the original part of the site are old but well kept although beginning to look a bit 'sad' now. The cleaning team were excellent and deserved five stars for effort and friendliness.

Reception is friendly in a very business-like way and strictly implements all of the campsite rules and conditions. It might improve by exercising a modicum of discretion from time to time. For example to extend a stay for an hour or so beyond 10a. M. Incurs, without exception, half a days fee!(check out the small print!) Fair enough but when most of the pitches are unoccupied maybe just a charge for electricity might be more appropriate?

Absolutely no doubt the site is well maintained and there is a great playing field, with tennis nets, a little child's playground and a small crazy golf / putting area. There is a new small cafe area which has probably become essential to service the growing number of static caravans / lodges. We ate there once and found the scampi and chips, fish and chips and pizza quite acceptable along with the prices. Gorran Haven sports an excellent Gourmet Pub if you want something a bit special.

Hemmick beach is about 3/4 mile or so away down a very steep, very pretty, narrow lane. If you are fit you'll have no trouble making the return journey! The visit can be shortened by following a footpath through steep fields almost always grazed by frisky heifers. A good dog walking area is provided on site.

We have visited this site for the last thirty years and can understand the ecstatic comments made by many visitors. But do be very careful. Much could depend on how lucky you are with the weather and how lucky you are with not meeting oncoming traffic on the narrow lanes! If you want to see more of Cornwall this may not be the site to chose; if you're happy to stay put you'll stand a great chance of having a good time. 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Seaview Gorran Haven Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Seaview Gorran Haven Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seaview Gorran Haven Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Seaview Gorran Haven Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Austell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58110 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement